Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Gray Matter: A Neurosurgeon Discovers the Power of Prayer

Tyndale House Gray Matter: A Neurosurgeon Discovers the Power of Prayer

Is there a connection between prayer and healing? Neurosurgeon Levy thinks so. Blending medical drama, scientific exploration, and spiritual insight, he shares how he prays with his patients before performing operations. His musings on what successful and unsuccessful surgical results imply about God, faith, and prayer are honest, moving, and inspiring. 288 pages, softcover from Tyndale.
Average Customer Rating:
4.857 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
28 out of 28100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Gray Matter: A Neurosurgeon Discovers the Power of Prayer
Review 1 for Gray Matter: A Neurosurgeon Discovers the Power of Prayer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Inspiring!

Date:January 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jill
Location:Naples, FL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Lord is using Dr. Levy in a mighty way! He stepped out in faith and courage to pray over his patients, and if he can do this, why can't we say a word for our Lord? A very inspiring book. (And Dr. Levy will be at our church for a Christian Forum in February! We will get to meet him in person!)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Gray Matter: A Neurosurgeon Discovers the Power of Prayer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Interesting, well-written book

Date:November 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Debbie from ChristFocus
Location:Harrison, AR
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Gray Matter" is an autobiography about a neurosurgeon's journey of faith and how his willingness to follow God's leading to reach out in faith has transformed how he practices medicine. It's very suspenseful. We follow specific cases from the consultation and Levy's offer to pray (or talk about forgiveness), how they respond, him performing the procedure, and waiting to see how the patient came out of the surgery. The surgery scenes weren't gory unless talk about veins, arteries, coils, and glue get to you.
I found the book very touching and encouraging. I usually don't read books where the author is on the cover as the focus if often totally on them. However, this book was as much about each patient and on God working in their and the author's life as it was about Levy. Levy came across as humble and open as he told about his failures as well as his successes. He discussed how he came to add prayer to his medical practice and then later offer to help walk certain patients through forgiving others.
Overall, I'd highly recommend this book to anyone who thinks it sounds interesting. It's very much a Christian book, but the author came across as genuinely concerned for others, not condemning, so even non-Christians might enjoy it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Gray Matter: A Neurosurgeon Discovers the Power of Prayer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
chas
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I very much enjoyed the book. It was great reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Gray Matter: A Neurosurgeon Discovers the Power of Prayer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

God’s Gift of Prayer

Date:August 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
KitKatDoe
Location:Cedar Rapids, IA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Author David Levy’s book is very insightful on prayer and his approach on how to pray. The renowned neurosurgeon faced down his own inner critics only to face down his colleagues and found his threshold to courage as a new foundation. Dr. Levy then brings in his approach of asking patients if there might be someone they need to forgive. As risky as that might be for a physician, the results Dr. Levy has reported in changed lives, let alone surgical successes, is amazing. There are several stories shared of how God answered Dr. Levy’s prayers during his surgical procedures, in ways that it was only God being the miraculous. Dr. Levy is quick to point out that not every procedure is 100% positive just because of prayer, but the guidance of God’s peace and wisdom is a tremendous help, to both he and the patient and family. This is an excellent book for all to read on both the functional and inspirational use of prayer in every day life.
This was a book I reviewed for Tyndale House Publishers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Gray Matter: A Neurosurgeon Discovers the Power of Prayer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Powerful and Inspiring

Date:August 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
4gka
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dr. David Levy is an amazing doctor that stepped out of a comfort zone to live his faith with action.
Not only does Dr. Levy practice his faith, he also made a deliberate effort to share that faith.
I found myself admiring this doctor and wish there were more doctors like him (especially my doctors)that believed in the power of prayer. Dr. Levy readily admits that all he is and all he does is a blessing, a gift that is not his to keep, and he has found that his patients not only do much better with prayer their recovery is more complete. He knows that there are times that no matter what effort given or how many prayers are said that there will be times that it's not in Dr. Levy hands. Those times are very difficult for Dr. Levy as he feels any loss as a personal loss, one that he feels from the deepest part of himself.
I plan to give my doctor a copy of this book, and I imagine that my doctor will not be the only one to receive it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Gray Matter: A Neurosurgeon Discovers the Power of Prayer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Enjoyable and Powerful

