Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Multnomah Books Echoes: Book 3 in the Glenbrooke Series - eBook

Multnomah Books Echoes: Book 3 in the Glenbrooke Series - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.312 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
15 out of 1694%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Echoes: Book 3 in the Glenbrooke Series - eBook
Review 1 for Echoes: Book 3 in the Glenbrooke Series - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lauren Philips has nothing to show for her life except a broken engagement and a broken heart. Ditched by her fiance for a job in New York City, she determines that only God can bring a man into her life. She goes back to school, buys a kitten, and decides to learn new things about herself. Hoping her friend Mindy is right when she said God has a purpose for Lauren's life, Lauren tries to keep her mind open to all sorts of possibilities.
So when her brother gives her a computer, she opens her first e-mail account and meets a man she knows only as "KC". Lauren finds herself on the precipice of a mountain of feeling; this time with a man she's never met. Quickly falling in love with the letters from this mysterious man, Lauren needs to make a decision: risk her heart breaking again, or blindly follow through on the love she feels for a man she has never seen. Will love be enough to unite the two lovers? Or will reality rear it's ugly head and destroy all they have built?
Lauren is a little bit of a klutz, and her antics kept me laughing out loud while I read this book. She faces emotions that are true to life, and she discovers her true self is just waiting to emerge from the echoes of her heart. One element that I liked in this story was that Lauren and KC got to know each other for their true self, without the physical distraction of each other's company, etc. I speak from personal experience in that this is a good way to learn the life lesson that true love is not based on appearance, way of being, or emotion; true love is there through good and despite the bad. A very good read from Gunn, and I definitely recommend it to anyone who likes a clean and fun Christian romance.
A copy of this book was provided for free by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Echoes: Book 3 in the Glenbrooke Series - eBook
This review is fromEchoes, Glenbrooke Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Modern Concept

Date:July 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Robin Wallace
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Echoes
Robin Jones Gunn
Book Summary: In this dramatic contemporary romance by bestselling author Robin Jones Gunn, Lauren Phillips enters the wild, uncharted territory of the Internet on her home computer and "connects" with a man known only as "K.C." As she struggles to recover from a broken engagement, Lauren keeps busy by working full time and striving to finish her college degree. But her correspondence with K.C. quickly becomes the thing she loves most...and the source of dreams she cannot bear to relinquish. When the opportunity comes for them to meet after a year of corresponding, Lauren faces a tough choice: Is she willing to risk everything...including a broken heart? Readers will stay "on-line" to find out in this bestselling former Palisades release, now the third book in the new Glenbrooke series.
Will Lauren risk losing her heart...to a man she's never met? Lauren Phillips tries to keep busy while recovering from a broken engagement. Then one day, through her home computer, Lauren accidentally connects on the Internet with a mysterious man she knows only as K.C. Lauren's e-mail relationship with K.C. quickly becomes the thing she loves most in life..and the source of dreams she cannot bear to relinquish. After a year of corresponding, the opportunity appears for them to meet. Lauren faces a tough choice: Is she willing to risk everything...including another broken heart?
Review: I really enjoyed this book and series. I was not sure about this particular title when I first picked it up. I hemmed and hawed about reading it. Once I started it I was sorry that I waited so long. Since I read the books out of order I was already familiar with the main characters. They were a great mix and contrast in story line from the other books in the series which made it a good ongoing series and single. There is no need to read them in sequence or you can just read one of them. Although once you read one you are going to want to know how the other stories come about. Lauren and KC are more common today than when this story was written, I think and that is what makes this more timeless.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Echoes: Book 3 in the Glenbrooke Series - eBook
This review is fromEchoes, Glenbrooke Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Quick Read

Date:March 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Victoria
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I read this book after reading the first book "Secrets" in this series. With that in mind, this book was not quite what I expected. There were two things that made me less than crazy about this book, the main thing was that it didn't take place in Glenbrooke. I spent the book waiting to go back to the small town life with Lauren. The second thing was just Lauren's attitude. Gunn always has principles to leave readers thinking about, but Lauren was just a little too dramatic for me.
Overall, it was an okay book and depending on the friend, I might recommend it to them. For me, I think I'm done with this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Echoes: Book 3 in the Glenbrooke Series - eBook
This review is fromEchoes, Glenbrooke Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Sweet Romance

