Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Skip Rock Shallows

Tyndale House Skip Rock Shallows

Lilly Gray Corbett has just graduated from medical school and decided to accept an internship in the coal camp of Skip Rock, Kentucky. Her beau, Paul, is doing his residency in Boston and can't understand why Lilly would choose to work in a backwater town. But having grown up in the mountains, Lilly is drawn to the stubborn, superstitious people she encounters in Skip Rock-a town where people live hard and die harder and where women know their place. Lilly soon learns she has a lot to overcome, but after saving the life of a young miner, she begins to earn the residents' trust.

As Lilly becomes torn between joining Paul in Boston and her love for the people of Skip Rock, she crosses paths with a handsome miner-one who seems oddly familiar. Her attraction for him grows, even as she wrestles with her feelings and wonders what he's hiding.

Average Customer Rating:
4.143 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
0
18 out of 2186%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Skip Rock Shallows
Review 1 for Skip Rock Shallows
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
SharonW
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoy period fiction but find that most modern writers do not properly capture the life of previous times. However, this book does a great job of realistically portraying period issues such as women's place in work and the home, relationships, and everyday life. There were many characters, but they were each well rounded, distinct and easy to keep up with. It was a great read that kept me captivated until the end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Skip Rock Shallows
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Skip Rock Shallows

Date:April 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Its About Time Mamaw
Location:Cleveland, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lilly Gray Corbett decided to take an internship in Skip Rock, Kentucky. Her fiancee was not so sure she should accept the internship. His main concern was it was in a coal mine camp with harsh conditions very unlike Boston. Lily was not taken as seriously in her profession as a man would have been. She had been raised in the Kentucky mountains under similar conditions, so she was not sure how she felt about his reaction to her going to Skip Rock. Although she knew she would miss him dearly and would write him often.
When she arrives in Skip Rock it is a shock to the residents because they were expecting a male physician. She knew ahead of time this would be a problem just like it would have been anywhere she went to practice her profession. She just hoped she could earn their trust.
Joe, one of the miners, tried to avoid the new doctor even though he was so drawn to her that he watch her every move. She was the most beautiful woman he had ever seen. Would he be able to hide his true identity from her? How was it possible that she was really here?
I really enjoyed this book, it was like reading about a family friend. I read several of the author's other books that have connection with this book. There was plenty to keep my attention it has suspense, action packed, and a possible love connection. The author writes of the conditions that existed in the camp which all came back to the importance for a doctor like Lily that actually cared about the miners and their families well being.
I am looking forward to reading the author's next book, TATTLER'S BRANCH to be released in September 2013.
I highly recommend this book.
Disclosure: I chose this book from Tyndale Rewards. I was in no way compensated for this review. This is my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Skip Rock Shallows
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Skip Rock Shallows - Jan Watson

Date:September 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Marianne
Location:Wanham, Alberta
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jan Watson is a favored author of mine, taking me deep into the mountain country of Kentucky, where I learn to know the people and their culture firsthand.
This story, told from the view point of Lilly, explores and protrays in detail the obstacles a young woman who was following her conviction of being a doctor would face both from the community she was trying to help to those of her own family. Lilly grows from a girl who has lofty ambitions of doctoring in the big city with all its amneties to a woman of strong belief in what and where she is called to serve. She has a secret, and this secret is what adds to her conflict.
As alluded to on the back cover of the book is another member of the mining community who has a secret. This character also grows through the novel from someone who is insecure because of his father's actions to one who is willing to stand up in the face of danger.
Jan writes a delightful novel, and though it deals with the harsh occupation of the mountain people which is coal mining, she also protrays the profound sense of family and community that exists in the midst of such coarseness.
While I enjoy the skilfull writing of the author, the word paintings, and the sense of being there at the time of the story, I also appreciate how she weaves the love and attributes of God into the novel without coming across as preachy! Thank you again, Jan for sharing this story with your readers. I will be recommending this to my friends and fellow readers.
I received this book free from Tyndale Publishers for the purpose of writing an honest review, which I have done. The opinions stated are my own
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Skip Rock Shallows
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Skip Rock Shallows

