Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Publishers, Inc. Claiming Mariah - eBook

Tyndale House Publishers, Inc. Claiming Mariah - eBook

In light of her father's death, Mariah Malone sends a letter that will forever alter the lives of her family. When Slade Donovan, strong willed and eager for vengeance, shows up on her front porch, Mariah is not ready to hear his truths: her father's farm, the only home she's ever known, was bought with stolen gold. With Slade ready to collect his father's rightful claim and force Mariah and her family out on the streets, Mariah must turn to God for guidance.
Average Customer Rating:
4.708 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
24 out of 24100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Claiming Mariah - eBook
Review 1 for Claiming Mariah - eBook
This review is fromClaiming Mariah.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Ranching, Betrayal, Murder and Romance

Date:April 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pam Hillman in her new book “Claiming Mariah” published by Tyndale House Publishers, Inc. takes us into the life of Mariah Malone.
From the back cover: After her father’s death, Mariah Malone sends a letter that will forever alter the lives of her family. When Slade Donovan, strong willed and eager for vengeance, shows up on her front porch, Mariah is not ready to hear his truths: her father’s farm, the only home she’s ever known, was bought with stolen gold. With Slade ready to collect his father’s rightful claim and force Mariah and her family out on the streets, Mariah must turn to God for guidance. Though Mr. Frederick Cooper, a local landowner, promises to answer her financial woes if she agrees to be his bride, Mariah finds herself drawn instead to the angry young man demanding her home.
With the Lazy M ranch now under Slade’s careful eye, he unearths more than he ever imagined as a devious plot of thievery, betrayal, and murder threatens the well-being of the ranch, endangering those who hold it dear. As the days dwindle until the rest of the Donovan clan arrives at the Lazy M ranch, Mariah and Slade must rise above the resentment of their fathers and see their true feelings before greed changes their futures forever.
I have never read of two women running a ranch. Mariah and her grandmother are running the Lazy M but the Donovan’s feel it is their ranch and they want to take over. Simple enough really. However there is more going on than either Slade or Mariah know about and the two of them must band together to withstand the evil being plotted against them. Ms. Hillman has given us great characters who live and breathe on the pages and draw us into their lives so that we root for the good guys and do not want the bad guys to win. Slade and Mariah are meant for each other but before that can happen they will have to reconcile with their pasts and their fathers so that they can embrace the present and their futures. All I can say is that “Claiming Mariah” is great fun.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Litfuse Publicity Group. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Claiming Mariah - eBook
This review is fromClaiming Mariah.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing Story!

Date:April 17, 2014
What an amazing story! Claiming Mariah is the perfect blend of plot, characters, and setting. Pam Hillman's talent lies in her writing style, which made the story come to life. Her descriptions allowed me to imagine things so clearly—all the way down to the posture of characters while they were talking. When you add in the fact that this story is utterly romantic with a healthy dose of adventure, I just loved it! I found it so hard to put it down and flew through the pages!
I'm not sure how I've missed out on Pam Hillman's previous books, but I can promise I won't make that mistake again! I highly recommend Claiming Mariah! [5 stars]
I received a free copy of this book from Tyndale House through Litfuse Publicity in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Claiming Mariah - eBook
This review is fromClaiming Mariah.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Terrific!!!!

Date:April 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is so good that I couldn't put it down! It drew me in right from the beginning, with a fast paced plot that kept me hooked. I loved the Wyoming setting, and the wonderful characters who found a place in my heart. Definitely a book I will be adding to my favorites shelf.
Slade Donovan is a hardworking cowboy, who had a rough childhood and is determined to right a wrong. He is decisive and compassionate, always on the lookout for his younger brother, Buck.
Mariah has a way with stray cats, as well as stray people. She is sensitive to Buck's shyness but never hesitates to come to his defense. Mariah was my favorite character, I loved how she didn't despair but made the best of every situation, reaching out to others and not closing herself off to others.
I also loved Mariah's grandmother, who was not only a fun character, but often a sage voice of wisdom.
I loved this book from the very first page to the last one, it does exactly what a western historical romance should do. It swept me back in time, with a hero and heroine that I could empathize with and cheer for all the way. It is superbly written in a style that flows and engages with a well developed cast of characters. I loved everything about this book, and I could not recommend it more. I've added it to my top ten favorite books of all time list :D
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Claiming Mariah - eBook
This review is fromClaiming Mariah.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

