Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell The Lesson, Stoney Ridge Seasons Series #3 -eBook

Revell The Lesson, Stoney Ridge Seasons Series #3 -eBook

In her wildest dreams, spunky and impulsive nineteen-year-old Mary Kate Lapp never imagined herself behind a schoolteacher's desk. A run-in (literally) with the schoolteacher compels her to act as a substitute teacher, just as her restless desire to see the world compels her to apply for a passport . . . just in case. The only thing of interest to M.K. in the sleepy Amish community of Stoney Ridge is the unexplained death of a sheep farmer that coincided with the arrival of a mysterious young man into the community. Frustrated that no one takes the crime seriously, she takes matters into her own hands. Unfortunately, as tends to be the case for M.K., she jumps headlong into trouble.
Average Customer Rating:
4.818 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
22 out of 22100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Lesson, Stoney Ridge Seasons Series #3 -eBook
Review 1 for The Lesson, Stoney Ridge Seasons Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful series, Explosive ending!

Date:January 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
wfnren
Location:St Cloud, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
M.K. is nineteen and she hasn't changed much, she is still speaking before thinking, always in a hurry and now has even thought about traveling to other countries, she's even gotten a passport application. The only thing keeping her in Appleseed Creek is that she loves her family, doesn't want to disappoint her Daed and she wants to stay Amish.
One day as she was riding her red scooter home from town she hears a gunshot and backtracks to investigate. She see's the sheep farmer laying dead in his field so she hurries to call 911. Then in a hurry to get home and tell her family about it she literally runs into Alice Smucker, yet again. Alice claims she has a concussion and is taken to the hospital. When M.K. finally gets home no one is there so she waits, and waits, and waits till late that evening. Amos Lapp and his wife Fern finally get home and proceed to tell M.K. know that the community needs a teacher since Alice Smucker is in the hospital with a concussion. Yep, Fern did it, suggested M.K. to fill in. M.K., a teacher, she thinks not, there is no way! Well, M.K. is to be the teacher for up to three weeks, well 'MAYBE' three weeks.
M.K. still has the detective in her also and won't stay away from the murder scene. She even sneaks out one night and just about finds herself arrested, instead the sheriff takes her home in his patrol car. A few days later she goes to the sheriff with some information and just about gets an innocent man arrested.
Jimmy Fisher and M.K. are now more friends than enemies, although they both get into mischief, Jimmy has a lot more problems than M.K. He's into horse racing, gambling, and loving girls and leaving them. When he makes a deal with M.K. to be introduced to the girl he's picked out to be his 'missus', he finds out she isn't what he wants and decides the one he wants is the one that is now his closest friend, but is Jimmy who M.K. wants.
Chris Yoder and his sister Jenny are new to the community, or are they new? They have moved into Colonel Mitchell's house and Chris is looking for a job so he can repair the dilapidated house. The man at the hardware store sends him to the Lapp's because Amos is looking for help. Amos hires him and is very impressed with the young man, both his work and the person he is. He's impressed until he learns who he really is anyway.
I really enjoyed this book, I think it was because it was focused on M.K. and her maturing as the story moves along. She is still the interesting M.K. from the first two books though. Wow, those last few chapters were wonderful, a lot happening there and at one point my jaw dropped. I was expecting this 'thing' to happen but finally decided it wouldn't, all of a sudden there it was!
Since this series deals with one family I'm really glad I read it in order otherwise I think the stories would have been ruined for me. Suzanne did a good job on this series with an explosive ending.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Lesson, Stoney Ridge Seasons Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Suzanne Woods Fisher Has Done It Again!