Date:August 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Shoopette
Location:Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
When I first read the summary of this novel, it struck a chord with because it seemed to be similar to the famous Christy novel by Catherine Marshall. While Christy is the story of a young female teacher journeying to the mountains of Tennessee to educate the people there, Skip Rock Shallows is about a young female doctor going to a Kentucky coal mining town. Both of these women face opposition from the townsfolk – an outsider coming to their town to supposedly help them, and a female at that.
The issues and troubles that Lilly encounters in Skip Rock Shallows keep the story moving for the most part, even though it didn’t become really gripping until closer to the end. The secondary characters help in this aspect, as they were engaging and were able to keep things interesting. That was what was most fun for me in this novel – the adventures and people that Lilly encountered during her ‘doctoring.’ I always enjoy a fish-out-of-water tale.
However, the relationship and romance between Lilly and Joe felt kind of forced to me in this novel. I felt as if the reader was sometimes left out of the loop in that relationship. So, while the medical and community aspect of this book was interesting, one of the main plot points – the romance – sort of fell flat. I also thought that the writing was disjointed at times. There were times when I felt as if I had missed something, especially when large periods of time were skipped.
I did appreciate the author’s use of scripture in this novel. That is something I really liked to see in Christian historical fiction.
Overall, this novel was an easy read that was a bit slow-moving but did have an interesting plot and conclusion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Skip Rock Shallows
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

"Skip Rock Shallows" Lacks Depth

Date:July 26, 2012
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
A determined young woman becomes a doctor at the turn of the century, and finds herself in rural Kentucky tending to the needs of miners and their families. At the same time, she finds herself separated from her fiancee and attracted to one of the men working the mines. Lilly must learn to overcome the hostility of the rural Kentuckians, and must also decide what to do about the two men attracted to her.
The plot in this book is very easy to determine. By the time the author is finished introducing characters, there is only one way that the story could work itself out. This made for lack luster reading and a less than enthralling conclusion.
The context and events in this story are also pretty unrealistic for the time period. I sincerely doubt that any medical board at the time would send a woman doctor to Kentucky to work with a male doctor, and then leave her there when the male doctor dies. Lack of supervision, lack of a chaperone, etc. Further more, why would Lilly be attracted to a coal miner after engaging herself to a Doctor? She is educated, well to do, ambitious, and she would know that marrying a miner would lead to none of the things that she wants out of life. Even if her fiancee was merely the 'safe' choice, she would be smart enough to know not to abandon her future for a mysterious connection to a stranger.
This book frustrated me on many levels. But because the writing is decent, there is no language, and the innuendo and violence (mining accidents, injuries, union related beatings) are mildly portrayed, I'm going to give it two and a half stars.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Skip Rock Shallows
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Gentle read

Date:July 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A pleasantly rustic tale, set in the coal mining community of Skip Rock, Kentucky.
Lilly Corbett is a young woman who has set her foot on the rough path of being a lady doctor to a old fashioned, coal mining community. Lilly works hard to gain the community's trust and respect, who knows, she might even find love!
Skip Rock Shallows was a pleasant read, with a charmingly rustic setting. I really liked how Ms. Watson wrote humor into a few of Lilly's medical calls!
I thought that it was really helpful to me personally that there were moments when the characters remembered events of the past that sounded like they happened in a prior book, because otherwise I would have wondered...
While this book was a nice relaxing read, I personally found it a bit slow moving, especially in the beginning, for my tastes. Though, I immensely enjoyed the setting, which reminded me a bit of Cutter Gap from Catherine Marshall's Christy, with the people being hesitant to accept change.
I very much appreciated how this book dealt with the topic of how bad things can be used for God's glory, even though it might not seem like it at the time.
Overall this was a gentle read. Though it was a slow start, it did pick up around the halfway point, with a delightful setting, that made the experience all the more enjoyable.
I received this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. Thanks!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Skip Rock Shallows
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great novel!

