Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan The Daniel Plan: 40 Days to a Healthier Life

Zondervan The Daniel Plan: 40 Days to a Healthier Life

The Daniel Plan teaches simple ways to incorporate healthy choices into a reader's current lifestyle and helps them understand the kind of foods God created to keep them fit and strong. The book is categorized around five key concepts for optimal health that promote success: faith, food, fitness, focus, and friends. These concepts encourage readers to deepen their relationship with God and offer inspiration as they make positive choices each and every day.

Average Customer Rating:
4.111 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
3
15 out of 1883%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for The Daniel Plan: 40 Days to a Healthier Life
Review 1 for The Daniel Plan: 40 Days to a Healthier Life
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not focusing in God's purpose

Date:March 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
Beto
We're NOT physically perfect, our organs work in different ways, some people are easier to gain weight than others, but, being overweight limits God to use this people? Of course NOT! Now, can you tell me if you're going to sell this book to the missionaries, hiding in caves, sometimes with not food to eat, facing danger in every moment of their lives, do you think being healthy is more important for them than the Gospel? You can help the authors to make a lot of money with this book but definitely it will not get you closer to God.
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Daniel Plan: 40 Days to a Healthier Life
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

The Daniel Plan ~ Rick Warren

Date:January 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
debs
Location:Maine
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This book is total disappointment. It is very short and not much useful information for starting a diet plan for GOD. This book talks about how GOD has made our body as his temple to use for his purpose and has scripture to back up and that is about all. It does include recipes and a 40 day diet plan that is very complicated and not very friendly. The products are very hard to find in the grocery store and I don't see how anyone would be able to stay on this diet as a life time change.
I would not recommend this book to anyone, don't waste your time or money.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through Booksneeze. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
+1point
8of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Daniel Plan: 40 Days to a Healthier Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Finally!

Date:January 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Coach
Location:Calgary, Canada
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great to see leadership in Evangelicalism taking back some of the high ground in life-style.
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Daniel Plan: 40 Days to a Healthier Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
Lorri V
Location:Calgary AB
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing author. Amazing book. Glory to God
Its a good way to think about how we are to treat our temple
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Daniel Plan: 40 Days to a Healthier Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

FANTASTIC!!

Date:January 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
RiaT
Location:Nebraska
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a wonderful way to ease into a healthier life and connect or re-connect with God. This helps you to learn how to live a 'balanced life'. What a great buy!!!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Daniel Plan: 40 Days to a Healthier Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book

Date:January 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
1grandma
Location:Orange Park FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I will highly recommend this book, it gives you insight from a Biblical standpoint! Easy read.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Daniel Plan: 40 Days to a Healthier Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of Two Life Changing Books

Date:January 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
LorShepps
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The first life changing book I the Bible, this is the second. It makes you rethink your way of eating, exercising, fellowshipping, understanding God and just about your whole being in general. Then it gives you practical ways to better yourself. The plan is so simple to follow and the food is delicious. Our entire family decided to go on the Daniel plan, even our 4 kids. We have energy now and are feeling so much better, not to mention our relationship as a family is stronger.
Highly recommend this book.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Daniel Plan: 40 Days to a Healthier Life
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Book Review: The Daniel Plan

Date:January 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jon Kenney
Location:Warner Robins, GA
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
About the Book
Though Rick Warren doesn't have many book titles to his credit, there are very few Pastors that have the platform and influence of Rick Warren. You can see that influence exercised when world renown doctors and health experts willingly volunteer their time to help establish a diet plan for Pastor Warren and his church family at Saddleback. That's just what Dr. Oz, Daniel Amen, and Mark Hyman did. Now at first glance that seems odd, doesn't it? An entire church committed to a diet plan? Isn't there usually a giving campaign, or Bible reading plan commitment to get involved with instead?
It's no secret that Warren himself has struggled with his own weight. At the start f the book, Warren recounts a specific time of confession in front of his church one Sunday morning following the experience of baptizing 800 individuals the previous week. He tells the story of his own judgement of those he was baptizing due to their obesity before falling under the deep conviction that he had to look in the mirror. Pastor Warren then asked for forgiveness and vowed to right the ship. The Daniel Plan is the result of his efforts to do just that.
”The Daniel Plan is far more than a diet. It is a lifestyle program based on biblical principles and five essential components: Food, Fitness, Focus, Faith, and Friends. These last two components — faith and friends — are what I call the secret sauce that makes The Daniel Plan so effective.” - Rick Warren
In this 40 day challenge there are no gimmicks and no shortcuts. The quality of advice and thought put into the book is evident from the beginning. Warren is especially encouraging through out each chapter while acknowledging several times that success with this program only comes through hard work and intentional choices, daily. He uses various scriptures and health studies to motivate and deepen the experience of the food plan past just being a diet.
He begins the book talking about faith and briefly presents a broad stroke, light review of the gospel and our need for faith. Warren then moves on to the food choices that we make while outlining that we should consider these choices a lifestyle decision, not just a 40 day trial. The remaining chapters deal with fitness and what type of physical exercise will work for you, maintaining your focus during this plan, and ending with the need to walk through this plan in the context of community that will lead to a lasting change. In the final chapter there are also some recipes that coincide with this 40 day challenge for you to follow.
My Thoughts
This book was an easy read and full of great motivation, information and encouragement. I will say parts of this book felt forced. There were several times when it seemed like Warren was stretching the biblical context just a little too thin in order to incorporate scripture onto his plan. To that point, you will notice the unending translation resources that Warren uses, seemingly on the whim of whichever version carries his point verbally best. Although he stretches some scripture passages a bit to fit his mold, it definitely brings home his point.
Something else to consider, which is true of most diet plans, is the amount of money you will need to follow the food recipes and nutrition guides made available. I would recommend this book to anyone who is looking for an effective and practical diet plan that is well thought out and provides some spiritual context. Warren once again delivers a quality program that has and will continue to have lasting impact on individuals lives for years to come.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com® book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Daniel Plan: 40 Days to a Healthier Life
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Execellent Change