Date:December 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
ruthhill74
Location:Yelm, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well, Suzanne Woods Fisher has done it again with an absolutely amazing Amish book about the Lapps, one of my favorite Amish books to read about! And this book is by far my favorite. It has everything--romance, mystery, heartache, and the undying spirit of the Amish people. If I didn't love my modern conveniences so much, I could easily turn Amish myself!!
I connected with M.K. so well because I am a teacher. She was an unwlling teacher, but she discovered, as I did, how much she loved it. I love the way she worked to discover how to teach every child to meet their individual needs. It was also good to see that Amish children are just like children elswhere!
I was mesmerized by the trail of mysteries running through the book. This is so much more than a coming-of-age story or even a romance. Yes, you will be certain to get your fill of genuine romance. But through it all, the hand of God guided each character that allowed Him to. Notwithstanding, even the Amish are not protected from the evil and harships of this world. I loved Chris, and I never liked Jimmy. You'll see that for herself.
If you are new to Amish fiction or an absolute Amish-fiction freak, this book will not disappoint you. It is by far the best in the Stoney Ridge series (at least in my opinion).
I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I was not financially compensated, and all opinions are 100 percent mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Lesson, Stoney Ridge Seasons Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fun!

Date:May 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A book that will bring a smile to your face!
I have long wondered what exactly was going on in M.K.'s head, so I was pretty excited to find out in M.K.'s story. This book was such a fun read, because I got to revisit some of my favorite characters from previous books, like Hank, Fern, Amos, M.K. and Jimmy Fisher, as well as the new family in town.
This book was full of plenty of great storylines, with M.K. working to solve a murder and helping Jimmy Fisher get his future Missus to take notice of him :) Along with Chris trying to make a stable home for him and his sister.
Overall, this is one of those books that you can just sit back and relax with. I couldn't keep from smiling as I read. M.K. is such a fun character! An utterly enjoyable read!
I received this book from the publisher in return for an honest review. Thanks!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Lesson, Stoney Ridge Seasons Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Book 3 and a GREAT Book

Date:February 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Debbie
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Book was supplied to me by Baker Publishing Group through NetGalley for a review in return.
Book Description
In her wildest dreams, spunky and impulsive nineteen-year-old Mary Kate Lapp never imagined herself behind a schoolteacher's desk. A run-in (literally) with the schoolteacher compels her to act as a substitute teacher, just as her restless desire to see the world compels her to apply for a passport . . . just in case. The only thing of interest to M.K. in the sleepy Amish community of Stoney Ridge is the unexplained death of a sheep farmer that coincided with the arrival of a mysterious young man into the community. Frustrated that no one takes the crime seriously, she takes matters into her own hands. Unfortunately, as tends to be the case for M.K., she jumps headlong into trouble.
My Review
This Book is the 3rd book in the Series Stoney Ridge Seasons. I really hate that this series about the 3 sisters has to come to a close, but I understand that it has to happen. This book was good from the first page to the last one. This book is about the youngest daughter of Amos Lapp, Mary Kate, or as she is called in the book “M.K.”. Hehe.
This book was so good and I laughed a lot and cried also, as I always do with such great books. This book is about MK getting into so much trouble and then for her punishment she has to teach school. She doesn’t think she can do this, but she does do it and it hits a soft spot inside of her soul. In the meantime, she meets Chris Yoder and he has a little sister, who is one of MK’s scholars. Interesting things happen and I don’t want to spoil it for you so I will not say anymore. But, MK is hilarious.
Thank you, Suzanne Woods Fisher for giving all of us Amish readers such GREAT books to read. This pertains to anyone who loves a good book, which you certainly have provided for all of us.
Thank you Baker Publishing, for giving me the opportunity to read this book and give my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Lesson, Stoney Ridge Seasons Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Great End To A Great Series!

Date:February 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Judy K Burgi
Location:Kendallville, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am sorry to see this series come to an end. I fell in love with Mary Kate (M.K.) from the first book “The Keeper.” Quite frankly I will miss the whole Lapp family. They weave a special place in your heart. I found myself yearning for a family just like theirs. Yes, they had their share of problems but there was never a lack of love shining through. Their faith in God is such a strong faith and is shared freely with those they come in touch with.
Mary Kate, what can I say? In this book we find that she has matured and grown up. I hope down the road the author will write another book updating us on the Lapp family. I’d love to read what happens to Mary Kate. Does she finally learn true contentment?
My heart went out to Chris and Jenny (Mitchell) Yoder. What their mother did to them broke my heart. I felt their pain. I cried for them. I also cheered for them as the Lapp family surrounded them with their love.
I can’t say enough about how much I enjoyed this book. I hope everyone will pick up this series and read about the Lapp family. Thank you Suzanne Woods Fisher for pure reading enjoyment!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Lesson, Stoney Ridge Seasons Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