Date:July 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
In The Hammock Blog
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was my first book by this author, and while it took awhile to get used to her style, I ended up really enjoying the story. At first, I thought the pace was a bit slow, and the characters and plot a bit too predictable. But soon, the characters and story were fleshed out and I really loved the slow, small town style of the story.
I think the things I enjoyed the most about the book were the setting of Skip Rock, KY, and the full, lively cast of supporting characters. Lilly's assistant, Ned, and her prickly but well-meaning friend, Almina, were two of my favorites. They really kept the story skipping right along. I also liked that the story had a lot of heart, but it wasn't a tear-jerker or depressing.
One drawback was that the romance seemed a little off for me. I really liked the characters together, but I felt like it wasn't really explained enough.
Overall, I really enjoyed this gentle, heart-warming novel.
sent by publisher in exchange for honest review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Skip Rock Shallows
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lis P
Location:New England
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Skip Rock Shallows, Jan Watson's sixth novel (but my first experience with her story-telling), explores coal mining in Kentucky, and the oddity of a female doctor in the world of coal-mining Appalachia in the early 1900's (Or thereabouts).
The narrative follows Lily Gray Corbett as she serves her internship as an interim doctor for the coal mining community of Skip Rock Shallows while she waits for her beau in Boston to finish his residency at a hospital there. Skip Rock Shallows is a very closed community that is suspicious of almost any newcomer, but even more-so a female doctor~ That is just about unheard of!
I enjoyed getting to know the people who made up the community of Skip Rock Shallows (especially some of the children and women who are "supporting characters") and learning more about the life of Appalachian coal-miners and their families.
While some of the character development may require a little bit of reading between the lines (particularly in Paul's case, and Lily's feelings towards Paul and her admirer), that didn't interfere too much.
Skip Rock Shallows is a pleasant, light, summertime read with a variety of interesting medical and historical facts woven in.
Tyndale House Publishers has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book.I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Skip Rock Shallows
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

LOVE THOSE LITTLE MOUNTAIN TOWNS!

Date:June 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
THE SELF TAUGHT COOK
Location:DAVENPORT, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In 1908, women doctors were still a rarity and unheard of in small mining towns like Skip Rock, Kentucky. But Lilly Corbett was raised in Breathitt County, so when, upon graduation from medical school, she was offered an internship in Skip Rock, she was eager to go there. Acceptance does not come easily from the mountain people, but with time, the little town feels like home. Unfortunately, her fiance does not understand her feelings. And then, there is the handsome stranger in town, who is harboring secrets. One secret directly concerns Lilly, although she has no idea who he is.
Although parts of the novel were somewhat predictable, it was a good read. Coming from Kentucky and generations of coal miners, I found this to be particularly interesting. One thing and this is not directed at this particular author, but Kentucky is larger than than just the mountains of Appalachia, but when people write about Kentucky, and especially if there is coal involved, they always write about Eastern Kentucky. I assure you they have mined coal in Western Kentucky for generations. But the novel was very good and the characters were believable. Definitely a 4 star novel.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the Tyndale Blogger Network <http://www.mediacenter.tyndale.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Skip Rock Shallows
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Solid Story

Date:June 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Virginia
Location:upstate NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've enjoyed the previous books in this series and was glad to read this next installment. Dr. Lilly Corbett arrives in Skip Rock, Kentucky and is immediately put to work by going into a mine to save a miner's life. She is certainly not bored in this book, having to constantly care for miners, townspeople, and even a cow. Prejudice from the town due to her profession and her feelings for a mysterious miner don't slow her down. Mining is such dangerous work and Lilly was definitely needed in this town. This was an interesting book that I enjoyed, though I certainly wouldn't want to be a miner.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Skip Rock Shallows
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Read

