Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for White Rose Publishing Wisdom Tree - eBook

White Rose Publishing Wisdom Tree - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.476 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
21 out of 21100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wisdom Tree - eBook
Review 1 for Wisdom Tree - eBook
This review is fromWisdom Tree.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Very Pleasant Read

Date:August 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jean
Location:West Palm Beach, FL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this book from the author through book fun.org in exchange for my writing a review. I had no idea as to the topic of the book, so I began it with no expectations. From the very beginning of the story, I was delighted to get drawn into the lives of the main characters. The author opens the story with the amusement of Pastor Jake's mistaken identity, by Miss Carin O'Malley, but formed the hint of guessing (and hoping) that these two attractive people will become an "item"...and they do. Pastor Jake has taken over the responsibility of completing the upbringing of his younger brother after the death of their mother, along with being the Pastor of his local church. I loved that the author had this story move quickly. She did not drag the story on, but allowed you to know right from the outset that there was a "spark" between teacher and pastor. As it moved along, you also waited to hear what was being "held back" from being revealed about Carin's past. I loved how the characters' relationship with each other was not prolonged, but moved steadily forward, and even after realizing that Carin was keeping something about her past to herself, the "secrets" were not withheld for a long period of time, but allowed her to take stock of her silence and how it was affecting her relationships with both Jake and his brother, Corey, who now, had grown fond of Carin.
I really enjoyed this book....a lot, and recommend it highly, as a "quick read", and a "feel good" completion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Wisdom Tree - eBook
This review is fromWisdom Tree.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Great Read About The Path of Healing!

Date:July 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lala
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoyed reading "Wisdom Tree" because it had a steady plot and didn't leave me hanging. Mary threw in some suspense mixed with good romance.
Not only that, but she had some great characters who really stuck with me! My heart ached for Corey, Carin, and Jake! They had such a difficult walk to go through, but God truly helps us to heal.
My favorite part of the novel is when they go to the Chinese restaurant and they get their "fortunes" when really they are Bible verses! I loved that and so wish we had Chinese restaurants do that!
Also the devotional at the ending is amazing! I would simply buy this book for the devotional part! They are so simple , but yet so touching! It definitely opened my eyes to many things in my life!
I received this book for free from Bookfun.org in exchange for an honest review !
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Wisdom Tree - eBook
This review is fromWisdom Tree.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good book!

Date:May 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
DMcVay
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed reading this book. I was kind of surprised when I realized it was ending, then I realized that there weren't any loose ends, so I was okay with the closure, haha. The characters were well-developed and the storyline had enough drama and intrigue to keep me interested. I would recommend this book to my other reader friends.
I received this book from bookfun.org in return for my honest opinion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Wisdom Tree - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

beauty from ashes

Date:April 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
msharry
Location:Georgia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Wisdom Tree is a gentle story of Jake, Corey, and Carin, wounded souls struggling to find their way while dealing with the debilitating emotions of grief, guilt, anger and confusion. The characters are believable and likeable; and, as their lives unfold in the sweet and often humorous narrative, the reader sees the amazing hand of God in bringing the three together. It is a story of pain and healing, faltering and trusting, doubt and faith, loss and redemption—just as the story of most of us. This book is a refreshing reminder that God has a perfect plan for our lives, whether we understand it or not, and will work things for good if we will just trust and lean on Him.
A month of devotional entries accompanies the book. They are short, anecdotal and pertinent. I received the book from the publisher through a giveaway on www.bookfun.org in exchange for an honest review. The opinions expressed are solely mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Wisdom Tree - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Wisdom Tree

Date:March 26, 2013
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This was a good book and I thought the story was very sweet, but I felt that the end of the book was rushed and there was something lacking with the story.
I received a complimentary copy of this book for my honest review from TBCN.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Wisdom Tree - eBook
This review is fromWisdom Tree.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wisdom Tree