An insight into the Amish community

Date:February 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Christine M. Irvin
Location:Columbus, OH
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Author Suzanne Woods Fisher takes her readers into the world of the Amish, a community that is often much misunderstood by outsiders, in her newest book, The Lesson.
Nineteen-year-old Mary Kay Lapp, better known as M.K., is the least likeliest person to be a school teacher. She was one of those students that had difficulty paying attention in class, was constantly bored, and couldn’t wait to graduate. But after the community’s teacher, Alice Smucker, decides to take the first three weeks of school off to recover from injuries M.K. caused, M.K. is appointed by the school board to be the substitute teacher.
M.K. would rather do just about anything than be stuck in a class room all day again. When a local sheep farmer is mysteriously shot dead in his field, a “crime” M.K. hears but not sees, her detective antennae instantly go into high alert. She pictures herself as a sort of detective and is just itching to “help” the authorities solve this mysterious murder. Also, she keeps dreaming of the day when she can leave her little Amish community behind and travel around the world.
So, when she is forced to teach school, at first she is very reluctant to do so. The position is supposed to be for only three weeks, but of course, things don’t go as planned. And, as a teacher, M.K. is forced to deal with students that try her patience, much like she tried Miss Smucker’s patience in the past.
As if all this weren’t enough, two young men, one born Amish who M.K. has known since childhood, and one who wasn’t born Amish but has been baptized as an Amish and is new to the community, are vying for M.K.’s attention and affection. Needless to say, it’s difficult for her to keep her mind on her work.
What I Like: I like reading stories about the Amish. It’s a fascinating culture, and one I was exposed to during my childhood as there were Amish who lived within a buggy ride of our small town. The Amish came to our town to shop at the hardware store there, and it wasn’t unusual to see a horse and buggy tied up out front of the store. I have a great respect for these quiet, industrious people, and I always like learning more about them. The text is also peppered with plenty of Pennsylvania Dutch sayings that lend themselves well to the story.
And, the author includes a list of discussion questions at the end of the book.
What I Dislike: Although this is a good story, and I did enjoy reading it, there were a few things I didn’t like about it. For instance, the author over-used the word “zoomed” in the narrative. M.K. had a scooter that she rode most everywhere she went. When talking about it, the author kept saying she “zoomed” here or she “zoomed” there. Perhaps the words “sped”, “wheeled” or “rolled” could have been substituted on occasion.
The author also included a few sentences that were awkwardly phrased, including one that ended, “…just one more leaf less.” How about simply saying, “….just one leaf less”?
And, when one of the characters moves into a house that needs a lot of repairs, why did he wait so long to fix a broken window? Seems to me, if you move into a house with a broken pane of window glass, one of the first things you would do would be to either replace the broken glass or at least cover the hole to keep weather, insects and other critters out. But, in this story, the window wasn’t repaired for several weeks.
Overall Rating: Even with its shortcomings, I think this story still deserves a “very good” rating. The author did a good job of giving the reader insights into the Amish community, developing her characters, keeping all the story lines going in a cohesive manner, and providing numerous twists and turns in the plot.
Age Appeal: Young adult.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Lesson, Stoney Ridge Seasons Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fun but hard-hitting

Date:January 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sarah Sundin
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Three hallmarks of Suzanne's writing draw me to her books--her multi-faceted characters, her delightful sense of humor, and her willingness to tackle tough subjects. All three are showcased in The Lesson. M.K. is a charming troublemaker and makes humor abound in the story, but she also grows and learns to take responsibility for her actions. And Chris is fascinating, torn between love for his chosen Amish community, duty to protect his younger sister, and loyalty to his drug-addicted mother. The story explores the heartbreak of addiction and the children left behind when parents are incarcerated - and the reality is not sugar-coated.
Even if you don't ordinarily read Amish fiction, I highly recommend this novel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Lesson, Stoney Ridge Seasons Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I Loved This Book~

