Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson 20,000 Days and Counting: The Crash Course For Mastering Your Life Right Now - eBook

Thomas Nelson 20,000 Days and Counting: The Crash Course For Mastering Your Life Right Now - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 out of 888%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 20,000 Days and Counting: The Crash Course For Mastering Your Life Right Now - eBook
Review 1 for 20,000 Days and Counting: The Crash Course For Mastering Your Life Right Now - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Live with purpose every day and make a difference

Date:February 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
BridgetHaymond
Location:Charlotte, NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Robert D. Smith’s life was dramatically impacted by the awareness of the brevity of life when he lost a friend at the age of 14 years old. Ever since then he has sought to live with purpose every day and make a difference both now and for eternity.
Smith presents some great ideas for problem solving from a fresh new perspective. But what I really appreciate about the author’s approach is that he wants to empower the reader to recognize the privilege of taking charge of his or her own life. He’s an advocate of never giving up and shows how you can make rejection and “nos” work for you.
Robert Smith does a terrific job of pointing out practical ways to take action now, celebrate each day and live with purpose in every moment while being mindful of the legacy you are creating. His enthusiasm for life shines through and I’m confident you will be challenged and encouraged by this book.
The subtitle for this book is, “The CRASH COURSE for MASTERING YOUR LIFE RIGHT NOW” and that’s exactly what it is! This short, easy to read book is full of practical, take-action advice designed to give you a new perspective and it has the power to change your life if you apply it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 20,000 Days and Counting: The Crash Course For Mastering Your Life Right Now - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Live each day as if it were your last

Date:December 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Monica
Location:Iowa
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How old are you? Now how old are you by counting in days? As of the writing of this blog I am 17, 516 days old. On the 20,000th day of his life, Robert D. Smith sent an e-mail to a group of people of all ages reminding them to live in the moment. This book is a result of that e-mail. It is intended to be short and read in under an hour.
I'm not sure if I read this book in less than an hour or not as I had a couple of interruptions while reading it. In any case, it is a quick read as promised. However, a lot of wisdom is packed into a short space so that you can quickly take this information to heart and apply it to your life. I had a tablet along with my Kindle and took notes, as Smith suggested, and I did take time to apply his words to my life. While I think the younger you are reading this book, the better, it is a book that could help any person of any age live the rest of their life better. I also think the more time I take to reflect on it and re-read it periodically, the more it will help me live a better life. Since it is shorter, that should be easy to do.
According to Smith, "Most people sleepwalk through day-to-day life, passively letting time slip away." With the tools in this book, if applied, you can live your life more intentionally. One of my favorite quotes: I mean to make myself a man of after God's own heart, If I succeed in that, I will succeed in everything else." Just thinking about this idea, I asked myself if I truly live my day as a woman after God's heart, how will I live it? I am inspired to live it better each day with that thought alone. Smith has several other questions to ask as you think about your purpose in each day and how you want to live your life--and how you want to be known after your life is done. I would recommend it to every one. And if you want to calculate how long you have been alive, he has a place for that in his website: http://www.therobertd.com/the-book/. Also, if you are familiar with Andy Andrews, for over 30 years, Smith has managed and overseen the career of Andy Andrews.
I received this book from Thomas Nelson as a part of their Booksneeze program. I was not required to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 20,000 Days and Counting: The Crash Course For Mastering Your Life Right Now - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

some inspiration but no practical techniques

Date:December 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Midway through his fifty fourth year, Smith realized he had been alive for nearly 20,000 days. He decided to take forty eight hours and put himself through a crash course to plan his next 20,000 days. He includes in this book the thoughts and actions he pledged to implement daily for the rest of his life in order to live with intense purpose, constant joy, and lasting influence.
There is really not much to this book. Smith says this book can be read in an hour. It can. (The last seven pages of the galley I read were endorsements.) He does share his own thoughts and maybe it worked for him. But this book is greatly lacking in the practical means to getting to that life of intense purpose. He does not include any techniques for goal setting, time management, or anything like that. His concept is pretty much that you just decide to live your life with purpose and it will somehow happen.
If this is the first book you will read on finding your purpose in life, etc., you may find inspiration in this book. If you have read other books on goal setting or productivity, you will probably not find anything new or helpful in this one. I have read lots of self help books and did not find this one to be particularly helpful.
I received a complimentary egalley of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 20,000 Days and Counting: The Crash Course For Mastering Your Life Right Now - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Get going...NOW!

