Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Unplanned: The Dramatic True Story of a Former Planned Parenthood Leader's Eye-Opening Journey across the Life Line

Tyndale House Unplanned: The Dramatic True Story of a Former Planned Parenthood Leader's Eye-Opening Journey across the Life Line

After the director of a Planned Parenthood clinic in Texas participated in her first abortion procedure, she quit her job and walked across the road to join the Coalition for Life. In this heart-stopping personal drama, you'll discover how Abby Johnson's spiritual transformation instills hope and compassion into the political controversy surrounding this issue. 288 pages, softcover from Tyndale.
Average Customer Rating:
4.625 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
16 out of 16100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Unplanned: The Dramatic True Story of a Former Planned Parenthood Leader's Eye-Opening Journey across the Life Line
Review 1 for Unplanned: The Dramatic True Story of a Former Planned Parenthood Leader's Eye-Opening Journey across the Life Line
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Book!

Date:March 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
jamie
Location:Kettering Oh
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An inspiring story! Love Abby Johnson! A must read for everyone!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Unplanned: The Dramatic True Story of a Former Planned Parenthood Leader's Eye-Opening Journey across the Life Line
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Moving tale!

Date:October 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The incredible story of a brave woman who switched sides in one of the most controversial debate in America.
It all started one day when Ms. Johnson was asked to assist with the ultrasound part of an abortion. What she saw in that handfull of time convinced her to walk away from her job at Planned Parenthood and join the pro-life movement. And that transition was far from easy...
This was an utterly inspiring story from a woman who has been on both sides of the debate, and I was inspired by her bravery to do something, instead of sitting back like she could have. The book was well written and was well paced. It told of how Ms. Johnson became involved with Planned Parenthood, quite innocently and as time came to realize the truth of what she was involved in, and was even brought to court by Planned Parenthood.
I was very inspired by this read, and I think it would be very hard not to be inspired by Ms. Johnson's strength and bravery. This is a well written read that I highly recommend, because it shows both sides and how a woman who was heavily involved did a 180 and embraced the pro-life movement. I highly recommend this book!
No review required.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Unplanned: The Dramatic True Story of a Former Planned Parenthood Leader's Eye-Opening Journey across the Life Line
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

excellent read

Date:July 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Christian Bookworm
Location:OK
Age:45-54
Gender:female
An interesting story that reveals a lot about what was involved in the Planned Parenthood agenda. A story of hope and forgiveness for those involved with abortion in any aspect.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Unplanned: The Dramatic True Story of a Former Planned Parenthood Leader's Eye-Opening Journey across the Life Line
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:July 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jessica Bates
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unplanned by Abby Johnson is a book about the author's experience with running a Planned Parenthood. She has an eye opening experience during an abortion and finds that she can no longer support them.
I feel that abortion is a topic that is extremely important. I think that it is too easily glossed over and that people don't really know what happens during and after an abortion or they just choose to look the other way. I think this is a good book for every one to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Unplanned: The Dramatic True Story of a Former Planned Parenthood Leader's Eye-Opening Journey across the Life Line
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

very moving story

Date:July 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mark
Location:USA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am extremely pro-life, as any genuine Christian should be, so I was very interested in reading this book.
The book talks a lot about Abby's growing-up years and up through college, which is where she became involved with Planned Parenthood.
I found it fascinating to get a look at what goes on in the mind of someone who is pro-life and works at an abortion facility, and also hearing from people who are on the front lines of the pro-life movement, battling for the lives of innocent babies.
This is an amazing story. How someone so involved in the abortion industry could come so far, and change their view so much. It also helped me to see that we need to do more to fight this horrible scourge of abortion, and that even those who are caught up in the baby killing industry can be reached by God and changed completely.
I enjoyed the book and was also convicted and challenged by it to do more.
I follow Abby on facebook, and am impressed at how much she is doing now to fight for the pro-life side.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Unplanned: The Dramatic True Story of a Former Planned Parenthood Leader's Eye-Opening Journey across the Life Line
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Glimpse Into The Other Side