Date:January 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Carrie Shindorf
Location:Cosby, Missouri
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love to read Amish books and visit the Amish as often as I can. One of my favorite authors is Suzanne Woods Fisher. She feels like a friend. I follow her on facebook and in the blog world. She leaves me comments and we have chatted a time or two.
But what I really love about Suzanne is that when I really want a time out in this fast paced life~ I can pick up one of her books and I am never disappointed. I am carried away to the quiet life as if I myself were getting to be apart of the simple life that I admire so much.
This book is the third book to the Stoney Ridge Seasons~ and of course you know I have read them all. I recommend buying all the books but this book stands alone as well.
I loved this book. MK instantly grabbed my attention as a young Amish girl who just does not fit in the box. I sort of like people who don't march to the same ol' drum. She is constantly looking for excitement to only find herself in trouble. She finds her little Amish community boring and is always stirring up something.
When an unknown young man comes to town she decides to play detective and thinks she has it all figured out~ or does she. This book answers the family secrets and concludes the ending to the series. I know you will not want to miss this book~ I loved it!
Suzanne~ you have done it again. Great Book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Lesson, Stoney Ridge Seasons Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
sunny island breezes
Location:a sunny island
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We’re back with the Lapp family and the one daughter, Mary Kate, who’s left at home. Headstrong and impulsive, M.K. happens upon a murder scene and just can’t stay out of the investigation.
Chris Yoder, both secretive and new in town, is at the center of M.K.’s suspicions. Things start going downhill rapidly with her meddling.
M.K. gets roped into teaching school in hopes of settling her down. It doesn’t seem to be working.
Toss in a couple young men for romance and it appears that her life will keep on disrupting everyone else’s.
The Stoney Ridge Seasons series has been a good one. I wonder what Suzanne Woods Fisher has in store for us next.
***A special thank you to Donna Hausler for providing a review copy.***
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Lesson, Stoney Ridge Seasons Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A wonderful ending to a beautiful series!!!

Date:January 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mary Kate Lapp is a bit like George Bailey from It's A Wonderful Life. Filled with dreams of exotic places and all she desires is the right time to set out on her journey. But at nineteen, she's still struggling to find her place in the world. She's a bit impulsive, over-active, and what some would call a bit of a busy body. Still she sees nothing wrong with her flittering in and out of people's lives around her. Until they seem to lead to trouble when she least expects it. Yet Mary Kate or M.K. as her friends and family refer to her, is more than smart. She's determined, a bit strong-willed and persistent. Since adventure has yet to find her, she's making plans for something more.
As luck would have it, adventure happens when and where she least expects it. While riding in her buggy one afternoon she hears a loud boom and when she investigates, it leads her to find a sheep farmer who has been murdered. M.K. takes a personal responsibility to find out who the murderer is before they kill in her small Amish community once again. But the police are less than pleased with M.K.'s offer to help solve the crime. So she does what any determined young women with a curious mind would, she sets out to find clues on her own.
While in the process she runs in to quite literally, Alice Smucker, who is the town's local drama queen. When she insists that she is going to die and requests that M.K. summons an ambulance, fate intervenes. Now that Alice is out of commission, the town needs a substitute teacher and the board has just the right person in mind. That's right, M.K. After all she spent the last eight-years under Alice's schooling and isn't the slightest bit pleased when they want her to fill in for the next three weeks. She doesn't have the slightest clue how to teach a class and her room full of students is about to unleash their worst on poor M.K. Adventure has indeed come to town.
In the novel, The Lesson by Suzanne Woods Fisher, we find ourselves at the concluding book in the Stoney Ridge Seasons series. In this one, the story revolves around M. K. or Mary Kate Lapp who seems to always be right in the middle of everything when she least expects it or when people would rather have her any place else. But besides adventure has she grown up enough to perhaps find someone to share in her spirited adventures or will she simply be too busy to notice what is right in front of her eyes. Just who is the new stranger that has moved into town and just why does he seem to keep to himself all the time. Is he in fact hiding something? Could it be that M.K. has found the murderer after all right beneath her nose the whole time? Well, you will need to pick this one up for yourself to find out.
I received The Lesson by Suzanne Woods Fisher compliments of Litfuse Publicity and Revell Publishers for my honest review. Having read the previous books in the series, The Keeper and The Haven, I was super excited to see how Suzanne would bring all this to a closure. It can be read as a stand alone but to really get to know the characters of Stoney Ridge, you will want to pick up the other two books. This is a delightful end to the most animated character in this series and one I could relate to quite a bit with my own version of M.K. in my youngest daughter. It has allowed me to see her a bit differently than I did before and like the ending of the book, it all comes full circle when you can see where it has all been going before. For fans of Christian Amish Romance with a bit of mystery attached, you will want to place this one on your must read list! I rate this one a 5 out of 5 stars!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Lesson, Stoney Ridge Seasons Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

