Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Multnomah Books Humble Orthodoxy: Holding the Truth High Without Putting People Down - eBook

Multnomah Books Humble Orthodoxy: Holding the Truth High Without Putting People Down - eBook

A timely message for zealous believers on the importance of speaking thetruth in love.

Highly publicized vitriol between evangelical camps bears witness to the un-Christlike behavior many ardent Christians engage in--andmillions more recoil from. In this message drawn from the most talked about chapter in his recent seminal work, Dug Down Deep, Joshua Harris asks the arresting question, "Does believing biblical doctrine mean you have to be a jerk?" With his trademark personable style, Harris explores why civility so often fails the faithful ... and what can and must be done about it.

Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
16 out of 16100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Humble Orthodoxy: Holding the Truth High Without Putting People Down - eBook
Review 1 for Humble Orthodoxy: Holding the Truth High Without Putting People Down - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Little Book, Big Concepts

Date:January 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
nomer15
Gender:female
The final chapter of Joshua Harris's last book, "Dug Down Deep", was entitled "Humble Orthodoxy". People loved that particular chapter so much that they expressed their desire that he write an entire book about the concept. Thus, the book "Humble Orthodoxy" was born. Taking the main points from the chapter of the same name and expanding on them, this short book (only 61 pages plus a study guide) is full of necessary and relevant truths that deserve to be discussed and wrestled with.
Since the word "orthodoxy" tends to be misunderstood, Harris starts off with a definition: "The word orthodoxy refers to right thinking about God. It's about teaching and belief based on the established, proven, cherished truths of the faith. These are the truths that don't budge. They are the plumb line that shows us how to think straight in a crooked world" (p. 1-2). He then goes on to define humble orthodoxy as "we must care deeply about truth, and we must also defend and share this truth with compassion and humility" (p. 5). With those two definitions in mind, the reader is then ready to tackle the rest of the book.
Harris points out over and over that truth matters. Doctrine matters. But we need to allow the truth of God's word to shape and influence our lives first and foremost. We need to allow the gospel of grace to impact us so that we can go out and impact others. "...while we shouldn't be mean and spiteful in representing biblical truth, neither should we apologize for believing that God has been clear in his Word. The humility we need in our theology is first and foremost a humility before God" (p. 28-29).
This little book is so relevant for our time. Every believer should read this book, wrestle with the content of it, and allow the Holy Spirit to do a work. The study guide at the back of the book makes this book perfect to go through with a Bible study, book club, or even as an individual. The questions will really help take the material to the next level. Highly recommend this book!
(I’ve received this complimentary book from Waterbrook-Multnomah through the Blogging for Books program in exchange for a review. A positive review was not required and the views expressed in my review are strictly my own.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Humble Orthodoxy: Holding the Truth High Without Putting People Down - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A timeless and timely message!

Date:July 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Katie Meg
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I highly recommend that you read this book! Joshua Harris focuses on 2 Timothy, while challenging Christians to evaluate not just what they practice, as believers in Christ, but also how they practice it. Harris discusses the crucial balance of upholding God's Word, while not being a jerk in the process. He explains that your attitude really matters, "We must deeply care about truth, and we must also defend and share this truth with compassion and humility" (pg. 5). Recently, my husband and I, have seen an influx of Christians standing in support of issues that the Bible clearly opposes- and this book exhorts us, not to be prideful in confronting these Christians, but also not to compromise truth. "Even when people in our culture are sinning, slandering, and tearing down truth, I have no excuse for ignoring God's commands" (pg. 41). This is a book I plan on rereading numerous times; it is a clear, relevant message that we all need to hear, and then go do. "Don't measure yourself by what you know. Measure yourself by your practice of what you know" (pg. 39). This book can be read in one sitting, but the discussion from it, will continue long after it is finished; evoking change and calling Christians to stand firm, with all gentleness and respect.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Humble Orthodoxy: Holding the Truth High Without Putting People Down - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