When Adversity Strikes

Date:April 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As you open the cover of Pam Hillman’s new book, you are drawn in, a compelling page turning and fast read. A look at pioneering American, in the new Wyoming Territory, at a ranch run by two woman in the Town of Wisdom.
What happens is almost beyond belief, living with people your whole life and maybe not really knowing them? How could that happen? This can be said of both Mariah Malone and the arriving cowboy who wants to take everything from her, Slade Donovan. At first it is just Mariah and her Grandmother, who seem to be following God, but love the influence they had on the people around them.
There are some tragic events, and some that will are so funny, you will laugh out load. Above all there is so much wisdom that is shared, along with the kindness of fellow human beings. I loved how they helped people keep their pride, but being able to help in ways that are unknown to them.
When adversity strikes, we find people that are opposing uniting, and helping one another. Will there be a way for all to survive? Maybe there will be a bit of romance, and the finding of new family, rather than getting rid of them? You will be surprised, and love how God works in these people’s lives, and we don’t see all that is happening until the very end. I for one am so glad that I chose to read this book. Enjoy!
I received this book through Litfuse Publicity Book Tours, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Claiming Mariah - eBook
This review is fromClaiming Mariah.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A fun western.

Date:April 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Kate
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When Mariah's father was dying, he admitted to wronging a man he used to know. They were prospectors together. However, after an argument, he took off with the gold. With this money, he bought the ranch that Mariah had grown up on. He was sorry, and Mariah took it upon herself to write a letter to the man. The reply she received was not what she was expecting, actually, after the amount of time that had passed, she didn't think they had received the letter until Slade and his brother showed up on her front porch.
This is a story does well to point out, people are not always who they say they are. Who is in the right? Who is wrong? Who had the worst offense...or does it even matter in the end? Mariah has to do her best to determine who each person truly is and what their true motives are.
Claiming Mariah is a fun western full of cows, adventure, and cowboys! It reminded me a bit of Romeo and Juliet...not the depressing everyone dies sort of way...far from that. It was in the feuding families aspect. The anger and bitterness of one generation can be passed down to the next so easily and the truth of the feud can get a bit jumbled in the mix. If there isn't any willingness for forgiveness, the ability to move on from the fight will never happen.
This was a fun story to read, I love westerns, so the book already had a big positive for it, and the story also had a quick pace which made it so easy to read. I look forward to reading more by Pam Hillman.
Thank you to the Tyndale House and Litfuse Publicity, I received a copy of this book for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Claiming Mariah - eBook
This review is fromClaiming Mariah.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Read Indeed

Date:April 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
Loren McGhee
Location:OK
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One of my very favorite Scripture is Romans 8:28--"And we know that God causes everything to work together for the good of those who love God and are called according to His purpose for them."
I think this story reveals this Scripture in such a beautiful way! Mariah and Slade are brought together through circumstances that will take both of them on a journey of truth and forgiveness! When Slade arrives demanding to take ownership of Mariah's home, and the farm too, Mariah is shocked to say the least! She has worked hard and doesn't want to let it go but Slade leaves her no choice but to sign it over.
Both of them have allowed unforgiveness and guilt to rule their lives in some aspects and it keeps them from seeing the blessings that are right in front of their own eyes! But then, haven't we all been guilty of that at some points in our lives! It is so moving to see Slade and Mariah work through each of their past and let go of that unforgiveness!
Claiming Mariah is a WONDERFUL READ! I highly recommend it to any and all!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Claiming Mariah - eBook
This review is fromClaiming Mariah.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mariah Malone is a 23-year-old woman trying to make a go of her ranch after her father’s death two years ago. She is also responsible for taking care of her grandmother and her younger sister Amanda who is blind. She is also foisting off the marriage proposal of the local town dandy. She is barely making ends meet when a stranger appears at her door. Slade Donovan shows her proof that her father stole some gold, shot a man and left him for dead. That man was Slade’s father. Slade has proof that the mine where the gold came from belonged to his father. Slade wants the ranch and the land it sits on as Mariah’s father used the gold to purchase it. In order to save her family’s name, Mariah agrees to sign over the deed to the ranch. Slade agrees to let Mariah and her grandmother stay in the house until his mother and sisters arrive from Galveston.
As Mariah and Slade are forced to interact due to the running of the ranch, they begin to become more comfortable with each other. Mariah has a deep faith in God, but Slade has given up on God. Slade’s father was an alcoholic and an abuser. Slade prayed for his dad to stop, but in Slade’s eyes God didn’t answer his prayer. Slade and his family grew up very poor and he blames Mariah’s dad for this. Mariah and Slade fall in love, but neither think the other capable of forgiveness in order to move forward in their relationship. Can Slade see past his own bitterness to God’s provision and blessings?
This is a lovely romance set in 1882 in the Wyoming Territory. The main theme is one of forgiveness and trusting in the Lord for provision and answering of prayers. This book is easy to read, the chapters short and the plot easy to follow. This is the first novel I’ve read by this author and I’m looking forward to see what she has in store for future novels. Maybe the next one will continue the Donovan story, but it will center on Buck (Slade’s brother) and Amanda (Mariah’s sister).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Claiming Mariah - eBook
This review is fromClaiming Mariah.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Must Have for Western Romance Lovers!