Date:June 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Wordsmith
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Skip Rock Shallows is Jan Watson’s story of a woman doctor who arrives at a coal mining town in Kentucky. She’s engaged to a doctor in Boston, but there’s something about the town of Skip Rock Shallows–and more specifically, one of the miners there–that tugs at her heart. Will she stay in Skip Rock or go to Boston to join her fiance? And will she ever be respected by the people of Skip Rock?
I found this book to be a very enjoyable read. Watson brings the town of Skip Rock to life, along with the coal miners who live there. I just wish I could find more books like this!
I received a free copy of this book from Tyndale House Publishers in exchange for a review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Skip Rock Shallows
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Easy, relaxing read

Date:June 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rachel Ropper
Location:Scotland, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
GENRE: HISTORICAL ROMANCE
PUBLISHER: TYNDALE
PUBLICATION DATE: JUNE 01, 2012
RATING: 3.5 OUT OF 5 – GOOD
PROS: Heroine is a doctor in a period when this was uncommon; easy and relaxing read; engaging secondary characters and setting
CONS: Took a while to get interested in the story due to slow pace; story often skips large periods of time; romance wasn’t convincing
Despite her fiancé’s disapproval, Doctor Lilly Corbett decides to spend the first six months after graduating from medical school in Boston interning at a rural coal camp in Skip Rock, Kentucky. While her beau, Paul Hamilton, can’t understand why anyone would want to leave the city where he spent most of his life, the part of Kentucky that Lilly grew up in wasn’t all that different from Skip Rock. But no matter how similar an upbringing she had, nothing can prepare her for the reception that awaits her in Skip Rock. The miners believe that a woman in the mines is bad luck, and even the women are reticent to accept her as a trained medical professional. The doctor she was meant to be training with has died just days before she arrived, and to begin with, Lilly can’t wait for her internship to be over. But as she spends more time caring for the people of Skip Rock – setting broken limbs, birthing babies, trekking across rivers for house calls and even stitching up a cow – Lilly becomes accepted as a member of the community, especially when it is revealed that she has relatives there. As she develops a fledging relationship with the mysterious Joe Repp, who bears a striking resemblance to a boy Lilly grew up with, and makes friends with many of the inhabitants of Skip Rock, Lilly can’t help but want to stay in this town and help these people. When she’s offered the chance to remain in Skip Rock after her internship finishes, Lilly has a difficult choice to make – does she do the sensible thing and return to Boston to marry the reliable Paul, or take her chances on Skip Rock and a man with a fake name who is in the town under false pretences?
Considering how many historical romances are released by the CBA every year, you’d think that I’d get bored of this genre, or that authors would run out of original ideas. I’ll admit, every now and then I read a book that seems just a little bit too similar to something I’ve already read, but novels like Skip Rock Shallows prove that authors are not running out of steam when it comes to making their characters unique. Yes, a female doctor has been done before by Mary Connealy, but Doctor in Petticoats and Skip Rock Shallows couldn’t be more different. If Skip Rock Shallows reminded me of anything in particular, it was the writing of Janette Oke. The plot was very slow moving, and not as structured as more recent historical novels, often moving from one episode to another rather than having a particular arc or direction it was heading in. While this isn’t a style of writing that I’m particularly fond of – I prefer more structure to my novels – it did make for an easy, relaxing read. If Oke’s continued popularity has anything to suggest, a lot of readers will be pleased that Skip Rock Shallows contains some of the elements of the older novels in this genre. While I wasn’t aware that Skip Rock Shallows was part of a series until I started reading, I didn’t have any trouble getting to know the characters, and necessary details from other books are summarised without detracting from the current story. I don’t think that you have to read the other Copper Brown novels before starting Skip Rock Shallows, but I’m definitely intrigued to see whether they have the same relaxed pace as this book.
The pacing of the Skip Rock Shallows did make it hard to for me to really become involved in the story to start with. This was an incredibly easy novel to read, but it wasn’t the sort that grabbed my attention within the first few chapters. Initially, it was very easy to put down, and the story didn’t really becoming gripping towards the end of the novel when a mining accident occurred. That said, I did enjoy reading about Lilly’s house calls and the people she met in Skip Rock. All of the secondary characters were engaging and none of them felt like cardboard cut-outs, as can often happen when an author introduces a lot of background characters. I also enjoyed reading about the setting of Skip Rock, and while I found it difficult to imagine the mines, Lilly’s explorations of the wildlife were much more visual. Skip Rock definitely felt real to me by the time I finished this book
Sometimes I found it hard to grasp how Lilly’s character was developing, mainly because the story would skip several weeks or months at a time. While the reader was always told how long had passed since the last chapter, I wasn’t particularly fond of this style of storytelling. It often meant that we were told how friendships had progressed during that time and I sometimes felt that I was missing out on witnessing certain developments. Lucy’s relationship with Joe was similarly treated. They engaged in a couple of conversations – even Lucy and Paul spoke more over the course of the novel, and he spent the majority of it in Boston – and then a few chapters later were declaring their love for each other. (This is a romance novel, so I’m not spoiling the plot. If you don’t know that Lucy and Joe are going to fall for each other from reading the synopsis, you’re probably not too familiar with this genre). I liked Lucy and I liked Joe, but I just wasn’t convinced by the progression of their relationship. There were hints that they’d known each other as children and that meeting again made them fall in love, but I just didn’t buy it. It was far too much “love at first sight” for my liking. I’m afraid the way the romantic aspect of this book was approached was its biggest downfall for me. I wished that Lilly and Joe had spent more time together and really convinced me of their love, but ultimately, I didn’t find their professions of love genuine and this stopped me from really caring about whether they’d get together by the end of the book.
If you’re looking for a book that will grab you from the first page and keep you gripped with suspense and anticipation, Skip Rock Shallows definitely isn’t the one for you. Rather, I’d say this is a good book to read if you know you can’t commit to reading more than a few chapters at the time. It’s easy to put down and later reimmerse yourself in Lilly’s doctoring and explorations of Skip Rock. Lilly’s profession, as well as some of the more unusual characters in the town, were what made this novel really stand out for me, and why I’d recommend it in spite of my personal opinions on the writing style. While I was disappointed in how rushed Lilly and Joe’s relationship was, Skip Rock Shallows is still worth reading for the mining and doctoring details and the secondary characters.
Review title provided by Tyndale.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Skip Rock Shallows
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Melodious as a Bluegrass Tune

