Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Coming Back Stronger: Unleashing the Hidden Power of Adversity

Tyndale House Coming Back Stronger: Unleashing the Hidden Power of Adversity

After his career-threatening shoulder surgery, coaches wondered if Drew Brees would ever play football again. Then Hurricane Katrina left New Orleans under water---and the Saints homeless. Here the Super Bowl MVP shares the inspiring story of an injured quarterback, a devastated city, and an uprooted team that turned adversity into success and despair into hope! 320 pages, hardcover from Tyndale.
Average Customer Rating:
4.643 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 11100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Coming Back Stronger: Unleashing the Hidden Power of Adversity
Review 1 for Coming Back Stronger: Unleashing the Hidden Power of Adversity
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What a come back story

Date:March 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:martinezsylvia09@gmail.com
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use to like football but players like Michael Vick made me stop watching the game all together.  I thought football changed and all athletes where just as bad as those whose scandals hit the 9:00 p.m. News. But that all changed I received this book for free from bookbub.com  and I loved this book.  Drew Brees made me realize that their still some great players that love the game.  Players that you would not be afraid to let your children route for. Coming Back Stronger is an inspirational book.  Drew  Brees  shares his story of injury, recovery, and how he became the Quarterback for the Saints.  I can tell you this I routed for him at every page.  Drew Brees not only shared the love of football, but also the love and respect he has for God.  Drew Brees knew that it was because of God he was able to face the trials in his life.  This book is a must read I hope you let it inspire you as it inspired me.  God Bless
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Coming Back Stronger: Unleashing the Hidden Power of Adversity
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book

Date:March 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Steelers Fan
Location:Lebanon, OH
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I Loved this book! To see what Drew came back from you can't imagine could happen. Only God's awesome Power is the reason he was able to do this and Drew's Determination. I would recommend this book to any sports fan!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Coming Back Stronger: Unleashing the Hidden Power of Adversity
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good message; LOTS of football stats

Date:March 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jennifer H
Location:Bath, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After reading “Coming Back Stronger” by Drew Brees, I decided to give this book 3 stars. Why only 3 stars?? Well, let me explain. I actually did think that this was a good book overall – meaning it had a good message, and it was written in a way that kept my attention. I liked the overall story/message of the book. I think Drew Brees (and his wife) are very firm in their faith, and really enjoyed reading how they use their faith in God in their everyday life and life decisions. I think it would really be an inspiration to those reading this book to try to do the same in their own lives. The other underlying “message” from Drew was that no matter what life throws at you, if you just push yourself (and rely on God for His help) and work harder than you think you can, that you are able to overcome life’s “lemons”.
However, I think if you’re a HUGE football fan, and love stats and game “facts” (i.e. – who did what, and for how many yards, etc.), this book would be rated about 4.5 stars. I actually am a football fan, but I got “bored” about halfway through the book of being inundated with WAY too many football facts, stats, game plays, etc. Towards the beginning of the book, I didn’t seem to mind it as much. But, once I was about halfway through, either I was getting sick of all the football players’ names and plays, or there may have been more and more of this as I kept continuing through the book.
I would recommend this book to football fans, especially those who like to read about plays and players and stats. In fact, I think others (non-football fans) would still like the overall point and message of this book, but like myself, may have a hard time reading through the whole book without eventually getting overwhelmed (and slightly bored) by the excessive football terminology and facts.
Disclosure of Material Connection: Tyndale House Publishers provided me with a complimentary copy of this book. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Coming Back Stronger: Unleashing the Hidden Power of Adversity
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book!

Date:March 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Virtuous Girlhood
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All of us at some point in our lives have faced some kind of trouble. Whether it illness, friends betraying us, loved ones leaving, or financial hardship, we have all faced trouble. Many times it knocks us to the ground.
When these things happen we have two choices, we can either lie on the ground defeated or we can choose to let adversity make us stronger.
This is what NFL New Orleans Quarterback Drew Brees talks about in his book. Coming from a broken home, Drew wanted to be different. He wanted to play football, have a strong marriage, and take a team to the championship. Yet setbacks kept seeming to send him back top square one or did they?
Come along as Drew Bree talks about his amazing journey from a competitive kid growing up in Texas to NFL quarterback with the Saints and a super bowl title.
I was intrigued and fascinated by this book. Normally I like reading light fiction or spiritual books. A football book written by a highly competitive person was defiantly a change. But it was a good change. I loved the book. It reminded me that God uses the hurt, pain, and trouble in our lives for our greater good. I may not always understand why things are happening the way they do, but God will work everything out for my good.
So I may not ever go to a super bowl, but I still know that God will use the seeming setbacks in my life to make me stronger.
You can buy Coming Back Stronger from Tyndale House Publishers and www.cbd.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Coming Back Stronger: Unleashing the Hidden Power of Adversity
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Inspirational read!

