Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Conviction to Lead, The: 25 Principles for Leadership that Matters - eBook

Bethany House Conviction to Lead, The: 25 Principles for Leadership that Matters - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Conviction to Lead, The: 25 Principles for Leadership that Matters - eBook
Review 1 for Conviction to Lead, The: 25 Principles for Leadership that Matters - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great information

Date:June 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was an excellent book about leaders and how to tell a great one from an average one! I liked how the chapters were divided into different subject matters. Each chapter could be read on its own as there was ample information about the topic in each one.
I gave this book 5/5 stars. I liked the author and thought his explanations of what leadership is and how to find true leaders were excellent. I cannot say all will agree with everything he says, however I could not find anything negative to say about what he writes. His style of writing was easy to understand and his examples did pertain to what he was teaching. I would recommend this book to any who are looking at becoming a leader or anyone who is looking for a leader in their organization or church!
I would like to thank the publisher for the copy of this book I enjoyed reading. I gave an honest review based on my opinion of what I read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Conviction to Lead, The: 25 Principles for Leadership that Matters - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good

Date:January 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Foutchy
Location:Kentucky
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was a little intimidated to review Dr. Mohler’s latest book. You see I actually graduated from the seminary where he is president less than 2 years ago. :) I have heard him speak on numerous occasions, have met him in person, and have even been over to his house for a reception where I saw his famous library. ;) I think it has been about four years since I have read a book on leadership or thought much about leadership for that matter. I don’t know that I would really see myself as a leader today although in the past I would have. Everyone is a leader to someone though. I picked up this book because I was really hoping that Dr. Mohler would share about the beginnings of his presidency at Southern. Although he shared bits and pieces I was a little disappointed that he did not share more. (I realize this wasn’t the premise of the book but I was just secretly hoping.) This book was surprisingly easy to read even though I always found myself going huh? during his chapel sermons. :) I did find myself enjoying the book-especially the chapter on how leaders are readers. I’ve definitely got that one covered!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Conviction to Lead, The: 25 Principles for Leadership that Matters - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Must Read for all Leaders

Date:January 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
jtrandolph
Location:Knoxville, TN
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"What will it take to transform your leadership?"
This is the underlying question that Dr. Albert Mohler addresses in his latest book The Conviction to Lead. Mohler, at the age of thirty-three, became the youngest president in the history of The Southern Baptist Theological Seminary. Dr. Mohler was called upon to transform and revitalize Southern Seminary back into its place of prominence as one of the premier theological institutions in the world. In this work, Mohler outlines 25 principles that will challenge how you look at leadership.
In his principles, Mohler distinguishes between being a manager and being a leader. He points out that many are apprehensive in taking a leadership role. He also draws a line between the two cultures of modern Christian leadership – the "Believers" and the "Leaders."
He goes on to define the differences between the cultures:
"The Believers are driven by deep and passionate beliefs. They are heavily invested in knowledge, and they are passionate about truth…The problem is, many of them are not ready to lead. They know a great deal and believe a great deal, but they lack the basic equipment for leadership." (19)
"The leaders, on the other hand, are passionate about leadership. They are tired of seeing organizations and movements die or decline, and they want to change things for the better….The problem is, many of them are not sure what they believe or why it matters…They often ride one program after another until they run out of steam. Then they wonder, What now?" (19&20)
As he walks through the 25 principles, Mohler provides numerous examples from his experience at Southern Seminary. I appreciate the fact that Mohler not only shares his successes, but also his failures. Additionally, Mohler applies Scripture to each of these leadership principles to drive home the fact that these are not merely man-made ideas, but are gospel-centered.
There is so much to take from this book. One such example is in his statement "The leadership that matters most is convictional—deeply convictional." (21) It is these convictional beliefs that form the bedrock of our identity, the foundation from which we lead.
Other principles that really connected with me are Leaders are Readers; Leaders are Speakers, and The Leader as Decision Maker. In "Leaders are Readers", Mohler discusses such areas as how, what and when to read. (99-106) In "Leaders are Speakers", Mohler states, "Speech is the currency of great leadership." (123) He details how leaders give voice to their convictions and use this message to mobilize an organization to action. Finally, in "The Leader as Decision Maker", Mohler addresses what I see as a critical problem with most people in leadership positions, the ability to make a decision.
I appreciate Dr. Mohler writing this book. It is a must read whether you are a CEO or a small-business owner. Pastors, elders, or anyone in church leadership should read this book and be ready to have your leadership skills challenged and changed. I should disclose my bias for Dr. Mohler as I am a proud graduate of Southern Seminary and was blessed by my time there.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Bethany House as part of their Blogger Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Conviction to Lead, The: 25 Principles for Leadership that Matters - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great leadership Foundation

