Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Gospel Light Grieving the Loss of Someone You Love: Daily Meditations to Help You through the Grieving Process

Gospel Light Grieving the Loss of Someone You Love: Daily Meditations to Help You through the Grieving Process

A comforting companion when you're walking through the valley of grief. Wise and thoughtful, this collection of 70 brief but insightful daily meditations will help you endure the anguish; understand the stages of grief; sort through anger, guilt, fear, and depression; and make peace with the God who took your loved one home. 208 pages, softcover from Regal.
Average Customer Rating:
4.933 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Grieving the Loss of Someone You Love: Daily Meditations to Help You through the Grieving Process
Review 1 for Grieving the Loss of Someone You Love: Daily Meditations to Help You through the Grieving Process
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Book for the Grieving Process

Date:June 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Glenda Stewart
Location:Elk Grove, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book greatly helped me through the grieving process when my mom passed away. The book contains short devotions that cover all aspects of grieving and provides helpful advice in the process of grieving. You can pick up the book and start reading anywhere. You don't have to read it in order. This book covers aspects of grieving that you don't even know you are experiencing and provides wise counsel in going through the grieving process. The authors are excellent in their approach and counsel. I have given several copies to others and each person has said it was a tremendous help to them. Highly recommend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Grieving the Loss of Someone You Love: Daily Meditations to Help You through the Grieving Process
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Darl
Location:Fl
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this gift after a death in my family. Since that time I have always given it. Without a doubt it is the most helpful book to help someone get over the grieving process. Down to earth, easy to read, helps you understand what you are going through is normal. Great book I would recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Grieving the Loss of Someone You Love: Daily Meditations to Help You through the Grieving Process
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very practical help in times of loss.

Date:March 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Office Manager
Location:Edmonds, WA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is the most helpful book I have read on dealing with personal loss. The daily readings are short but impactful. The insights are practical, but not overwhelming, making it an easy read for those already dealing with a difficult situation. I have given one to each friend dealing with loss.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Grieving the Loss of Someone You Love: Daily Meditations to Help You through the Grieving Process
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Helful meditations

Date:December 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Anita
Location:Maryland
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this book for my cousin who lost her Dad and was going through a very difficult time. I read it through before sending it just to be sure. It provides helpful meditations with inspirational quotes.
I was expecting the book to provide more specific suggestions on what to do to cope with the various stages of grief but overall I would say it is useful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Grieving the Loss of Someone You Love: Daily Meditations to Help You through the Grieving Process
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Nancy Bright
I was blessed with a copy of this book from a friend just after I lost my husband to progressive Multiple Sclerosis in April, 2009. I can't say enough about how wonderfully written this book is for someone who is deeply hurting after losing a loved one. Since that time, I have passed along several copies to new widows and even to one widower. Many have told me how helpful this book has been and how much they appreciated it. You don't have to read the entire book but rather search for a specific chapter title which "speaks" to you and then read it. An excellent & tenderly written book for any person who is suffering the devastating lost of a loved one. It truly makes a lovely and thoughtful gift, too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Grieving the Loss of Someone You Love: Daily Meditations to Help You through the Grieving Process
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kevin Stone
A copy was given to me when my 15 year old daughter was killled a car crash with two other friends. With God's help, the Holy Spirit's strength and the insight from the author's of Grieving the Loss of Someone You love, I was able to get through the grieving process. I have since then given countless copies to others going through the same hurt.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Grieving the Loss of Someone You Love: Daily Meditations to Help You through the Grieving Process
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
appreciative customer
This book is great!! The author understands that grieving for a friend is important and the death of a friend is just as devastating as a family member. I recommend it to all those that are grieving whatever loss they are coping with, especially if it is a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Grieving the Loss of Someone You Love: Daily Meditations to Help You through the Grieving Process
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Cheryl Litchfield
This daily devotional is great when going through the grieving process. I have bought this book many times for friends and family that have lost someone dear. I have read it many times myself. I highly recommend it to anyone going through the grief of losing someone!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Grieving the Loss of Someone You Love: Daily Meditations to Help You through the Grieving Process
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Mary A. Shaffer
After the loss of my husband my most difficult times have been in the mornings, when we would have coffee and prayer together to start out our days. This book offers me a slight change in my routine that is very welcome, and I am finding that reading a devotional each morning is helping me start my days on a much more uplifting note. I highly recommend this helpful little book to anyone who is also trying to navigate a new direction in life without the one who was so significant and loved by us.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Grieving the Loss of Someone You Love: Daily Meditations to Help You through the Grieving Process
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Nancy
This is the only book that made sense after my husband died 17 years ago. I've given away many copies and recommended it to more people than I can count.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Grieving the Loss of Someone You Love: Daily Meditations to Help You through the Grieving Process
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
Nora Mizell
This is a wonderful book for anyone that is dealing with the loss of a loved one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Grieving the Loss of Someone You Love: Daily Meditations to Help You through the Grieving Process
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
M. Myers
This book addresses the many stages of grief you experience. I highly recommend it to anyone going through the grief process.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Grieving the Loss of Someone You Love: Daily Meditations to Help You through the Grieving Process
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
Nora Mizell
This is the perfect book to encourage and lift up someone who has lost a loved one. I don't know of anyone who has read it and didn't love it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Grieving the Loss of Someone You Love: Daily Meditations to Help You through the Grieving Process
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 1, 2007
Customer Avatar
Laura Laing
This is the best resource for anyone that has experienced the loss of someone they love. You can read the whole thing, or just go to a topic that you need help with. It helps the reader to deal with what they are going through and prepare the reader for what might be ahead. I have bought at least 15 copies of this book and give it away to anyone that has experienced a loss.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Grieving the Loss of Someone You Love: Daily Meditations to Help You through the Grieving Process
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 1, 2007
Customer Avatar
Marie Hsiung
For the grieving person with limited ability to concentrate, the 2 to 3 page chapters are perfect. This book is written so well and truly validates the complex emotions and issues of grief, yet graceously reminds us of God's love and care through the long and 'rollercoaster' journey of grief. I underlined portions throughout the book. Highly recommended for anyone coping with grief.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.