Date:February 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mama Dee
Location:Monroe, Louisiana
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recommend this book for everyone: young, old, and in between. I especialy recommend it for young people as a guide and help to face and overcome adversities just as Drew has done. This is a very good insight to the man and his faith in God. No matter what problems he faced, with God's help, he always came back stronger!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Coming Back Stronger: Unleashing the Hidden Power of Adversity
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Book Review: Coming Back Stronger by Drew Brees

Date:February 2, 2011
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'll open this post up by saying that I am NOT a Saints fan! Nothing against them or anything...it's just that I like the Titans. With that said, I DO like Drew Brees. I am impressed by his testimony and how he lives for the Lord in the midst of his football team. He is outspoken about it and isn't afraid to share his faith with others.
This book is very interesting. I learned a lot about Drew and enjoyed the football stories. You don't even have to be a football fan to enjoy this book. He talks a lot about his faith and how God helped him come back even stronger and how God carried him through all of the adversity that was thrown his way...almost all at once.
I would definitely recommend this book to others. It still hasn't swayed me to be a Saints fan, but I think I will be excited for Drew when he does carry out a win because I know what all he's gone through to get to where he is now.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Coming Back Stronger: Unleashing the Hidden Power of Adversity
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great reading for sports fans

Date:January 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Peanut
Location:Lancaster, PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I highly recommend this book for anyone who likes football. What an uplifting story for anyone to read!
I am a Steelers fan, but I enjoyed reading this book about Drew Brees and his challenges.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Coming Back Stronger: Unleashing the Hidden Power of Adversity
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A moving, encouraging memoir.

Date:December 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
LaTawnia Kintz
Location:Forest Grove, Oregon
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Okay! This is the second book and the last one to be reviewed for 2010! Sit back and relax and enjoy!
Coming Back Stronger is a memoir written by Drew Brees. This is a great story! There, I said it. I really enjoyed this book. Drew has an interesting life story and what he has gone through will keep you riveted.
Click here for the link to read the first chapter.
This is from the inside cover of the book:
What doesn't kill you makes you STRONGER. After a potentially career-ending shoulder injury left quarterback Drew Brees without a team - facing the daunting task of having to learn to throw a football all over again - coaches and commentators across the NFL wondered, Will he ever come back?
When Hurricane Katrina devastated New Orleans in 2005, leaving more than 80 percent of the city underwater and almost two-thirds of the population homeless and displaced, people the world over wondered, Will the city ever come back?
And with their stadium transformed into a makeshift refugee camp, forcing the Saints to play their entire 2005 season on the road, legions of sports fans wondered, Will the Saints ever come back?
Now you have the premise of this great story. I found myself shaking my head with wonder at the determination of a man and a city determined to come back. Not just come back... but come back a winner.
I don't want to spoil the book for you, it is definitely one you want to read. But I do have to say, I like football and I watched how the Saints have grown since the devastation of New Orleans. And having watched Drew Brees in action is a joy.
One of the things you will read over and again is Drew's optimistic outlook on everything. He never gives up. If he is feeling down, he does something to get back up. He has a wonderful way of dealing with the tragedies in his life. And he gives all credit to where it's due. God.
I found myself encouraged reading Drew's story. It encouraged me and how I can change myself and my outlook when I find it becoming pessimistic. It will encourage you as well.
Drew Brees, his wife Brittany and son, Baylen, continue to live in New Orleans where they still pour their lives into the community that welcomed them when they first moved to New Orleans.
You can find this book almost everywhere you shop for your favorite books.
You can visit Drew Brees at www.drewbrees.com.
This book was provided to me by Tyndale House Publishers free from all obligations to give a positive review. Everything I have said is of my own opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Coming Back Stronger: Unleashing the Hidden Power of Adversity
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Joann
Location:Iowa
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought 3 as gifts for family. I wish I'd gotten one for myself. I had seen an interview with Drew Brees and was impressed with his Christian testimony. That is what prompted me to buy the books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Coming Back Stronger: Unleashing the Hidden Power of Adversity
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great memoir whether you're a football fan or not

