Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Charisma House Bruchko: The astonishing true story of a 19-year-old American-his capture by the Motilone Indians and his adv - eBook

Charisma House Bruchko: The astonishing true story of a 19-year-old American-his capture by the Motilone Indians and his adv - eBook

What happens when a teenage boy leaves home and heads into the jungles to evangelize a murderous tribe of South American Indians? For Bruce Olsen it meant capture, disease, terror, loneliness, kdnaping and torture. But what he discovered by trial and error has revolutionized the world of missions. Living with the Motilone Indians since 1961, Olson's efforts have sent a spiritual ripple around the world that reaches deep into the hearts of mission-minded Christians and anthropologists as well as the government of Colombia.
Average Customer Rating:
4.917 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
6 out of 6100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bruchko: The astonishing true story of a 19-year-old American-his capture by the Motilone Indians and his adv - eBook
Review 1 for Bruchko: The astonishing true story of a 19-year-old American-his capture by the Motilone Indians and his adv - eBook
This review is fromBruchko.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love, Love, love this book!

Date:June 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lucie
Location:Newfoundland, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A wonderful telling of a tremendous surrender to God. A testament to the power of following after God. Proof of the changes that can be made and the souls that can be won for Him when one surrenders all to the One who gave all for us.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Bruchko: The astonishing true story of a 19-year-old American-his capture by the Motilone Indians and his adv - eBook
This review is fromBruchko.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A new favorite!

Date:April 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
LRose
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an amazing story. I was happily surprised to find at the beginning of this book that Bruce Olson is from Minnesota, which is where I live. So, it made the stories of his childhood and his youth all the more easy to picture in my mind. It's crazy for me to think of someone from here in MN traveling to live in the jungle with a group of people most considered "savages."
I read this book in just three sittings and in less than a day. It is just too amazing and suspenseful to put down, and it's a true story! God clearly gave Bruce this particular calling and was with him every step of his journey, whether that be in a foreign country with no money, sick and lost in the jungle, or helping him see the way to go about explaining Jesus to a people who have never heard His name before. This book will surprise you, inspire you, and probably even disgust you a little, at times. But it is a great story and shows you how much God can use each and every one of us in spreading the Good News.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Bruchko: The astonishing true story of a 19-year-old American-his capture by the Motilone Indians and his adv - eBook
This review is fromBruchko.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Peppermint Patti
Location:Tampa, Fl.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wish this had been me that God sent there. God bless
Bruce and what he continues to do.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Bruchko: The astonishing true story of a 19-year-old American-his capture by the Motilone Indians and his adv - eBook
This review is fromBruchko.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Are you afraid to step out on faith?

Date:October 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sandy
Location:Chesapeake, Va
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great true story of a man looking for God's own heart. Are you willing to sacrifice your all for God? Is your faith weak? Are you ready to take that first step? Dive into this true story and see where one man's faith took him and the end results of letting a Holy God use you as His vessel. With God, nothing is impossible!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Bruchko: The astonishing true story of a 19-year-old American-his capture by the Motilone Indians and his adv - eBook
This review is fromBruchko.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good book but a little dry

Date:April 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jodi T.
Location:NC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My son and I read this together, and while it was a great story, it was hard to get through at some places where the writing seemed to sag. Still, a fascinating read and wonderful story of God's sovereignty!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Bruchko: The astonishing true story of a 19-year-old American-his capture by the Motilone Indians and his adv - eBook
This review is fromBruchko.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A book for the brave

Date:December 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
KaceyReviews
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bruchko: The Astonishing True Story of a 19-Year-Old American, His Capture by the Motilone Indians and His Adventures in Christianizing the Stone Age Tribe," by Bruce Olson, is definitely a truly wonderful book, providing you can survive graphic details of jungle life (such as eating grubs, pulling arrows out of your legs, and being chained to a tree for 3 months).
Personally, I enjoyed the book. It told of God's provision, His character, and how He will always watch over His children - no matter where they are. If you loved this book, you’ll want to buy its sequel, which has the equally long title of "Bruchko and the Motilone Miracle: How Bruce Olson Brought a Stone Age Tribe Into the 21st Century," and bears an equally inspiring message.
I urge you to read it – but a disclaimer for all is that if you are a sit-by-the-fire-Brambly-Hedge-reading-person, this is not the book for you. Nuh-uh.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Bruchko: The astonishing true story of a 19-year-old American-his capture by the Motilone Indians and his adv - eBook
This review is fromBruchko.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Micheline Theriault
I really loved to read this testimony and see our awesome God at work. I'm sure I will also enjoy the book on Bruce Olson "Bruchko and the Motilone Miracle."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Bruchko: The astonishing true story of a 19-year-old American-his capture by the Motilone Indians and his adv - eBook
This review is fromBruchko.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Tammy
This is an excellent book. My parents read it to me when I was a child. They liked to read missionary books to us. This was by far my favorite. I plan to read it to my daughter when she gets a little older.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Bruchko: The astonishing true story of a 19-year-old American-his capture by the Motilone Indians and his adv - eBook
This review is fromBruchko.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Roger
This is a great book and testimony of what God can do through people who are devoted, and give all to Him. One of the best books I have read. I would highly recommend it especially those considering missionary work. God does amazing things!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Bruchko: The astonishing true story of a 19-year-old American-his capture by the Motilone Indians and his adv - eBook
This review is fromBruchko.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 10, 2007
Customer Avatar
Ruth
This is my all time favorite book!!! One of the things that I appreciated most about it is that Olson doesn't glamourize his life or hide his mistakes and weaknesses. He addresses a lot of relevant issues in missions as well. I was told to read this book when I myself was going onto the mission field, and I'm so glad I did. This is one of the few books I just couldn't put down. I read it almost straight through.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Bruchko: The astonishing true story of a 19-year-old American-his capture by the Motilone Indians and his adv - eBook
This review is fromBruchko.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 14, 2007
Customer Avatar
Alyssa Steffen
Just an amazing book to show how great our God is and how he can work through anyone who believes in Him. I read this to my kids while we were learning about the rain forest. My husband overheard us reading and came in to listen. He ended up picking up the book and reading for a couple hours until he finished. He couldn't put it down. There are sad and heavy parts of the story, as there are with many missionary stories. However through all of that, God always reveals his wonderful and great plan.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Bruchko: The astonishing true story of a 19-year-old American-his capture by the Motilone Indians and his adv - eBook
This review is fromBruchko.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 19, 2006
Customer Avatar
Sharon
If you are interested in Missions, this is a must read! Great testimony of what God can do !
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.