standing for truth in a God honoring way

Date:July 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow. This little book packs a punch. Who of us hasn't experienced that person who just knows his doctrine is right and hits us over the head with it?
Harris argues for a strong commitment to orthodoxy and a strong commitment to be gracious in our words and interactions. Humble orthodoxy.
“We must care deeply about truth, and we must also defend and share this truth with compassion and humility.” (5)
I wholeheartedly agree when Harris admits it is hard. He helps us see the difference between contending for the faith and being contentious. He identifies what should be the basis for our passionate pursuit of biblical orthodoxy. (And it is not proving ourselves right!) He also shows the relationship between truth and humility.
This is a hard hitting little book. Have we learned to rebuke like Jesus but failed to learn to love like Jesus? Do you hold to the truth and show love to others?
The text is just 60 pages, followed by a 16 page study guide divided into four studies. This would make a powerful study for a small group.
We are in a time when standing firm for biblical truth is a difficult task. Reading this book will help you do it in a way that will glorify God and impact your neighbor.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Humble Orthodoxy: Holding the Truth High Without Putting People Down - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
SoaringEagle
Location:USA
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Humble Orthodoxy by Joshua Harris intrigued me. When I think of orthodoxy, it isn't a positive picture in my mind. But seeing the word humble with it made me interested in reading this book. Here on page 10 explains it well. "People often think of orthodoxy as lifeless and restrictive - a paint-by-numbers guide that stifles creativity." The good news is that it isn't supposed to be that way.
This is a short book with only 83 pages which includes discussion questions and acknowledgements. You could read it in a day if you were really motivated but I'd recommend that you take your time reading and digesting what you read. It's pact full of information. There are four chapters: Your Attitude Matters, With a Tear in Our Eye, Repentance Starts With Me, and Living For God's Approval.
Orthodoxy "refers to right thinking about God. It's about teaching and belief based on the established, proven, cherished truths of the faith. These are the truths that don't budge. They are the plumb line that shows us how to think straight in a crooked world." (pg.1-2)
Here is an explanation about what is humble orthodoxy. "Christians need to have a strong commitment to sound doctrine. We need to be courageous in our stand for biblical truth. But we also need to be gracious in our words and interaction with other people." (pg.3-4) "...we must care deeply about truth, and we must also defend and share this truth with compassion and humility." (pg.5)
So we need both orthodoxy and humility. We need to be solid in our faith but also show grace, mercy, love, humility when sharing God's truth to people. This is a practical book that will help you find balance with this. Study guide at the end of the chapters would be good for small group discussion. There are some questions, prayer suggestions and action step. It's good to not only read about it but to go out and actually put it into practice.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group, through the Blogging for Books program, for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Humble Orthodoxy: Holding the Truth High Without Putting People Down - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Convicting

Date:June 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Callie
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When I relieved Humble Orthodoxy by Joshua Harris in the mail, I was surprised at how small the book was - I was expecting a full-size, full-length book, and instead found a little "pocket" book with four chapters. But I have to say, those four chapters pack a punch!
In Humble Orthodoxy, Harris presents the idea that we, as Christians, need to be both humble and orthodox - and to have one without the other is not honoring to God. We need to be humble in our presentation and attitude about biblical truth, but not so "humble" that we do not stand for the truth of God's Word. We need to be orthodox, but not arrogantly, because orthodoxy isn't about how "right" we are and how "wrong" others are - its about taking God's truth directly from his Word and standing for it in a way that brings glory to God, not glory to ourselves.
Through every chapter of this book I felt convicted. I probably tend to lead toward the side of being too arrogant in my orthodoxy than being too humble, and I've always known that I needed to be careful not to be too arrogant in my stand for God's truth because I could see how wrong it looked when others were. But this book made me really think about my own heart attitude about biblical truth and how I present that to others. It made me want to do "huble orthodoxy" better.
I especially enjoyed Harris's description of Heaven in the last chapter, and how he thinks we'll all spend the first ten thousand years apologizing to each other for the way we treated each other in our disagreements. I think that's probably true, but it also made me want to work on making sure I have less to apologize for. I want to remember that good theology is not about me - it's about God, and what is true about Him.
I'd highly recommend this book. It wouldn't take more than a couple hours to read it front to back, but it'll have you thinking and make you want to live out your faith in a way that will bring more glory to God. There is a lot of value packed into this little book! Definitely worth the investment.
Note: I received this book for free from Blogging For Books in exchange for this review. This is my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Humble Orthodoxy: Holding the Truth High Without Putting People Down - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Getting the truth AND our attitudes right ...

