Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House God Cares for You: Bible Wisdom for Kids #1 (Chuck Swindoll's Paws & Tales)

Tyndale House God Cares for You: Bible Wisdom for Kids #1 (Chuck Swindoll's Paws & Tales)

Based on the nationally broadcast radio program presented by Chuck Swindoll's Insight for Living, Paws & Tales communicates biblical truth and shows kids how they can apply it to real life. This video is a great tool for reinforcing a spiritual foundation for children, while being fun and engaging at the same time with colorful animation, adventure, and fun characters. This is the first DVD in the series and features two full-length animated episodes, music videos, an eBook, activities, and parent resources. Each episode is approximately 22 minutes long, recommended for ages 4-8.

Featured Episodes:
  • The Good Shepherd
  • A Good Foundation
  • Average Customer Rating:
    4.482 out of 5
    4.5
     out of 
    5
    (27 Reviews) 27
    Open Ratings Snapshot
    Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
    5 stars
    13
    4 stars
    14
    3 stars
    0
    2 stars
    0
    1 star
    0
    27 out of 27100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
    Customer Reviews for God Cares for You: Bible Wisdom for Kids #1 (Chuck Swindoll's Paws & Tales)
    Review 1 for God Cares for You: Bible Wisdom for Kids #1 (Chuck Swindoll's Paws & Tales)
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:July 18, 2012
    Customer Avatar
    Dianna Akers
    Location:Cool Ridge, West Virginia
    Age:55-65
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Everything I can find to instill Christian values in my grandchildren is great! They are bombarded with savagrey and negative outlooks from all around them. It is nice to find something gentle and fun. Very well done!
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 2 for God Cares for You: Bible Wisdom for Kids #1 (Chuck Swindoll's Paws & Tales)
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Wonderful character builders

    Date:February 25, 2011
    Customer Avatar
    Holly
    Quality: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    Value: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Teaching our children character builders is a huge deal to my husband and I.
    These are the foundation of their faith, and who they become.
    I love being able to find good, Godly videos, that help my little ones learn these important lessons. They are fun tools so they can relate to what they are learning.
    Recently, I was able to review a wonderful new DVD: Paws & Tales, God Cares for You. A spin off of Chuck Swindoll's radio program, Paws & Tales Biblical Wisdom for Kids, I am truly delighted in the awesome portrayal of Christian character. This first video in the series focuses on Psalm 23:1, and Proverbs 10:25...showing children God's love for them.
    The 2 short animations on this DVD are captivating for little ones. The characters are vivid, and the stories are easy for children to relate to, as well as understand the meaning behind.
    Episode 1, 'The Good Sheppard', focuses on sacrificial love, both from yourself for others, and from the ultimate Sheppard, Jesus.
    Episode 2, 'A Good Foundation', teaches children that, just like building a clubhouse on something solid and strong, you need a firm foundation in life to stand on for the future.
    <iframe title="YouTube video player" width="380" height="390" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/Zp5D4nSoajA" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>
    All of my children have really enjoyed this video. The laughs and giggles, while they proudly tell me what they learned, is enough to make me truly appreciative of this series!
    The fun bonus features that can be accessed via computer (including music videos, activity sheets, and games) is a nice little extra with the DVD also. And joining the "Clubhouse" here is lots of fun as well!
    Overall, Paws & Tales is a great resource to help instill wonderful traits in the hearts and minds of your littles!
    (I received a free copy from Tyndale for review)
    +1point
    1of 1voted this as helpful.
    Review 3 for God Cares for You: Bible Wisdom for Kids #1 (Chuck Swindoll's Paws & Tales)
    Overall Rating: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5

