Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan How to Read the Bible for All Its Worth / New edition - eBook

Zondervan How to Read the Bible for All Its Worth / New edition - eBook

Understanding the Bible isn't for the few, the gifted, the scholarly. The Bible is accessible. It's meant to be read and comprehended by everyone from armchair readers to seminary students. A few essential insights into the Bible can clear up a lot of misconceptions and help you grasp the meaning of Scripture and its application to your 21st-century life.

This third edition of How to Read the Bible for All Its Worth features substantial revisions that keep pace with current scholarship, resources, and culture. Changes include:

  • Updated language
  • A new authors' preface
  • Several chapters rewritten for better readability
  • Updated list of recommended commentaries and resources
Covering everything from translational concerns to different genres of biblical writing, How to Read the Bible for All Its Worth is used worldwide. In clear, simple language, it helps you accurately understand the different parts of the Bible---their meaning for ancient audiences and their implications for you today---so you can uncover the inexhaustible worth that is in God's Word.
Average Customer Rating:
3.909 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
2
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
5
10 out of 1377%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for How to Read the Bible for All Its Worth / New edition - eBook
Review 1 for How to Read the Bible for All Its Worth / New edition - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
LIVINGtopleaseHIM
Location:Ormond Beach, Fl.
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book has answered some questions since a young christian. I would recommend this book to anyone wanting to get another point of view of the bible and to understand the importance of through BIBLE STUDY and UNDERSTANDING, it make all the difference in the world. Thank you Dr. Fee and Dr. Stuart.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for How to Read the Bible for All Its Worth / New edition - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Read

Date:October 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Yourangel
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are using this book as a guide in our Bible Study Class at Bethel AME Jamacia Plain. It is an easy read with great information. It is very useful in gaining a better understanding of how to interpret the WORD.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for How to Read the Bible for All Its Worth / New edition - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is essential to understand bible correctly!

Date:September 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
HL SU
Location:Brookline, MA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is very important for those who want to understand bible correctly and do bible study right. It teaches you how to read the Old Testament narratives, Law(s), the Prophets, the Psalms, Gospel, the Epistles, . . . , so that you read it with right eyes and no misunderstanding and major mistakes.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for How to Read the Bible for All Its Worth / New edition - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is an excellent book by a solid scholar

Date:October 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
TomL
Location:Ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I take books overseas to give to Christians who do not have access to good theological educations. This book is extremely useful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for How to Read the Bible for All Its Worth / New edition - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Thought provoking

Date:August 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Txread
Location:Georgetown, TX
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It takes great care to read the Word of God. They are more than words on a page. His love for 1st century and 21st century Christians is consistent. While our circumstances differ our basic needs are the same. The authors do a great job showing us we need to take great care to hear what God is telling us.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for How to Read the Bible for All Its Worth / New edition - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

invaluable

Date:January 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Michael
Location:Atlanta, Ga
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read this book for my theology class at Liberty University. I still read it everyday and it has just about as many markings as my bible does. Without a doubt a must read for anyone studying the word with an intent to form a ministry. The information in this book is invaluable. It is small, but packs a powerful punch.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for How to Read the Bible for All Its Worth / New edition - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:June 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
OtherAnn
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Particularly for students: Students beware! I already had this book in hardcopy, but since as a student I need to take notes, I also bought the eBook format so I could copy and past notes (save myself some typing. take quick and easy notes). To my disappointment, I realized the publisher does not permit copying any contents of the eBook; therefore, I blew my money because I still have to type all my notes. Still, I learned a valuable lesson and here is a tip to students: if you know you will need and want copying rights to take quick and easy notes from any eBook, before you buy, check to confirm that you are allowed,
-6points
4of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for How to Read the Bible for All Its Worth / New edition - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mimi
Location:Dresden, Me
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are actually studing this book in Bible Class. We just started it, but it looks like it is packed full of information that will be really helpful in reading the Bible.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for How to Read the Bible for All Its Worth / New edition - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

not for the novice

Date:March 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
tpaege1
Location:Wisconsin
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Having used the book college i have to say it was frustrating to read. I come from a conservative perspective ( more then the author )and would not use this book for a new or a young believer. The author leads the readers to views that are dangerous in that it makes the bible harder to understand and more confusing for someone who is not grounded properly or being discipled by a mature believer. Even then there are better books that can be used to introduce the the bible to a new or young believer.im not sure his stance on the bible but i would have to say from what i saw it is not conservative. Put your money elsewhere.
-11points
8of 27voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for How to Read the Bible for All Its Worth / New edition - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sea Sea
Location:Raleigh NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent and straightforward book that guides an intimate reading of The Word.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for How to Read the Bible for All Its Worth / New edition - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not good!

