Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House NLT Chronological Life Application Study Bible, Leatherlike Brown/Green/Dark Teal

Tyndale House NLT Chronological Life Application Study Bible, Leatherlike Brown/Green/Dark Teal

The Bible is the story of God's interaction with his creation. It is a story that occurs over time, in many places, and through many events. It includes the lives and lessons learned by many people from many cultures. It's often easy to lose sight of the way in which God's story fits together when our primary way of looking at the Bible is a bit here and a bit there.

The new four-color Chronological Life Application Study Bible combines the proven resources of the Life Application Study Bible with a chronological format and several brand-new resources. The Bible is arranged in 10 chronological sections that help the reader to see how the various pieces of the Bible fit together. New section intros and timelines set the stage for the passages in each section. New archaeological notes and photographs help to bring God's story to life in a whole new way. And of course, the Life Application resources answer the all-important question—"so what?"

Features
  • Section Introductions—Background information help you get the big picture of biblical history
  • Chronological Format—Read God's story in the order it happened
  • Parallel Passage Indicator—Shows you when there are multiple perspectives of a single story
  • Running Timeline—Notes key biblical and world events in the margin
  • Full-color Maps, Photos, & Illustrations—Unique presentation of biblical history and content
  • Life Application Notes—Learn how to apply the Word to your life with the most trusted application notes available today
  • Archaeological Discoveries—Brings you closer to the world of the Bible with engaging insights
  • Christian Worker's Resources—Sharing the faith with others
  • The Bible Book-By-Book—Introductions and outlines to each of the books of the Bible
  • NLT Dictionary/Concordance
  • Master index to all study notes, chart, map, personality profile, or archaeology notes
  • Presentation page
  • Ribbon marker
  • 8.5-point text size
  • 9.50" x 6.75" x 2.00"
Average Customer Rating:
4.894 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(66 Reviews) 66
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (66 reviews)
5 stars
59
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
65 out of 6698%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for NLT Chronological Life Application Study Bible, Leatherlike Brown/Green/Dark Teal
Review 1 for NLT Chronological Life Application Study Bible, Leatherlike Brown/Green/Dark Teal
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Easy to use

Date:February 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
Brenda
Location:WV
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am addicted to collecting Bible's! There I said it. Thing is some Bibles are better than others because of their features, others are just pretty to look at, while others are just totally fantastic because they combine features, eye appeal and an ease of navigation that makes it a joy to use. Well the Tyndale Chronological Life Application Study Bible is in my opinion the Cadillac of all Bibles! From the easy to use NLT version to the colorful pictures and the timeline that runs across the top of the pages, there is so much going on with this Bible that there is no way not to become enriched by God's word whenever you crack this one open. Some of the many features include, illustrated verses,section introductions,maps, notes, outlines, charts and diagrams,a christian worker's resource, the Bible book-by book, and a master index. If that isn't enough there is also a dictionary/concordance and personality profiles that made for interesting, insightful reading that provides an in depth look at many of the people of the Bible. The study notes provided really add depth and understanding to the scriptures allowing me to better understand what I am reading. Truthfully I am reading the Bible Chronologically this year and this is the Bible I am using. The sturdy Bible is hardback, and does have a presentation page making it perfect for gift giving. The print in the body of the Bible is great, but the study notes print is a tad small but manageable. Overall, one of my favorite Bibles!
A complimentary copy of this Bible was provided for review.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NLT Chronological Life Application Study Bible, Leatherlike Brown/Green/Dark Teal
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I'm reading this over two years instead of one

