Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan The Scent of Water: Grace For Every Kind of Broken - eBook

Zondervan The Scent of Water: Grace For Every Kind of Broken - eBook

Follow Naomi as she talks to women working in brothels in Mumbai; survivors of an Indonesian tsunami in which more than 160,000 lives were lost; a young girl waiting on an operation to save her life; and victims of domestic violence horrifically burned by fire. Be still with her when she realizes the pain she feels in the face of these extreme injustices reveals a common struggle that exists within all of humanity. And rise with her as she wrestles with confusion over her identity, comes face to face with redemption, and then begins to understand her own story...and to find her calling.

The Scent of Water will open your eyes to the complexities of the world, showing you pain can also be beauty, and how each are found in the unlikeliest of places.

Average Customer Rating:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
30 out of 30100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Scent of Water: Grace For Every Kind of Broken - eBook
Review 1 for The Scent of Water: Grace For Every Kind of Broken - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Rare Pearls.

Date:January 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sufficient in Jesus
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This fine, poetic book by Naomi Zacharias is described best by it's subtitle. Grace for every kind of broken.
The title of the book comes from the Scriptures in Job, about the tree whose stump is dead in the ground.
"Yet at the scent of water it will bud..." The mere scent of healing and life will make a tree put forth shoots.
What if the scent of Grace could be to the heart the scent of water?
What if the scent of hope and healing could help a heart bud forth again?
Sensitive is the word to describe Naomi's writing style, a sensitivity to the truth of Scripture and to the hurting human heart. This sensitivity should characterize us as Christians.
Her love of India and other corners of the world God has made shine in this book.
Most of us will never see these places in our lifetime- Naomi takes us there. The people and the world they live in... the exploited streets of Amsterdam where girls with wide eyes stand behind windows for sale... the little boy selling colored scarves who trotted beside Naomi and asked her to buy him milk.
She tells us their stories... our stories.
As Naomi says, I would be the girl behind the window, if what had happened to her had happened to me. There is no difference between us.
Once upon a time there was a lady selling pearls.
She showed her customer round, common, pink pearls, all the same. Objectively beautiful pearls.
Then the customer noticed a rare black pearl. It was not smooth, or pink. It caught the light and reflected it in a way the smooth pearls did not. The merchant saw the customers eyes on the rare pearl.
"'Some people see them as flawed," the merchant said,"While others see them as special."
The customer bought all four black pearls, in their uneven and unique beauty, and gifted them to friends of hers. One of those friends was Naomi Zacharias, and the little pearl became a metaphor for those whose life is not smooth, pink and flawless. Which is all of us.
In India there was a girl, Prema, who was burned as a child trying to make tea. She is now a reconstructive surgeon, head of the department at a Christian Medical College. She treats burn victims. "As Prema sat across from me in a striking sari of pink and green, I was captivated by her.
She exuded strength...something reminiscent of the architectural grace and genius of a pillar. She is a strikingly beautiful woman. It is not in spite of the scars, and not only because of them. A scar is not the source of beauty; it can only indicate the presence of of something that lies beneath its surface and guide you to its hidden depths. And in doing so, it becomes the symbol of beauty itself."
In the Netherlands there was a girl forced into "legal" prostitution. The girl was a branded body to the men who use her and a statistic to the outside world. A statistic without a face, until Naomi met her. Then she was a wounded girl with a real name and an aching soul- sold into slavery by a man, unprotected by the government she lives under because she is now considered a legal prostitute. Her government is proud of its sadistic "sex tourism". The government is not the one covered in bruises and demeaned every day by brutal attacks.
The orphanage in South Africa there was a young boy was bound to a plywood board, his neck broken from being dropped as a baby. He could not move his head. But when Naomi stroked his cheek, tears rolled down his face, and his dark eyes turned to hers. He could not speak. "Words were lost in translation. But there was something that transcended limitations. It was a language, not of country or ethnicity or mental capacity, but of humanity; it was the power of human touch and the potential it carries to soothe a wound deep inside a soul."
One upon a time a theologian prayed that God would break his heart for everything that broke God's own heart.
The pain and brokenness of the world certainly breaks our Father's heart.
This world has little time for broken people.
It teaches us to deny our brokenness,
to be ashamed of brokenness,
to hide from brokenness, to run from brokenness.
Instead the world peddles false strength,
false perfection,
and false idols.
But God doesn't want us to run from brokenness, to deny brokenness, to be ashamed of brokenness. "I thought I was running from something," Naomi writes, "As it turns out, I was running toward something. In the presence of things that were broken- dreams, intentions, ambitions, and human spirit-I found invaluable lessons in life in the vulnerability of Annie and her convicting questions; the integrity of greif and acceptance of Anna, the angst and perseverance of Mariam. These are present day examples of age old stories. These people have not established my belief in whom or what God uses, they were just revelations in real time of what God had already told me."
Naomi's writing helps break our heart a little bit so that we can open up our own brokenness to His Grace.
I was blessed to receive my copy of Scent of Water from zondervan.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Scent of Water: Grace For Every Kind of Broken - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A very real look at life at its best and worst