Date:June 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rambling Reader
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Since reading Troublesome Creek a few years ago, I have been a fan of Jan Watson's novels. Her focus on small mountain communities often reminds me of Catherine Marshall's Christy. In Skip Rock Shallows, Watson portrays a grown-up Lilly Gray Corbett, a character familiar to readers of Watson's other novels. Lilly displays the same strength and determination that made her mother, Copper, such a beloved heroine. I feel like I have watched Lilly grow up, so I enjoyed reading her story and the trials she faces as a woman doctor in a backwoods town. Although Skip Rock Shallows can be read as a stand-alone novel, there are references to the events of the previous book, Still House Pond. Lilly confronts the emotional scars that she formed in Still House Pond, and Watson reminds readers of their cause in Skip Rock Shallows.
Watson's descriptions of small mountain towns never fail to captivate me. Her words flow as melodiously as a bluegrass tune; sometimes tranquil and lulling, other times lively and fast-paced. I loved the plot of Skip Rock Shallows and the balance it offered between action, faith, love, and emotion. The combination of a female doctor, dangerous mines, colorful townsfolk, and a sweet love story, make the novel interesting from beginning to end. The challenges that Lilly faces as a female doctor add a high degree of interest to Skip Rock Shallows. In a few instances, the medical scenes were a bit too detailed. Overall, they were mild and without graphic detail. The plot is not completely fast-paced, but there are moments of tension and danger. In between, Watson creates characters that readers can relate to and care about, and their stories, trials, and lifestyles carry the novel and engage the reader. There is a strong sense of community evident within the pages, and it is easy to fall in love with the people of Skip Rock as Lilly interacts with them. There are some characters that I would enjoy seeing in future novels.
After reading Skip Rock Shallows, I definitely have a new appreciation for those individuals, both past and present, who dedicate themselves to the medical or mining professions. I also have a renewed appreciation for Jan Watson's writing and the messages of faith and love that she conveys in a style that is uniquely her own and as charming as the mountains of Kentucky.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from Tyndale House Publishers through their book review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed above are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Skip Rock Shallows
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great story!