Date:January 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
LETHER
Location:Chesapeake, VA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Leadership books are very enlightening and empowering, however, as I began to read this book, I felt as though the author was very repetitive. As I continued to read, I found the information discussed to be very valuable. Leaders can be found in all walks of life and they have the choice of leading in a positive or negative way. Every leader is not tasked with leading a large organization but the principles discussed in this book can be beneficial to a variety of leaders. Leadership qualities combined with Christian beliefs produce outstanding leaders. Leaders, whether Christian or secular are influential to those they lead. As stated by the author, leaders are teachers and those they teach benefit from their knowledge. The author makes some very valid points. Leaders should be trustworthy, confident in their ability to lead, competent in decision making and capable of using the power that they have been entrusted, understanding that the power is not for the purpose of glorifying themselves. Christian leaders do have to be mindful that they are followers of Christ and will be held accountable and judged accordingly. And finally we get to the leader’s legacy. Convictional leaders endure until the end. Striving to see their fundamental beliefs passed on to others. The Conviction To Lead plants the seed to lead faithfully and with conviction as leaders are called to do. This book will serve leaders or potential leaders well. Thank you Bethany House for allowing me to share my opinion. Also for giving me the opportunity to select a great book and providing copy free of charge.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Conviction to Lead, The: 25 Principles for Leadership that Matters - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for those new to leadership

Date:December 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Josi
Location:Baker City, OR
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
“The Conviction to Lead” by Albert Mohler purposes to fill the ‘gap’ in the plethora of resources that exist on leadership studies. Mohler concedes that there is an overabundance of information and teaching on leadership available, so it’s a bold conjecture that a gap exists, and an audacious claim when he says that he will fill it. “The problem,” according to Mohler, “is a lack of attention to what leaders believe and why this is central.” His goal is to “forge a new way,” and he goes on to assert that leadership and core beliefs must become inseparable. So, is this just another redundant book about leadership, or does Mohler achieve his purpose? I believe that he does. Evidence abounds for the dearth of true leadership in today’s society, despite education, information, and unprecedented opportunity. Mohler makes a great case for the necessity of passion arising from conviction as the starting point for any effective leader, he contrasts holding office or position with true leadership, and he gives stirring examples of true leadership and draws foundational principles from them. The book is full of practical advice -from what to read to how to speak- and goes a little overboard in some respects (does a true leader really need a smart phone, a laptop, a desktop PC, an ipad, a Kindle and a Nook?). Nonetheless, I wouldn’t hesitate to claim that “The Conviction to Lead” would be beneficial to those who are relatively new to a position of leadership and refreshing for those who have been there for awhile.
I received a complimentary copy of this book for review from Bethany House. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Conviction to Lead, The: 25 Principles for Leadership that Matters - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A New Way To Look At What A Leader is