THE LESSON

Date:January 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Patsdream
Location:Huntsville, AL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
M.K. (Mary Kate) is a favorite character of mine from two other books. Now M.K. is grown up and still getting into trouble. She bursts into a room, wants to know everything about everyone (she wants to be a detective) and she's not your typical Amish young lady. She hears a gun shot and hurries to find out where it came from. She finds a farmer in the field - dead. Then she finds out that an old frien has talked to her Dad about marrying M.K. Only he forgot to see how Mary Kate felt about it. Could there be someone else in her future? Will she learn to stay away from a crime scene? Join Mary Kate in a romping good time. Suzanne Woods Fisher shows humor, how even an heroine can get into trouble & has to learn to rely on God. Suzanne always brings her faith nto her writing, makes her characters come alive and they aren't perfect. You won't be disappointed in any of her books. I haven't been.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Lesson, Stoney Ridge Seasons Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a fantastic amish mystery

Date:January 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Marianne
Location:Wanham, Alberta
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What kind of lessons can a 19 year old Amish girl need that she has not already been taught from her mother and father and peers in the home or in the one room school she attended at a child? Mary Kate (also known as M.K. to her family and friends) yearns for adventure and is determined to find it.
Suzanne Woods Fischer does a great job of taking her readers into the mind of this nineteen year old Amish girl, and not only do we see a young girl grow from an impulsive teenager to one who is content with her life, but we also learn more about the ways of the Amish.
With humor and understanding we follow Mary Kate as she tries single handed to draw the attention of the community to the things she feels is a priority.
Why do we love to read stories about the Amish? For myself, I think it is because their culture is so much like it was before the days of technology, vehicles and electricity and yet the same temptations that assault me, are there for them, too. Also, this is another genre where we know when we pick up the book it will be clean, with no unexpected scenes of sex or the like to surprise us. It is one that I can gladly recommend to young girls as well as grandmothers and everyone in between with confidence.
i recieved this book free from Bethany Publishers free through the Litfuse publicity program in exchange for an honest review. A positive critique was not required. The opinions stated are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Lesson, Stoney Ridge Seasons Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic finish for a series

Date:January 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pam Burke
Location:Potosi, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mary Kate Lapp -- or M.K. as most folks call her -- is one of the most fun and interesting characters to pop off the pages of a book in a while! She first appears as a precocious young girl in The Keeper, book one in the Stoney Ridge Seasons series. She continues to play an important role in book two, The Haven. And then she plunges head-first into adventure in this conclusion to the series -- The Lesson. As you read the story, you may find yourself alternating between laughing at M.K.'s antics and wanting to shake some sense into her head and heart, but she will definitely keep your interest.
As always, Suzanne Woods Fisher gives her readers another great Amish story. Her well-developed characters provide just the right mix of adventure, fun, love and faith. The Amish romance is present but is not the main emphasis of the story. Watching Mary Kate Lapp and Chris Yoder each grow through some internal and external struggles as they interact with family and friends makes for a very enjoyable read. The slowly developed storyline of the connection between the two families provides a really interesting twist as well. And even though the story ends without all the loose ends tied up in a nice little bundle, you can step away from the series knowing that the characters have learned the important lessons they need to face whatever events are headed their way.
I give 5 stars to Suzanne Woods Fisher's The Lesson.
Available January 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
Thanks to Revell for providing me a free copy of this book for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Lesson, Stoney Ridge Seasons Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Endearing and Funny

