Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Bound by Guilt

Tyndale House Bound by Guilt

Foster kid Roxi Gold travels the country in an RV, stealing rare books from unsuspecting bookstores. Police officer Abby Dawson has seen the worst---professionally and personally. One fateful night, a man's innocent blood changes both their lives forever. While Abby searches for justice, Roxi's on the run. Will the power of forgiveness set them free? 384 pages, softcover from Tyndale.
Average Customer Rating:
4.704 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
27 out of 27100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bound by Guilt
Review 1 for Bound by Guilt
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book

Date:October 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
CurledUpWithaBook
Location:The Maritimes
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's not often I give a book a five star rating but this was a fantastic book. I had a hard time putting it down. A good story line, an interesting variety of characters, lots of suspense but best of all a good gospel message.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Bound by Guilt
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

An atypical choice that paid off!

Date:July 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
aklinslow
Location:Anchorage, AK
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm not normally a fan of contemporary fiction, but the back cover synopsis of this book intrigued me. Having a far-less-than-perfect protagonist ~ a teenage foster child named Roxi Gold who has turned to a life of crime ~ being one of the most intriguing aspects of this book.
As I started reading "Bound By Guilt," I fully expected to not only dislike the main character, but I figured I'd dislike the book as a whole as well. However, before I even finished the first chapter I realized I was quite wrong. The author, C.J. Darlington, weaves a wonderful story, one that is heart-wrenching at times and heart-warming at others. Darlington not only is able to get you to sympathize with the juvenile delinquent that Roxi has become, but as you learn her back story and witness the hard life she is now essentially forced to lead, that sympathy grows to true empathy as your heart breaks for and with her.
Sadly enough, as you read the book, you realize there's probably more truth than fiction in it, and I believe it will open people's eyes to the plight that so many children in our foster care system face day in and day out.
Consequently, I believe this takes "Bound By Guilt" from being merely a good read to a great experience, as its not only entertaining, but educational as well. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who is looking for either one of those categories.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Bound by Guilt
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Forgiveness is hard work!

Date:July 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
KitKatDoe
Location:Cedar Rapids, IA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Before even cracking the book open, the praises of notable authors on the back cover make the reader want to find a comfy recliner, and soon! Ms. Darlington has a superb story of the ins and outs of forgiveness. She artfully weaves a tale of a young woman’s life on the run, stealing rare books with ‘family’ just to survive, with the story of another woman, grieving the loss of her brother, searching for Truth. Both woman carry loads of guilt from past and present experiences, but learn after ‘coincidentally meeting’, that God is One of love and forgiveness, and He removes our burdens of guilt just for the asking. This is definitely a must read novel.
This was a book I reviewed for Tyndale House Publishers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Bound by Guilt
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

very fun book to read

Date:July 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
chartless
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The book was a really easy read, and really enjoyable for me. The author has a fun way of weaving in fun facts about rare book collecting and it was fun to learn a few basics of rare editions of books. Some points of theology might have been a little off, but they certainly weren't the main focus of the book, and it ended up being a very touching story that does a good job of point out how God can use willing people to do amazing works of love in the lives of those around them who are hurting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Bound by Guilt
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful book.

Date:July 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
LadyWisteria
Location:LA
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just finished!!! Beautiful book. Tough in the beginning, but paned out well. Kept me guessing and turning pages. Can't wait for the next one!!
C.J. does it again. I love this book. After finishing, Thicker Than Blood, I was sad to leave the characters. Then I saw that this book came out!! I bought it immediately.
One of the things I love about, Bound By Guilt, is the portrayal of women. They are all strong characters that stick out, either good or bad. Their faith, starting out or already strong, fuels the story that much more. And of course, there's the Sister Bond, that was introduced in the first book, continues to this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Bound by Guilt
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Who can set them free?