Date:January 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
Bryana
Location:Denver, Co
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am really enjoying this book. I have tried the daniels fast before, but this book is a change in the approach, the reason behind it, and sets the foundation for lasting change.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Daniel Plan: 40 Days to a Healthier Life
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
Suze
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a thoughtful and faithful approach to a healthy lifestyle.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Daniel Plan: 40 Days to a Healthier Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dr JSK
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Daniel Plan: 40 Days To Healthier Life, Rick Warren, Daniel Amen and Mark Hyman, authors, is a book dedicated to guiding Christians into becoming healthier as they grow into a deeper relationship with God.
This 40 day adventure is the brainchild of pastor Rick Warren of Saddleback Church in Lake Forest California. Warren became a household name after writing the Book entitled The Purpose Driven Life. This current publication follows a similar thought in that after following a program for 40 days a change in habits can occur, thus a changed life.
The Daniel Plan demonstrates the need for dieting to become healthy, but it does so in a unique presentation. The authors present a program that encompasses heathy eating, faith, focus and the accountability/encouragement of friends, all of which the authors believe are more effective than dieting alone. As Warren states:"The Daniel Plan is far more than a diet. It is a lifestyle program based on biblical principles and five essential components: Food, Fitness, Focus, Faith, and Friends. These last two components — faith and friends — are what I call the secret sauce that makes The Daniel Plan so effective.”
While this book presents a good program that is easily followed, there are some concerns for the amount of money that will be spent on the diet specific foods that need to be purchased, but in the end the results will far outweigh the cost.
This publication offers a unique approach to healthy living and spirituality, thus it is a recommended purchase for those seeking to lose more weight and gain more of God.
Dr. Jeff Krupinski
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Daniel Plan: 40 Days to a Healthier Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Focuses on the whole body.

Date:December 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sass
Location:Dennisville
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just what I was looking for. We are going to start The Daniel Plan at church. I especially like that it doesn't just focus on food, but on our whole being. This is an "honoring, serving and growing in God with our mind, body and spirit" book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Daniel Plan: 40 Days to a Healthier Life
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 24, 2013
Pastor Rick Warren is the pastor of Saddleback Church. One day while Pastor Warren was baptizing over eight hundred people he realized that many people were overweight including himself. He began to reflect upon his own health and the relationship he had with food. He soon realized that he had been ignoring his health and was being a poor example to his congregation. After doing some research, Pastor Warren decided to stand before his congregation and ask for their forgiveness. He explained how God wants us to take care of the bodies that He has blessed us with and asked if anyone wanted to join him in getting healthy. That day over 12,000 church members signed up in joining him on his journey. Now Pastor Warren just needed a plan to assist his congregation with getting healthy. Pastor Warren writes, “Since I was preaching that day about a man in the Bible named Daniel who refused to eat junk food and challenged a king to a health contest, I named the program The Daniel Plan.” (Page 15) Pastor Warren then asked Dr. Daniel Amen, Dr. Mark Hyman, and Dr. Mehmet Oz to help coach him as he knew very little about how to get healthy. All of the doctors agreed to help and the program proved to be a success. During the first year the members at Saddleback lost a combined total of more than 250,000 pounds!
This book is about the plan that the Saddleback community followed. I found the book to be very informative. It focuses on five key elements: Faith, Food, Fitness, Focus and Friends. There is a chapter dedicated to each of these key elements to further explain how they can assist with living a healthy lifestyle. I enjoyed the book and would definitely recommend it to others. I included how Pastor Warren came up with the name of the plan above as some people may think that the book is about fasting.
*Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Daniel Plan: 40 Days to a Healthier Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great way to learn how to be healthy