Date:December 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
suneyejenn
Location:Huntsville, AL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I just completed '20,000 Days' and the best way to sum it up is that it is a 'swift kick in the behind.' I am actually currently working towards a specific professional goal and I was doing a 'coin toss' as to whether to work on my project or sit down to begin reading '20,000 Days'. I chose the latter and DID finish it within an hour. My take-aways from the book are this:
Robert D. Smith is thoroughly entertaining and endearing and wraps your attention around his little finger. He suggests in the beginning of the book to grab a highlighter and so I did. I didn't have to highlight a lot of places to make me feel my focus become sharper and my intensity become deeper. I actually ended the book feeling as if I want to achieve this current goal as much for Mr. Smith as for myself! I know in my core that I will read this book over and over again until I reach this goal and then again when I form the next. Count up!
Jennifer – 16025 days old today
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 20,000 Days and Counting: The Crash Course For Mastering Your Life Right Now - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Makes you think.

Date:December 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
grace
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I recently had the chance to read "20,000 Days and Counting: The Crash Course for Mastering Your Life Right Now" by Robert D. Smith thanks to a service from BookSneeze that offers books to bloggers in return for a honest review, whether positive or negative.
I wanted to have my socks blown off by this book... that's why I got it. And while there really isn't one thing technically
"wrong" with it, my socks are, well... still on my feet. Maybe I'm being to hard on this book to expect such huge things, but I'm just being honest.
I do however love the premise of this book. I love the idea of taking not one of your seconds for granite. I love the idea of "counting your days and making your days count"... and that is, quite literally, what this book was. It was basically a step by step guide for how to be the most, do the most, live the most- but... the thing is, most of what was written was just short of common sense (I hate using that phrase though because sense is so incredibly uncommon these days). Things like living with no regrets and not wasting your time on the "should ofs". To making lists and plans and following through... and rethinking your idea of what motivation means.
I also like that I read this book in 30 minutes... no muss no fuss. I think to think of it like a tasty appetizer before a even better meal. All in all, not a horrible book, and though it's not personally what I would call profound, I don't think anyone would be worse off for having read it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 20,000 Days and Counting: The Crash Course For Mastering Your Life Right Now - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A quick read that will last a lifetime.

Date:December 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
PBJones
Location:Edmonton, Alberta
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Robert Smith promises his book to be a quick read – maybe an hour – but its lessons will last a lifetime.
He calls it a “crash course for mastering your life.” Smith wrote it based on the insights he received while celebrating his 20,000th day alive. They say you can’t teach an old dog, new tricks. So either 54 plus isn’t old or Smith found a way to become a young pup again. The insights gained in his reflections promise to offer intense purpose, constant joy and lasting influence.
Drawing from Scripture, Smith outlines five benefits from recognizing life is short and needs to be lived intentionally.
1. I will gain critical wisdom.
2. I will be pushed to maximize my relationships.
3. I will dedicate 100% of my life to God daily.
4. I will possess a crystal=clear vision for my life.
5. I will realize life’s true value.
Smith says that “intensity” is where it’s at; “motivation is a myth;” there are only two choices in life and learn to accept that “I am the problem.” His insights are as practical as they are pithy.
“20,000 Days” is slated for release on January 1, 2013. What a great read for a new beginning for the next 20,000 days.
I was given a copy of the book from Booksneeze for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 20,000 Days and Counting: The Crash Course For Mastering Your Life Right Now - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What a great book!

Date:December 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Steve Smit
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read this amazing book in two sittings, it is that good! After Robert realized he had been living for 20,000 days, he set out to plan his next 20,000 days, while living each day as if it were his last. He challenges the reader to do the same and offers many practical steps you can take immediately in order to make it a simple process. This book is going to be a great resource in my library going forward as a book I frequently review in order to ensure I am living my life to its fullest potential! I give this book a five out of five rating. I am a member of Book Sneeze by Thomas Nelson and have received this book for free in exchange for writing a review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 20,000 Days and Counting: The Crash Course For Mastering Your Life Right Now - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Short but packed

Date:December 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Blue Raindrop
Location:Wichita, Ks
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
20,000 Days and Counting by Robert Smith is the latest ebook I’ve received from Thomas Nelson for reviewing.
This is a really short book, filled with really short chapters and quotes, to help inspire you to make the most of your life.
In spite of being short, which the author says is basically in respect for your time, the book makes the most of the space it uses and is filled with pretty intense content on exactly how to go about this aim.
Reading it all at once though seemed to me like it pulled a bit in too many different ways to implement it all at once… I think I might recommend more of a “read, apply, return” to it strategy.
Either way though.. it does well of getting through the “carpe diem” sort of cheesiness, and actually breaking down how to really make that happen.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.