Date:January 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Faith and Family Reviews
Location:Chicago, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Lesson by Suzanne Woods Fisher is the third book in the Stoney Ridge Seasons series. I have now read them all! It is about the youngest daughter of Amos Lapp whose name is Mary Kate. Mary Kate has grown up a lot since the last book by about 5-7 years if I remember without looking it up. She is now nineteen. She is just as curious, klutzy, hilariously funny with the vivid imagination of a dreamer….she could be part my daughter! lol!
The Lesson by Suzanne Woods Fisher
Mary Kate is learning to be content with where she’s at in life. She’s forced to take on a teaching job when she absolutely hated school when she attended, but that proves to be a good character building experience that leads to a more mature Mary Kate.
Unlike most Amish young women, Mary Kate was prone to getting into all kinds of scrapes from running into people with her red scooter to falsely accusing innocent people of murder and robbery!
In the first couple of pages of the book Mary Kate is convinced her purpose in life is to solve the death (or murder as she called it) of a local sheep farmer, but it leads her into all kinds of unwanted trouble.
I loved reading her journey to womanhood, contentment and yes, even love.
Many of you should know by now one of my favorite authors is Suzanne Woods Fisher. It’s not just because she writes about the Amish, but because she entertains me with her characters antics, life and behavior. Her books are more than just romance novels, they are more about life and relationships. And yes her books are about the life and character of the Amish but as a Christian every time I read one of her books I cannot help but think the community the Amish exhibit should be a template, if you will, for what Christian churches everywhere should be like.
The Lesson gets two thumbs up from me!
“Available January 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.”
Faith and Family Reviews received the following product in exchange for writing a review. While we consider it a privilege to receive products to review, our reviews are our honest opinion and thoughts of the product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Lesson, Stoney Ridge Seasons Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Funny and a little mystery

Date:January 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
poochiepepper
Location:Corpus Christi, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My favorite book so far from Suzanne Woods Fisher!! It was funny, a mystery involved, lots of things happening. I love when Fern tells MK "You know, Jenny, you live long enough in this world and you're going to get rained on. Simple as that." So true. A really good story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Lesson, Stoney Ridge Seasons Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

"The Lesson"

Date:January 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Shoopette
Location:Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Since I was already familiar with the characters in this series, it was nice to be able to jump right into the story and reconnect with the folks in Stoney Ridge. And since I felt the previous book, The Haven, had a cliff-hanger ending, I was looking forward to seeing how Sadie's story would be resolved. But when we jump into this novel, everything with Sadie has been resolved without finding out how any of it happened!
So, that was a bit frustrating, but I really like it when each book in a series tells a different person's story, and I was looking forward to see what Mary Kate would be up to in this one.
From the beginning, the storylines were interesting, and Mary Kate was a fun character to read about, but I could not relate to her at all. That is fine, since I’m sure that other readers will be able to connect with her, but my personality is just so completely opposite from hers that she sometimes just got on my nerves. This annoying aspect was more towards the beginning of the book, though, since M.K. grew a lot throughout this novel, which is something that I really like.
This book does a lot of head-hopping and has short scenes, which makes for a fun but sometimes a bit of a head-spinning read. I will say that I liked having the views and thoughts and feeling of all of the different characters right there in front of me. The plot in this novel moved along very well, and the twist was excellent! I didn’t see it coming, and that is unusual for me. But this twist and how everything came around full circle really made this book for me and ultimately upped the rating for this book.
The overall theme of forgiveness in this series, and especially in this novel, was also excellent. The kind of forgiveness that is portrayed can only be found through the power of Christ, and this was portrayed very well.
I really enjoyed this novel, but I really would have liked for the ending to have been fleshed out a bit more. The major storylines were completed, but there were things here and there that would have been nice to know in an epilogue or something. (Like did Julia end up having a girl?!) Since this is the end of the series, I guess I will just have to make up my own ‘down-the-road’ happenings in Julia, Sadie, and Mary Kate’s lives!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Lesson, Stoney Ridge Seasons Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