Date:May 20, 2013
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You can be right without being a jerk.
In fact, it really is important to know the truth, and it's also important to convey that truth humbly.
That's the concise message of "Humble Orthodoxy" by Joshua Harris, with Eric Stanford (published by Multnomah Books). In fact, the physical book itself models the message by the authors. Instead of stretching a single subject into a full-sized hardback edition, the photo above shows this small book in the palm of my hand.
It's a little hardback (just 79 pages in a mini-hardback format, and that includes a study guide in the back of the book) because the authors stick to the subject, one that needs to be broached by many in the church. Being right --- having orthodox beliefs --- matters. But so does how we communicate the truth of God's Word to others.
In 2013, the church is rife with arrogance and even mean-spiritedness in how some use their version of the truth to pummel others. Others are willing to fudge on the truth for the sake of "peace." What we really need in order to be the church unified on mission for Christ is humble orthodoxy.
"One of the mistakes Christians often make is that we learn to rebuke like Jesus but not love like Jesus," the authors write.
Harris and Stanford identify the problems surrounding a lack of both humility and orthodoxy and lead us in learning how we can harmonize knowing and sharing God's truth with genuine humility and graciousness toward others.
Anyone with a heart to share the Good News of Jesus Christ with others would benefit from this book. It's a fast but worthwhile read that may help you be more effective in pursuing orthodox beliefs with the right attitude.
I received this book free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group as part of their book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Humble Orthodoxy: Holding the Truth High Without Putting People Down - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Draw people to Christ and Defend His Word

Date:May 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sufficient in Jesus
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The very title of this book, Humble Orthodoxy by Joshua Harris and Eric Stanford, made me think I needed to read it.
The subtitle, Holding the Truth High Without Putting People Down convinced me, because this strikes at the heart of every Christian.
In our day, this is one of the Church's greatest needs. We need Humble Orthodoxy.
Have you ever met the doctrinally sound man who manages to be repellent and unkind even when he is presenting the beauties of the Gospel? This is the attitude Joshua Harris calls "Arrogant Orthodoxy."
How about the very friendly, understanding man who listens well and speaks about God's acceptance, yet never makes anyone uncomfortable by checking their beliefs against Scripture?This is the attitude Joshua Harris calls "Humble Heterodoxy."
I know these extremes well, as do all of us probably.
Timothy and Paul did too. That is why Paul wrote the letter of 2 Timothy, full of instruction on doctrine as well as the Christ-like attitude the orthodox must hold. We need to first understand that it isn't about us, about being right. It isn't our Truth we are defending. It is about the Truth God has given us, and the Redemption He gives.
Timothy's legacy is our legacy: handling the word of God rightly.
In short, Doctrine is Truth God has given us to defend, and we have to do so in a manner worthy of Him.
If you only remember one thing from this book, it perhaps should be this line: It is possible to defend the Truth of Christ in a way that drives people from Him.
If that doesn't make you repent and mend your ways, what will?
Of course, just knowing that is not enough.
We must know that the same Gospel we are defending provides us with the ability to wage war to save souls, not destroy perceived enemies.
Then, by the power of Christ, we can be Humbly Orthodox.
Thank you to the authors and to Waterbrook's Blogging for Books program for sending me this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Humble Orthodoxy: Holding the Truth High Without Putting People Down - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Ultimate Glory

Date:May 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Victoria
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one of the best books I have read!
In "Humble Orthodoxy", Joshua Harris fights for the truth. At the same time, he fights for fighting for the truth in a manner that does not undo the very truth we are to share.
The book provides a clear view of the gospel which would be great for anyone seeking to know more about what it means to be a Christian.
The book provides a clear view of the gospel in the life of someone who has been a Christian for any length of time.
In short, this book communicates the importance of living in light of the Gospel in a way that shows just how serious God is about His Word.
Souls awakened to the Gospel and sent out in a spirit of compassionate humility can do so much good in this world...Read this book and you will be such a soul!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Humble Orthodoxy: Holding the Truth High Without Putting People Down - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Review - Humble Orthodoxy by Joshua Harris