Date:June 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
BlogfulOfBooks
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Though Gray Matter started a bit slow, I was hooked before long and became quite emotional when reading about some of the more serious cases. But more than discussing prayer and neurosurgery, Gray Matter encourages readers to really look at how God works in ordinary lives and ordinary moments. I can see it as a call to be bolder and braver when it comes to my own faith, to trust in God more fully, and to reconsider prayer's powerful benefits. Gray Matter is an enjoyable, informative read for anyone who is willing to look at the greatness of God and the power of prayer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Gray Matter: A Neurosurgeon Discovers the Power of Prayer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Enlightening and Inspiring

Date:June 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
kattrox
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dr. Levy, a California neurosurgeon, recalls his conversations with his patients in the exam room before entering into their surgery. Good rapport with a patient is a necessary part of the surgery process, and, with the element of adding prayer, can make a profound difference in the few moments before surgery and can add calm and peace to an otherwise tense situation. I found this book very enlightening and although it was about another peoples lives I thought about my own while I was reading and was able to apply some of the advice he encouraged his patients to practice and I too felt a sense of peace. What is truly remarkable about this surgeon is that he went outside of the box and the medical "comfort zone" with his patients, prayer with a patient is a practice which I feel is sorely lacking in the medical field. This doctor is a medical professional who considers the health and soul of a patient and strives to make a difference. The message of this book is quite inspiring and uplifting and I highly recommend it to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Gray Matter: A Neurosurgeon Discovers the Power of Prayer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Just what I was looking for

Date:May 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Marcia Washburn
Location:Colorado
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an enjoyable and focused memoir by a surgeon who candidly shares his own hesitation to pray with his patients. He describes the baby-step process that God used to expand his understanding of the spiritual component of medical treatment and how he gained courage to obey God's leading, first by praying with patients, then in the presence of his colleagues. With rare transparency, Dr. Levy, takes us into his thoughts and emotions as he performs some of the most delicate operations possible. Highly recommended!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Gray Matter: A Neurosurgeon Discovers the Power of Prayer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic

Date:June 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
JoyAnne
Location:Jackson, TN
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Once you start you won't want to put it down. Dr. Levy is a Jewish-born Christian neurosurgeon. He finds himself convicted to pray for his patients before their surgeries. This book is about his experiences in introducing prayer to his practice, and sharing it's results for his patients as well as himself.
Dr. Levy's stories are fantastic, it's hard to put the book down. He gives us insight into his career as a neurosurgeon and tells us about the difference prayer makes in one's life. He also talks about when things don't go our way. This book is heart wrenching but precious.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Gray Matter: A Neurosurgeon Discovers the Power of Prayer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This ia an excellent book.

Date:April 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
hollyroc
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book depicts the life of Dr. David Levy, one of the top neurosurgeons in California, and how he began to implement praying and spirituality into his neurosurgical practice.
Given the gravity of his work that he and his patients face daily, Dr. Levy finds himself convicted to pray with his patients before his surgeries.This book is the first-person account of his experiences introducing prayer to his practice, and sharing it’s results for himself and his patients.Each chapter focuses on a case, with a detailed description of the patient’s diagnosis and the procedure that will need to be performed, followed by the prayer. From there, readers look over Dr. Levy’s shoulder when he performs the operation, and then we wait to see the final results.
Dr. Levy also discusses some failures and how he coped with not being able to help everyone. This is a fantastic read. It inspired me to step out with faith and make prayer not only a daily part of my life but to also share it visually and verbally with others.
Tyndale House Publishers has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book .
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Gray Matter: A Neurosurgeon Discovers the Power of Prayer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very inspirational, motivating and informative.