Date:January 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
Debra Brinkman
Location:Yoder, CO
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible is SO COOL.
The theme for this Bible is “A refreshing way to experience God’s story; a trusted way to apply it to your life.”
I like that.
So why do I love this Bible? Let me give you a few ideas.
* Chronological format. I don't think a chronological Bible should be the only Bible on your nightstand, but I do think everyone should go through the Bible chronologically at some point. It is amazing to read something like one of David's Psalms at the same time you are reading about him hiding out from Saul. Context. Yeah, you can do that with a regular Bible too, but with the Chronological one, it is right there for you. No planning involved. It is also wonderful to get books like Chronicles and Kings to line up, instead of reading a lot of the same stories from different points of view months apart.
* NLT Translation. I don't follow all of the arguments about which Bible translations are better and why. I'm aware of some of the disagreement, but not all of it. So if you have reason to hate the NLT, this Bible is also available in KJV. I'm not smart enough to make sense of the KJV though. I typically choose ESV when I have a choice, but I am finding that I really like the NLT too. I can understand it. I think understanding the text is a very good thing in a Chronological Bible, personally. I can always pull out a regular KJV to use for Bible Memory if I want it to sound prettier.
* Extensive notes. That'd be the Life Application parts, or the archaeological evidences part, or the timelines (wow, are there ever a lot of timelines!), or the charts, or just the notes about the original Hebrew word. Lots of notes. I love the notes, and I'm finding they add so much to my reading.
* Photos and illustrations. There is lots of color in here. Not on every page by any stretch, but every few pages anyway. Some are of archaeological sites, some are of things like the trumpets mentioned in a passage. Some illustrate a key Bible verse.
* Maps. Gracious, are there ever maps. Nice ones, in color, with specific and relevant information. In the gospels, there are maps every couple of pages, so you really can see where things are taking place.
I love this Bible.
Disclaimer: I received this book for free from Tyndale House Publishers. No other compensation was received. The fact that I received a complimentary product does not guarantee a favorable review.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NLT Chronological Life Application Study Bible, Leatherlike Brown/Green/Dark Teal
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

It's a beautiful looking bible

Date:January 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
jesse
Location:florida
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Everything was beautiful about this bible. It breaks everything down to time and place which helps. The engraving of the personalized name left a lot to be desired. It should have stood out more. It blended in with the cover and is very hard to see the name at all. Other then that great product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NLT Chronological Life Application Study Bible, Leatherlike Brown/Green/Dark Teal
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Truly a valuable Bible study aid

Date:November 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Josie
Location:Chicago, IL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am enjoying my NLT Chronological Life Application Study Bible. To have the readings and commentary on the same page is wonderful! I do not have to constantly flip back and forth when I am doing my daily study. The profiles of the Bible people are right there also. The maps in the back are wonderful, and the other study aids are very helpful! I also love reading the Bible in chronological order with the Psalms interjected in the time period in which they were probably written. I love reading this Bible!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NLT Chronological Life Application Study Bible, Leatherlike Brown/Green/Dark Teal
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Study Bible Within a Study Bible

