Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Digital Interactive Video Education Saxon Math 87 3rd Edition DIVE CD-Rom

Digital Interactive Video Education Saxon Math 87 3rd Edition DIVE CD-Rom

Boost your students understanding of Saxon Math with DIVE's easy-to-understand lectures! Each lesson concept in Saxon's textbook is taught step-by-step on a digital whiteboard, averaging about 10-15 minutes in length; and because each lesson is stored separately, you can easily move about from lesson-to-lesson as well as maneuver within the lesson you're watching. Taught from a Christian worldview, Dr. David Shormann also provides a weekly syllabus to help students stay on track with the lessons. DIVE teaches the same concepts as Saxon, but does not use the problems given in the text; it cannot be used as a solutions guide.

Topics covered in Math 8/7 include arithmetic calculation, measurements, basic geometry, fraction/decimal/percent conversions/unit multipliers, as well as pre-algebra exercises.

System Requirements:

  • Mac OS 10.3.9-10.4.x
  • Windows 98, 2000, ME, XP, Vista, 8
  • Quicktime Download Required

Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Saxon Math 87 3rd Edition DIVE CD-Rom
Review 1 for Saxon Math 87 3rd Edition DIVE CD-Rom
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good explantion CD for child learning Pre-Algebra

Date:November 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
PCWhisperer
Location:Atlanta, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love the examples and clarity of teaching. The author is kind, empathetic, willing to explain every facet of the lesson and seems as if he is enjoying the experience. This helps bring the student into the lesson. My only disappointment is of the lack of resolution in those movies. The graphics are a bit jagged and you can't increase the size without noticing serious quality loss. I would gladly pay extra for a high resolution version of these excellent how-to videos.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Saxon Math 87 3rd Edition DIVE CD-Rom
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:September 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rebecca
I purchased the DIVE CD to accompany Saxon Math 87. I was very disappointed with this product. When I read the description of this product "Each lesson in Saxon Math's textbook is taught step by step on a digital whiteboard." I assumed that the actual Saxon lesson was being taught. Yes, the teacher goes over the concepts being taught. However, he does not actually go over the Saxon curriculum. He covers the concepts with his own examples, not the examples in the book. This CD does not cover the math problems in the book (Which was the main reason I purchased this product). Buy the actual Saxon Teacher CD instead!!
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Saxon Math 87 3rd Edition DIVE CD-Rom
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Julie Abdulahad
so far so good, lessons are very easy to follow .My 8 year old enjoys the format
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Saxon Math 87 3rd Edition DIVE CD-Rom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Susan Holzknecht
These CD's are great! I used them last year with my children look forward to using them again this year. Great supplement to the program and allows the children to be more self directed.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Saxon Math 87 3rd Edition DIVE CD-Rom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kathryn Rayburn
This is the first DIVE cd we have purchased. We think it's great. The lessons are short and very easy to understand. He gives several examples and problems for your child (and you!) to work. He also gives tips and shortcuts. You can skip reading the lesson in the book and the lesson practice problems if you understand the DIVE lesson or do them also if you need more practice. His manner is easy going and his voice is pleasant.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Saxon Math 87 3rd Edition DIVE CD-Rom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
Anna Geesling
The DIVE program has helped bring peace to our home school. A veteran home schooler recommended DIVE and we decided to try it because my oldest son (then 9) was getting increasingly frustrated with his math lessons. It worked! My son now listens to a lecture before starting his lesson and completes the lesson independently. He does ask me for help if he needs it, but our math battles are now over thanks to Dr. Shormann.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Saxon Math 87 3rd Edition DIVE CD-Rom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Beth Pomeroy
My son is doing so much better with his math since he started using the DIVE CD. I think its great.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Saxon Math 87 3rd Edition DIVE CD-Rom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Clint
This product is a wonderful help. This is a bargain compared to other similar products and is well worth the investment!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.