Date:June 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Blooming with Books
Location:Bloomer, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BOUND BY GUILT
By C.J. Darlington
What would you do for love and something to call your own? This is the question that haunts 16 year old Roxi Gold. Forgotten by her mother, passed through the foster care system, and scarred by her life Roxi may finally have found a place to call home. But life with her aunt and cousin goes wrong, so wrong that Roxi is Bound by Guilt. Will she ever find the life she seeks?
Meanwhile Abby Dawson and Christy Williams are reeling from the murder of Hunter Dawson. Abby is determined to find her brother’s killer, but at what cost?
When Roxi, Abby, and Christy are brought together what will happen? Will they forever be Bound by Guilty or will they be set free?
A thought provoking story that will cause the reader to look beneath the surface. What truths lie behind the faces that you see each day? Dig deeper and show that you care, it may save a life!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Bound by Guilt
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Book Robbery Goes Bad: Owner Gunned Down

Date:June 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
readgreatfiction
Location:Lancaster, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nobody cares about Roxi Gold. She never knew her father, Her mother's a junkie who abandoned Roxi to the system, her foster parents never keep her around long, and now that she's living with her aunt & cousin all they care about is how she can help them in their pursuit of stealing and reselling rare books.
Roxi goes along with her aunt & cousin's plans for a while, but when someone dies in a botched robbery, she know's she has to get away.
Officer Abby Dawson has seen it all, and it hasn't left her a better person. She finds no joy in pulling criminals off the street only to have someone else replace them by day's end. The emptiness inside gnaws at her soul, and she's lost hope. When someone murders her brother in a botched robbery Abby realizes that not only is she at the end of her rope, but the rope is fraying badly and she's only holding on by a thread.
Abby's search for justice brings her life and Roxi's colliding together. What happens next will change their lives forever.
Bound by Guilt is the stand alone sequel to Thicker Than Blood the 2008 winner of the Jerry B. Jenkins Christian Writers Guild Operation First Novel. It is an extremely well written, enjoyable novel that takes the reader for a wild ride into the world of rare books. This book will not stand to gather dust on a shelf. Pick it up, read it, and see what happens when the characters are confronted with the awesome power of forgiveness.
5 Star Worthy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Bound by Guilt
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
hngoben
Location:Kansas
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was amazing! Most days hard to put down. This is a must read for anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Bound by Guilt
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Journey to freedom...

Date:May 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Janna Ryan
Location:North Platte, NE
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I really enjoyed C.J.'s first book and was so glad to see that she was finding a niche in Christian fiction that was unique from so many of the books that I usually review. I was thrilled when I realized that this book is basically a sequel to the first one as we are reintroduced to most of the characters from the first book (Christy, Hunter, Abby, Mae...) but we have a new batch of characters as well (Roxi, Diego, Irene...) and when the two worlds collide things get bad fast. So when Roxi decides she can't live like this anymore she runs - far and fast. But how long can a 16 year old survive on her own. Roxi is ready to find out. Will her past catch up with her just when things are getting good?
I love the viewpoint of this 16 year old girl with a past. And C.J. does a great job really getting us inside her head. Guilt and our past really can bind us up and freedom is only found in truth. This is a great journey to freedom - you will enjoy the trip.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Bound by Guilt
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent read with a wonderful message

Date:May 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Susan Osborn
Location:Fullerton, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bound by Guilt is a well-crafted novel. Roxi, a teenager who has been shuffled from foster home to foster home, finally ends up with a second cousin and his mom. However, the perfect family she has longed for is not found in this duo, who make their living stealing rare books. Roxi finds herself caught in a tangled web, and she doesn’t know how to escape the guilt that overwhelms her. I highly recommend this book with its powerful message of forgiveness.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Bound by Guilt
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Page-flippin' good!

Date:April 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bethany LeBedz
Location:Concord, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
C. J. Darlington’s second novel, Bound by Guilt, follows in the same vein with the same characters as her debut novel, Thicker Than Blood. Roxi, a throwaway teenager on the run from the law and aching to please her cousin, and Abby, a burned out police officer who’s lost what matters most to her, seem to have nothing in common. Nothing, that is, except for a murder and an expensive first edition of The Great Gatsby that seems to show up in all the wrong places. Will guilt consume them both, or can forgiveness set them both free?
Bound by Guilt kept me flipping pages long past my usual bedtime. It’s a story about family, unconditional love, and forgiveness. My only beef with C. J. is that she killed off one of my favorite characters! Overall, I give Bound by Guilt two enthusiastic thumbs up!
The author graciously sent me a copy of Bound by Guilt to review, but the opinions expressed are my own. If you’re ready to purchase it, head on over to Tyndale House Publishing’s website.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Bound by Guilt
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Christian Book