Date:March 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just when things couldn't get any worse for Mariah Malone, in rode trouble. Tall, dark and handsome Slade Donovan was about to change Mariah's life in an unbelievable way. After losing her father, she has managed to attempt to hold down things at her father's cattle ranch the best she could, but after fighting a losing battle after two years of profits she wasn't prepared for what Slade had on his mind.
In response to her letter advising him that she had recently been made aware of her father stealing half of the gold between her father and Slade's, she wanted to make things right. She wanted to offer him a cut of her cattle in hopes of mending the broken fences that kept the two families at odds. Only Slade wanted more than simply a pay off from Mariah. Armed with proof that the mine that both men found gold in was in his father's name only, anything bought with that gold was his, and he wanted to make sure that he got back what he believed he was entitled to and that meant the ranch and everything on it.
Believing that God had an answer for this shocking revelation, Slade's brother Buck was able to convince Slade to allow Mariah and her aging grandmother to stay on the ranch until his family finally came to settle in, and would pay for her upkeep of the house and meals for him and his brother. Mariah knew that the only way she and her grandmother could hope of traveling back to Philadelphia was to accept Slade's offer and save everything she could.
But soon Slade discovers the reason why the ranch hasn't been turning a profit and believes that Mariah's mismanagement of the cattle sales to pay for her sisters school in Philadelphia is something she has long overlooked. Without giving her a chance to explain, he immediately shuts down any attempt she makes and keeps his opinions to himself. Mariah concedes to sign the deed to the cattle ranch over to Slade as long as he promises he will keep the real reasons for the sale private to keep her family name intact in town. Will the two of them be able to work together long enough for them both to benefit or will the anger that Slade has in his heart drive her away forever?
I received Claiming Mariah by Pam Hillman compliments of Tyndale House Publishers and Litfuse Publicity for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions contained in this review are strictly my own. I love how Pam wrote this story from the hearts and perspectives of both Mariah and Slade. Mariah's faith keeps her strong in spite of the circumstances that threaten to leave her homeless and with nothing, while Slade keeps fighting the faith that Mariah has to keep God out for the unanswered prayers he had as a child. He loves what he sees in Mariah but can't see past his own hard heart for the answers to peace and happiness. Where as his brother Buck who is facing his own challenging odds keeps God in perspective and realizes that nothing that happens is God's fault. It will take an act of faith to bring Slade around. I easily give this one a 5 out of 5 stars! Pam Hillman is now one of my must have authors! I am completely addicted to her western novels.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Claiming Mariah - eBook
This review is fromClaiming Mariah.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