    God Cares For You

    Date:February 25, 2011
    Customer Avatar
    Bluerose
    Age:25-34
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    This was overall a cute video. There were two separate cartoons and a song after each one of them. The first thing I noticed is how simple the cartoons are. I think most of us are used to the “fancier” cartoons of today. These reminded me of when I was younger.
    The first one we watched was about sheep. I found this one a little weird, especially since it’s suppose to be for kids. At one point the shepherd is trying to teach the kids how to take care of the sheep, and it starts choking. The shepherd grabs the sheep’s upper and lower jaw and the camera goes to the kid’s faces while the shepherd sticks his hand down the sheep’s throat to make him throw up. The camera then goes back to the sheep and he’s fine, but there’s a pile of throw up in front of him. This may be totally normal for sheep. I assume it is, but I would have liked to have seen the point of the scene brought about in a different way. I still recommend the video, but again, I thought that part was really weird!
    I thought the second one was extremely cute! The point came across very clearly and even as an adult I snickered several times through it.
    The most important thing, though, is that my son seemed to love it. It kept his attention, and while he’s still too young to be getting a whole lot out of them right now, I really think that he will when he comprehends a bit more. He can’t talk yet, so I’m totally judging his opinion of the video from his reactions. ;) He seemed to really like all the sheep noises!
    At the end of the cartoons, there’s a karaoke-like song. I’ve mentioned before that I prefer my songs without music, and these do have music with them. I know that won’t matter to most, but I wanted to throw it out there for anyone who might want to know.
    We do recommend these cartoons. It has a good message and it’s not too flashy! And I think, depending on the age, it’s funny and entertaining.
    *I received this DVD from the publisher in exchange for my honest opinion.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 4 for God Cares for You: Bible Wisdom for Kids #1 (Chuck Swindoll's Paws & Tales)
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:February 25, 2011
    Customer Avatar
    Simply Shop and Save
    Location:Ontario, CA
    Age:55-65
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    I showed this video to a small group of children in my church ages 4- 8 and they all enjoyed both adventure stories. At various times during the two episodes they would laugh. Paws and Tales captured their attention during the entire length of the DVD. They all have watched some of the other Paws and Tales and they would love to view upcoming releases. Two children told me that they learned, “We are His sheep.” One boy liked the character CJ and the other two liked the Old Shepherd and Papa Chuck. My suggestion to Simply Shop and Save readers is that if you find both animated episodes too long for your audience then just show one story and save the other episode for another time.
    For myself, this was the first time I have actually seen a Paws and Tales story so I was quite excited. I liked that the Biblical truth of God’s caring and how he relates to humans was interwoven during the two stories. It’s amazing that the Creator is always with us, loves us and He knows every little thing about us! God cares and can be our strong foundation! From children to adults we need this meaningful message. Also, children can learn the concept of putting others first.
    Here are other positive things about the DVD. Paws and Tales is offered in English and Spanish and there is the option of subtitles! How relevant to have these options for the hearing impaired or for the Spanish population. Between the two stories and after A Good Foundation, upbeat music is played relating to the themes. It was fun dancing to the music! Other features include activity sheets, and games when you put the disc in your computer.
    Overall Paws and Tales: God Cares For You is a great DVD and I heartily recommend the DVD for families, grand-parents, church libraries and others! Know that the author, Chuck Swindoll is one of the highest ranked Christian orators of our time and has been able to reach out and communicate with every walk of life. As it says; he now wants to reach the next generation. Even if you just want values for your children, this is a great way to present them.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 5 for God Cares for You: Bible Wisdom for Kids #1 (Chuck Swindoll's Paws & Tales)
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Fantastic Family Time