Date:December 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Albert Mohler in his new book, “The Conviction to Lead” published by Bethany House Publishers provides 25 Principles for Leadership that Matters.
From the back cover: Change the Way You Think About Leadership
At the age of thirty-three, Dr. Albert Mohler became the youngest president in the 153-year history of Southern Baptist Theological Seminary. He was the driving force behind the school’s transformation into a thriving institution with an international reputation characterized by a passionate conviction for truth. In the process he became one of the most important and prominent Christian voices in contemporary culture.
What will it take to transform your leadership?
Effective leaders need more than administrative skills and vision. They need to be able to change the hearts and minds of those they lead. Leadership like this requires passionate beliefs that can stand up to pressure from without and within.
Now for the first time, Dr. Mohler reveals 25 principles to crystallize your convictions, revolutionizing your thinking, your decision-making, your communication, and ultimately those you lead.
Want to hear something really interesting? There is more to leading than just being the person in front that everyone is following. Dr. Mohler feels that true leadership has been lacking and that other books and speakers have not really addressed the issue. I have to say I agree with him. Dr. Mohler provides 25 principles that will transform your thinking on how leaders should lead. One of the principles that is presented is that leaders should create other leaders that will create other leaders. Far too often the leader feels that he is in charge and that all the decisions should be made by him. Dr. Mohler teaches us a new way. If you feel that you are called to be a leader then you absolutely need this book. Not only will you read it once but you should keep it handy on your bookshelf. More than likely you will refer to it again and again. That is how needful “The Conviction to Lead” is.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book for free from Bethany House Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Conviction to Lead, The: 25 Principles for Leadership that Matters - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sufficient in Jesus
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When Bethany House Publishing offered this book to me free for me to review it, I was excited. Dr. Albert Mohler is a man I respect and admire for his cogent cultural commentary, from a Christian Perspective. I love his thoughts on how euthanasia is the end of human dignity, not a way to die with yours intact, and how the "right to die" turns oh too quickly into the duty to die. So when Dr. Mohler's new book came out, my sister, who is so kind, allowed me to take it even though she was the one who was going to review Bethany's books. It is my aspiration to own a library with one book from a solid Christian on each topic. This will be my first book on leadership. Read Dr. Mohler's heart behind his new book on his website AlbertMohler.com. "Our ultimate conviction is that everything we do is dignified and magnified by the fact that we were created for the glory of God."
This book is passionate, and deserves a passionate review. Tim Challies wrote a very passionate review of this book, and I read his review right before our copy came. Albert Mohler defines Christians today as Belivers, and Leaders. Belivers are convinced of the Truth, and they believe passionately. They are ready to live and die for Truth. Leaders study management, are heads of organizations and want good results from practices and programs. What we need today is to help the believers realize that they need to lead, and help those in leadership positions understand that no amount of management makes a leader- it is beliefs worth leading for that cause you to lead, and convictions that you want spread with all of your being that cause you to learn to lead well.
Ultimately, we need to understand one thing that will set them both straight. Leadership flows out of conviction.
Only a man who is convicted with passion and earnestness can lead. Who is more passionately convicted than a Christian? A Christian is someone who is so convicted of Truth that he will live for it and die for it. He knows he has "light in the dark- The Gospel. Who else could be more passionate than him? Who else has something greater to be passionate about than the Gospel?" A Christian becomes a leader when he realizes that he is willing to "believe in public and think out loud." Leading is part of living for the Gospel.
You know who should immediately come to mind for all of us as an example of how true this is? The man whom God drew to Himself in the 1500s, who became so convicted that he would have surely bled and died for the Gospel, who saw fields of souls ready to harvest and that God had work to be done. Then this man saw that in between living and dying for the Gospel he needed to lead for it. Leadership flowed out of these convictions. This man, who never studied management, who never aimed to be a CEO of an organization, became known to us as a great leader of the Protestant Reformation. His name is Martin Luther. I dare to say that it is the same way- Conviction, and leading for those convictions in every great leaders life. George Washington loved the new nation before he agreed to lead it. Lincoln loved the Union before he was willing to lead and fight to keep it.
With this firmly fixed in our mind, that we are leading because we are convicted of the truth of the Gospel, and we want the cause of Christ advanced, then suddenly the day to day life of a leader comes into focus. Things like being able to read a spreadsheet become not something to hire out, but to figure out because you are steward of this money that God has given. You become a judge of character, and you prayerfully steward every precious life you influence. The Tv and the radio interview become not something to be feared, but to use unapologetically to advance your message of conviction, to further the Kingdom of Christ. Blogging becomes the worlds fastest, most inexpensive way to reach millions with your message. Reading becomes a skill you perfect, by God's Grace, that will give you knowledge of Him and this world to serve Him better. Speaking becomes, as Mrs. Botkin says, a tool of discipleship to be mastered to better spread your message. Good Writing, the fruit of much good reading and the way to make your words last longer, becomes something you study and set aside time for. Time itself must be managed well, to make the most powerful use of the time God has given you. And power must be stewarded. You who are in authority, the Scripture teaches, must be careful how you live for you are under God's Authority. The power you have as a leader must be in servant-hearted Christ-like leadership. Our Lord warned us, we are not allowed to lord it over the people as the Gentiles do, but to lead the way He does. The leader must be able to make decisions almost reflexively, building the reflex into his being by filling himself with God's Word so that it is so much a part of him that he can make the decision that Scripture outlines almost by reflex.
Leadership is something that we, the people that God put here for such a time as this, will need to excel in. We desperately need men, and women, to lead and take dominion in their Biblical sphere, for the Kingdom of Christ.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Conviction to Lead, The: 25 Principles for Leadership that Matters - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

principles of leadership for Christians and others

Date:November 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nearly twenty years ago, Mohler was selected to become the president of the Southern Baptist Theological Seminary. He was brought in to radically change the direction of the seminary.
Mohler knows leadership. His goal in this book is to change the way we think about leadership, the way it is understood and practiced. He offers 25 principles for leadership that matters.
Some of the principles are expected. The leader is a decision maker, knows how to organize his time, knows how to shape the world views of others.
Some of the principles might be a surprise to the corporate world (though not to Christians). Mohler highlights virtue and morality (through honesty and being humble). Leaders must have their lives align with their convictions. “Character is indispensable to credibility and credibility is essential to leadership.” (80) Time is to be viewed in relation to God's eternal purposes and plan. Leaders must have patience and endurance. They must be aware of their own mortality.
He advocates convictional intelligence: “The Christian leader must have mental reflexes that correspond to biblical truths.” (34) His beliefs should be passionate, attracting passionate followers. He sees leadership as an intellectual activity. “Careful attention to thinking is what sets the leader apart.” (59)
Mohler offers some very practical advice, such as on decision making and what to do when a reporter calls. The content is current, including a section on understanding the digital world in relation to leadership.
Every leader leaves a legacy. What will your legacy be? Reading Mohler's book will help you leave the legacy you want, finishing to the glory of Christ.
I received a complimentary egalley from Bethany House for the purpose of this review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.