Date:January 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Beacon2Light
Location:Bucks County, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I got the chance to review The Chronological Life Application Study Bible, I jumped at the chance. I have wanted a chronological Bible of my own for some time but I had not committed to one. Tyndale offers it in the King James Version and the New Living Translation. Since I am very familiar with the KJV, I decided to get it in the NLT so that I could make that part of my review as well.
The Chronological Life Application Study Bible does not disappoint. I was excited when it arrived and I continue to be excited about this resource. My family gave me a copy of the Life Application Bible when I became ordained. This Bible, however, has the Life Application notes inside of it. For those who don’t know, the Life Application Bible is heavy, literally, with character profiles a-plenty. Its notes also focus on the application of the biblical text to believers’ lives. The Life Application portion of this Bible is study Bible enough to add to one’s library. The fact that the buyer gets so much more than that makes this study Bible very unique and very valuable.
This Bible has a chronology that runs across the top of the page called "The Chronological Header System." Whichever period the reader happens to be reading about is highlighted in another color than the rest of the graph. The top of the Bible has the same color differentiation, enabling the reader to skip from one period to another just by opening the Bible at one of the color points indicated. 10 periods are indicated from the beginnings to the Church in the present.
There are a number of helps for the reader. A “canonical table of contents” is included in the front with page numbers to find specific passages in the chronological Bible. There are maps that are large (some of them span a whole page size) and small throughout the Bible. One of my favorite features is the occasional verse, complete with reference and the verse being quoted, that is found throughout the Bible with a beautiful picture accompanying it. One can find illustrations of the Tabernacle, the Temple and Jerusalem with beautiful detail, among so many others.
The Chronological Life Application Study Bible states that God created the cosmos. It does not take a position on the meaning behind the six days of Creation, leaving room for theistic evolution, one would assume. However, it does advocate for a literal Adam and Eve in a literal garden which, in my opinion, bests fits the second Adam of Christ who reverses the curse brought by the first Adam’s transgression bringing sin into the world. I don’t favor the NLT’s translation, “Did God really say you must not eat the fruit from ANY [emphasis mine] of the trees in the garden” (Gen. 3:1), though it is more common usage than the NKJV or KJV rendering. It also uses the terms domestic and wild animals in the text, such as in 3:14, that I have trouble feeling is justified. The reader must understand however that the NLT is a dynamic equivalence translation, so there is some wiggle room from the literal word-for-word translating process to one that emphasizes the reader’s comprehension.
As for Noah, it comes as close to a universal flood conviction as it can without doing so. This is done by advocating for the elimination of all human beings save those who are in the ark yet leaving open the possibility that not all of the Earth was covered with water. Noah’s great number of years is taken literally without explanation, as far as I can see. To be fair, that may have been explained in notes from periods earlier in biblical history covered in this Bible.
The judgment of Sodom and Gomorrah is also taken literally. The men of the city are taken to be homosexual offenders, especially to their intended targets of the “men” who arrived in the city. Note that the wickedness includes but is not exclusive to this sin. The cities of the plain are literally destroyed by fire from heaven. The NLT makes a translation decision to call the sons-in-law, who were warned to escape with Lot and the family, the girls’ fiancés (Gen. 19:14). I believe the NKJV and KJV text is to be preferred, leaving open either possibility that the sons-in-law are related to the girls with Lot (i.e. betrothed) or to other daughters (perhaps married), who through them, would also be warned to leave the city. Also, the idea that they didn't come because they thought he was joking, a translation decision often made by others, wouldn't be reason enough for Lot to stop warning them to escape. I think that they found the possibility laughable that God would judge the cities after allowing them to be so wicked for so long.
With the same consistency, the study Bible takes literally the plagues on Egypt and the Red Sea crossing. Jonah’s story of his time in the belly of a great fish and his deliverance from it is also taken as a literal miracle of God. The miracles of Christ really happened, demons are real fallen angels, heaven and hell likewise are real. It would be fair to say that this Bible is a conservative evangelical Bible that is trustworthy.
I wanted to speak to an obvious question. What does the Bible do with the places where the Gospel writers record the same event? Desiring this answer for myself, I took a look and this Bible handles it well. Each set of parallel accounts in the Gospels is separated by a parallel icon with a number of dots that represent the number of Gospel writers who wrote of that event. The parallel readings from each of the Gospels recording the event are designated with a colored-in icon above that reading. The colored dot indicates the reader’s location in the parallel passages. Subsequent movement of the colored-in dot, sort of like a traffic light put on its side, indicates how far you are in the number of parallel readings. If that is as clear as mud, the reader will understand and appreciate this tool once the Bible is used personally. While in the Gospels, I did want to note that the NLT adds Elizabeth’s pregnancy for clarification to Luke 1:26 as does the new NIV.
The Bible is loaded with archaeological notes, theological charts, color maps both large and small, character profiles and illustrations throughout. One can study the parallels between Joseph and Jesus, Satan’s plans against the believer, sources of suffering and why we suffer, and on and on. Adam, Eve, Lot, Abraham, Moses, David, Elijah, Ezra, John the Baptist, Thomas, Lydia are just several of a multitude of character profiles. Illustrations abound like those depicting the high priest’s garments, the Tabernacle and its furnishings, an almond tree, and a grapevine. There is a harmony of the Gospels and plenty of charts that would aid Bible students and teachers to do series just from them.
I would like to leave you with a final note on the New Living Translation, from my personal opinion. I think the version is a good one. It enables the reader to grasp God’s Word in an easy-to-read format. However, I much prefer the NKJV, ESV, NASB and the NIV84 to be honest.
If I were to make the choice again between the KJV version of this Bible or the NLT, I would still choose the NLT. Hopefully, this resource will expand into some of the other translations I just mentioned. That would be a great improvement on an already awesome study Bible.
I could go on but I have already taken so much of your time. I hope that this review answers your questions regarding this Bible and enables you to choose which version you may wish to get. God bless you and all who benefit from your study of the Bible, the Word of God.
Tyndale House Publishers has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book for review purposes
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NLT Chronological Life Application Study Bible, Leatherlike Brown/Green/Dark Teal
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

More than meets my expectations

Date:January 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Liz Denton
Location:Modesto, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible more than meets my expectations. I have already found it invaluable in preparing for the Bible study I teach at a local healthcare facility, as well as in my own personal Bible study.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NLT Chronological Life Application Study Bible, Leatherlike Brown/Green/Dark Teal
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great study help!