Date:March 21, 2013
I thoroughly enjoyed getting to know Lauren in Echoes, the third book in the Glenbrooke series by Robin Jones Gunn! I think a lot of women will relate to Lauren—wanting to get married and changing who she is to be what she thinks a man wants her to be. She's so sweet and fun and I liked her even more as the book progressed. I love how faith is central to this story (and all of Robin's stories, really). Conversations about God flow naturally between the characters and it's easy to see how you could have similar conversations in your own life.
I read most of the book with a silly grin on my face because it was such a sweet romance, and I had to smile! But, it's one of the few romances where I've been this anxious to get to the end and see how the conclusion was going to come about. If I had been reading a hard copy, I'm pretty sure I would've skipped ahead to read the last page ... just to make sure!
I did chuckle a little throughout the book since it's a smidge dated (originally published in 1996) with the newness of "the Net," explanations of how to communicate via email, and talk of "chat rooms." It was easy to get past that, though, and dive into this lovely romance!
I love how Robin has connected this series with characters from the other books. You certainly don't have to read them in order, but I think it's more fun that way. :) Fans of contemporary romance will enjoy Lauren and K.C.'s story! I highly recommend! [4.5 stars]
I received a free copy of this book from WaterBrook Multnomah in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Echoes: Book 3 in the Glenbrooke Series - eBook
This review is fromEchoes, Glenbrooke Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

echoes, echoes, echoes

Date:March 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
beckie
Age:35-44
Gender:female
"Echoes" by Robin Jones Gunn is the third book in the Glenbrooke Series, that being said, the other two books are not necessary in order to read "Echoes". The second thing you should know is that though this book's last printing is 2012, the original printing is 1996. At first I was confused as to why Lauren needed to be taught how to use the web when she was in her twenties. So, just remember, this is a book that originates in the 90's. Lauren breaks up with her fiancee, so her brother gives her a computer to get her socializing with him more as well as the rest of the world. As she comes to discover who she is rather than who Jeff (former love) wants her to be, she starts an online relationship with KC. She needs to not only trust others, but learn when a man is a man who could love her soul and when that man is an ax murderer using the Internet to lure women into secluded places. The real trust here is trusting God to tell her the difference.
I hadn't read any of Gunn's novels, though I have heard of her. I will have to add her to my list of staple authors. This is a really good book. It is a Christian book, but not preachy; God Loving. The characters are clear, the plot well written. I like it. I received this book for free from Blogging for Books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Echoes: Book 3 in the Glenbrooke Series - eBook
This review is fromEchoes, Glenbrooke Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A beautiful story of finding love and God!

Date:February 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Megz Madd Readz
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I picked this book up early this morning, needing to read it for a review. I didn't expect much out of it because I was in one of those slumps after reading an incredibly amazing book. You know the ones. Where the next book you read, no matter how amazing it may be, just doesn't quite live up to your expectations because nothing can be greater than the book you just finished. Yes, I was in that slump. I expected no fireworks from this book. Apparently, God had different plans for my reaction.
It took me less than twenty-four hours to finish.
I initially found myself feeling sorry for Lauren because her fiance dumped her (what a jerky loser) and it seemed like almost everything was going wrong in her life. And then she meets K.C. online and they start talking. He knows her simply as 'Wren'. From the back cover, I already knew they were going to fall in love, but it was so incredible to watch it happen. They talk for a year through email correspondence and finally get up the courage to meet. What happens after that is heartbreaking and touching, inspiring and extremely hopeful all at the same time (I know, how is that possible?!). I don't want to say any more than that because I'll end up spoiling the ending of the book. Let's just say it's definitely worth the wait. And I find myself wanting to know so much more about 'Wren' and 'K.C.' than I have received through this book.
This is definitely one of the best books I've read so far this year. I think it's going to be incredibly difficult to top this.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Echoes: Book 3 in the Glenbrooke Series - eBook
This review is fromEchoes, Glenbrooke Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:February 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Beth
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Lauren has an unusual amount of bad luck, but just as things seem to be looking up her fiance leaves her for a better job in New York.
When her brother Brad hears about his sisters plight he shows up with a computer in hopes of cheering her up. While teaching her how to use a chat room he randomly introduces her to a complete stranger who goes by K.C.
Through their online correspondence she learns that, like herself K.C is a fellow "God lover" and a fan of her heroes Robert and Elizabeth Browning. After a year of corresponding via email, they both decide it's time they meet each other in person. But Lauren fears that she will be heartbroken and abandoned once again and cannot face "the other half of her heart".
If I had to describe this book with one word it would be.... LAME!
The story plot may have had potential but the book itself was seriously cheesy!
First of all, the romance was way too unbelievable, I mean who's first kiss really happens like this??
" 'How say you?' he whispered the familiar Browning line. 'Let us, O my dove, Let us be unashamed of soul, as earth lies bare to heaven above! How is it under our control, to love or not to love?' Before the last word was out of his mouth, his lips had met hers in a lingering kiss that was full of love."
Second of all, the story moved so fast it felt like she contacted him a few times and they instantly
knew they were soul mates! Also there was almost no side stories and Laurens everyday life became quite boring after awhile! "She went grocery shopping", "she needed to finish this paper for school", " she stopped at the garage sale and brought a new book".... and on.... and on...
Needles to say I personally was not impressed!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Echoes: Book 3 in the Glenbrooke Series - eBook
This review is fromEchoes, Glenbrooke Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
debbiedeefisher
Location:comstock, NE
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Echoes is book three in the Glenbrook series. After hearing about his sister's broken engagement, Lauren's brother introduces her to the internet. He sets her computer up and shows her how to enter chat rooms. He even goes as far as finding her a "penpal" (KC), who she finds she can be open with over the next year, talking about all her loves, esp Robert and Elizabeth Browning books and poems. She finds herself falling in love with him, but can she risk her heart again if she meets him?
I loved this 3rd book in the series and love that it doesn't have to be read in the series to know what is going on, but stands alone on its own.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Echoes: Book 3 in the Glenbrooke Series - eBook
This review is fromEchoes, Glenbrooke Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