Date:March 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sylvia
Location:Kennewick, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Couldn't put the book down. Was ready to read it over again but thought it would be polite to share it with my spouse. He is thankful I shared as he is enjoying the book too. Amazing stories!
Recently finished radiation and am in the process of reconstruction.
I would have loved to have had my surgeon pray for me before and after my several surgeries for breast cancer; even though I prayed for them. Would have appreciated prayer from chemo oncologist and radiation ocologist too. It would have been wonderful!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Gray Matter: A Neurosurgeon Discovers the Power of Prayer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Gray Matter

Date:March 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jodi
Location:Wisconsin
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received Gray Matter by Dr. David Levy from the Tyndale Blog Network. When I saw this book was available to request, my first reaction was that it was not for me. I'm not into medical dramas and really don't like the thought of blood and guts. However, after reading the information about the book, I decided to give it a shot. Dr. Levy is a neurosurgeon who made the brave decision to pray with his patients. He describes how hard this decision was to come to, and how much harder it was to put into practice. I could feel his impatience and anxiety as he waited for the nurse to leave the first time he decided to pray with a patient. Throughout his experiences, his faith has been strengthened, and he has found a whole new way to love being a surgeon. He chronicles patients, their reactions, and any followup he may have had with them or their families. I found myself drawn into the book, and the chapters flew by-which was completely unexpected.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Gray Matter: A Neurosurgeon Discovers the Power of Prayer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A good book

Date:February 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
thesheep
Location:Singapore
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoy medical autobiographies like Something for the Pain by Paul Austin, and Final Exam by Pauline Chen. When David Levy's Gray Matter, was available for review, I simply couldn't pass it up!
David Levy's Gray Matter is about a neurologist's experience in praying for his patients. He discusses how he began to pray with patients, how he lead patients to see God in their healing process, some of the skeptics' reactions. He shares how he got into medical school, and an important aspect of his spiritual life - forgiveness. In the later part of the book, he discusses how of his significant and memorable cases.
Aside from belonging to a particular genre that I enjoy reading (medical autobiographies), this book is significant to me because of my current health condition. In the last three years, I have fainted over five times. Twice, I was sent to ER. I have seen numerous doctors, general practitioners, specialists, neurologists, neurosurgeons, and cardiologists. And have heard various diagnosis, ranging from the milder 'headaches' to the more serious ones like 'you may have a brain aneurysm (which I think every patient in Levy's book suffered from). You probably won't make it past May 2010.'
While reading this book, I wondered how I'd react if my assigned neurologist (the doctor I go back for review to now) offered to pray. I think, first, I'll ask, 'why??' Then, I'll ask more about his faith. More importantly, I'll ask if it breaches any professional code of conduct or professional ethics. Whilst I understand and appreciate that doctors and professions can pray for other people in church or in informal settings, to pray with patients pre-op or in clinics, just seems ethically unsound.
But I want to be proven wrong. Thus, I find that the book lacks justifying, on ethical and professional code grounds, why a neurologist can and should pray with his patients.
When I went back to my neuro last week for a review, he was in a really foul mood. From what I inferred from the circumstances, many appointments were brought forward to that day, and he was seeing an overwhelming number of patients. Still, there was the silly little me, with a problem that just wouldn't be diagnosed properly, and wouldn't disappear from his docket. The blood pressure machine failed on him, and he went into a rage. He stormed across to the corner of the room to take the 'old-school machine', forcefully dragging it across the floor, and cut his finger in the process. I guess the stress was too much for him to take - he said "wah lau" (for my non-dialect, non-Singaporean readers, this is a mild and ubiquitous vulgarity). I think I might have also heard a faint f-consonant sound, before he said, 'what a thankless job I have!' I thought back to Dr. Levy and wondered how he might have reacted in the circumstances.
Dr. Levy's stories give me inspiration to use my workplace as an altar, to dedicate my work to God, to acknowledge God's sovereignty in my ability, to encourage my colleagues to keep their faith.
I received this ebook from Tyndale Publishing in exchange for my unbiased review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Gray Matter: A Neurosurgeon Discovers the Power of Prayer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Interesting medical stories!