All the Makings of a Great Western

Date:February 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
Teresa M
Location:West Columbia, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In this story Pam Hillman takes us out west to a town named Wisdom located in Wyoming Territory. Wisdom is a quiet town that is filled with God-fearing, hardworking folks. Mariah Malone's father, Seth was one of those decent and respected citizens; everyone will be shocked if the truth comes out of how he bought his ranch.
Mariah Malone has a hard time believing her father's death-bed confession of a terrible offense he committed as a young man. Seth had partnered with Jack Donovan in a goldmine and it seems Seth did some dishonest things. After hearing this news Mariah helps her father write a letter to Jack Donovan asking forgiveness.
Months later when Slade Donovan and his brother Buck arrives, Mariah is shocked to hear there was a lot more to the story than her father told her. Slade tells her he is there to claim the ranch that was bought with his father's money and he wants her out of his house and off of his land!
Slade never thought he would find a beautiful young woman running the Lazy M Ranch, in fact he hadn't thought about anything but the life-long hatred he's had for Seth Malone on the long trip to Wisdom. Now the only thing that matters is taking what rightfully belongs to him, and if that means Mariah and her grandma are left homeless then so be it.
After Slade shows Mariah the deed to the goldmine; which doesn't have her father's name on it, she feels she has to do what he asks. What will she do? Where will she go and how will she explain to her elderly grandmother that her son has caused them to lose the only home Mariah had ever known?
After having a talk with his brother Buck, Slade has a change of heart and tells Mariah that she can stay on as a hired cook until his mother and sisters come. What a life changing decision that will be! Does God have a plan to bring peace and forgiveness to the hearts of these two people who have been hurt by their fathers?
This is the first book I have read by Ms. Hillman and what a pleasure it was. Being raised in a home with a dad who loved Westerns this book was just like a trip down memory lane for me. There are cowboys, cattle and of course your run-of-the-mill cattle rustlers, and let's not forget the wonderful romance thrown in. The story line was so good it had me when I read the blurb on the back. Ms Hillman is certainly a talented writer and I thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of this story especially how she dealt with the hurt and unforgiveness in both Mariah and Slade's life. It served to remind me that when you hold on to unforgiveness you only hurt yourself. Thanks Ms. Hillman for an absolutely fantastic read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Claiming Mariah - eBook
This review is fromClaiming Mariah.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Kara
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Claiming Mariah, by Pam Hillman, is a marvelous novel. Set in Wisdom, Wyoming, in 1882, it tells the story of Mariah Malone and Slade Donovan. Their tale demonstrates our desperate need to stop and pray for God’s will before jumping into action on our own.
Mariah is certain that she is doing the right thing in sending a letter to Jack Donovan from her father asking forgiveness for past deeds. But months later, after her father’s death, Jack’s son, Slade, arrives demanding her ranch and wanting no part of forgiveness. Shocked at the turn of events, Mariah signs the ranch over to him, unsure of the future for her grandmother, blind sister, and herself. Slade finds the ranch in need of attention, dealing with both repairs and rustlers. And in spite of themselves, the two find themselves drawn to each other.
I enjoyed this book. I was inspired by Mariah’s faith in following God’s will, no matter the cost to herself and her family, as well as Slade’s journey through anger and injustice to peace with God. Secondary characters—Buck, Cookie, and Grandmother Malone—added a great deal to the story.
I would recommend this book to all who enjoy historical fiction set in the old west.
Kara
I received this book free from the publisher and was not required to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Claiming Mariah - eBook
This review is fromClaiming Mariah.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Such a great book!

Date:January 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
Shannah
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had no expectations going into this book, because Pam Hillman is a new author to me. I will definitely be reading more books by her! I really enjoyed this book. Once Slade established his place at the Lazy M ranch, the plot started moving. There were some parts that slowed it down a bit, but they were necessary to set up and establish the romance between Mariah and Slade. Red's parts gave us some insight into what was going on to cause the ranch to be in such dire straits. The plot, overall, was exciting and the story line was very well laid out.
The romance between Slade and Mariah was phenomenally portrayed. It was not rushed; the characters did not fall in love in two days. They had to overcome a lot of emotional baggage and the author did a great job, especially on Slade's part, at developing the characters. Slade's transition from revengeful to forgiveness seemed natural and not rushed. I really enjoyed that about the story.
The message was expertly weaved into the entire book. It's all about forgiveness. When we don't forgive, we become bitter because we're blaming others (especially God) for things that have happened in our lives. You won't have true joy and happiness in your life until you learn to forgive others, yourself, and most importantly let God forgive you. Overall, this was a great book and I would recommend it to everyone who enjoys a good Christian romance.
**Thank you Tyndale Publishers for providing a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.**
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Claiming Mariah - eBook
This review is fromClaiming Mariah.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Western

Date:January 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
Wynd
Location:Saskatchewan Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was an excellent Western story of how the power of God and prayer can overcome all the lies that have been told by the old generation and the current people around you. Mariah has always believed and loved her father, Slade has always hated him, how do they reconcile the past with the future. Mariah's grandmother is a very wise Christian lady with a great sense of humour, kindness, and a way of looking at reality through God's eyes. Mariah shows great strength of character once she overcomes her shock. The characters are well developed and I became quite involved in their tension, mysteries, and dangerous exploits. The love and protection that Mariah showed for her sister is quite touching and certainly threw Slade off as did his brother's acceptance and respect for Mariah.
I received my free kindle review copy from Tyndale House in exchange for an honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Claiming Mariah - eBook
This review is fromClaiming Mariah.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent!