Date:April 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
LRose
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really enjoyed reading this book and the stories told are truly captivating. It can be hard to explain the horrible things that happen in this world and many people wonder why God would allow such unspeakable things to even happen. I don't think any person can explain that and have it make complete sense, but this book does a wonderful job showing God's love, forgiveness, and redemption in circumstances that may otherwise seem hopeless. It beautifully shows that, as humans, we are all connected on a deep level, regardless of our current situation, our religious beliefs (or lack of), our skin color, or any past wrongs or trauma we have been through or may have put others through. Everyone Naomi meets she feels this connection with and by acting out the love that Christ has for us, she feels compassion for all people, regardless of how different their life has been from hers.
I give it 4 stars instead of 5 for a couple reasons. First, I got a bit confused a couple times during the telling of all her travels and adventures. There were a lot of different friends, friends of friends, and newly met people in the same field who were going to help her in a new country, for example. Sometimes I would reread things a few times and still not understand who was doing what or bringing her where and when. Eventually, I decided it wasn't too important to try to figure out since the overall story made sense so I stopped trying and just kept reading. The other thing that stood out to me at the end was how little information is given of the author's story compared to the other stories she retells throughout the book. Maybe she wasn't comfortable giving out details on her divorce (which is only mentioned a few times, but not elaborated on) and other personal struggles, and I guess if that's the case you can't really blame her. But, in a book full of other women's stories with very personal and even embarrassing details it seemed a bit odd that she didn't explain her own a little more. Like I said, maybe she just wasn't comfortable doing that, but with a book that was pretty much half her own story and half the stories of others I felt a little unsatisfied at the end of the book.
Overall though this is a great book and although it is a quick read, it can be hard at times because of the upsetting, but all too true, content. The stories require you to examine yourself and your own life and how much of the grace that we all need you are giving to others, and to yourself.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Scent of Water: Grace For Every Kind of Broken - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What a wonderful book - a gift from God really

Date:April 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Priscilla from Tortilla
Location:Calgary, Alberta
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a wonderful book - a gift from God really in a time of great loss for me. Just a few weeks ago, I lost my wonderful 92 year old father. My family and I have had a few years of one devastating situation seemingly followed by another, and Naomi's honesty about trials and loss in her own life was a timely balm to my soul. It gave me hope for every situation - God IS the great restorer, no matter how hopeless and horrible things may seem to us. Thank you Naomi for letting the wonderful light and love of God shine through your words in this life giving book!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Scent of Water: Grace For Every Kind of Broken - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Book!

Date:March 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Snoopy
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a wonderful book. It helps put things in perspective since we often forget how blessed we are.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Scent of Water: Grace For Every Kind of Broken - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sobering, moving, engaging.

Date:January 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Hannah
Location:Carthage, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Regarding the book: The Scent of Water: Grace for Every Kind of Broken by Naomi Zacharias.
I ranked Naomi excellent across the board, and a ten for Christian Book.com's outstanding service, specifically stating that your company is efficient, honest and easy.
Naomi provided an awareness of many women and children whom are at risk in the world. The author also explained that for those whom feel themselves spiritually bankrupt, there still remains hope in God. She also discusses the orientation of the church toward those whom have committed what some believers have judged to be gross sins. Naomi takes time to address this judgment, describe the feelings created in a person accused of this, and how it has the effect to quarantine them as an unclean group.
Despite the pain involved in what many individuals experience, Naomi reminds the reader that there is hope in the grace and peace the Lord freely gives to one having a broken heart.
Naomi also had a wonderful writing style and employed effective writing techniques. I can see more books coming from her.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Scent of Water: Grace For Every Kind of Broken - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautifully written.