Date:May 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rebaka
Location:Huntsville, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Wisdom Tree is a book of loss and love. It shows how healing can become complete with God’s help. Jake, Corey, and Carin all have their issues but together they seem to complete each other. Once I started this book it was very hard to put down. I hope there will be a sequel to this story as the ending has so many possibilities for one. I would love to see into the future with these characters.
This is the first book by Mary Manners and it definitely won’t be my last.
This was given to me by bookfun.org in exchange for a fair and honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Wisdom Tree - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I loved this book

Date:March 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
inspiremichelle
Location:Loureauville, LA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wisdom Tree by Mary Manners
What can I say, I love this book. Pastor Jake is raising his orphaned younger brother Corey. When he struggles in Carin’s English class she turns to Jake for help. All three have suffered great loss. God uses Jake’s strong faith to help Carin reclaim hers. While Carin uses her experiences to help Corey she finds more than she bargained for in a relationship with Jake. Mary Manners has brought the characters to life. She found a way to give hope to the hopelessness, faith to the unfaithful and healing to the hurting soul. Her style of writing is believable and shows her strong faith. I especially love the devotional at the end of the book. I highly recommend this book and any other she has written.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Wisdom Tree - eBook
This review is fromWisdom Tree.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Uplifting Journey

Date:April 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ksmith
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A wonderful warm loving story which weaves tragedy, faith and healing through the lives of the main characters. The story is well written and very easy read you will find yourself turning the pages quickly to find where the journey will lead. The author has also provided a wonderful 30 day devotional to allow the reader a journey to their own personal wisdom tree.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Wisdom Tree - eBook
This review is fromWisdom Tree.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sweet Story

Date:April 16, 2013
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was my first book I have read by Mary Manners. I really enjoyed getting to "visit" this small town and church. The characters were grieving over their lost loved ones and through the story we see how they help each other in this process. This was a very poignant and sweet story. This was a very fast read for me, and before I knew it I was finished. The author also includes a 31 day devotional at the end. My favorite part of the story was the first couple of chapters of how they meet. That part had me smiling for awhile. I received this book from bookfun.org for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Wisdom Tree - eBook
This review is fromWisdom Tree.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Wisdome Tree

Date:April 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cindi
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jake Samuels, a young pastor takes in his 13 year old brother, Corey, after their parents die. Both struggle with loss and dealing with the huge void in their lives. Although Jake wants the best for his younger brother, it proves to be quite challenging for Jake to take over the role of parenting.
Carin is Corey's school teacher and has experienced losses of her own. Carin turns to Jake to try to figure out how to handle Corey's rambunctious behavior.
Can these broken families find the help they need, or are things too difficult to turn things around?
This is a great story about family, love, loss, and healing by relying on God’s wisdom to see us through. Mary Manners’ novel keeps you turning the pages. I thoroughly enjoyed Mary’s writing style.
The devotional at the end of the story helps to guide us with realistic ways to have a closer relationship with God.
I rate this book with 4-1/2 stars
I was given a copy of this book from bookfun.org in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Wisdom Tree - eBook
This review is fromWisdom Tree.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tablet
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the first book I've read by Mary Manners and it won't be the last. A sweet little romance where the three main characters, Jake, Carin, and Corey have each suffered terrible loss. This story is very easy to get into; once you start, you will keep the pages turning to see what happens next. You will fall in love with Jake, Carin, and Corey as they share their hearts, hurts, loss, pain, and guilt with each other and how they allow God's grace to set them free. The ending of the book leaves room for a sequel. An added bonus is devotions at the end of the book. Highly recommend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Wisdom Tree - eBook
This review is fromWisdom Tree.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Britt98
Location:Grand Prairie, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
What a good book! The author did a very good job of creating believable characters. She developed good back stories for the characters. They all had baggage and in the course of the novel, we followed one of the main characters as she made her way back to trusting in God. The romance was a sweet one and the attraction between the two main characters was easy to believe. I could have kept reading this book even longer and was surprised when it ended a little earlier than I expected. Still, I think the author tied everything up in the end nicely. I look forward to doing the devotional included at the back of the book. I received this book for free to read and to give an honest review of it from the publisher.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Wisdom Tree - eBook
This review is fromWisdom Tree.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Well written and realistic