Date:April 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Vicky
Location:Lafayette, Indiana
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I tried to win this book from Tyndale when they were having their giveaways and was not able to. The storyline intrigued me so much I picked this up from the library.
This book by CJ Darlington is one of my top 5 books-it was fabulous.
The book centers around the plot of rare books and what people will do for the rarest of books. I never realized that first editions of books claimed huge monetary rewards which makes them a thief's greatest prize.
This story deals with complicated characters that you won't soon forget, but it also deals with guilt, rejection and loss in a storyline that offers hope and healing through forgiveness. Your heart will be broken by Roxi whose life is in shambles when someone comes in and offers love with no strings attached. Just like God does with us with forgiveness.
This was hard to put down because I wanted to see just how Roxi would end up and the ending did not disappoint me.
I now have her first book Thicker than Blood on hold at the library. That book deals with a few characters in this book but you can read them on their own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Bound by Guilt
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Grit, grace & forgiveness

Date:April 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
KHarris
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In Bound by Guilt, C.J. Darlington tackles a tough, but often-asked question. How can the unforgivable be forgiven? This book is a study in contrasts, with gritty characters who find grace down some unexpected paths. A compelling read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Bound by Guilt
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Emotionally Resonant

Date:March 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jen Quiverfullfamilycom
Location:Alberta, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Roxi Gold is a troubled teenager; taken from a negligent mother, shuffled between group homes and foster families, she eventually finds herself living with her mother’s cousin and her teenaged son. Longing more than anything else to be loved and to belong to a family, she is swept into the criminal schemes of her caregiver and enters the world of antiquarian book theft.
I always enjoy reading C.J. Darlington’s book-centered Christian suspense titles. I particularly enjoy how she weaves real-life rare book details into the fabric of each of her stories. Bound by Guilt is the follow-up novel to Thicker Than Blood, Darlington’s debut. While we are introduced to a new cast of main characters, it was exciting to see how familiar faces from the first novel were interwoven into the plot of this second novel in surprising ways.
Deeply engaging, Bound by Guilt is crafted with a wealth of emotional tension. I found myself reaching for the tissues several times as I read through its pages. That being said, I did find the emotional responses of one of the key characters of Thicker Than Blood to be rather muted for the circumstances she found herself in. She is no longer a main player on the ongoing storyline, but I would have liked to see more depth there.
I’m excited to see what Darlington has for us in the future! She has a way of crafting true-to-life stories of faith and forgiveness that ring with authenticity.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Bound by Guilt
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great sequel!

Date:March 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Location:Arizona
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bound by Guilt is the perfect title for this book. It's hard to post a review without giving away spoilers, but I'll try. There were some things at the end of the first book in this series that had me wanting more. Well, in this story I got to see what I wanted, then wham! My heart ached and the tension just kept building from there. I could picture the traumatic event because it was so well done. Every time the situation was remembered I had a flashback myself. The description of the horrible event was superb. The author did a great job showing a variety of situations that tugged on this reader's heart strings. I love how the author showed rifts in families and relationships in both books and showed how important it is to always keep a clean slate. What a great lesson.
The thing that intrigued me about this book the most was the foster care situation. I've worked with foster children for years as a child protective services worker and this author did a great job showing the inner turmoil that foster children go through. I loved how the author paired Roxi with a dog who needed someone and who had no one just like she did. Wonderful analogy and critical to her healing. The rest of the book continued in a similar manner until God hooked Roxi up with someone who truly cared. I was inspired by the themes in this book and loved the ending. I also love how the author isn't afraid to hurt her characters--a lot-- but that always makes for a better story. Great sequel!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Bound by Guilt
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A MUST READ! AN AMAZING STORY OF LOVE,FAITH &GUILT

