Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Let Every Heart Prepare Him Room: Daily Family Devotions for Advent

Tyndale House Let Every Heart Prepare Him Room: Daily Family Devotions for Advent

Before you sing "Joy to the World" this Christmas, take time to "tune" the hearts of your loved ones during Advent! Featuring family-friendly devotions for every day in December, Guthrie's thoughtful guide includes Christ-centered Yuletide meditations, beloved carol lyrics, prayers, and discussion questions designed to merrily engage kids aged 5 to 18. Hardcover.
Average Customer Rating:
4.455 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 11100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Let Every Heart Prepare Him Room: Daily Family Devotions for Advent
Review 1 for Let Every Heart Prepare Him Room: Daily Family Devotions for Advent
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great family devotion for advent!

Date:January 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
Mom of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our family enjoyed this devotional book very much. It was everything the summary said. We can't wait to do it again next year!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Let Every Heart Prepare Him Room: Daily Family Devotions for Advent
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Things Come in Small Packages

Date:January 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Wanda Costinak
Location:Ontario
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Many treasures lie hidden inside the small Advent devotional written by Nancy Guthrie entitled Let Every Heart Prepare Him Room. To discover daily readings that extend past Christmas Day to December 31st was a refreshing surprise that encouraged our family to reflect back on Christmas and focus on the year ahead.
Each devotional includes a prayer; discussion starters that have a range of questions appropriate for elementary, middle or high schoolers; and additional verses for future investigation. Nestled between the pages are eight Christmas carols, five of which include the story of their composer and composition; twelve pages entitled, “Remembering how God has prepared our hearts from year to year,” and allowing space to record thoughts and questions; and the full Christmas story found in Matthew and Luke. There is an excellent lesson on getting and giving as well as a shift in focus from eagerly expecting Jesus’ first coming up until December 25th to a focus on His second coming from the 26th to the 31st.
There are two small things that hold me back from giving this book 5 stars. The first may seem trivial and has nothing to do with content but is important. On the front and back covers are pictured small chalkboards with the title and a tag line written in chalk. However, on the chalkboard is a white pencil crayon. It just doesn’t make sense. The second thing is found in the devotion for December 3rd. In the discussion about Jesus’ ancestral line, it lists some ancestors with “tarnished reputations – like Judah, who was intimate with his daughter-in-law; Rahab, who was a Canaanite prostitute”. While this is true, I do not feel it is appropriate for a devotional meant to include a younger audience. There were others in Jesus’ family tree that could have been used to get the point across.
Those things aside, I found Let Every Heart Prepare Him Room to be a thoughtful Advent devotional that challenges us to keep Christ as our focus every day and one that our family will enjoy for many years to come.
I give this book 4 stars out of 5.
I received this book free from Tyndale House Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Let Every Heart Prepare Him Room: Daily Family Devotions for Advent
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Nice Gift Book

Date:January 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Hayley
Location:Central Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:female
In her book Let Every Heart Prepare Him Room, Nancy Guthrie has written daily family devotions to help you prepare for the Advent Season. These short devotions are designed to help you and your family to grow together spiritually and learn things about the Advent season that you may not have know before, as well as make memories. This book was well written and very informative. I would like to thank Tyndale House for providing me with a complimentary copy of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Let Every Heart Prepare Him Room: Daily Family Devotions for Advent
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a great addition to your Christmas Reading

Date:January 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
shannon
Location:midwest
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was really great and helped in my goal of having a wonderful, rediscovering Christmas holiday. They girls loved all their few gifts, we read lots from the bible and did lots of christian crafts.
I'm glad I have this book in my Holiday book home library and know I'll be using this for every Christmas. I loved that this book was geared towards kids of all ages and the girls looked forward to the daily devotions and activities.
Thank you tyndale for allowing me to review this book
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Let Every Heart Prepare Him Room: Daily Family Devotions for Advent
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

for the whole family

Date:December 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
apple blossom
Location:Grand Forks, ND
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a nice little devotional to ring in the Christmas season with your family. It covers the whole month of
December (31 days). Each day has a main portion of reading with discussion starts to get the whole family sharing their thoughts. There are pages randomly placed in the book to write your families highlights so that they can be remembered in years to come. Also sporadically throughout the book are added Christmas songs to help spur on the discussion. This is a nice little family devotional and includes items for the young as well as the older ones in the family, wee ones or teens, or the seasoned (aged).
I copy of this book was provided by Tyndale for this review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Let Every Heart Prepare Him Room: Daily Family Devotions for Advent
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Christmas devotional