    Date:February 25, 2011
    Customer Avatar
    McDawg81
    Location:Flowery Branch, GA
    Age:55-65
    Gender:male
    Quality: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Whether it is Marsha, Gooz, Ned, or CJ, your children and grandchildren will pick out a favorite character and fall in love with the general concept of Paws & Tales! In the DVD, God Cares For You, there are two episodes that will bring smiles to the entire family. In addition, there are games and music videos making this DVD even more valuable to your family.
    Inspired by the ministry of Chuck Swindoll, founder of Insight for Living, Paws & Tales is “committed to communicating biblical truth and applying it to real life.” The beautiful part of this ministry is that the “kids will be captivated by the adventure, caught up in the laughter, and carried away in the fun…and the whole time they’ll be on their way to understanding solid Bible theology.”
    I watched these videos with my three grandchildren, and let me tell you, they were fascinated. The animation is top notch, as is the writing. There is no “in your face” theology, however, very subtly, the concept of Christ’s love is revealed with each passing scene. Perhaps the greatest endorsement is hearing them ask, “Is that all?”
    You can watch the first part of one of these videos on the Paws & Tales YouTube channel by clicking http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zp5D4nSoajA.
    Lots more information is available at www.pawsandtales.com or at www.tyndale.com.
    I am holding a giveaway for a free copy of this DVD, so here are some rules and how to enter....
    1. Become a follower for one entry into the drawing or if you are already a follower let me know that in the comments section.
    2. Blog about this giveaway on your own blog for a chance at 3 entries. Please leave me your blog link with your comment.
    4. Gain one entry for tweeting about this giveaway. Leave me your twitter name so that I can follow you and see your tweet;0)
    5. This giveaway is open until Saturday February 26, 2011 at midnight. After that the comments section will be closed and I will put all the names in a hat and let my grandchildren children draw a name from it. We will post the winner on Sunday afternoon and the winner will have 24 hours to contact me or I will have the children draw another name.
    Simple Right!
    I am so excited to be hosting this giveaway and feel that the product will speak for itself.
    GOOD LUCK!!!
    **I was given a free copy of this DVD in exchange for my honest opinion. I was also given a free product award certificate to giveaway to one lucky reader with no strings attached other than the ways to gain entry. No other compensation was given. This is in conjunction with the guidelines set forth by Tyndale House Publishing**
    ****Participating bloggers/Website Employees and their families are not eligible to win this prize.****
    0points
    1of 2voted this as helpful.
    Review 6 for God Cares for You: Bible Wisdom for Kids #1 (Chuck Swindoll's Paws & Tales)
    Overall Rating: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5

    Good for all ages

    Date:February 24, 2011
    Customer Avatar
    Svlemommy
    Location:Dublin, TX
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    Value: 
    3 out of 5
    3 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    3 out of 5
    3 out of 5
    I'm pretty picky about what my son can watch. He's even pickier about what he will watch. I'd never heard of the Paws & Tales series before and was happy to get a chance to review one of the DVDs. This DVD has two episodes, "A Good Foundation" and "The Good Shepherd", both of which we watched.
    Now, my son is 4 and his sense of humor is developing to be really silly and quite sharp witted. That being said, I didn't really understand why there had to be underwear humor and why the characters responded to each other they way they did. One asked another "are you blind" when they were looking for a tree. There were other instances too which I think could have been worded differently to not be as sarcastic or mean. The animation isn't ground breaking, but is good and well done.
    He did like the videos. I asked him if he learned from the first episode and he said "nope, everything broke, there were cracks". He laughed a lot during "The Good Shepherd" but found it a little scary and asked me to turn it off. He sat and watched the songs that coordinate with the episodes and asked me to keep playing them over and over. A few minutes after it was over, he started asking questions like "what's a solid rock?" and "how is God a shepherd?" so I guess he did get something from it!
    I thought there would be more Biblical truths to the episodes, since they are from Chuck Swindoll, and was kinda disappointed that it was just kinda thrown in at the end of each episode. Even though, I'm going to put this in the church nursery, proudly.
    I received a review copy of the DVD from Tyndale House. No additional compensation has been received and I was not required to write a positive review.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 7 for God Cares for You: Bible Wisdom for Kids #1 (Chuck Swindoll's Paws & Tales)
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Children Will Learn More About God!