So excited about this series!

Date:January 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
missrhe
Location:Washington, DC
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second book I've read in the series, number 3 in the order. I got my hands on this copy and couldn't wait to track down number 2 so I just started on it. I absolutely love this series and this book only made bolstered my positive view. I powered through it so quickly. I just absolutely love this book so much. The story is great, the message is powerful and the characters are relateable and normal. I love that. While the story may seem extraordinary, and not at all believable, it was sweet and romantic and the fact that it may seem unbelievable never dawned on my while I was reading the book. I defintely would recommend this book, and series for any young or adult woman.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Echoes: Book 3 in the Glenbrooke Series - eBook
This review is fromEchoes, Glenbrooke Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
mom3ways
Location:Greenfield, IN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been wanting to watch You've Got Mail ever since a friend of mine shared a quote from the movie on facebook. So I was uber excited to see that the movie is on cable at least twice a week! So I recorded it and watched it two times! I know I have watched it at least once in the past, but I really did not remember any of it. So it was like watching a new movie all over again.
I also recently read a Robin Jones Gunn novel called echoes. I think I liked the book so much because it reminded me of the movie that I just watched. I know lots of people who meet through the internet these days, but back when this book and movie came out, it was a little crazy to fathom! echoes is one of eight books in The Glenbrooke Series by Robin Jones Gunn.
I love this quote from the book about life and all the crazy things that happen:
"You know sometimes we think something terrible is happening to us, and God is saying, 'Hey, relax, will ya? I've got it covered.' My dad used to say that we should never think for one minute that Almighty God is standing in heaven wringing his hands, and saying, 'Oh dear, oh dear! This wasn't supposed to turn out this way.' God is in control. All day, every day. All the way."
I love knowing that God is in control of everything. How we meet our spouse. Where we get a new job. What our kid does at school today. When a beloved one gets sick. Who comes into our lives. God is in control. All day, every day. All the way.
*I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for my review. The opinions are mine.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Echoes: Book 3 in the Glenbrooke Series - eBook
This review is fromEchoes, Glenbrooke Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Location:Summerfield, FL
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lauren Philips has nothing to show for her life except a broken engagement and a broken heart. Ditched by her fiance for a job in New York City, she determines that only God can bring a man into her life. She goes back to school, buys a kitten, and decides to learn new things about herself. Hoping her friend Mindy is right when she said God has a purpose for Lauren's life, Lauren tries to keep her mind open to all sorts of possibilities.
So when her brother gives her a computer, she opens her first e-mail account and meets a man she knows only as "KC". Lauren finds herself on the precipice of a mountain of feeling; this time with a man she's never met. Quickly falling in love with the letters from this mysterious man, Lauren needs to make a decision: risk her heart breaking again, or blindly follow through on the love she feels for a man she has never seen. Will love be enough to unite the two lovers? Or will reality rear it's ugly head and destroy all they have built?
Lauren is a little bit of a klutz, and her antics kept me laughing out loud while I read this book. She faces emotions that are true to life, and she discovers her true self is just waiting to emerge from the echoes of her heart. One element that I liked in this story was that Lauren and KC got to know each other for their true self, without the physical distraction of each other's company, etc. I speak from personal experience in that this is a good way to learn the life lesson that true love is not based on appearance, way of being, or emotion; true love is there through good and despite the bad. A very good read from Gunn, and I definitely recommend it to anyone who likes a clean and fun Christian romance.
A copy of this book was provided for free by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Echoes: Book 3 in the Glenbrooke Series - eBook
This review is fromEchoes, Glenbrooke Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

