Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NavPress Becoming a Woman of Influence: Making a Lasting Impact on Others (Thrive! Edition)

NavPress Becoming a Woman of Influence: Making a Lasting Impact on Others (Thrive! Edition)

God has a need in His church for women who will be there for other women - to encourage their dreams, speak into their lives, and listen to their hearts. In Becoming a Woman of Influence, Carol Kent imparts several principles from the life of Jesus for the making of an effective mentor.
Average Customer Rating:
4.222 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 out of 888%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Becoming a Woman of Influence: Making a Lasting Impact on Others (Thrive! Edition)
Review 1 for Becoming a Woman of Influence: Making a Lasting Impact on Others (Thrive! Edition)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Bible study

Date:February 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bonnie Brothers
Location:Salem IN
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very good book for Bible study fr women. Best price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Becoming a Woman of Influence: Making a Lasting Impact on Others (Thrive! Edition)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Luci
Age:45-54
Gender:female
I purchased this study for a group of women in my church. I have just finished chapter 1 and the first week of video and so far, it's very good.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Becoming a Woman of Influence: Making a Lasting Impact on Others (Thrive! Edition)
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Useful but not theologically sound

Date:March 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anna Wood
Location:Wetumpka, AL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I like Carol Kent and I like what she sets out to do with this book. She saw the need among women for godly mentors and she set out to do something about it. Not many do that. For this I applaud her for taking the time out of her life to create a resource for those of us who wish to be a godly influence in other women’s lives. All isn’t perfect, however. While I find this book to be valuable, it isn’t as good as it could be if she had been more intent on being God-focused rather than woman-focused. Because of that, while there is much to like about this book there is also much to be wary of.
First the positive: Carol has a desire to get women active in other women’s lives. She covers subjects that will be of benefit to many women. She’s motivating. She’s enthusiastic. She rallies the troops. She gives us reasons to want to become a woman of influence and makes us want to prepare to mentor other ladies and since that is in a nutshell the point of the book, she succeeds quite admirably.
Now for the downside: This book isn’t theologically deep. Carol uses a very modern Bible translation that isn’t a word-for-word translation so sometimes the Biblical message isn’t as clear as it needs to be. Also she references people that aren’t known for being strictly straight and true to the traditional conservative Christian message. It is very modern in it’s emphasis on what women can do (and ought to do). Carol doesn’t get the message across that our lives must be lived to God’s glory and by His power and according to His rules and truth. For these reasons, I cannot wholeheartedly recommend it.
To wrap up: this is a book that will encourage women in our roles as guides and mentors to other women but it fails to give us the biblical tools needed to carry out these roles as well as we should. It is more modern than traditional, more cultural than biblical, more woman-centered than God-centered. Read it a conservative Bible translation handy and along with it, read some other, more conservative, Christian books written for women who are seeking to learn how to mentor and guide other women.
I received this book free from NavPress Publishers as part of their Blogger Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commision’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Becoming a Woman of Influence: Making a Lasting Impact on Others (Thrive! Edition)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Solid Principles, Awkward Elements

Date:March 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
IWSDReviewer
Location:Haverhill, MA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
These seven principles for mentoring women (especially newer Christians and seekers) are time-tested and solid, vividly illustrated, and well-grounded in Scripture.
This edition had two drawbacks for me, neither of which would prevent me from recommending the book: the study guides, and the presentation of Scripture.
I found the accompanying study guides a bit too long and fragmented. I became impatient with what felt like a “jumpy” experience” through too many Scriptures and exercises.
I also found the Scripture presentation felt a bit awkward. She often paraphrased long portions (for copyright reasons?), but not creatively, or even briefly -- she appeared to describe almost every line of the Scripture, which came to feel a bit tedious. For quoted Scripture, she primarily used the Petersen paraphrase, The Message (a creative meditation on the original texts). I believe The Message as a teaching tool is best used in concert with proper translations of the text, not as a substitute for them.
That said, the seven well-founded principles made it a worthwhile read for any woman looking for thoughtful primer for serving as a spiritually healthy mentor to women, and I would recommend it as such.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from NavPress Publishers as part of their Blogger Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commision's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Becoming a Woman of Influence: Making a Lasting Impact on Others (Thrive! Edition)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
mousey
Location:Conyers, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our womens Bible study class has just started the study. I feel it is going to be very inspiring.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Becoming a Woman of Influence: Making a Lasting Impact on Others (Thrive! Edition)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Superb Guide for Women!