    Date:February 24, 2011
    Customer Avatar
    Michell
    Location:Metro Manila, Philippines
    Age:35-44
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Chuck Swindoll’s Paws & Tales: God Cares for You DVD consists of two series: The Good Shepherd & A Good Foundation. Included in the DVD are coloring pages and lesson plans for the two stories.
    Since this is a DVD for children, I am including my children’s personal reviews of this product.
    Review by Artsy Princess – 12 years old
    I like Paws & Tales because even though I’m 12 years old, I can still relate to the characters. It is like a Bible that you can watch. I found it entertaining and the songs had very catchy lyrics. The song in The Good Shepherd episode shows how God treats us with tender loving care.
    The Good Foundation episode talks about how God is our rock, how He is strong. I like the episode because I saw an easier way to understand how God is a rock. God is my foundation in life.
    I think all kids should watch Paws & Tales to understand the Bible better.
    Review by Sunshine Princess – 6 years old
    Paws & Tales is pretty and it’s like the Bible. Because the Lord is our Shepherd, I shall not want. We are like the sheep and God takes care of us. God can take care of all of us even if we are a lot of people. I’d like Mommy to help make Paws & Tales really famous.
    The Good Foundation is very nice. The club treehouse and the water house is so pretty. Marsha was deep in the water because it’s so cold. I think the water is ice. I learned that they should pick a tree that is not going to break. The tree should be strong. They should pick a pond that is not cold so when they got dipped in the pond, they won’t be freezing.
    I like Paws & Tales very much because it’s like a Bible shown on TV. I want to watch more Paws & Tales!
    MY THOUGHTS
    I confess that my children like to watch a lot of TV. And I don’t always watch the TV shows with them.
    When I do watch it with them, sometimes I’m shocked at what they are watching - cartoon shows with stories that are not appropriate for little children. The one thing that I have concluded from all that TV watching is that with all the beautiful graphics on these shows, it’ll be hard to compete for children’s attention.
    That is not the case for Chuck Swindoll’s Paws & Tales God Cares for You DVD. My children found it very entertaining, the animal characters are relatable and the stories very relevant. Since the episodes included Bible verses recited by the children, now I hear Sunshine Princess reciting Psalm 23. The songs are also easy to follow along to so that my 3 year old Flash Boy can also sing along. I find the stories a great way to cement the teachings of the Bible to children.
    To continue in the fun, Paws & Tales also have an online membership club where children can play fun games for free and learn more about God. You can check out this club here: http://www.tyndale.com/pawsandtales/
    I highly recommend Chuck Swindoll’s Paws & Tales God Cares for Youfor parents who want their children grounded in God’s word.
    Disclosure: I received a free copy of this DVD from Tyndale as part of their Blogger Review Program. I am not required to write a positive review.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 8 for God Cares for You: Bible Wisdom for Kids #1 (Chuck Swindoll's Paws & Tales)
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Awesome learning tool!

    Date:February 23, 2011
    Customer Avatar
    mom2many
    Age:25-34
    Gender:female
    Chuck Swindoll's Paws & Tales: God Cares for You video, was delightfully entertaining and informative. The DVD includes two episodes, with a God centered lesson in each. Episode one, "The Good Shepherd", is the story of a shepherd named Ezra. After falling ill, he was in need of some help to take care of his sheep. C.J. and Ned decided to help! It wasn't long before they both realized how difficult it was to be a shepherd, and keep watch over the flock at all times. When C.J. falls asleep on the job, the sheep are attacked by a couple of wolves! C.J. forms a plan to capture the wolves, and not allow the sheep to be hurt ever again. He also starts to understand how Jesus is our Good Shepherd, and how He watches over us at all times to keep us safe. In Episode two, C.J. and his sister Staci, decided to build a tree house. They were told to find something big and sturdy. Acting quickly and impatiently, C.J. and Staci picked a tree that was not very sturdy! They quickly learned the importance of having a good foundation! After being coached to build the tree house correctly they chose a huge rock to build it on instead of a tree. They learned that God is our rock and our foundation! This dvd also concludes each story, with a music video that reiterates the lesson that was taught.
    I found this series to be a great learning tool for my children. I'm always looking for easy, quick videos with good life lessons (especially about God). I love that I don't have to worry about what they are watching because I know they are learning their core beliefs!
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 9 for God Cares for You: Bible Wisdom for Kids #1 (Chuck Swindoll's Paws & Tales)
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Wonderful bible story DVD for the kids

    Date:February 22, 2011
    Customer Avatar
    apple blossom
    Location:Grand Forks, ND
    Age:45-54
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    I was so excited after watching the first story on this DVD. The bible story message is there in cartoon form that is bound to hold your child's attention. This DVD has two stories on it The Good Shepherd and A Good Foundation. There are also bonus features of songs the words pop up on the screen with a dot that moves so a child that reads can sing along with the song. There are also some activity sheets that can be printed off if you put the DVD into your computer and open the adobe file along with adult teaching resources to use with the movie as discussion starters. The movie can be watched in English or Spanish. Each movie is about 25 minutes in length. I applaud Mr. Swindoll and all that had a hand in producing this wonderful Christian bible story movie series. I look forward to more to come.
    A copy of this dvd was provided by Tyndall publishing for this review
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 10 for God Cares for You: Bible Wisdom for Kids #1 (Chuck Swindoll's Paws & Tales)
    Overall Rating: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5