Date:May 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
David Shaw
Location:Tecumseh, OK
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One of my greatest sins is how prideful I am when I am conversing with someone whom I disagree with. When I should be at my most gentle I am most hurtful. This is something that I am quite embarrassed about. I am not helping to build up fellow believers and worse than that I am bringing shame to the name of Christ. Sins that I ask forgiveness of often.
When sin remains I try to find passages in Scripture, sermons and/or books that deal with that sin. Fortunately a book has just been released that confronts my pride and exposes the root of my sin - Humble Orthodoxy by Joshua Harris.
Humble orthodoxy is the idea that we must have a right thinking about God (orthodoxy) and apply and discuss it humbly. He says this, “Christians need to have a strong commitment to sound doctrine. We need to be courageous in our stand for biblical truth. But we also need to be gracious in our words and interaction with other people.” He goes onto say, “truth matters…but so does our attitude. This is what I mean by humble orthodoxy: we must care deeply about the truth, and we must also defend and share this truth with compassion and humility.” That is my struggle, being humble gracious when interacting with others. I believe that it is a struggle that most of us have.
The statement he makes that cut me the most is this: “One of the mistakes Christians often make is that we learn to rebuke like Jesus but not love like Jesus.” Isn’t this so fitting of many people? I am this person. I can rebuke with the best of them but not love like Christ.
I know many people who have been hurt by people in the church because of the unloving way they were treated by them. And that is unfortunate and sinful.
With that said and equal sin is to be so humble that we don’t confront sin. Harris says this, “There is nothing more unloving than to be silent in the face of lies that will ruin another person.” Because the church has been so hateful in its presentation of the gospel it has almost abandoned any confrontation all together. The world has expected as much from the church. They want a loving church without being rebuked for their sins. As I mentioned earlier that is as sinful as being prideful in our disagreements.
How do we go from being prideful to being full of humility? Harris gives the following advice, “Don’t be quarrelsome. Don’t get sidetracked on secondary issues. Be kind. Be patient. When other people are evil, endure it while trusting God. When you need to correct someone, do it with gentleness.” So simple yet so true. If we all got hold of this and applied it to every dealing with had with others the church would have more power in dealing with sin inwardly and in the world.
The reason we should be humble is because Jesus is humble (Philippians 2:8) and we should be like Christ. He is our motivation. He is our example. He is our goal. Harris spends much time on this which is so important in gaining a right perspective on our relationships with others.
To summarize the ideas in his book Harris says this, “That must always be the driving passion behind our pursuit of biblical orthodoxy. Not to prove ourselves more right or better than someone else but to better worship the holy God, the one who forgives and accepts us for Christ’s sake.”
This is a short book of 61 pages. You could read it in an hour or so. You may find that it takes you longer because you will stop often and meditate on what you have been reading. I am so thankful for a book like this. It has been needed for some time. I can’t recommend it enough.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Humble Orthodoxy: Holding the Truth High Without Putting People Down - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A small book, but packs a big punch

Date:May 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
jnjdet
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Humble Orthodoxy is a short but straight to the point book. Mr. Harris deals with the age old problem of how do you get truth across without putting people down. Grace and Truth. Each are essential and Jesus is the fulfillment of both. You can't have one without the other. Well, you can try but it's not very effective. This book gives a great introduction as to what happens when you focus too much on theology and then what also happens if you don't know any theology. Both can be hazardous. Humility is what it boils down to. Recognizing we are all in a spiritually desperate condition and the only one who can save us is Christ. There's no place for our own ego in that. This is a small book but packs a lot into it. I believe it is worth the time to read.
I received this book free from Waterbrook Multnomah in exchange for my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Humble Orthodoxy: Holding the Truth High Without Putting People Down - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Book I Needed!