Date:December 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
SC2424
Location:Vermont
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I LOVE this study Bible!! I did not have a study Bible, and I sure didn't know what I was missing! This Chronological Life Application Study Bible published by Tyndale is a wonderful new addition to our Bible study materials!
Some of the wonderful things about it ~~ Chronological ~~ so cool to have the passages arranged as they occurred in history. Last year the kids and I started studying ancient history and WOW! it was amazing to see the Scripture in its historical context -- made some of the passages so much more easily understandable and just clearer! With this layout of the Bible, it's easier to connect those historical dots. There is also a table in the front of this edition that lists the canonical table of contents (the "regular" way that the Bible is arranged, book by book) and shows the pages that they can be found in this edition.
The study part of this Bible is multi-faceted. There's a timeline that runs along the upper margin of each page, showing which era in history the section of the Scripture that you're looking at falls into. There are maps and explanations, drawings along with other explanations, introductions, titles, little historical facts (for example on p. 1111 in the Ezekiel section, the sidenote says that in 585 BC the Greek astronomer Thales predicts and eclipse). There are outlines, summaries, . . .I just cannot give a full explanation of all the study helps available in this! You can see some more detail on the website for this Bible, found HERE.
I definitely recommend this Study Bible. I know that it will be a great help in our family's Bible studies this year and in the future!
I am so thankful to have received a copy of this Bible for the purpose of this review. I was not required to write a positive review, but I really like this study Bible! Get one and use it yourself!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NLT Chronological Life Application Study Bible, Leatherlike Brown/Green/Dark Teal
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A refreshing way to read and study the Bible

Date:December 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jill Jones
Location:Opelika, AL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Chronological Life Application Study Bible is the most comprehensive study Bible I've seen in a long time. Every page includes notes, color photos and maps and/or timelines. In the back of the Bible, you will find some awesome resources such as a Christian Worker's Resource, the Bible book-by-book, dictionary/concordance and maps all in full color.
The Life Application notes are ideal for learning how to apply Scripture to your life. With the historical and cultural background included among the pages of Scripture, you will be better equipped to see how even though the times are different, we are still human beings with the same needs and problems as the ones encountered during biblical times.
Reading the Bible using the Chronological Life Application Study Bible will make Bible study easier with its one-book approach to studying the Bible for yourself. You won't have to use several different books. Now, you can use the resources provided in the Chronological Life Application Study Bible.
I am thrilled with Tyndale's new Bible and look forward to reading the Bible and studying the notes and features of the Chronological Life Application Study Bible in 2014.
Visit http://chronolifeapp.com to download a free sample.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Tyndale House Publishers as part of their Book Review Blogger Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NLT Chronological Life Application Study Bible, Leatherlike Brown/Green/Dark Teal
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What I've seen so far is the BEST Chrono Study!!!

Date:December 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
ELIZABETH JOHNS WIFE
Location:Westminster, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I haven't had much time to utilize this wonderful source of God's Word; yet, I knew my brother-in-law would be fascinated with all the info it contains & he purchased two for his sister and ex-wife. He & his ex will be starting a Bible Study for his two sisters back in PA.!!! PTL!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NLT Chronological Life Application Study Bible, Leatherlike Brown/Green/Dark Teal
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Beautiful and Flawed