Date:March 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Halz
Location:Minnesota
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Hated it! Discouraged me from reading the Bible. Caused a lot of controversy in my school and in what they were saying. The contradict themselves (the authors) making it very difficult to understand what they are trying to say about the Bible and did not help me understand the Bible in many ways. The authors do not believe in the Rapture and make us think our interpretation of the Scripture is wrong. Definitely do not recommed this book to anyone ranging from Baby Christians to seminary students, lay people or those who have been in ministry of any sort for any length of time. The Holy Spirit is not in this book, and is very misleading.
-18points
16of 50voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for How to Read the Bible for All Its Worth / New edition - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

This product is geared to highly educated people.

Date:December 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
alana
Location:Fonthill, Ontario Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This book actually discouraged me from studying the Bible. I felt that it was very difficult to be able to find "truth" in my study because of the many variables and the intricaties involved in how the books were written and what they were trying to achieve. For someone going to Seminary it was great....for the general public it is too hard to grasp.
Rick Warrens "Bible Study Methods" is better for the average intellect.
0points
9of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for How to Read the Bible for All Its Worth / New edition - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Joan Van
Location:florida
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would ebook again, but not for a book i would want to jput notes in. I like that fact i don't have to add it to my book shelf when it is a book i probably won't read more than 1 or 2 times.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for How to Read the Bible for All Its Worth / New edition - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Richard Bird
This book made plain what is needed in todays Christian Environment so one can tell if what is preached is really what God said or anyone else. It provide a way to ask yourself question of the text and I found that helpful in finding the answers.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for How to Read the Bible for All Its Worth / New edition - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sue Micetic
From all my schooling and years of bible study, this book provides the best overview for understanding how to read the different genres of the Bible in the most concise and easily understood manner. It would be wonderful if every Christian had this information for their own study to prevent them from seeking to apply misunderstood principles in their lives. It should be required of anyone apsiring to teach the Bible to others.
+9points
11of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for How to Read the Bible for All Its Worth / New edition - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:February 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Anthony Shuler
Maybe a better name would have been "How to Rape the Bible for all it's worth." Very poor book on hermeneutics. And I still can't understand how they could be so insane as to say that when you study the Bible it's O.K. to use paraphrases but not the KJV or NKJV. They could very well be committed for think that paraphrases are better than the Bible used by the Church for almost it's entire history. And I know KJV was translated in 1611 but that only marked the English version, the text was around for a very long time and was even called the "received text" because it is what was regarded as being the true text of the Bible. And their research was so bad it's sinful. They, for example, dust out the tired old argument that 1 John 5:7 was added to the received text in the 17th century even though John Calvin quotes it in his Institutes of the Christian Religion in the 16th century. How is it that it was added in the 17th century when it was quoted by Church Fathers who died before it was added? Either Calvin had a time machine or these fellows didn't research this book at all. And no I'm not a KJV only person. I just don't take kindly to incompetent scholarship.
-26points
11of 48voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for How to Read the Bible for All Its Worth / New edition - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:November 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Johnny
It is a relatively solid introduction to hermeneutics. The twenty page advertisement for the TNIV translation in chapter 2 is tedious and erases a good bit of Gordon Fee's credibility. Fee was on the committee that translated the TNIV and it is published by Zondervan, which also published this book. Had it not been for chapter 2, I would have given this book 4 stars.
+9points
11of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for How to Read the Bible for All Its Worth / New edition - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Augustine Mascaro
"How to read the Bible for all its worth" is an excelent text on the study of scripture from its historical context.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for How to Read the Bible for All Its Worth / New edition - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Angela Donahue
I am very pleased with the availabilty of products I have needed and the delivery service is excellent. I always find what I need and save money as well. "How to Read the Bible for All Its Worth" is highly recommended by many churches as an excellent read in understanding the linguistics and context. It is full of information and easy to digest. I highly recommend this book for every Christian to read.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for How to Read the Bible for All Its Worth / New edition - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:July 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
MIchael Davidson
It is a little dry. I would recommend "Hermeneutics" by Virkler and Avayo instead. You can glean some good info, I just believe there are better alternatives.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>