    Fun series for kids

    Date:February 22, 2011
    Customer Avatar
    Michelle
    Quality: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    We had the chance to receive a copy of ‘Paws and Tales’ an animated series by Chuck Swindoll and based on his radio show of the same title. We received the ‘God Cares for You’ DVD from this series which included two 20-25 minute episodes. The first is titled 'The Good Shepherd' where the Wildwood kids have the opportunity to help a Shepard tend his flock while he has to go away for a day. After spending the day with the Shepard no one is sure they really want to take on this task but C.J. sticks with it and shines through in the end. All along the way the characters share about and make comparisons to how Jesus is the good Shepard to us. The second episode is titled 'A Good Foundation' where the kids decide they need to build an official club house for their club. There are lots of teachable moments like cooperation, patience and the main theme of needing to build on a solid foundation whether it's a club house or our lives. These are cute movies that my two really enjoyed. As an adult they did not keep my interest and I found some of the humor silly at times. They are bright and colorful cartoons that are well done. The characters are likable. I thought 'The Good Shepard' episode did a better job at integrating the message throughout the show while the second episode didn't get to the relation to God's word until the conclusion. I asked my kids questions about the show and it was clear that they took more away from the lessons of the 'The Good Shepard'. I think the integration and gradual build was really effective. I'm not sure why that was not followed in the other episode. There are also songs for each episode with a video for each, activity sheets, games and other resources included. I think these movies are a fun way to teach about God's truths that really excited my kids and did engage them. The age range is pre-school to early elementary.
    I received a free copy of this copy from Tyndale Publishing's review program. The opinions expressed in this review are my own and I was not required to provide a positive review.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 11 for God Cares for You: Bible Wisdom for Kids #1 (Chuck Swindoll's Paws & Tales)
    Overall Rating: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5

    My 4 Yr Old Liked it...

    Date:February 22, 2011
    Customer Avatar
    gpyouthguy
    Location:Grande Prairie, AB, Canada
    Age:25-34
    Gender:male
    Quality: 
    3 out of 5
    3 out of 5
    Value: 
    3 out of 5
    3 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    3 out of 5
    3 out of 5
    welcome! this is day one of the Paws & Tales: God Cares for You blog tour. i’m glad to be part of this, and i hope that my (& my oldest son’s) review helps you here.
    i was sent a free copy of this dvd from Tyndale in exchange of an honest review, meaning i get to say what i want about it.
    now that that’s taken care of: Grayson (oldest son) really enjoyed the video. he’s a fairly discerning 4 year old who definitely lets his opinion of what he likes and dislikes be known. we watched the first episode on the dvd – “The Good Shepherd” (link goes to the trailer on Youtube) – and he thoroughly enjoyed it. he wanted to watch it again, which i think says enough about it.
    when i asked him what he learned from it, he told me that “its really important to take good care of other people’s things, and that Jesus takes really good care of us”. his favourite character was the shepherd dog, and he was able to sit through the whole thing, and then he asked if he could watch more! i’d be glad to let him watch the whole series.
    i personally thought the video was put together relatively well. be warned though, the animation will take a little getting used to for the 80’s cartoon generation. the wide-eyed look of the characters at first reminds me of a deer caught in the headlights. the animation could definitely use some improvement (too bad we still have yet to say that a christian company has put out a product that blows away its competition) in my mind, but my son didn’t seem to mind. the content was there, and if you can hold my 4 year old’s attention, then you’ve got mine. the content and storyline were there, and i was impressed by the simplicity of the message.
    for more info on the series check the Paws & Tales website, which has some great content on it, and you can always check out Tyndale too.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 12 for God Cares for You: Bible Wisdom for Kids #1 (Chuck Swindoll's Paws & Tales)
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Kids Will Love It