Date:April 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
toliverc
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mary Manners’ Wisdom Tree was well written with very human portrayals of the young minister, Jake Samuels and his love interest, English teacher, Carin O’Malley. So often we put clergy on a pedestal and fail to allow them to come down to earth with the rest of us mere mortals. Ms. Manners approached the couple’s blooming courtship and the problems brought to the relationship from a very realistic perspective. Overcoming grief is a major theme of the book. While coping with grief, the protagonists must also come to terms with issues of guilt, faith and trust.
I was not ready for the ending. I expected the villain to rear his head again as so often happens in contemporary drama, perhaps to pose a more ominous threat to Carin or her father. Instead Carin’s ex fades into the sunset and all live happily ever after. While I felt the ending was somewhat abrupt, I was pleasantly surprised by the devotion at the end of the book, the very first of which was as though it had been written especially for me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Wisdom Tree - eBook
This review is fromWisdom Tree.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Clean and entertaining

Date:April 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
British
Location:Ga
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I Loved the way all the human elements appeared from the beginning. Suspence a little tease that interlocked, yet it was clean honest fun. I loved this book. Made me more aware of how we ought to walk as christians.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Wisdom Tree - eBook
This review is fromWisdom Tree.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

beauty from ashes

Date:April 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
msharry
Location:Georgia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Wisdom Tree is a gentle story of Jake, Corey, and Carin, wounded souls struggling to find their way while dealing with the debilitating emotions of grief, guilt, anger and confusion. The characters are believable and likeable; and, as their lives unfold in the sweet and often humorous narrative, the reader sees the amazing hand of God in bringing the three together. It is a story of pain and healing, faltering and trusting, doubt and faith, loss and redemption—just as the story of most of us. This book is a refreshing reminder that God has a perfect plan for our lives, whether we understand it or not, and will work things for good if we will just trust and lean on Him.
A month of devotional entries accompanies the book. They are short, anecdotal and pertinent. I received the book from the publisher through a giveaway on TBCN in exchange for an honest review. The opinions expressed are solely mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Wisdom Tree - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful. Just beautiful!

Date:January 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Delia Latham
Location:Okmulgee, OK
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a beautiful story of heartache and loss, of love and healing...and of the slow, steady, sweet growth of spiritual wisdom.
WISDOM TREE is one of those books the reader doesn't want to end. I rooted for Jake and Carin--and young Corey, of course--from page one. My entire being yearned for a happy ending for these three angst-ridden souls, but as the story unfolded and I felt the approach of that very thing, I wanted to scream, "No, no! Not yet! I'm not ready to say good-bye!" I was so reluctant to part company with these characters that I kept reading all the way through the 31-days of devotions at the end (and found them as lovely as the story itself).
Nothing is more beautiful than love when it arrives right out of the blue--no plans, no reservations, no phone call to say, "I'm on my way." It just shows up, and has to be dealt with. This is especially true when that first, delicate bloom has to push through multiple layers of pain, regret, angst and sorrow before it can finally unfold its petals. Mary Manners paints this scenario with delicate, painstaking pen strokes (green ink, of course!) that dance across the page and into the reader's heart with an unforgettable, life-altering touch.
Read WISDOM TREE. It's time well spent. Just know that when you close that last page, you will not have reached the end. This one will be in your heart for a long time to come.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Wisdom Tree - eBook
This review is fromWisdom Tree.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This Book Will Touch Your Heart!

Date:February 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Judy K Burgi
Location:Kendallville, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The loss of a loved one is never easy to handle. Imagine losing your parents at a young age. How do you cope with the pain? How would you feel being raised by an older sibling? Would you act out? Would you be angry? Pastor Jake Samuels has his hands full trying his best to Pastor his church as well as make a good home for his brother Corey. The loss of their parents is great.
Carin O'Malley is suffering loss herself. First her Mother and then her brother Cameron. Will she ever stop blaming herself for her 17 year old brothers death? Can she ever trust God again?
This is the first book that I have read by Mary Manners. I loved Wisdom Tree because this book was God centerd. Also, the characters in this book were real, meaning they were believable. This same situation could very well have been taken from a life experience. I could relate to what some of the characters were going through. I've experienced a death of a husband, I've been in an abusive relationship, and I have wondered if God was even hearing my prayers.
I wish to thank the author for making this book so real. Putting our faith and trust in God can bring us through tough issues that face us in life. I'm looking forward to reading other books by Mary Manners.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Wisdom Tree - eBook
This review is fromWisdom Tree.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wisdom Tree is a winner!

