Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harbourlight Books Callie - eBook

Harbourlight Books Callie - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.875 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Callie - eBook
Review 1 for Callie - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Believable Christian Characters

Date:December 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
ClariceJames
Location:Hudson, NH
Age:55-65
Gender:female
I just finished reading WOMAN OF VALLEY VIEW: CALLIE by Sharon Srock. The author did a great job developing believable Christian characters with real-life problems and relationships. No pat answers, no easy solutions in this work of contemporary women's fiction. The characters had to work hard and pray long through their issues. The author used conflict and tension to move the story along at a pace which made it difficult to put the book down. Being a married baby boomer myself, I especially appreciated how she portrayed the protagonist Callie's marriage to Benton. Still sizzling! And it made me want to read TERRI, the next book in the WOMAN OF VALLEY VIEW series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Callie - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Amazing Story by Sharon Srock.

Date:June 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Teresa M
Location:West Columbia, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In her soul-stirring debut novel Sharon Srock introduces us to the women of Valley View Church. Callie Stillman is haunted by the sight of a small casket being lowered into the ground. She still believes it is her fault that eighteen month old Sawyer is dead. Because of the pain of things that went wrong Callie is determined to never again go out of her comfort zone to help anyone.
When April, Callie’s granddaughter brings a new friend to church, Callie feels a tug on her heart that something is not quite right with the little girl. She seems too quiet and withdrawn for an eleven year old. Callie starts to argue with God that she is not going to get involved, the most she’ll do is make a few inquiries and then let someone else step in if she finds out the child needs help. When Callie tries to get answers from Iris the poor child breaks down to cry but won’t share the reason. Will Callie do something she has vowed not to do….get involved?
Samantha 17 and Iris 11 have had to endure too much in their short lives. First it was the abandonment of their father and then the death of their mother and now if the wrong people were to find out about their situation more trouble could hit them. When Iris has a desperate situation to come up she takes a chance and calls Callie. Will Callie reach out to the girls or will she let her fears keep her from being the friend these girls need?
Sharon Srock is a very talented writer that has woven a story of betrayal, forgiveness and learning to trust God utterly and completely. This storyline was so compelling I was hooked from the very start. I can’t wait to be introduced to Callie’s friend Terri in Sharon’s next installment of The Women of Valley View.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Callie - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Deeply Touching!

Date:June 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nancee
Location:Grand Rapids, Michigan
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Callie Stillman's compassionate heart results in concern for her granddaughter's friend, Iris, an 11-year-old girl who has begun attending her Sunday school class. Iris appears withdrawn and shy, and Callie's worries about the child's home life rise to the surface. Callie's husband and friends in her bible study group are worried about Callie's involvement after her painful experience regarding a young child in the recent past. As Callie questions Iris about her family she uncovers a heart-wrenching story of loss in the child's life. Iris, her 17-year-old sister and her baby have been running from the authorities for 18 months since their mother's accidental death. Their father, a former drug addict who had abandoned them ten years earlier, is frantically trying to find his children. Callie feels God leading her to help these children. Her discoveries are alarming and cause for further investigation and assistance.
This debut novel by Sharon Srock is a deeply inspiring and descriptive story of loss, faith, trust and forgiveness. Her characters are portrayed with great definition and detail. There are multiple underlying themes in this well-written novel, each developed and brought to light with credibility and compassion. The author presents this inspirational story of struggle and resultant faith through various circumstances and activities that evoke deep emotions. This debut novel is very well written and filled with emotional drama.
Disclaimer: A copy of this book was supplied by the author in exchange for my honest review. All opinions expressed are my own, and no monetary compensation was received.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Callie - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Enjoyable Read

Date:November 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:o fallon, IL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Callie by Sharon Srock was a pleasant surprise. The book follows the journey of a woman in her 50s and two sisters with a huge secret. Callie doesn't want to be involved with them but she feels God pushing her to help despite the tragedy she bears extreme guilt that she can't get beyond. It's affecting her marriage, her job and her faith.
There is much to absorb for readers from these pages. It's a heavy book, but has light moments of fun. Despite the seriousness Callie doesn't leave you feeling weighed down and drained wishing you hadn't taken the time to read it. Instead Srock has the genuine ability to make the reader feel a part of the story, almost as a best friend to Callie and the girls. It is an enjoyable read, one that I couldn't set aside until I finished it in the early morning hours.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Callie - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Heart Changer!

Date:November 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Judy K Burgi
Location:Kendallville, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was really moved by this book. It is a book about fear, trust, letting go, forgiveness, and mercy. Also love, compassion, serving others, and commitment.
This book drew me in from page one and held my interest through-out. I couldn't wait to get to the end. I had to know how it turned out.
I felt Callie Stillman's pain as she took Samantha, Bobbie and Iris Evans under her wing. Callie was simply afraid. Would she fail again? She could simply walk away, couldn't she?
Samantha, Iris and baby Bobbie. They were a family and if Samantha had her way, no one would interfere. She would keep her little family together no matter what. After all, she didn't need anyone and she sure didn't need their help. Did she? She would prove she could make it on her own. Couldn't she?
I loved how Callie's friends rallied around her. She had the support of so many people. I felt her pain, and raw emotion. I felt God leading her toward her own healing.
I love reading inspirational books that one can clearly see the working of God in each and every situation.
I highly recommend this book to all readers. I promise you will not be disappointed!
Many thanks to the author Sharon Srock for sending me "Callie" to read and review. The thoughts expressed are mine alone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Callie - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Read

Date:November 9, 2012
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Callie Stillman is drawn to the evasive girl who’s befriended her granddaughter, but the last time Callie tried to help a child, her efforts backfired. Memories of the tiny coffin still haunt her. This is a beautiful story of family relationships, suspense, and forgiveness—forgiveness from God and forgiving yourself. Sharon Srock’s tight writing flows and is smoothly put together with strong memorable characters.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Callie - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Packs a powerful wallop!

Date:October 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dora
Location:North Carolina
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Callie Stillman is the kinda gal I'd like for a friend. Fiftyish, married, active lifestyle, and a lady who doesn't give up when God asks her to do something. And God puts a shy, withdrawn little girl in Callie's path and her heart. Callie, along with her husband, Benton, and her prayer-warrior friends, refuse to let Iris and her sister go without helping. But Callie's recent assistance for a little boy ended tragically, and fear wars with faith.
If you read my reviews, you know I don't typically read mainline Christian fiction. I lean towards inspirational romance, but this story line drew me in. And you know what I found? A romance. A cute, sometimes playful-sometimes serious romance between Callie and her husband, Benton. And a romance between God and His children. God loves us, and along with an invitation for us to love Him in return, He offers healing for fractured relationships. Callie is not for readers who enjoy light reading or a few hours of entertainment. It delivers a weighty message of forgiveness and healing with a powerful wallop.
Disclosure: I received this book from the author for a fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Callie - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Magic in Garfield, Oklahoma

Date:October 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Robin
Location:Edmond, OK
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For me, a book is all about the characters, and the folks of Garfield, Oklahoma, don't disappoint. From Callie's husband, the protective and godly Benton, to her quirky companions, the characters feel like old friends. But the one who captured my heart is the precocious Iris, a sweet preteen girl hiding a secret. Just like Callie can't resist Iris--no matter how hard she tries--I couldn't resist Iris' charms, either. When I finished Callie, I couldn't wait for my next visit to Garfield, Oklahoma.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.