Date:April 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jimmy Reagan
Location:West Union, OH
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Which one do we need: orthodoxy or humility? Both says Joshua Harris! In fact, we don’t have the luxury to choose one at the expense of the other. Or as the subtitle of this volume published by Multnomah says, we should be “holding the truth high without putting people down.” So what does that leave as the goal? What he calls humble orthodoxy.
This is actually a reworking of the last chapter of his Dug Down Deep. If I were forced to choose I would prefer that volume to this one as I really enjoyed reading it. Still, this book has something to say and I need to hear it.
Our tendency to be a Pharisee, our latent idolization of self, our propensity to be so impressed with who we are and what we know, he exposes with care. He says, “The message of Christian orthodoxy isn’t that I’m right and someone else is wrong. It’s that I am wrong and yet God is filled with grace.” Ouch!
He demonstrates how at our core we are about God being on our side. That is a world of difference than wanting to be on God’s side. If it is about God being on my side, then I will argue and fight till my last breath. Sadly, at that point our lives are no longer about God and His glory. We live for what he calls “the tiny kingdom of self.” In that setting, of course, “Knowledge puffeth up.”
We have the wrong focus to make correct theology, as critically important as it is, the goal. Our Lord is the goal. Any other goal is inferior and little more than misspent effort. If correct theology is the goal I can so easily look down on others who I know has less theology than me. I know I have fallen in that trap before and am glad I had Mr. Harris to take me to task for it.
He attacks “arrogant orthodoxy” as actually falling short on the orthodoxy scale rather than the other way around. He sees true theology as telling me that repentance must start with me. Well, he has us there!
He sees a interlocking link between orthodoxy and humility. More orthodoxy leads to more humility and more humility leads to more orthodoxy. When our pride grows, what, then, does that tell us about our orthodoxy? That is a painful, yet particularly helpful, insight.
As much as I want to have my theology right, there is enough remaining sin in me to keep me humble, he says. You can speak for yourself, but that really describes me. A critical spirit, though a spirit quite at home in our age, is pure nonsense in a sinner like me. I must defend my faith without reducing myself to a critical spirit that denies on many levels the very faith I defend.
He also says: “Friend, the truth is not about us. It’s not self-determined. It’s not an accessory. It is about God.” That will help us not develop a Christian subculture with all the weirdo that can accompany it. He also says: ” In eternity we’ll see the silliness of self-righteousness and quarreling over the nonessentials.” That sums it nicely for a book well worth your time to read.
I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Humble Orthodoxy: Holding the Truth High Without Putting People Down - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great reminder towards humility

Date:April 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
TheToddLynn
Location:Roanoke, VA
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The biggest surprise about this book is its size. When you think of a book titled Humble Orthodoxy, you would think that it would require a couple hundred pages at least to even get warmed up on the topic. Humble Orthodoxy weighs in at 80 pages long, including a study guide. But do not let that fool you. This book is definitely worth your time.
This is now the second book by Joshua Harris I have read, with the first one being Dug Down Deep. It is because I read Dug Down Deep that I was even interested in this book. Josh’s writing has definitely evolved throughout the years from the time he wrote I Kissed Dating Goodbye and that should not come as a surprise in that most writers get better as they continue writing and maturing. I do not say that because I believe some of Josh’s earlier books were not right on or anything like that but just to say that reading his stuff now is enjoyable and challenging. He writes with an understanding and grasp on topics which he is then able to put in terms that anyone can understand. His readers do not need to have a graduate degree to understand. Along those lines, Humble Orthodoxy is a short, but not watered down product that could benefit Christians of any age.
Humble Orthodoxy is a challenge to believers to hold the truth of God high and not look down on those who might not understand what we do. It is very easy for those who profess to be Christians to get puffed up in their knowledge and understanding and thus wind up looking down on those who have not attained their knowledge. The Pharisees had this problem throughout the New Testament and they are also the ones who Jesus butted heads with most often. But, it was not necessarily the knowledge itself that is bad, but how we present our knowledge. “Orthodoxy refers to right thinking about God” (p. 1) and this book spends all of its pages presenting the fact that in our thinking about God, right thinking, we need to make sure we are living rightly with our knowledge. “Truth matters…but so does our attitude. This is what I mean by humble orthodoxy: we must care deeply about truth, and we must also defend and share this truth with compassion and humility” (p. 5).
The book is divided into 4 different chapters: Your Attitude Matters, With a Tear in Our Eye, Repentance Starts with Me and Living for God’s Approval. Each of these areas points to humility from a different perspective but helps paint the ultimate picture of how humility should be the main characteristic of our thinking about God. If Jesus Himself did not consider equality with God something to be grasped for, then we as His followers should portray that same humility in our own lives. The only boasting that should come from a Christian is in the cross of Christ. Any other boasting is uncalled for and will leave a bitter taste in the mouth of those who are not followers of Christ. It is extremely difficult for Christians to live as Christ with pride in their lives.
Joshua Harris, in Humble Orthodoxy, does a great job at calling Christians to live humbly and remain humble as they grow in their knowledge of God so our lives can openly and fully portray Christ. With that said, I want to close with a couple quotes from the book:
“If being right becomes more important to us than worshiping God, then our theology is not really about God anymore. It’s about us.”
“That is humble orthodoxy. It’s standing for truth with a tear in our eye.”
“When we know the truth about God – His love, His power, His greatness, His holiness, His mercy – it doesn’t leave us boasting. It leaves us amazed. It leaves us in awe of truth. It leaves us humbled in the presence of grace.”
“We don’t have to be jerks with the truth. We can remember how Jesus showed us mercy when we were His enemies. We can demonstrate a humble orthodoxy, holding on to our identity in the gospel. We are not those who are right; we are those who have been redeemed.”
With that, I will bring this review to a close. It is difficult to write a long review on a shorter book without giving too much away. I hope I have been able to whet your appetite just a bit for this book. As I said, it is a short book but well worth the couple days it will take you to read it. Also, this book would be great for a small group study and even a Sunday school so look into it.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review as a part of their Blogging for Books program in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Humble Orthodoxy: Holding the Truth High Without Putting People Down - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Truth