Date:January 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rhonda Nash-hall
Location:Madison Heights VA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book touches many familiar chords with my heartstrings as I am a former middle school teacher and was married to a pastor, so the situations that Jake and Carin are placed in bring many memories to my mind. I also felt a great deal of empathy for them. I know what difficult jobs teaching and pastoring both are! Jake and Carin have so many things going for them, and yet, they both face many challenges along the way. Romance should just come easy, huh? but no, Corey throws a monkey-wrench or two into the mix for this young couple. I loved Mary's book and appreciate the scriptural references and faith-based writing. This is a 5-star novel, for certain!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Wisdom Tree - eBook
This review is fromWisdom Tree.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Heartwarming & Sensitive

Date:December 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nancee
Location:Grand Rapids, Michigan
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jake Samuels, pastor of a church in the foothills of the Smoky Mountains is raising his younger brother Corey, after their parents were killed in a freak automobile accident. Carin O'Malley has taken on a 7th-grade English teaching position in the local middle school, with the hope of overcoming her own insurmountable losses. Young Corey is a student in Carin's class, and has assumed the role of class troublemaker and underachieving student. Carin visited the church where she had hoped to speak with the pastor regarding his younger brother, and mistakenly believed him to be the groundskeeper. It couldn't have been worse timing for Jake, but he arranged a meeting with Carin for after church on the following Sunday with the goal of discussing ways to improve his younger brother's predicament. Jake has a strong faith in God while Carin has lost her faith as a result of her painful circumstances. Jake, Corey and Carin agree to work together to improve Corey's attitude and lack of effort in school, resulting in a budding attraction between Jack and Carin.
Mary Manners is an artist with language, creating detailed portrayals both in character definition and settings. Her usage of descriptive details is both eloquent and authentic. In Wisdom Tree Ms. Manners portrays realistic characters who are likable and believable, and her addition of biblical references is appropriate to the circumstances, adding a beauty to this multilayered story of tragedy, loss, heartache and healing. I was disappointed to have the story end. I'd love to see a sequel to Wisdom Tree. Ms. Manners has also added a daily devotional in the back of the book, which is helpful for those whose faith may not be as well developed, as well as seasoned Christians. I highly recommend this Christian fiction romance.
This book was provided by Mary Manners for the sole purpose of my honest review. All opinions stated are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Wisdom Tree - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

So great I wanted it to keep going!

Date:October 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dora
Location:North Carolina
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mary Manners creates strong characters I can really relate to, guys and gals I'd like to hang out with on a Friday evening. Like Jake and Carin in Wisdom Tree.
I immediately connected with Jake, understood his frustration and foul mood. After all, he's raising his teen brother. It's hot outside, and he's mowing the church yard because somebody has to do it. He's running late to pick up Corey from football practice. Toss in a new slasher, er...teacher, who shows up unexpectedly and assumes the worst of him, and Jake hits the overload button. He acts out a little himself, not unlike his brother, which I enjoyed. He showed a little weakness, which endeared him to me.
I love the conflict between Jake and Carin, and it's not the arguing kind. No, Ms. Manners creates plenty of internal/external conflict as the characters head towards their happily-ever-after, and she'll tickle every one of your senses along the way.
This story involves a teenager, dealing with grief. Ms. Manners wrote teen angst in a realistic way without making me, as a reader and a parent, want to fling my e-reader at something...or someone. I think parents will appreciate some of the wisdom on dealing with teens imparted in this book.
Wisdom Tree is a fast read. Find a comfy spot and plan to read it all in one sitting! My only wish is that Wisdom Tree were a little longer, so I could spread out my enjoyment over more evenings. I did appreciate the surprise tucked in at the end! Congratulations, Ms. Manners, on a great read!
Disclosure: I received this book from BTS for a fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>