You Got Mail

Date:January 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A very quick enjoyable read, read in one afternoon. Reminded me of "You Got Mail". When the story begins Lauren is engaged to Jeff, and it appeared to me immediately that it was a one sided relationship. I was happy when it ended!
When Lauren's brother Brad brings her a computer, this book was originally published back in 1996. He sets her up with email, and a shows her a chat room. So begins a new internet relationship with KC.
When a year passes with this unseen friend they decide to meet. Her friends are aghast, he could be an axe murderer. She cancels!!
We travel with Lauren through this period of time in her life, she finishes her degree. She has reestablished her relationship with God, and keeps him close now.
Will these two unknown to one another, ever meet? Will they ever get beyond cyber tea, Irish Breakfast Tea?
This is a sweet, sometimes funny read, and hope you enjoy it as much as I did!
I received this book from Multnomah Blogging For Books Program, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Echoes: Book 3 in the Glenbrooke Series - eBook
This review is fromEchoes, Glenbrooke Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perhaps an Historical Novel

Date:January 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Columbus, GA
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Originally released in 1996, "Echoes" should probably/maybe be released as an historical novel instead of a contemporary romance. That year doesn’t seem like so long ago, yet the main character in the story, a 24-year-old woman, is learning how to access the internet and use e-mail for the first time. Ah—memories.
That strangeness aside, I loved this story! When Lauren’s fiancé dumps her for a job in New York City, she decides the only way she’ll ever marry is if God brings someone to her door. She figures she’ll marry the pizza man. Instead, she goes back to school, buys a kitten, and learns what things she really loves. While she’s doing this, her brother brings her a computer and opens her first e-mail account. She meets a mysterious man on-line who identifies himself as KC and professes his love for Jesus, English literature, and Irish Breakfast Tea. But on-line correspondence is one thing; meeting in person could be dangerous.
This story is part of a series that revolves around the small town of Glenbrooke. Author Robin Jones Gunn brings characters from other books in the series into this story, yet keeps each story distinct. I’m looking forward to reading some of the other books, as I really did like this one. I thank Waterbrook Multnomah Publishers for sending a complimentary copy of "Echoes" for this honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Echoes: Book 3 in the Glenbrooke Series - eBook
This review is fromEchoes, Glenbrooke Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
centraleast2
I enjoyed reading this book that is a part of the Glenbrook Series. I had read some of the other books in the series, so I had a pretty good background, but it is a book that can stand alone. After a bad breakup, Lauren starts an online relationship under the pen name KC. She corresponds with Wren and after a while they grow close even though they have never met. She finds it hard to explain this relationship in a way that others can understand. They do finally meet and the book tells how things go.
"I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review."
more from the author can be found here. www.robingunn.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Echoes: Book 3 in the Glenbrooke Series - eBook
This review is fromEchoes, Glenbrooke Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Echoes

Date:January 6, 2013
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It was fun to revisit Echoes by Robin Jones Gunn. Lauren Phillips has met someone online after her break-up with her fiancé. The world of communicating with someone new without seeing them in person is a new experience for her!
Meeting someone online has become such a common way of connecting with someone these days. It was fun to walk this crazy path with Lauren. Hang on for the ride as she trusts God to lead her towards the unknown.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Echoes: Book 3 in the Glenbrooke Series - eBook
This review is fromEchoes, Glenbrooke Series #3.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Stephanie
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I loved the first book of the Glennbrooke Series. SO I was thrilled to see book two pop up so quickly. I felt for Laura from the very beginning. She was living what she assumed was a safe life until her fiance shook her entire world up.She had a awfulness break up, and found a friend in the most of unusual places, online. Slowly their relationship evolves to the next level and they both seem to want more but Lauren is a little leery about falling for someone shes never seen. I love the funny humor threaded through the book it helps keep them real.
I received this book in trade for a free and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.