Date:December 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
DanielOfAZ
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tyndale recently sent me a free hardback copy of their new Chronological Life Application Study Bible for review. For someone like me who loves books in general, and the Bible specifically, this book is hard not to like.
It's beautiful. Full color throughout: photographs of Bible places, paintings, parchments, charts. It's not only a book, it's a work of art. It is by far the most aesthetically pleasant Bible I have ever seen.
It's heavy. If you like Bibles that feel solid (I do), this is definitely one!
It's helpful. There are tons of notes, a concordance, color maps, etc.
It's unique. The biggest selling point of this Bible is that it is arranged chronologically, not in the traditional canonical order. For example, Job is placed between Genesis and Exodus. The Psalms are interspersed with David's life in 1 and 2 Samuel. Samuel and Kings are interwoven with parallel passages in Chronicles. The four gospels are interwoven, making it easy to compare each gospel writer's account of each story. The epistles are inserted in the appropriate places in Acts.
Having said that, there are several weaknesses in this Bible.
The very fact that it is arranged chronologically becomes an irritating slowdown if you are trying to find a particular passage. Despite the extensive canonical table of contents in the beginning, it's not a Bible you would take to church or Bible study, where you want to be able to find passages fast. I think I would enjoy this Bible much more if it were arranged canonically.
There are also disadvantages to blending the four gospels into one. Each gospel writer aimed to bring out specific aspects of Jesus' ministry and character. Each author's sequence and selection of stories from Jesus' life were not random, but carefully planned. This gets lost in the "combined" version.
Tyndale has only released this Bible in the KJV and NLT, both of which are inferior for serious study to the ESV, HCSB, or NASB. It has no cross references. In this sense, it is not a true study Bible.
While overall the commentary notes are accurate and concise, there are evidences of a bent towards evangelical liberalism. The notes on Genesis leave room for theistic evolution, and the notes on the role of women in church lean towards egalitarianism rather than complementarianism.
So how would this Bible best be used? Who should buy one? A person who is seeking to absorb a lot of information about the Bible efficiently. Such a person would gain a very broad and organized education by reading through the entire Chronological Life Application Study Bible from cover to cover. It is not a Bible to keep on the shelf for occasional reference; it's a Bible to read through carefully, and then pass on to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for NLT Chronological Life Application Study Bible, Leatherlike Brown/Green/Dark Teal
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Chronological Life Application Study Bible, NLT

Date:December 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Wanda
Location:NC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
The New Living Translation has been my Bible of choice for years. I love the way it translates each verse in such a way that is very easy to understand for everyone from novices to the most seasoned Bible readers. When I was given the chance to review this particular Bible I jumped at it and I'm glad I did. I would like to share some of the features I think are outstanding in this Bible.
Special Features:
Life Application Notes: The best feature in this Bible, for me, is the Life Application Notes. Each page has several Scriptures displayed at the top and below the original Scriptures is a section explaining the Scripture in detail. I have learn a lot I previously didn't fully understand through this feature.
Running Timeline: The dates for key events are displayed in the outer margin of the pages. If you have trouble remembering dates like I do, you'll love this feature.
Full Color Maps, Photos and Illustrations: Throughout the pages you'll find full color images with facts and information describing key things such as Threshing Grain, Trumpet, Millstone and Roman Whips and Scourges. There's no need for a dictionary or encyclopedia because it's all right there on the page.
Parallel Passage Indicator: Each time you move into a new section / story it has a new header indicating the beginning and it shows when that particular section / story ends. This is a great feature letting you know exactly which verses are apart of the story you are currently reading.
Master Index: When you look up a particular subject or person in the Bible it shows the page number for each key Scripture, chart, map, personality profile and archaeology note. For example, if you look up Aaron you will see the following:
Aaron
his ordination......................................... Lv 8:1ff............... 210
his role as a high priest.......................... Lv 8:12............... 211
criticized Moses for wrong reason......... Nm 12:1(2)......... 249
his death................................................. Nm 20:28.......... 263
MAP: Moses Returns to Egypt.......................................... 146
PROFILE: Aaron (in Ex)...................................................... 184
INTRODUCTION: Aaron.................................................... 136
These are only a few of the features included in this Bible. There are others that you will find just as helpful. I was thrilled with this Bible as a whole. The very first page I read I learned, what I consider, a key fact that I had never realized before in my studies. It is full of information and key facts that will enhance anyone's Bible study. The Life Application Notes are my favorite part and a key feature when studying the Bible, in my own person opinion. I first came across this feature in another Bible but it wasn't my preferred version (NLT) so I was thrilled to find it in this one but this one has so much more. If you want a Bible to aid in an extensive study of the Scriptures this is the Bible for you. I will be recommending it to everyone I know as a complete all-in-one study Bible.
Disclaimer: I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher for my true and honest review. These opinions are mine and mine alone and I was in no way compensated for this review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for NLT Chronological Life Application Study Bible, Leatherlike Brown/Green/Dark Teal
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Breathed new life into my study of the Word