Date:February 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Marni Arnold
Location:Charlotte, NC
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One thing I can never say about Carol Kent is that she is boring – for she never is!
This book reveals deep insights concerning women growing into influential positions, and embracing women like these into our lives. She highlights main points that point directly to scripture, revealing that these insights truly did not come from herself – but from direction of her relationship with God.
Though it took me a couple of months to read the book (I just so happen to slowly digest good books like this), when I found myself reading the book, I discovered I had a hard time putting it down (but when my eyes are starting to close due to just be over tired, I do what I have to do).
Carol’s style, grace, compassion and mercy flow through this book as the personal mentor she encourages all women to find in their own lives.
The companion 9-week study guide is excellent – and it prompts you to journal rather than fill in the blanks; which I find to be deeply helpful in learning and growth.
If you don’t have a personal mentor in your life, please embrace this book until one enters into your life.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from NavPress Publishers as part of their Blogger Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commision's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements andTestimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Becoming a Woman of Influence: Making a Lasting Impact on Others (Thrive! Edition)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
HappytoLive
Location:missouri
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Becoming a Woman of Influence, by Carol Kent was a worthwhile read. In the book she outlines 6 principles of how we, as women, can better influence others. Principles such as, time alone with God, storytelling, asking questions, having compassing, and a few others. Time alone with God features prayer and influencing others to pray. Storytelling features making the truth relevent through stories. The principle of asking questions helps to draw people into conversation to share the truth. She discusses the idea that we influence others all of the time and we can make intentional choices of influencing rather than not thinking about how we influence others. Although, I did enjoy this book and feel that it has classic and timeless information, I also feel that it is geared a bit toward those who are mentors or who are starting to mentor others. Having said that, it is still relevent to women who just want to make intentional choices on their group of peers and coworkers.
I was given this book through Navpress blogger program and was not asked to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Becoming a Woman of Influence: Making a Lasting Impact on Others (Thrive! Edition)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Miriam
Location:Ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carol Kent, who is also the author of “Now I Lay My Isaac Down” has written a motivating Bible Study titled, “Becoming a Woman of Influence.” The study is based upon the premise that we can influence others with whom we interact and we can impact their lives and their walk with God.
In the book, the author states “The sole purpose of this book is to inspire and equip women to impact lives as Jesus did.”
And if this sounds just a bit threatening she goes on to say,” When we follow Christ’s example, we will admit our failures, talk through the growth they produces in our lives and keep pointing people to Jesus.”
No matter what we do and who we are, we can be a mentor for another woman or women and influence their lives. Carol’s book and study is based upon seven life changing principles that she discusses in depth with the reader, beginning with time alone with God.
I read the book straight through, answering the questions to myself, but it also includes an in depth Bible Study that can be done alone or in a small group setting. The study is designed for nine weeks and includes scriptures for each lesson, along with questions for thought and consideration. I recommend using a journal as you complete the study, to record your thoughts and feelings.
I received this free book from NavPress Publishers as part of their Blogger Review Program. I was not obligated to provide a positive review. The opinions contained in this review are strictly my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Becoming a Woman of Influence: Making a Lasting Impact on Others (Thrive! Edition)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
Charlotte A.
What an incredibly helpful book for any Christian woman! Carol Kent's teaching and anecdotes point readers to the Lord for their power and vision. Her use of Scripture and suggested personal growth steps are outstanding. The Bible study in the back offers rich, scriptural experiences. This is a high interest book to use with a group or to discuss with a friend. I believe God will use readers to step into his purposes and make "a lasting impact on others"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.