Date:February 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
samwife
Location:Springfield, MO
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I first thought this book was going to be a lot of medical information. However it was so much more than that. In Gray Matter Dr. Levy shares his patients’ stories and how he was able to change lives by praying with his patients. If you like Discovery Health shows you will love this book.
The book starts off with Dr. Levy telling a story about one of his patients and how his journey started. This is what I loved about the book. Hearing peoples’ stories and how he helped them drew me into this book and kept me reading. It was all interesting and I learned some medical this along the way!
I wish there were more physicians like Dr. Levy who are willing to care enough about their patients to fix their problems as patients and also invest in their spiritual lives as a friend would. I think the point of Dr. Levy's book is to meet people's need both physically and spiritually no matter our professions. That is what God has called his children to do!
I would recommend this book to anyone who loves medical shows and wants to feel inspired to share their faith with others. I would give this book 4 out of 5 stars.
I received this book from Tyndale House Publishers for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Gray Matter: A Neurosurgeon Discovers the Power of Prayer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent for everyone

Date:April 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
ricku81
Location:South Florida
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This should be required reading in Med School. Doctors need to treat "people" not just numbers, and this is an important aspect of people and how their body responds to and recovers from illness or injury.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Gray Matter: A Neurosurgeon Discovers the Power of Prayer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

easy read

Date:March 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
sizzlingsharon
Location:Jackson, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Loved the story line from the doctor's point of view. Short story not to long. Kept me attention throughout the whole book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Gray Matter: A Neurosurgeon Discovers the Power of Prayer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

excellent insight and portrayal

Date:March 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kelley
Location:McHenry, MD
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It doesn't take a brain surgeon to do a lot of things, but it takes much more than the skill and knowledge of a neurosurgeon to do what Dr. Levy did. As he shared his story of praying with patients, I was amazed with his faith and humility. The way he put himself on the same human level with his patients was very insightful and encouraging. He has the perfect mix of confidence -to be a doctor- and faith -to be a light in a predominantly dark profession.
Also, I was very impressed with the writing style of this book... just my style!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Gray Matter: A Neurosurgeon Discovers the Power of Prayer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very impressed

Date:March 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
wdaniel
Location:San Diego
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great book which shows the vulnerability of a doctor towards his patients. It is exciting to have doctors pray with their patients.
This is an easy read, but with medical lingo that doesn't stumble the average person, but enough that medical people can realize the significance of the situation.
Thanks Dr. Levy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Gray Matter: A Neurosurgeon Discovers the Power of Prayer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantactic voyage of growth & discovery!

Date:March 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Radical Rod
Location:Jackson Hole, Wyoming
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is a very unique but fantastic and fascinating story of the emergence and growth of God's love coming wonderfully alive and working on, in, and through,one Doctors heart and life, as he skillfully touches the hearts and lives of others and what he learns through that process; as he operates with all the skills and precision of a surgeon, inside some of the smallest arteries of the human body and brain, with life, death and/or permanent paralysis hanging in the balance and in some of the most pressure cooker situations imaginable.And it's about what he has learned so far in that process.
It is so skillfully written you will find yourself holding you breath along with the doctor, as the doctor works with the up most care, precision and skill imaginable,and I think that makes the book a fascinating adventure story as well, as one of a growing Christian faith and the very skillful sharing of that faith as well.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Gray Matter: A Neurosurgeon Discovers the Power of Prayer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Engaging and inspirational

Date:March 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Amber Reed
Location:Raleigh, NC
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is such an engaging read and I don't think you need to love medicine to get into this book. It's inspirational to see what one person can do for so many when they aren't ashamed of who they are. I appreciated the honest insights, growth and encounters discussed within this book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>