Date:December 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Josi
Location:Baker City, OR
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have never owned a study Bible, mainly because I’ve always preferred a small and compact Bible that is easy to throw in my purse. The Chronological Life Application Study Bible is heavy and quite large, and even though I have a huge purse, there’s not a chance I will haul it around. But that’s ok- this is a Bible you keep at home, on hand, wherever it is that you do your Bible reading. I love this Bible and I feel as if new life has been breathed into my personal devotions because of it. Forgive me if I sound like I’m gushing…that’s not my intent. But I feel like I’m really learning again, not just reading and reflecting. In the past I used online commentaries and studies to research verses and topics, and though I will still do that, one of the things I really like about this Bible is the verse-by-verse notes. They’re easy to reference and provide great insights into the actual text. They also try to provide a big-picture, or logical approach to the topic at hand. Take for instance, the first note, for Genesis 1:1, where the reader is provided with the actual speed of our galaxy through the universe (490,000 miles per hour) along with a brief philosophical synopsis as to why God created the universe (out of love). I love this! I love facts (like how fast we’re moving in the galaxy), and I love that they are easily related to the character of God.
I decided to use the book of Job as the basis for my review of this Bible, mainly because Job is a difficult book to understand, and I think I was actually surprised by how relevant my study of Job became because of the thoroughness of the notes. I also got a lot out of the inserts, which provide an overview of events or key people. For instance, one of the inserts in Job discusses the strengths and weaknesses of his three friends and the lessons learned from their attempts to advise Job in his suffering. They tried to explain his suffering rather than help him endure it, and they saw his questions to God as challenges rather than expressions of grief. From this insert and my study of the text, I was able to apply a number of insights to my own life in terms of comforting those who grieve and endure hardship.
This is a chronological study, so the books are ordered according to date, which means you do have to make use of the index to find a particular book. It’s also a little difficult to know which book you’re in, because the time period is emphasized rather than the book. For this reason the title of the book does not head each page, rather there’s a timeline. I really like this feature; again, it gives something of a big-picture overview and a fresh perspective.
One of the first things I told my husband after I’d spent some time looking through this Bible was that I thought it was well designed for a broad demographic – for those who want to deepen their study of the Word, as well as for new believers, or those who are interested in studying the Bible but aren’t convinced that it is God’s Word. The reason for this is that the translation is very easy to understand (New Living Translation) and the notes and inserts strive to be objective and broadly informative. One insert discusses a number of extra-Biblical accounts of creation, another discusses extra-Biblical accounts of the great flood. There are a number of inserts dealing with archeological discoveries that confirm the historicity and accuracy of the Bible (and some great pictures), and some really helpful charts that compare common themes or people. Taken together these provide a great supplement to one’s study.
I think the Chronological Life Application Study Bible would be a great gift (and it’s almost Christmas!!), maybe particularly for a person who struggles with studying the Bible on their own, or who has lots of questions about the relevancy of the Bible today.
You can find more information here: http://chronolifeapp.com and I hope you check it out!
I received a complimentary copy of this book for review from Tyndale House Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for NLT Chronological Life Application Study Bible, Leatherlike Brown/Green/Dark Teal
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Helpful Study Bible

Date:December 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
kanejim
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With the stated purpose of helping the reader “understand the Bible and apply it to your life” the award winning Chronological Life Application Study Bible developed by an “interdenominational team of pastors, scholars, family counselors and a national organization dedicated to promoting God’s Word” is a very comprehensive study Bible.
Formatted in a chronological, rather than traditional and canonical order, this Bible is filled a variety of helpful study aids and information to help the reader better understand scripture and apply it to life on a daily basis.
What does it mean to read the Bible chronologically? Well for instance the book of Job, considered to be one of the oldest books in the Old Testament appears after Genesis and before Exodus. And in the New Testament the gospels are arranged in chronological order which means as you read, you may read a passage from Matthew, then a segment from Luke, followed by a chapter from either Mark or John!
Divided into 10 chronological segments beginning around 2100 BC and ending with 30 AD to the present, you are given book by book summaries in each section introduction along with other vital and helpful information. As you read through this Bible you are also given timelines which offer clear parallels to events in world history.
A key feature of this Bible is the life application notes which run across the bottom of the page and assist the reader with understanding the text and what it means for the reader. This very helpful feature will make books such as the Old Testament book of Leviticus more understandable as you read.
Two other helpful features are the numerous maps which illustrate important locations and highlight boxes which highlight important Biblical characters in a particular segment of scripture. Both of these features will assist the reader by giving them some important background information.
I liked the design of the pages, with the chronological periods across the top of the page to help the reader keep track of historical period they are currently in and running life application comments across the bottom. And while the pages are busy, I believe that Bible study will be enhanced with regular reading. (And remember, you are reading the Bible chronologically not in the canonical or traditional way!)
This Bible will make an excellent study Bible for individuals and for groups as well with the additional features. And a plus for this version is the easy to read New Living Translation (NLT) which allows the Bible to be read in language that is easily understood today.
I plan to make this Bible a reference Bible for my sermon study as well as personal study in the years ahead.
A wonderful and helpful resource for the serious student of scripture or for one who wants to deepen the study of scripture, Chronological Life Application Study Bible will make an excellent addition to the study of the Bible.
Note: I received a copy of this Bible from Tyndale House Publisher in exchange for a review. I was not required to write a positive review.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for NLT Chronological Life Application Study Bible, Leatherlike Brown/Green/Dark Teal
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lallie
Location:Orrville, AL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the features of this Bible. Easy to use. Really useful and comprehensive information
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for NLT Chronological Life Application Study Bible, Leatherlike Brown/Green/Dark Teal
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