Date:January 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
Ragdogs
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Synopsis:
“After her father’s death, Mariah Malone sends a letter that will forever alter the lives of her family. When Slade Donovan, strong willed and eager for vengeance, shows up on her front porch, Mariah is not ready to hear his truth: her father’s farm–the only home she’s ever known–was bought with stolen gold.
With Slade ready to collect his family’s rightful claim and force Mariah and her family out on the streets, Mariah must turn to God for guidance. Though a logical landowner promises to answer her financial woes if she agrees to be his bride, Mariah finds herself drawn instead to the angry young man demanding her home.
With the Lazy M ranch now under Slade’s careful eye, he unearths more than he ever imagined as a devious plot of thievery, betrayal, and murder threatens the well-being of the ranch, endangering those who hold it dear. As the days dwindle until the rest of the Donovan clan arrives, Mariah and Slade must rise above the resentments of their fathers and see their true feelings before greed changes their futures forever.”
My Review:
I really enjoyed this book, it was full of adventure, mystery, and some action. The plot was excellent and had me constantly turning the pages, I was never once board with the story.
The characters were all realistic and believable with the way they handled a certain situation and each had his/her own past that haunts them. There were plenty of God-fearing characters that were very inspirational.
I recommend this book to all of my friends, families, and acquaintances!
“I received this book from Tyndale publishing for the purpose of this review. All comments and opinions are my own.”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Claiming Mariah - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exciting Romance in the Old West

Date:November 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Katy
Location:Tennessee
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a heart-touching, western romance, which I very much enjoyed. It is a story that you will remember with a smile, long after you’ve read the last page. Mariah is a wonderful character with a heart for God and those who need love. She is someone that readers will want to emulate in their desire to be the person that God created them to be.
Slade is a man with a one-track mind—a mind to get back what he thinks belongs to him and his family. He’s kind of a bull-in-the-china shop kind of guy—rough around the edges, to say the least. Little by little, the author allows us to see his true heart.
In addition to the romance, the author has written a good story with excitement and tense moments. If you like historical fiction in an Old West setting, don’t miss reading Claiming Mariah by Pam Hillman.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Claiming Mariah - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

STAKE A CLAIM ON EXCEPTIONAL ROMANCE!

Date:March 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Julie Lessman
Location:St. Louis
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you have never read a Pam Hillman novel before, you are simply missing out on some of the best historical romance available in the Christian market today. With a fresh voice and easy, languid flow that enhances her charming western tales of the heart, this exciting new author demonstrates just why she was a 3-time Golden Heart winner with unique plots and tender romance that will curl your toes. When it comes to old-fashioned, sigh-worthy romance in the Wild West, Ms. Hillman is not only a must-read, but one of my absolute favorites!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Claiming Mariah - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
bookmom
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book was very well written but I was very disappointed with how abruptly it ends. Hope there is a second book in the series in the near future.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Claiming Mariah - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Heart Warming