Date:December 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brees is the quarterback who led the New Orleans Saints to the Super Bowl championship in Feb of 2010. He was also named the MVP.
Brees earned that honor by hard work and commitment. He had been a successful quarterback in high school until he tore his ACL. It was a defining moment as he decided to come back and come back stronger.
He was a second round draft choice with the San Diego Chargers. He faced adversity and suffered being benched. During a New Year's Eve game in 2003, Brees fumbled and grabbed for the ball. He dislocated his shoulder and an MRI showed that basically everything that held his shoulder together was shredded. He knew that might mean the end of his NFL career.
A lesson he learned during that dark period of his injury and rehab was, “if God leads you to it, he will lead you through it. Everything happens for a reason, and everything is part of his master plan. If you let adversity do its work in you, it will make you stronger.” (90)
While recovering he signed with the New Orleans Saints. The history of that franchise had not been pretty. While the city had hosted seven Super Bowls in twenty-one years, the team had never been close to being in one.
The 2007 and 2008 seasons were tough but Brees kept working harder. Then came the magic of the 2009 season and the Super Bowl win.
The authors have done a great job weaving football into and through Brees' personal life. We read about crucial plays along with Brees' strained relationship with his mother. We read about the excitement on the football field along with his commitment to his marriage. Brees is a Christian and well understands the challenge of being a Christian athlete on and off the field.
Brees' goal in writing this book was not to get the reader excited about the Saints. He knows his readers will face challenges. He wants us to remember, “adversity is not your enemy. It can unleash a power in your life that will make you stronger and help you achieve amazing things...” (300)
You don't have to be a football fan to appreciate this book. It is a well written account of one man facing adversity and coming back stronger. What an inspiration!
This book was provided for review by Tyndale House Publishers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Coming Back Stronger: Unleashing the Hidden Power of Adversity
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Inspiring book!

Date:November 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kristie
Location:upstate NY
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Drew Brees with Chris Fabry has released a memoir, "Coming Back Stronger - unleashing the hidden power of adversity." This is a must-read for all Brees fans and also for those who are not but would like to be inspired that anything can be overcome. Brees has faced several challenges in his life and yet he has pushed on and become a truly great NFL player, in the city of New Orleans that has also overcome adversity in the form of a hurricane. Brees relied on God to help him through his struggles and this is evident in this book.
This is a nice hardcover book complete with color photos. Great read!
*Tyndale House Publishers provided me with a complimentary copy of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Coming Back Stronger: Unleashing the Hidden Power of Adversity
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
K. Metry Hutchison
Let me start by saying; Yes, I am a New Orleans native, and Yes I am a huge Saints fan...but I probably wouldn't have bought this book simply because I don't really read sports related books. So when my Dad bought me the book as a gift, I decided to read it. And boy am I glad I did because this book is really good. It was an enjoyable and easy read, but more than that it was inspiring. Brees' dependency on his Lord and Savior is evident in all that he does. And he talks about that a lot. This is not only a story of God's mercy in difficult times but the joy that comes from following His will for your life. If you have a teenage son that loves football and is struggling with things in his life (and what teen isn't), then this book would be a great blessing and encouragement to him. I found myself earmarking many pages so I could share parts of this book with the middle school and high school youth groups I work with! Get it, read it - you too will be pushed to FINISH STRONG in everything you do!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Coming Back Stronger: Unleashing the Hidden Power of Adversity
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
marriagefanatic
This is a terrific book for teens and older. Very inspiring about how Drew Brees has handled numerous setbacks and tragic events in his life. This is a book about the kind of man a Christian would want their son to imitate. Brees is an example, a mentor, a hero, and is resilient. Great inspiration and the book is a good read, even for kids who don't like to read. Two thumbs up!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Coming Back Stronger: Unleashing the Hidden Power of Adversity
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jeff Reed
One of the best sports autobiographical stories that I have read. Drew does a great job of telling his story, the story of the New Orlean Saints and those affected by Hurricane Katrina. It is obvious that Drew has a genuine faith in God that adds meaning and direction to his life.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.