Date:March 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Henderson, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
BOUND BY GUILT by C.J. Darlington is an amazing contemporary christian fiction set in modern day America.It is this author's second book.Her first book "Thicker Than Blood".While this a sequel,this second book has no connection to the first book,and is a stand alone. This story has multiple intertwining stories with Roxie and Abbey the primary characters. Roxie,is a runaway,she thinks a throwaway,abandoned by her mother as a child,moved from foster home to foster home,and finds a friend in Diego and his mother.Who are actually book thieves of rare books.She joined them and when disaster occurs,she is on the run again,and she has lost faith in God and her fellow man until she meets a family who takes her in not only for shelter but also for love.Abbey,a police officer,a mother,whose ex-husband has been given custody of their daughter,her brother is murdered,and she has also lost faith in humanity and God.This is a story that will capture your heart and keep you on the edge of your seat while you watch each character in this multiple facet story come to life and some find their way. You will see how forgiveness can not only give you freedom but also remove the bound of guilt. Bound by Guilt is an amazing, positive story of not only God's love but of love,forgiveness,guilt,healing and inspiration with powerful characters and a powerful plot. Darlington is really an author to keep a watch out for,as I have read both of her amazing,powerful stories of love,faith and inspiration.This is a MUST READ and a keeper.I enjoy how she weaves faith and God's love into her stories without preaching and has intrigue,suspense,mystery in a powerful story.This book was received for the purpose of review from On Trakk and the publisher and details can be found at Tyndale Fiction and My Book Addiction and More. I give this book a 4.5 out of 5 stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Bound by Guilt
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Highly Recommend

Date:March 25, 2011
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
C.J. Darlington gives us strong and believable characters. Her vivid descriptions and settings put us in the moment of each situation. Conflicts keep the pace of this book moving and the reader turning pages. Alternately you may cheer Roxi on and then again you may want to shake some sense into her. Bound by Guilt's takeaway value is compelling.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Bound by Guilt
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good second in a series

Date:March 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Wynd
Location:Saskatchewan Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was quite pleased to see that this contemporary novel didn't depend upon the first book in the series for a set up. It included the main characters but was definitely a stand alone story. I wasn't quite as pleased with this one as I was with the first book, "Thicker than Blood". The first third was interesting and set up the characters with great hope for a good story. I found the middle third to be a bit blah and uninteresting, I just about didn't finish it; but the last third was exciting, full of action and twists and apprehension. I'm glad I stuck it out! In this book we meet Abby Dawson, Hunter's sister, a cop with a temper and an ex who has full custody of her teenage daughter and Roxie, a throw away child of a drug addict who is trying to please cousin Irene in any way she can because she so desperately needs a home and a family. Of course, that combination is bound to run into each other and create lots of tension. The story is totally believable, compassionate, and with a twist at the end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Bound by Guilt
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Follow-up to Thicker Than Blood is outstanding

Date:March 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Oconto Falls, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bound by Guilt by C.J. Darlington is the sequel to Thicker Than Blood. Roxi Gold has never felt truly wanted anywhere. Taken from her mother at the age of eight after suffering a terrible accident, she was shuttled from foster home to group home until a cousin of her mother's named Irene took her in. Life with Irene and her teenaged son Diego isn't what most people would consider normal. They live most of the time traveling across the country in an RV, which sounds like fun, but they make their money by stealing rare books from bookstores. Irene has trained Roxi to work as the distraction while Diego and Irene grab the merchandise. Roxi's conscience is starting to get the best of her, and when she fails to keep a store clerk distracted long enough one day, Irene insists they return at night to break in and get some real finds, including a rare first edition The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald. The night ends in tragedy, with Roxi on her own again, running away from the only family she's ever really known. Abby Dawson returns to her family home to deal with the tragic death of her brother. She seems to be failing at everything in life, her husband left her for another woman, her daughter is being raised by the newly married couple, and she's been suspended from her position on the police force for using unnecessary force. Returning home, she and her father seem to be stuck in the same rut of silence and anger they've been in for years. Four women will be brought together by the events of one night and each will have to face their past before they can move forward into the future God has planned for them. Darlington's writing is full of surprising depth. Each character is fully-fleshed and very real; at the end of the book, I was sad to be through with them. The plot is very pulled from the headlines with a message of faith for readers. Darlington keeps readers interested from the opening, with drama on every page, and lots of action at the climax. This isn't really a thriller or a mystery; it's a human story that should appeal to a wide variety of readers. Darlington's win as 2008 Operation First Novel is easily supported by this follow-up, and she is an author to watch in the industry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Bound by Guilt
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Mesmerizing

Date:March 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Heidi Main
Location:Cary, NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bound by Guilt mesmerized me from page one. The characters were deep and three dimensional. The plot was well thought out and integrated with a strong subplot. What kept me turning each page were the surprises. The characters did unexpected things and made curious choices, yet none of it came from left field–all the surprises made sense, after the fact of course :-) The ending was probably my favorite of any book. You must read it yourself to know what I am talking about!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>