Date:December 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
alidanelle
Location:GA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read this book already having knowledge about eating healthy and working out due to my degree in exercise. The book was a great refresher in knowledge I already knew and some new statistics that the medical community has come up with recently. While some parts were a bit technical, anyone could read this book and understand it. I would highly recommend it to anyone that is looking to start living a better life for themselves and their family. If you are wanting to find a way to make your New Year's resolutions stick, then read this book!
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Daniel Plan: 40 Days to a Healthier Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

inspirational book

Date:December 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
storms
Location:tampa florida
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the daniel plan is a very special book and a real blessing to have during the holidays espically with all of the food that we have around to be tempted with. it gives us some special scripture that shows how you can lose weight and change your life style and there are some great eating habbits as well as the ways that you can change your eatting habbits and there are some helpful charts also. this will help you get through the christmas season maybe lower blood preasure and your weight and feel great. also recamended: billy grahams new book the reason for my hope salvation and sarah palins new book good tidings great joy
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Daniel Plan: 40 Days to a Healthier Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I loved the Daniel Plan!

Date:December 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
homesick742
Location:PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I do agree that the name can be misleading but I actually loved the book!
I am always skeptical of new "diet" plans but this is so much different! This truly is a lifestyle change! It doesn't just focus on food, but on five key principals to help make a healthier lifestyle change actually stick! The key principals are Faith, Food, Fitness, Focus, and Friends. In the book, the authors go into great detail on how these are all interconnected and how they are all essential for change in our eating and thinking habits.
I love that they make it so easy to understand. Many, many times I have thought, "It is way to expensive to do the clean and healthy eating thing!" This book makes it so simple to see that it doesn't have to be expensive. And you can enjoy many things. Love fries? Make your own with fresh potatoes and healthy oils. This is written in plain English that is so easy to understand and actually makes me feel like it is doable!
I also love that the first key is faith. It's all about being good stewards of the bodies God has given us. I love how he talks about willpower and how usually under your own willpower you eventually stop fighting because it's of your own power. You need God's power to truly change. That's the faith part.
Then, of course, is food. It's all about making the right choices. And they go into depth about what is good to eat and what is not good. And we can't forget about fitness. Our bodies are designed to move! Find something that you love to do and do it!
Focus is all about changing to way you think and about changing your attitude. Last, is friends. Everything is always better when you do it with friends, right? I think so! Overall, I really love this book. My husband is even willing to try this for 40 days and he is not one to change. I am very excited and we are starting today.
I received this book for free for review through the publisher. All opinions are my own.
+17points
17of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Daniel Plan: 40 Days to a Healthier Life
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Sensible Eating Plan & Biblical Basis.

Date:December 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Crystal
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have rarely seen such off-the-mark reviews about a book. I can only surmise that the first 2 reviewers did not actually read The Daniel Plan. Allow me to clear up these misconceptions.
1. This book is NOT named after Dr. Daniel Amen. It is called The Daniel Plan because it was inspired by Daniel from the Bible. Pastor Rick Warren says "since I was preaching that day about a man in the Bible named Daniel who refused to eat junk food and challenged a king to a health contest, I named the program The Daniel Plan.
2. With that said, this book also does not claim to be about a 10-day Daniel fast. This book contains a very sensible, sustainable eating plan to help you honor the Lord with your body and eating choices.
This book contains information about 5 key principles, recognizing that your health and weight is a global issue, and not just a diet issue. The components include: faith, food, fitness, focus, and friends (community).
Many Americans are overweight due to overeating, and an unhealthy relationship with food. Pastor Warren recognizes that this is a bigger issue than just a diet change. To fully address the weight issue, one must address the underlying causes, and provide a healthy, sustainable eating plan. This book does all of this.
I have struggled with my weight for years, and am looking forward to getting started on this plan.
Disclosure: I have no affiliation with Rick Warren or his church. I did however, receive a review copy of this book as a blogger for review. I was not required to write a positive review. All opinions are my own.
+29points
30of 31voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Daniel Plan: 40 Days to a Healthier Life
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

The Daniel Plan by Rick Warren et all

Date:November 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
mary
Location:nc
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was very unhappy with this book. It provides a great plan for a healthy lifestyle but in no way shape or form is it a book about the 10 day diet Daniel and his friends went on when they were first taken to Babylon. Daniel went a 10 day raw food, veggie and water diet. Rick Warren writes in this book about a 40 day diet that is half non starchy veggies, a quarter lean protein and a quarters starchy veggies with a bit of fruit on the side. He also pushes exercise. It is a big disappointment to see a preacher call something the Daniel diet when it does not even remotely compare. I would give this book a 5 star review if it was called anything else; but I have to say its a no star book because it does not advocate for the name sake. Shame on you Pastor Warren.
-49points
22of 93voted this as helpful.