    Date:February 22, 2011
    Customer Avatar
    LaVerne
    Location:Canton, GA
    Age:Over 65
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    This is a really great children's DVD that teaches principles of God's word and is enjoyable and entertaining. Watch it with your children so that you can be there to answer their questions and listen to their thoughts. It's the first of the Paws and tales DVD's that I have watched and I would really like to see the rest of the series. It shows the different personalities of the characters very clearly ~ kids can see the God created each of us uniquely, even down to the fact that C.J. has one brown eye and one blue eye!
    Tyndale House Publishers has provided me with a complimentary copy of this DVD
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 13 for God Cares for You: Bible Wisdom for Kids #1 (Chuck Swindoll's Paws & Tales)
    Overall Rating: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5

    Great for Kids

    Date:February 21, 2011
    Customer Avatar
    Aaron
    Age:35-44
    Gender:male
    Quality: 
    3 out of 5
    3 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    (click to see the video)
    User submitted video
    A few weeks ago I received a copy of an animated series by Chuck Swindoll called “Paws & Tales” to review. As the father of 3 children 10 and under, I figured this would be a great opportunity to engage their wisdom and skill in critiquing a new series. I can tell you that the didn’t disappoint. As soon as I put in the DVD, they were drawn to the television by the graphics and characters. I could hear laughter and enjoyed watching their expressions as they followed along with the story. Immediately when it was finished my 5 year old ask if she could watch it again.
    What I find amazing is that the story stayed with both of my daughters (7 and 5 years old). Tonight was our first opportunity to sit down and record their review. Knowing they had not seen it since that night when I first received it, I wasn’t sure they would remember much about it. As you can see from the video below, they remembered several things and really enjoyed it.
    I give “Paws and Tales” a 4 out of 5
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 14 for God Cares for You: Bible Wisdom for Kids #1 (Chuck Swindoll's Paws & Tales)
    Overall Rating: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5

    Great for Kids

    Date:February 21, 2011
    Customer Avatar
    jcheinrichs
    Location:Winniprh
    Age:25-34
    Gender:male
    Quality: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    I was exited to get this DVD for my kids, there is little to be found for good quality Christian cartoons for children. Paws & Tales does not disappoint. This cartoon provides us with wonderful a wonderful story, great characters and is able to convey a practical Biblically based message that can relate to kids.
    The first story is called "The Good Shepard", it is about a shepherd that is training two of the Paws & Tales main characters to take care of the sheep for him. Through this process they learn what a good shepherd does and how God shepherds us by taking care of us and protecting us.
    The second story in this DVD is called "A Good Foundation". This is a story about a group of friends who could not decide what kind of clubhouse to build, so they decide to build 2 different clubhouses. One on the water and one in a tree. They did not follow the advice of the designer and found that the clubhouse was deemed unsafe. The failed to follow the principal rule of building on a strong foundation (or in this case a steady strong tree).
    While the story and the animation is well done, I'm a little disappointed with how the audio was mixed on these DVD's. The dialogue is hard to hear because the music is too loud. I hope they can correct this for future episodes.
    This could look good to any parent wanting to get their kids good Christian DVD's, but if it fails to attract the interest of the child it is pointless. Here are some thoughts from an interview with my son:
    What did you learn?: I learned that Shepherds take care of Sheep
    Did you enjoy watching it? Yes
    Do you want to watch other videos with the same characters in it? Yes
    Who is your favorite character? I like the wolves and Ezra the Shepherd
    My son however did not like the music videos, while my daughter did like the music videos.
    I received this DVD free for my honest review.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 15 for God Cares for You: Bible Wisdom for Kids #1 (Chuck Swindoll's Paws & Tales)
    Overall Rating: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5

    With Paws & Tales there are important life lessons

    Date:February 21, 2011
    Customer Avatar
    mariaegg
    Location:Manitoba, Canada
    Age:45-54
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    Value: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    With Paws & Tales there are important life lessons all wrapped up in humor, wit, adventure, songs and great animation. This 50 minute video includes two episodes:
    Episode 1: The Good Shepherd
    C.J. and Ned are shepherds for a day and they learn firsthand that it's not as easy as it seems. The story illustrates how Jesus is the Good Shepherd.
    Episode #2: A Good Foundation
    C.J. and Staci decide to build a clubhouse. They discover that the tree is old and rotten. The story illustrates why having a good foundation is essential to building a Christian life.
    There are bonus features that can be accessed via computer that include music videos, activity sheets, games, and helpful teaching resources for parents, grandparents, and church educators
    I received this DVD free from Tyndale House Publishers to review. All opinions are mine.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 16 for God Cares for You: Bible Wisdom for Kids #1 (Chuck Swindoll's Paws & Tales)
    Overall Rating: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5