Date:February 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Johanna
Pam Hillman’s latest novel “Claiming Mariah” is a heart-warming romance about forgiveness that I can guarantee you will love.
The Blurb reads like this:
In light of her father’s death, Mariah Malone sends a letter that will forever alter the lives of her family. When Slade Donovan, strong willed and eager for vengeance, shows up on her front porch, Mariah is not ready to hear his truths: her father’s farm, the only home she’s ever known, was bought with stolen gold. With Slade ready to collect his father’s rightful claim and force Mariah and her family out on the streets, Mariah must turn to God for guidance. Though Mr. Frederick Cooper, a local landowner, promises to answer her financial woes if she agrees to be his bride, Mariah finds herself drawn instead to the angry young man demanding her home.
With the ranch now under Slade’s careful eye, he will unearth more than he ever imagined as a devious plot of thievery, betrayal and murder threatens more than the well-being of the ranch, endangering the lives of those who hold it dear. With days dwindling until the rest of the Donovan clan arrive to the Lazy M ranch, Mariah and Slade must rise above the resentment of their fathers and see their true feelings before greed alters their futures forever.
Reading the blurb of this novel, I knew from the beginning that it had the possibility of being one of my favourites. And I can say that it definitely will be!!! There are so many enjoyable aspects that when the book is over you would want more.
In my opinion, not all books succeed in establishing a dream-like romance story. However Claiming Mariah is one that won’t disappoint. What I love most is the relationship Slade and Mariah share with such transparent chemistry, evident from the first time they set eyes on each other. There is definitely no doubt about that!! However what makes it worthwhile is, although they share such wonderful kisses, Mariah especially, doubts herself of her worthiness, due to their family’s history. The obvious misunderstanding makes for great intimate moments.
The aspect I found encouraging is the lesson learned about forgiveness. Everyone knows that forgiveness frees up a whole world of hate and resentment, however it was still inspiring to be reminded of it. This also links in with relying on God, asking him in times of great need for his strength and the ability to forgive. Mariah proves to be the best example in terms of forgiving. Although she was angry and frustrated with Slade, because she loved him, she readily forgave him. This same aspect reminded me of God’s unconditional love for us, as displayed by dying on the cross for our sins. (Just as thought)
Overall, Pam Hillman did an outstanding job with Claiming Mariah and I highly recommend it to those who love their romance!!
*PLEASE NOTE: In exchange for an honest review, I received a free e-book copy of Claiming Mariah from Tyndale House Publishers. All opinions are strictly my own. *
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Claiming Mariah - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Engaging characters, powerful message

Date:February 12, 2013
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is Pam's second novel. I haven't had the chance to read her first novel, Stealing Jake.
I enjoyed this book very much. Pam is a wonderful storyteller. I was drawn to her characters and frustrated with them when they wouldn't speak up about their feelings. Pam has some amazing romance scenes that had my heart twisting with emotion. Overall I would say this book is about forgiveness and the difficulty we have in offering that when we are hurt. Even more, the importance in forgiving ourselves. It's hard to offer forgiveness to others if you can't forgive yourself.
The song that kept going through my head as I read this was Matthew West's Forgiveness. Slade and Mariah will never be set free until they can forgive.
There is also a total Genesis 5020 in this story. When Slade takes over the ranch that could be used to harm Mariah but God intends it for good. But you'll have to read the book to find out how.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Claiming Mariah - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved it

Date:January 28, 2013
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hunky bad-boy hero. Beautiful, desperate heroine. An evil villain. And one plot of land they all want. With these elements Pam Hillman has written us a compelling story. Claiming Mariah brought laughter and tears, compassion and anger, love and hate. This is one I will be keeping to reread.
***Received for the purpose of review. All opinions are my own.***
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Claiming Mariah - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

An Excellent Book

Date:January 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
GBCPastorsWife
Location:Knoxville, TN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In light of her father’s death, Mariah Malone sends a letter that will forever alter the lives of her family. When Slade Donovan, strong willed and eager for vengeance, shows up on her front porch, Mariah is not ready to hear his truths: her father’s farm, the only home she’s ever known, was bought with stolen gold. With Slade ready to collect his father’s rightful claim and force Mariah and her family out on the streets, Mariah must turn to God for guidance. Though Mr. Frederick Cooper, a local landowner, promises to answer her financial woes if she agrees to be his bride, Mariah finds herself drawn instead to the angry young man demanding her home.
With the ranch now under Slade’s careful eye, he will unearth more than he ever imagined as a devious plot of thievery, betrayal and murder threatens more than the well-being of the ranch, endangering the lives of those who hold it dear. With days dwindling until the rest of the Donovan clan arrive to the Lazy M ranch, Mariah and Slade must rise above the resentment of their fathers and see their true feelings before greed alters their futures forever.
A sweet story of doing the right thing no matter how hard it is. Greed, treachery, revenge, love and forgiveness are all themes in this well-written story. The characters drew me in and made me want to keep following their story. Mariah is a giving, loving, sweet girl in hard circumstances. Slade is a bitter, hurt man out to claim what rightfully?? belongs to his family, driven by the love for his mother and all the things she did without married to a drunk, and then widowed with young kids. He can't help but be drawn to Mariah however much he doesn't want to care. The treachery isn't over yet, though. Will they, and their budding love, survive? Excellent story.
A digital copy of this book was sent to me by Tyndale through NetGalley.com for my honest review. All thoughts and opinions are mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>