PLEASE buy this Bible!

Date:November 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
J Love
Location:Tuscaloosa, AL
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have finally found the Bible that has shattered my obsession with the physical aspects of the Good Book. This is an awesome Bible.
I'm very systematic in all ways of my life and I have been longing for a quality chronological Bible to be produced. This is the one! It is ordered chronologically, with parallel passages combined. Its the NLT, so it is easy to read, understand, and study. It flows well off of the tongue. One of the best parts is I don't have to give up my favorite study Bible, the Life App, because the Life App notes are integrated into this Bible. This is like a dream come true for me. I have a hard time believing this Bible exists. This is the perfect Bible for the student because of what is in it!
The physical aspects of it are awesome as well. It is in full color and looks absolutely beautiful. The binding, pages, and cover are all good. I have always been pleased with Tyndale's publishing jobs compared to others in the past, and this Bible is no exception. I have no quips or complaints about this Bible!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for NLT Chronological Life Application Study Bible, Leatherlike Brown/Green/Dark Teal
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

fabulous.

Date:November 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sami
Location:PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A fine Bible for casual reading or study. There's so much information packed into one book. I really enjoy it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for NLT Chronological Life Application Study Bible, Leatherlike Brown/Green/Dark Teal
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exceeds expectations

Date:October 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Blessed247
Location:Jeffersonville,N.Y.
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am pleased beyond measure with this Bible. It has everything I desire and more. They thought of Everything! It is truly excellent, from the beginning to the end. Finally one Bible that has it all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for NLT Chronological Life Application Study Bible, Leatherlike Brown/Green/Dark Teal
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is the one!

Date:October 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
otto0713
Location:Grantsburg, Wisconsin
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've read almost every version of the Bible for the past fifty years and have to say that this one is the most informative and enjoyable for understanding the scriptures and how they relate to ancient time-lines and historical occurrences.
There is a wealth of information and intuitive insight within its many special notes and features; with its beautiful maps, drawings and timelines complementing the charts and diagrams, this edition of the NLT is both easily read and truly deserves the many awards it has received so far.
To surmise, it is the one for both newly initiated readers and old-timers like myself, who have plodded through the many and varied study bible versions and commentaries. I give this 5 stars because it is that good!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for NLT Chronological Life Application Study Bible, Leatherlike Brown/Green/Dark Teal
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Love This Bible, But...

Date:August 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
TracyeIsHIS
Location:Marietta, GA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have many, many Bibles and I use them all daily. I checked out the preview of this, and several other Bibles before I decided on this one. I absolutely Love the side-notes, explanations of almost every passage, the history shared, little tidbits about the writers of each Love Letter (Book) in HIS Word! BUT...it is a little confusing because, since it's in chronological order, one Book is "all over" the place. I.E. the Books are not together as you would find in other Bibles. The Book of Psalms is found mixed in with other Books like Samuel and Chronicles, and it's that way for every Book. I have to constantly check the index in the front of this Bible in order to see where a chapter is. In all my other Bibles, I know where Psalm is, where Matthew is, where Genesis is. It feels great in my hands, it looks great to my eyes, the extra content is truly a gift, but it can be a little confusing...
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for NLT Chronological Life Application Study Bible, Leatherlike Brown/Green/Dark Teal
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

First Bible Study/Bible - LOVE IT!

Date:September 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
JulieB
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely love this book! It is so easy to understand the stories in "today's language" I feel like I am closer to God and His word than ever. Thank you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.