Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Crossway Books & Bibles The God of Promise and the Life of Faith: Understanding the Heart of the Bible

Crossway Books & Bibles The God of Promise and the Life of Faith: Understanding the Heart of the Bible

In the midst of the suffocating self-love of our postmodern culture, the Bible is clear that our real need is to know the God revealed in its pages--that we might satisfy our cravings for security (faith), purpose (hope) and acceptance (love) with the only thing that truly satisfies, God Himself. Yet the concept of studying biblical theology with its academic terminology and profound questions scares many Christians. In the tradition of Martyn Lloyd-Jones and John MacArthur, Scott Hafemann lets the Bible tell its own message, in words that speak clearly to every heart. This book provides a basic framework for understanding the Scriptures that will aid every reader and encourage them to take up the Bible for themselves to discover the secret and promise of contentment in God.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(2 Reviews) 2
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (2 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The God of Promise and the Life of Faith: Understanding the Heart of the Bible
Review 1 for The God of Promise and the Life of Faith: Understanding the Heart of the Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Atlantic Smitty
Location:Rothesay, NB
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dr. Scott Hafemann has written a book that presents the vital link between faith and obedience. I have been a Christian for many years. I have never heard or read anyone who so clearly communicates the importance and understanding of how our faith and obedience are inseparably linked, not compartmentalized. The trust-obey concept is well presented. I highly recommend this book to anyone who is serious about growing deeper in their faith and in their desire to walk in holiness with our God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The God of Promise and the Life of Faith: Understanding the Heart of the Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 21, 2005
Customer Avatar
David Herring
Hafemann has done an extraordinary service to the church by publishing his user friendly summary of biblical theology. Having both the influences of Daniel Fuller and Meredith Kline in one biblical theologian is too much to ask for generally. But Hafemann weaves their broad and great themes into his own thought seamlessly. It is rare to find a seminary professor that cares as much about his exegesis of Scripture as he does about his exultation in God; but we find that in this book. This is a great book to use in small groups, bible studies, and personal edification in order to understand the Scripture as a whole.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.