Date:June 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rebecca
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really liked this book (which I received from Tyndale for review). Good writing, interesting setting and so many intriguing characters as well. I’ll be looking for more Jan Watson novels!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Skip Rock Shallows
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Cozy, rainy day read!

Date:June 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Stephanie
Location:upstate NY
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I attempted a previous book by Jan, but felt like I’d tuned into a Walton’s episode a half hour late. I was afraid I’d done the same thing when I agreed to review Skip Rock Shallows and saw that the main character was ‘Lilly Corbett,’ the same Lilly from the book I felt lost in.
Somehow, the books aren’t listed as a series, but they are definitely chronological.
The good thing about Skip Rock Shallows: it felt like a standalone novel to me. Phew! A few things were mentioned about the past that probably would have been easier to understand if I’d read the previous books, but I did not feel lost or confused.
Quite the contrary. I truly enjoyed Skip Rock Shallows.
Lilly Corbett has arrived in Skip Rock, Kentucky to complete her medical internship. Skip Rock’s residents don’t take kindly to a female doctor. Lilly has her work cut out for her, amid mistrust and superstition.
I loved the Kentucky hills setting. I loved Jan’s description of mining life -- although it gave me shivers to think of working in the cold, dark belly of the earth. I loved the tight-knit, down-to-earth people of Skip Rock.
I would have enjoyed a longer ending. The conclusion tied up a bit too quickly for me, needing a longer epilogue....or just another chapter or two! Then again, perhaps Jan has more planned for Lilly in another book?
Skip Rock Shallows was a cozy, curl-up-in-a-blanket-on-a-rainy-day kind of read. I recommend!
*I received a free copy in exchange for an honest review. No other compensation was given, and all thoughts are 100% mine.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Skip Rock Shallows
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A peek into coal mining in 1908

Date:June 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
HS Mom of 4
Location:Georgia, USA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In 1908, women physicians were not as well received as men. Add in a superstitious mining town with its first female physician, and you have a backdrop for many story lines. Jan Watson has woven a beautiful novel of commitment, respect, and love with the harsh realities of a coal miner's life. As much as we have read idealized accounts of a miner's life in the late 1800s and early 1900s, this book brings the real life drama of mining disasters and the cost to each family and town to life.
Click HERE to read Chapter 1!
I love a well-written historical fiction novel. I know the author brings the characters to life, but the historical time in which they live is based on true events and time periods. In Skip Rock Shallows, I learned more about the people who lived and breathed life into the coal mining industry. They lived a hard life with many superstitions and fears.
How would my life have been different if I had been born and raised in Skip Rock during this time? Would I be helping to raise my siblings because my father died in the mine? Would an education be only a dream for the very few fortunate ones?
This is Jan Watson's 6th novel. I look forward to reading her other books as well!
I received a complimentary copy of Skip Rock Shallows from Tyndale House Publishers for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Skip Rock Shallows
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Captured My Attention!

Date:June 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
kattrox
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Within the deep recesses of the coal mine camp in Skip Rock, Ky, close the the area of Troublesome Creek, Dr. Lilly Corbett faces the challenges that are reserved for the previous camp doctor. The resident's backwoods and simple way of life prove to be quite untrusting of a female physician. The mines remain in unrest as the workers fight illnesses and injuries. The services of Dr Lilly as needed more now than ever. When Lilly's fiance Paul arrives in Skip Rock it is as if she had never left her hometown in Boston. While Paul has plans for he and Lilly, her previous life keeps breaking into her thoughts as one who is recognized from the past but not acknowledged in the present. Will she be able to separate the two and make a wise decision?
This well written book hosts a cast of very likable and easy to get to know characters. Laugh aloud moments as well as tense ones coupled with romance keeps the story enjoyable. Dialogue, description and scenery work together well leaving no dull parts in the storyline. I found the overall message to be inspiring and I was challenged in my faith. I was entertained and will recommend this book to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Skip Rock Shallows
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