    Biblical Theology for Kids

    Date:February 21, 2011
    Customer Avatar
    Kmama
    Age:35-44
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    Value: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    I have to admit I was initially skeptical, but I was pleasantly surprised! I like how the shows attempt to do more than just teach a morality lesson...they try to communicate truths about the character of God at a kids' level. David Carl, the Creative Director, says:
    "I believe that even elementary-school-aged children are capable of learning theology. Actually, kids that age have been learning it all along. They can't help it. Every day a child must somehow make sense out of a complicated and sometimes chaotic world. By the time kids reach third grade, they have already developed a notion of the world around them and, therefore, some understanding of the kind of God who made it-assuming they have been taught there is a God...My goal with Paws & Tales is tot teach that God is in control, has a plan, and loves His children very much...I want to help kids build a foundation of solid theology at an early age so they can avoid having to rebuild from a shaky foundation that was built on bad theology."
    The animal characters and music are a bit corny, but the story is entertaining and the message is well done. There's more substance than simply a biblical morality tale here. I'm also impressed with the extra resources on the DVD and at the Paws and Tales website. There are fun games to play featuring the characters from the shows, online episodes to watch, and worksheets to download and print to go along with each show. I really appreciate the "Director's Notes" and "Questions for Cubs"...they offer an opportunity to go further with the message of the show and it's application.
    Based on the two episodes in this DVD along with the extra resources available, I'm impressed! I look forward to checking out more episodes.
    Thank you to Tyndale for providing a review copy of the DVD!
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 17 for God Cares for You: Bible Wisdom for Kids #1 (Chuck Swindoll's Paws & Tales)
    Overall Rating: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5

    Positive lessons for kids.

    Date:February 20, 2011
    Customer Avatar
    Sasha
    Age:25-34
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    I've been reviewing a lot of books lately, so I thought it would be fun to review a DVD with the kids. Chuck Swindoll's Paws & Tales: God Cares for You was two different episodes: one was "The Good Shepherd" and the other was "A Good Foundation". The movies followed characters in Wildwood as they learned more about Jesus. I enjoyed both episodes and thought they conveyed wonderful messages - that God wants to take care of us and that we need to build a strong foundation on Him. I think our whole family agreed that we liked "A Good Foundation" the best. There was a lot of humor in that episode.
    As for the kids:
    Did you learn from it? Yes, that Jesus keeps us safe
    Did you enjoy it? Yes
    Would you watch it again? Yes
    Who was your favorite character: The moose.
    I received a complimentary copy of this movie free from the publisher and was not required to submit a positive review.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 18 for God Cares for You: Bible Wisdom for Kids #1 (Chuck Swindoll's Paws & Tales)
    Overall Rating: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5

