Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hendrickson Publishers Systematic Theology, Volume 1

Hendrickson Publishers Systematic Theology, Volume 1

The magnum opus of one of America's most prominent theologians offers an in-depth exploration of theology, anthropology, soteriology, and eschatology. This monumental work, now a standard for theological students, was written while Hodge served as a professor at Princeton, where he permanently influenced American Christianity as a teacher, preacher, and exegete. Includes a comprehensive index.

Volume 1 includes Theology Proper with sections on the nature and attributes of God, the divinity of Christ, the Holy Spirit, the Trinity, Creation, Providence, Angels, Miracles, and more.

Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
5 out of 5100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Systematic Theology, Volume 1
Review 1 for Systematic Theology, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very pleased

Date:December 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pastor JLC
Location:Cynthiana, KY
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have wanted Hodge's for years, but never pursued it. The price caught my eye. I honestly didn't expect a lot for the money. I am vey well pleased. A pastor friend looked at the 3 volumes and said the type looked exactly like a much older set that he has. Now I just need the time to utilize them!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Systematic Theology, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very concise.

Date:August 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Daniel
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Even if the content were questionable, the shipping was fast, and the price was fantastic. But, the content was very concise, easier to read than I thought, and does a great job with the expository of scripture.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Systematic Theology, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Definitely worth it without question.

Date:September 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Allan
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price:
Book one in itself is worth $9.99 nuff said about that.
Content:
Every man that has the call of God to enter the ministry needs to have it and read it.
It should be a mandatory read before ever stepping in the pulpit.
Every Christian man and woman and Christian teenage boy and girl should read it as well. Good stuff. Highly recommended.
Quality of the Book itself:
Hendrickson Publishers in my experience seem to provide quality made books.
With that said, I suppose if you put it to an open flame or through a shredder the quality apparently would prove pointless.
But to "read it" and use it "normally" it will last a very long time.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Systematic Theology, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sandi
Location:Idaho
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I think this is an excellant read. I have a hard time putting it down. Thank you
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Systematic Theology, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Seminal

Date:June 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Irishmonk
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How can you look at all the Systematic Theology texts that follow and not own this series? It is the basis of most of what has been written either in agreement with or against it in the 20th and 21st centuries.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Systematic Theology, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Steven Barry Reeve
I bought the 3 volumes that comprise this set and I do find them useful, one criticism that I would have on this set is that there are some statements in Latin. This may have been well and good in the time when Hodge wrote them as then most schoolchildren were given at least a smattering of Latin, but nowadays it is not taught as widely as it once was. I feel that some footnotes could have been added for the sake of those who do not understand Latin, but don't let that put you off as it is only occasional and as I said earlier I find them useful.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Systematic Theology, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
Brady Buford
I sent these to my brother Brady, He was so excited, He said they really help with his studies. He has become ordained as a minister recently, the systematic theology helps to better prepare him when the time comes to lead a congreation. Thank You
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Systematic Theology, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sharon Fry
Lewis S. Chafer is one of the most precienttheologians of this century! All volumes of his Systematic Theology are far superior to any I have found in the past 80 years.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Systematic Theology, Volume 1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Mark London
All three volumes of Hodge's Systematic Theology are absolutely fantastic. And for a sale price of $19.99 for over 2000 pages of exceptional and meaty discussion on virtually every major theological topic they are they best theology bargain around. Some other reviews have critiqued the binding as being a bit too stiff. Yes, the binding is a bit still and if you wish to read these volumes while holding them in one hand they you may have a difficult time. But let's face it--Hodge's Systematic Theology isn't light summer reading. Get a comfortable chair, a good cup of coffee, a pen and notepad, and delve into the mind of probably the greatest Reformed theologian of the 19th century.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.