Date:April 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
SonshineSandi
Location:North East Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am recovering from the legalistic, and yes attitude of the pharisees that permeates the independent fundamental movement toward fellow believers that are in different denominations. I had been praying for God to show me balance but I could not quite grasp it. This book does an excellent job . Thank you!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Humble Orthodoxy: Holding the Truth High Without Putting People Down - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Much Needed Message For Christians Today

Date:April 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Smoothie71
Location:Alabama
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I never knew 61 pages could be so good and powerful until I read through this book.
Joshua Harris gives a good, swift kick with, 'Humble Orthodoxy: Holding the Truth High Without Putting People Down'.
With lines like,
"The error and sin of others never give me license to ignore the Word of God. Even when people in our culture are sinning, slandering, and tearing down truth, I have no excuse for ignoring God's commands."
and
"Orthodoxy shouldn't be a club to attack someone else. It should be a double-edged sword that starts by piercing our hearts, laying them bare before God so that we can say, "Forgive us, Lord."
He definitely has a very well thought out, very much needed message for today's Christians.
I can tell you that I needed this book a lot. I've gone through a "cage stage" before (read the book and you'll know what I'm talking about ;) ) and God used that time to humble me. He's shown me that while it's important to know truth, it's also important to remain humble as we seek to apply it.
I would encourage Christians of all ages to read this book, but not just read it. Seek to apply the wisdom God gives through it. Let's live humbly in truth with "a tear in our eyes".
*Note: this book was given to me for free by Waterbrook Multnomah for reviewing purposes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Humble Orthodoxy: Holding the Truth High Without Putting People Down - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

a small review for a small book

Date:April 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
mojo
Location:Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The book Humble Orthodoxy is about the need to act in humility when it comes to your desire to act like a Pharisee. In other words, those who "think" their version of Christian doctrine is vastly superior to others and therefore feel the need to slam or belittle or tear other Christians down.
And it's certainly a needed subject, especially with the rise of many conservative websites and bloggers who feel the need to discredit and shame several key Christian celebrity pastors.
But with all of the depth and exploration you could tap into on this subject, this book is extremely thin... and little. In fact, it's more of a booklet, or a freebie you'd expect to find in the church lobby or in your Easter basket.
Author, Joshua Harris explains exactly what this "new book" is. It's the last chapter of his amazing book "Dug Down Deep." Now, I love Dug Down Deep, I bought a copy of it for my church library and I recommend it to people all of the time.
Well, apparently those closest to Harris told him that this last chapter would make a good book topic, particularly a "booklet" that could be given to people. And so with the help of another writer, the two of them transformed this "last chapter" of a great book, into a .... few more chapters and bound them together in a hardback mini book.
To be honest, once I skipped to the back and found out what it was, I stopped reading it. I have already read Dug Down Deep and I don't need a refresher in doctrinal bullying. But I again, I certainly feel this subject matter is important, I just wish there was more there.
Thank you to Waterbrook Multnomah for this free review copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Humble Orthodoxy: Holding the Truth High Without Putting People Down - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Well-written.

Date:April 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
MoriahN
Location:Maine
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I ordered this book to review because I have read other books by Joshua Harris and thought they were really good. Humbe Orthodoxy was not a disappointment either. I was surprised to see how tiny the book was, but there is a lot of food for thought in its pages.
Joshua Harris discusses orthodoxy- what it means, what it is, and what it looks like- and discusses how we can live out orthodoxy in a humble way. There were a lot of things that I had never really thought about before concerning orthodoxy, and this book was insightful and interesting.
The material in this book was stated in a clear and concise, easy-to-understand way. It was well-written. I look forward to reading more of this author's books.
Thank you to WaterBrook Multnomah- I received this book through their Blogging For Books program for free in exchange for writing this honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.