Date:December 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
cyndidd
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I requested this book from Tyndale Publishers just in time for the holidays. This devotional is written specifically for the month of December. Author Nancy Guthrie does a wonderful job of brining the daily events surrounding the birth of Christ into our own daily lives. Each day, there is a family-oriented devotion, a prayer, family discussion starters, and a section with more from the Bible.
She has also included many well known Christmas Carols and a short devotional to go with each. Occasionally throughout the book, Nancy has comments and questions pages, where you can write in notes about your families discussions.
Let every heart prepare a room is a family devotional I would recommend to anyone, to read together every year.
----
Tyndale House Publishers has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Let Every Heart Prepare Him Room: Daily Family Devotions for Advent
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Katherine
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I believe that this book would be good for all families. There is scripture throughout each devotional, which I find very important. I find I am able to read a devotional all the way through when there are Bible verses through out and not just someones opinion. There are also some great discussion questions to get your families conversation started. For those families that are wanting to keep the conversation going there is a section called: More from the Bible - This section gives a deeper look into other sections that relate to the devotional that was just read.
Throughout this book there are sections where you are able to write out discussions and prayer request that as a family you can look back at and see how God in working in your life.
Another bonus with this book that I appreciated was the music that was brought in.There are some classic Christmas hymns that are written throughout, with Nancy giving the history of where the that particular hymn comes from and how it relates to the devotional.
I also appreciated how this Christmas Advent devotional goes through all 31 days of December and not just the first 25 until Christmas day. Recognizing that the birth is not the end of the story is something that needs to be developed as I work through the meaning of Christmas with my children.
Overall I really enjoyed this book and I am excited to go through it as a family during the Christmas season.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Let Every Heart Prepare Him Room: Daily Family Devotions for Advent
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great family devotion for the holidays

Date:December 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
The Reformed Reader
Location:Louisville
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I personally have not come across a great deal of material for Advent. After reading Nancy Guthrie’s Let Every Heart Prepare Him Room I believe I found an wonderful tool which will serve families throughout the holiday season. Families often get caught up in the busyness of preparing their home for family, traveling, pictures, decorating, getting presents, and cooking meals. In the midst of this chaos, it is hard to restore order and bring your family together even for a short period of time. With a newborn, a fulltime job, church, and fulltime school it is difficult to prepare family devotions and find the time to prepare the needed material to lead my family through this holiday season. Guthrie has done a great service for the church by providing a quick, simple devotional book, which will help prepare you family for the holiday season. Guthrie does all the hard work for you. Guthrie provides devotions, prayers, and discussion questions for your family helping those families whom may be pressed for time. Guthrie’s book is not light either. Guthrie discusses and develops many theological points throughout the book. Guthrie discusses man’s depravity, God’s faithfulness to his covenant promises, God’s sovereign work in salvation, the second coming, Christ as the Second Adam, and she demonstrates a good understanding of biblical theology. Guthrie finds creative ways to explain and illustrate redemptive history through the lens of the Christ’s birth. There were several things I thoroughly enjoyed about Guthrie’s book. First, I enjoyed greatly the fact that one Christmas Eve and Day she has the readers read through the birth of Christ in every gospel. All too often we talk about Christ but we never dive into scripture itself during the Christmas season. Second, Guthrie concludes each devotion with discussion questions, prayers, and more scripture for families to examine that relate to the daily devotions. Third, I thoroughly enjoyed the historical background Guthrie provides for different Christmas hymns which forces to pay more attention to the lyrics in which you sing and hear throughout the holidays. Fourth, Guthrie gives the families challenges to memorize passages in preparation for the holidays. Finally, after Christmas Guthrie shifts the focus to preparing the reader (s) for the New Year. Guthrie challenges the reader as they begin the year to setting Christ centered goals and strive to meet them as a family.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Let Every Heart Prepare Him Room: Daily Family Devotions for Advent
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Advent Devotional