    Solid Biblical Teaching

    Date:February 16, 2011
    Customer Avatar
    Momma C
    Location:USA
    Age:25-34
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    Value: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    3 out of 5
    3 out of 5
    God Cares for You: Bible Wisdom for Kids #1 is the newest of the Paws and Tales video series. Paws and Tales is a ministry of Chuck Swindoll's Insight for Living to "help parents teach biblical theology to their kids through memorable, meaningful stories and music." You may recognize Paws and Tales from its radio program heard on radio stations and on the internet. Friendly forest animals experience adventures while learning Biblical truths.
    This video contains two episodes: The Good Shepherd and A Good Foundation. The Good Shepherd story explains how Jesus cares for His lambs. The Good Foundation is a loose story of the Wise Man and the Foolish Man. According to the website, this is the first of 13 animated videos to be released. Bonus features include: music videos, activity sheets, games, and teaching resources.
    Momma C's Thoughts: The theology in this video is rock solid. I was excited to see Bubs (age 6 1/2) make the correlation between the story and the Bible story it represented. There were a few things that puzzled me. First, one of the characters has eyes of different colors. I knew that there had to be a reason for this but never heard it addressed in this video. I was able to find out on one of the websites that CJ has different colored eyes which has lead him to have vision problems. Secondly, there is a scene where the moose gets underwear caught on her antlers. Pretty minor but just not necessary in my mind. Third, the introduction is strictly instrumental music. Personally, I feel this was an opportunity missed by the writters. Think what the intro of Veggie Tales has done for that series.
    Kids' Thoughts: The kids really enjoyed the video. They would watch it right now, if I let them. There were a few parts that they laughed out loud. Bubs immediately put the DVD story with the correct Bible story. He especially liked the shepherd video. Sweet Pea's favorite was character was Staci.
    Overall, the videos were okay. A little disappointing but the kids liked them. Definitely worth getting from the library or purchasing if you are looking for solid, Biblical children's videos.
    Thank you to Tyndale for giving me the opportunity to reveiw this product.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 19 for God Cares for You: Bible Wisdom for Kids #1 (Chuck Swindoll's Paws & Tales)
    Overall Rating: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5

    Paws & Tales: God Cares for You

    Date:February 14, 2011
    Customer Avatar
    Shoopette
    Location:Indiana
    Age:25-34
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    3 out of 5
    3 out of 5
    Value: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    “Paws & Tales: God Cares for You” (a DVD) was sent to me by Tyndale House Publishers through their Blog Network. This is an animated video series that is based on the national radio program of the same name by Chuck Swindoll’s Insight for Living.
    This DVD contained two different stories with a video song sequence in between. The first story featured several woodland creatures (bears, a beaver, a fox, and a moose) that are trying to build a tree house. Along the way, they learn about making sure that your foundation is built on something solid and unmoving. This is further related to how we should be building our spiritual lives on a firm foundation (Christ) as well. I thought this story was good. The message was clear, and some of the lines were funny.
    The second story featured the same characters and was based on God caring for us by being our Good Shepherd. The friends in this episode are given the opportunity to become shepherds for the day and to see what caring for others is all about. To me, this second story was not as good as the first one. It was like it had completely different writers. Part of it was slightly gross (unnecessarily, I thought – a sheep kind of ‘spits up’), and at the end of the story, I don’t think CJ (the bear) actually told the whole truth when he explained to the Shepherd what had happened overnight with the sheep. (Also, I was slightly offended that in this story the girls in the group are the ones who decide not to take care of the sheep because the sheep are too smelly, leaving the boys to take care of the smelly sheep instead…come on… this is 2011…let’s make the girl characters have a little more gumption…)
    Overall, I thought this DVD was okay. The messages were good and were based on spiritual truth. The animation felt a little flat to me, though. My 2-year-old daughter did not watch the whole thing, but I think that was only because this series is aimed at an older age group. One thing that is really cool about this DVD is that you can put it into your computer and print out coloring pages and activity sheets and other things. Neat!
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 20 for God Cares for You: Bible Wisdom for Kids #1 (Chuck Swindoll's Paws & Tales)
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:February 12, 2011
    Customer Avatar
    Melissa
    Location:Greer, SC
    Age:35-44
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    I recieved a complimentary copy of this DVD from Tyndale House Publishers in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own. This is the first video I have reviewed and my children were more than happy to help. Paws and Tales by Chuck Swindoll is a very good children's video. Two different stories are included on the DVD and include The Good Shepherd and A Good Foundation. The Good Shepherd tells of two young boys anxious to help the Shepherd and be junior shepherds for the day. They soon realize that it is not as easy as it sounds. Children will discover how Jesus, our Good Shepherd cares for us. A Good Foundation teaches children why having a good foundation is an important part of living a godly life. C.J. and Staci discover this truth in the story as they build a clubhouse in an old rotten tree.
    A great video for children! Paws and Tales has cute animation, two great stories, and wonderful Biblical truths. My three children loved watching this movie, and as soon as the DVD had ended they immediately wanted to watch it again. It is great to have DVD's that help children understand Biblical truths that we are trying to teach at home. Chuck Swindoll has provided a perfect tool for parents to use.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    12Next >>>