Date:October 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
janet
Location:Darlington IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
From the very 1st paragraph of the prologue I was engaged and excited about the pages to follow.
What a gift the author possesses. Beautiful language to
communicate God's grace.
I look forward to more of her writing which deeply touched my heart.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Scent of Water: Grace For Every Kind of Broken - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good read for women

Date:September 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
lynniegirl
Location:OR
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A poignant rendering of tough subjects. Naomi is real and vulnerable, thus giving the rest of us permission to feel and not hide our emotions. In a word, she offers us the grace she was given. A thought-provoking read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Scent of Water: Grace For Every Kind of Broken - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Barbara Leis
Location:Alabama
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book shares the Author's heart in a deep and touching
way. Having been a missionary to Kenya and Uganda for
several years, I understand the difficulties she encountered
with girls and women in Amsterdam and Mumbai.
I wish she would have shared her own personal life a little
more.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Scent of Water: Grace For Every Kind of Broken - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautifully inspiring reading!

Date:September 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Helena
Location:Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reading this book became the highlight of my day. I found the stories and the warm style of the author very encouraging and inspiring.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Scent of Water: Grace For Every Kind of Broken - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent, thought-provoking book

Date:August 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Debra in Tucson
Location:Tucson, AZ
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was intellectually and emotionally stimulating. Naomi Zacharias is a remarkable Christian woman whose empathy for others is evident. I have recommended this book to others and they also find it moving and deeply insightful. I expected this book to be depressing, but found it to be uplifting. I praise God for people that are helping others in many parts of the world out of their love for Christ.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Scent of Water: Grace For Every Kind of Broken - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Touches the Heart

Date:August 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
thirsty
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love how she writes. The book grabs you right from the beginning and keeps you. I bought three books for my friends how incredible it relates so much to where their at right now I can't wait to hear back from them and their opinion on it. I would love to sit down with Naomi and have coffee with her she's a friend I didn't know I had.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Scent of Water: Grace For Every Kind of Broken - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
partner
Location:Maryland
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Naomi's book makes me ponder. She writes of people's very personal lives often in suffering and brings to life the significance each individual has in God's eyes including her own. It is a very real reminder that we are never to judge by appearance or circumstance bringing to life what the apostle James wrote when he said," Mercy triumphs over judgment!" She ultimately brings to life an awesome, and incomprehensible God and how He uses His people to execute His mercy. Thank you Naomi...
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Scent of Water: Grace For Every Kind of Broken - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book

Date:July 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Tammie 1961
Location:Laurens, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book had me hooked from the 1st chapter, it was both heartbreaking & uplifting at the same time. I came to realize the more I read the book, that we all have scars but that God can heal each & every one. He can turn our heartache into a testimony for Him.
tpb
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Scent of Water: Grace For Every Kind of Broken - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great insight

Date:July 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ditty
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
I loved this book and I related to some of her hurts having been there before. She is so tender and God is so real to her. God has been my father since I was three as my earthly father died leaving me and my twin brother, two sisters and an older brother for my godly mother to raise in the early thirties. I thank God for her. I hope to meet my physical father in heaven one day. I went through divorce and have lived alone for almost forty yrs. God is truly my strength and salvation and my father.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Scent of Water: Grace For Every Kind of Broken - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I enjoyed the reading........

Date:June 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Penny
Location:Steinbach, Mb.
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was excited to read this book, and learned so much about things going on that are never in the news.
I intend to read it again because I need to grasp more of the `heart` of Naomi and her ministry.
The Title grabbed my attention at the very outset!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Scent of Water: Grace For Every Kind of Broken - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A wonderful though provoking book.

Date:June 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
kcrutchf
Location:St. Clair Shores, MI
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Naomi Zacharius is a wonderful writer. She spins a story that kept me wanting to move on to the next chapter. Reading this book has changed my outlook on life and the way I look at those with less fortunate circumstances than mine.
A must read!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Scent of Water: Grace For Every Kind of Broken - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book exceeded my expectations

Date:June 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Peace
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would have liked this book however it was written because of the subject matter. But the style it was written in totally absorbed me. It read like poetry and gripped me. I loved the symbolism. Going through a time of emotional healing myself I was deeply touched by Naomi`s journey and that of the lives she touched.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Scent of Water: Grace For Every Kind of Broken - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
David Grant
Location:Encino, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great support and inspiration for those who are moved by the needs of people. Gave copies to people who are involved in such ministries.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Scent of Water: Grace For Every Kind of Broken - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lakepaddler
Location:Sault Ste Marie, ON
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A view from places many of us have not experienced but also connects with all of us who seek after our Lord - a wonderful & thought provoking read.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Scent of Water: Grace For Every Kind of Broken - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Carma Pollard
Location:Greenfield IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Naomi's journey brought to mind my own. I also wrestle with who I am and what is my purpose outside of worshiping the Lord and growing more like Him. It is a story that I will read more than once. Thank you Naomi!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>