Date:December 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jill Jones
Location:Opelika, AL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Every year about mid-November finds me searching for a family devotion for Advent. It’s hard to find one that is appropriate for all ages. They are either too simple, too theological or too long. Now, Nancy Guthrie (also the author of “Discovering Jesus in the Old Testament” which I reviewed several weeks ago) has written a daily devotion for the month of December that the whole family can participate in and learn from.
Each day gives a short reading followed by a short prayer and discussion starters. Hymns are also included as well as a note page to enter questions or comments made during the family discussion time. Guthrie’s devotional is an easy way to get the family together to discuss the real meaning of Christmas and to prepare hearts for Christmas day. It is a great way to wind down after a busy day of preparations and focusing on what’s really important.
Light a candle, curl up by the fire and generate memories as a family with these devotions or use them as a personal, individual devotion. Either way, preparing our hearts for the season is more important than preparing our homes. Take time out from the busyness of the season and spend some time in the presence of God. Guthrie does an excellent job of adding questions small children and adults can answer.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Tyndale House Publishers as part of their blogger review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Let Every Heart Prepare Him Room: Daily Family Devotions for Advent
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Simply Advent Devotions for families

Date:November 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
HS Mom of 4
Location:Georgia, USA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Each year as we approach the Advent / Christmas season, I promise myself that we are going to focus on Jesus... not our busy-ness. Each year I pull out the Advent devotionals, Advent calendar, and the Advent candles. And yet, each year my good intentions go undone or are so hit-and-miss that we really are not focusing on the birth of Jesus.
Not this year! After reading through Let Every Heart Prepare Him Room by Nancy Guthrie, I know my good intentions will become a reality! Each day's reading is short enough to keep the interest of the youngest in the family and includes Discussion Starters to challenge your older teens and adults. These questions help focus the discussion on Jesus and include additional Bible verses to read and ponder. Interspersed through the book are Christmas hymns, not only the hymns, but also background on the music, words, and history of the time. Also, each day includes a prayer to keep the focus on Jesus.
This is a great resource and I look forward to spending quality time with the family as we remember and celebrate the birth of our Savior, Jesus Christ.
Star Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The content of the book is 5 stars out of 5, but I had difficulty reading the small print.
This product was provided for my review by Tyndale House Publishers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Let Every Heart Prepare Him Room: Daily Family Devotions for Advent
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good little book with nice little price

Date:November 28, 2010
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Let Every Heart Prepare Him Room," by Nancy Guthrie, is a daily family devotional for Advent. Billed as ideal for families with children in elementary through high school, each day's entry provides a daily reading, a short prayer, several discussion questions, and additional scripture recommendations. In addition to the daily format, scattered throughout the book are Christmas hymns and carols and related trivia.
The daily readings are written at an appropriate level for targeted age levels, without having that "dumbed-down" sound that can become tiresome for adults. Guthrie does a great job conveying Biblical principles and stories in an historical context, while still keeping the themes meaningful for contemporary life. (Examples: patience, consumerism, expectations of others, etc.)
The 3 discussion questions for each day are a good mix. They cover broad, general ideas, as well as personal experiences and application of Biblical passages to our own lives. Children of all ages will be able to contribute in part to at least one, if not each, daily question.
The only drawback I found to this thought-provoking devotional is its physical format. Its pocket-size would be convenient for a personal devotional to carry in your purse to take advantage of free moments waiting to pick up the kids from soccer practice. But the small size serves no purpose, and is actually counter-productive, for a family devotional. To fit the pages, the font is minuscule and the lines for recording thoughts and memories are rendered almost useless. If this book eventually goes to reprint, I would highly recommend printing it as a "regular sized" book to make it much more user-friendly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.