Date:June 29, 2012
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Abby Johnson worked at a Planned Parenthood clinic for eight years. When she quit, Planned Parenthood sued her, her friends quit talking to her, she made national news, and she ended up leaving her church.
As one fully committed to the pro-life movement, this book offered some insight into the daily workings of the largest abortion offerer in America. It answered questions I had as to how and why a Christian could work for such a place and insist they believed in Christ by sharing the experiences of one who did that. It offered a way for me to empathize with those whose views are the antithesis of my own by telling stories of people who need compassion. Most of all, it was also a continuing testament to God's grace and the unconditional love offered at the cross.
Note: The first chapter is a very graphic description of the abortion the author witnessed, which provided the catalyst for her decision to leave. The images are disturbing. It makes a clear statement as to the horrors of abortion. However, as one who is already understands the reality portrayed, I chose to skip it. Life is horrible enough without burning these images into my heart. For me this did not lessen the impact of the author's work. If your heart is already softened towards the pros-life movement, then you may want to skip it as well. The rest of the book is still chock full of details, facts and figures.
I'd recommend this to Christians, either pro-life or pro-choice, who are interested in how the other side thinks, and what could possibly make a person change their mind.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Unplanned: The Dramatic True Story of a Former Planned Parenthood Leader's Eye-Opening Journey across the Life Line
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

truth is stranger than fiction

Date:June 22, 2012
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
what a wonderful and difficult book to read.If you ever have or had a question concerning abortion vs. life you should read this book
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Unplanned: The Dramatic True Story of a Former Planned Parenthood Leader's Eye-Opening Journey across the Life Line
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

An Honest Account

Date:June 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
kattrox
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Abby Johnson after 8 years of being an employee and spokesperson for Planned Parenthood in Bryan Texas, who worked on the front lines in the office, was called to assist a doctor in normal procedures at Planned Parenthood. She has always strived to help others and to show them that other choices are available to them and abortion isnt always the answer. But that day replayed in her mind constantly bringing about change in her life.
This book allows a rare glimpse inside the day to day operations of Planned Parenthood, their practices and policies from an honest account of a former employee. Although I have heard briefly about the organization, the rest I am now aware of. As a person who believes in the sanctity of human life, at times, I found the book hard to read from that standpoint. I do believe this book is necessary for this day and age however to open the eyes of readers. I would recommend this book to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Unplanned: The Dramatic True Story of a Former Planned Parenthood Leader's Eye-Opening Journey across the Life Line
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great book!

Date:June 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
ryansgirlnow
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I think they should hand out this book to every girl in jr high and highschool. Kids are so brainwashed about what planned parenthood really is all about. What an eye opener, my daughter will be reading it next!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Unplanned: The Dramatic True Story of a Former Planned Parenthood Leader's Eye-Opening Journey across the Life Line
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

WOW

Date:February 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Momof3
Location:Montana
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thank you so much for writing this book Abby! It has totally changed my view on people who work at Planned Parenthood. I thought that they worked there because they are for abortion. Abby tells through this book that not everyone does. Some are mislead to believe the lies and actually think they are helping women. This is a great eye opening book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Unplanned: The Dramatic True Story of a Former Planned Parenthood Leader's Eye-Opening Journey across the Life Line
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sswaving
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was really good! I loved every minute of it and it really opens your eyes to both sides of abortion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Unplanned: The Dramatic True Story of a Former Planned Parenthood Leader's Eye-Opening Journey across the Life Line
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This was an excellent story.

Date:February 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kathy
Location:Greenville, SC
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a great help to others for seeing the prolife side, this is also a great encouragement for seeing that you can switch "sides", and still be a great help to women in need, and their babies.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Unplanned: The Dramatic True Story of a Former Planned Parenthood Leader's Eye-Opening Journey across the Life Line
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Inspirational, encouraging,a must read!

Date:January 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Giavonna
Location:Mendham. NJ
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
one of the best books out there!
a must read for everyune 15 to 95!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Unplanned: The Dramatic True Story of a Former Planned Parenthood Leader's Eye-Opening Journey across the Life Line
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a pass around book

Date:December 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cindy Dingeldein
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy read! Abby has written a great narative concerning not only her own life, but some of the behind the scenes motives of the PP organization (not each individual). I've already begun passing this book around to others...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Unplanned: The Dramatic True Story of a Former Planned Parenthood Leader's Eye-Opening Journey across the Life Line
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A captivating story.

Date:November 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Wanda Stutzman
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a great read, especially in portraying the power of prayer and what God does behind the scenes. I was however saddened that the author is divorced and remarried.
-5points
0of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Unplanned: The Dramatic True Story of a Former Planned Parenthood Leader's Eye-Opening Journey across the Life Line
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Must read!

Date:November 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
sharon
Location:Central PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I couldn't put this book down! I loved how Abby was so honest and raw about her thought process. I think this can be valuable to Christian pregnancy centers to help them realize where the 'other side' is coming from. We're going to pass this on to a friend that is a director of a local Christian crisis pregnancy center. Loved it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.