loved it

Date:May 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Wanda Myers
Location:Dublin, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first experience with Jan Watson but it definitely will not be my last!
Skip Rock Shallows is a small mining community in 1908 Kentucky. Lilly Gray Corbett has accepted an internship in the backwoods community that reminds her of her home in Troublesome Creek, not so very far away. She quickly learns to love the colorful people and finds herself not so sure she wants to leave. Then she meets an old acquaintance who confuses her even more as she tries to choose between him and her fiancé back in Boston. Where does her true heart lie and what will she do?
This is the kind of book that is on the very top of my favorite style of writing. As I became involved with the characters of the story I was pleasantly surprised to feel that it had a familiar kinship to Christy by Catherine Marshall. The customs of the mountain people, the hard life and trials of their existence, and the suspense of the miners’ dangerous jobs all blended with a satisfying love story that left me completely happy with the ending. I liked it so much that I looked up the author and was thrilled to find that this is the latest in a series that I had never read before. That is about to change as I want to go back to the beginning and see where it all began. I must say that this story was very good as a stand alone read but it is definitely worth the effort to check out the other volumes as well. Keep watching. I plan to update with reviews of the other books as I get them read.
Definitely a five star read.
I received this complimentary copy from Tyndale House Publishers for this review. A positive review was not required and the opinions expressed here are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Skip Rock Shallows
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Skip Rock Shallows

Date:May 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
tammy
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
In some ways, Skip Rock Shallows is reminiscent of Catherine Marshall's Christy. A somewhat privileged young woman is making her way to back country to help the impoverished people. She struggles with whether or not to stay and help or to return to city life in Boston.
What I liked:
Jan Watson is an incredibly gifted writer and her writing simply flows beautifully on the page. I could not put Skip Rock Shallows down and was drawn into the story.
All of the people of Skip Rock are endearing and put a smile on my face. Ned is the sweetest and Myrtie is so thoughtful.
Lilly's desire to follow God's will for her life is admirable.
What I did not like so much:
Lilly's superior attitude toward the Skip Rock people never wore off even though she did enjoy living in Skip Rock. I could never see the connection and trust build between the character and Lilly.
*Spoiler* I simply could not understand why Lilly decided she loved Tern. The "love" seemed so superficial and more based on physical characteristics than personality or the real person.
Overall, Skip Rock Shallows was an interesting read, but not my favorite.
Rating: 3/5
Ages: 16+
Skip Rock Shallows by Jan Watson
ISBN:1414339143
Tyndale House
*I received this book from the publisher in exchange for my honest review. I was not compensated in any way or required to write a positive review.*
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Skip Rock Shallows
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Too Feministic For My Taste

Date:May 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
StoryGirl
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have never read anything by Jan Watson before, but she's has received some very good reviews, so I was quite curious about her writing. However, I was disappointed. Not in the author's writing, because I think she is talented, but simply how feministic I found this book. I'm really tired of period heroines who pursue a career and are shocked when people don't accept their jobs as God's "calling" on their life. There was one point in the book that super annoyed me- Lilly was offended at the way the wife in the home she was staying in was serving her husband. Come on people : the woman was fixing him breakfast before she herself ate. Yet Lilly was "shocked" that this man was treating his wife like a "slave". (Also, this man was not some overbearing man who treated women like dirt; he was a very kind, godly man that Lilly otherwise admired. She was just disappointed in the way he viewed women.)
Anyway, the main story just bugged me. It did have it's good points- the hero was likable and I did enjoy some of Lilly's misadventures meeting people in the town (and the characters of Ned and Armina totally cracked me up) but that didn't change the fact that sometimes this book downright offended me. Although, I must admit after reading the book description, I should have known that a story about a woman doctor would have been at least a little feministic no matter what!
I received this book for free from Tyndale in exchange for my honest review.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>