GREAT CONCLUSION TO THE STONEY RIDGE SEASONS TRILO

Date:January 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
My Book Addiction
Location:North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
THE LESSON by Suzanne Woods Fisher is an interesting inspirational Amish contemporary romance. Book 3 in the "Stoney Ridge Seasons",but can be read as a stand alone with some re-appearing characters. See," The Haven" and " The Keeper" not in order. I love this author's writing and "The Lesson" was no exception. This author draws the reader into her stories with her strong characters and interesting and intriguing plots. Follow, Mary Kate Lapp (M.K.) on a journey of discovery of herself, maturity,faith,finding love in unexpected places and an old family mystery. "The Lesson" is truly that a lesson in growing up. What a conclusion to the "Stoney Ridge Seasons" trilogy. Oh,don't forget to bring the tissues. Another hit for this author. I can hardly wait for her next story. A must read for not only Amish and contemporary romance readers but for anyone who enjoys a good,compelling story of love,faith,discovery and growing up. Received for an honest review from the publisher. For more details visit the author's website,Revell Books,a division of Baker Publishing Group and My Book Addiction and More.
“Available January 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.”
RATING: 4.5
HEAT RATING: SWEET
REVIEWED BY: AprilR, My Book Addiction and More/My Book Addiction Reviews
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Lesson, Stoney Ridge Seasons Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Lesson ~ Stoney Ridge #3

Date:January 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Its About Time Mamaw
Location:Cleveland, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mary Kate Lapp still has discontent for her life in Stoney Ridge. She has her sites and mind on faraway places. She has even gone as far as to acquire an application for a passport. Her mind and body are never still, they are always on fast forward. Then one day as she was racing down the road on her scooter she heard a gunshot and saw a man lying presumably dead in a field. She raced down the road to use the schoolhouse phone to call 911 and on the way back to the supposedly murder scene she encountered Alice Smucker the school teacher in the road. She had plowed over Alice with her scooter causing a supposedly concussed head injury causing her to have to go call 911 once again.
The Bishop decided since MK had caused the teacher's supposed injury MK then would take Alice's place as school teacher for approximately three weeks. Now MK would have like to argue the fact that Alice was a hypochondriac, but you just don't argue with the Bishop.
She thought this was the worst thing that could ever happen to her. She spent years trying to get out of the school house now she had to go back as a teacher. Being a teacher was much harder than she could ever have imagined. Her stepmother Fern suggested she speak to a wise old woman by the name of Erma. Erma was soon to be one hundred years old. She surprised MK by giving her some very wise advice about how to teach each individual child and as days went by she began enjoying her teaching position.
* * *
Jimmy Fisher an old schoolmate seeked MK for some advice about how to get his new love of his life to notice him. But as usual Jimmy jumped from one girl or job before you could blink an eye. He had a habit of sneaking off in the middle of a job or he would be checking out the race ponies. But he always had time to visit with MK.
With so much going on in Stoney Ridge not many noticed a couple of new residence. Will and his young sister Jenny had taken up residence in their Grandpa Mitchell's old home place. Everything should work out fine for them if he can keep a low profile a few months longer that is until he turns twenty-one then the old home place will be legally his. If his mother finds out where they are living she could cause a lot of trouble. That was what she was good at and had left him and his sister in foster care since he was eight years old and Jenny was one. This was not something he wanted the people of Stoney Ridge to know about them.
MK had met Will the same way she had plowed over the teacher, but this ended Will upside down in a muddy ditch. MK had no idea that Will was the new worker her father had hired to help with the farm.
Nor did she know that Jenny one of her students was Will's younger sister. Once MK found this out she invited Jenny to spend time at the her home until her brother got off work. The more time she spent with Will the more attracted she became to him. But for some reason he kept avoiding her which made her suspicious. What was he hiding? Here Mary Kate goes again! She is determined to play police detective and find out who Will really is and what he is hiding. She wondered if he had anything to do with the death of the farmer she had seen lying in the field?
I would love to tell you more but then that would spoil the story for you. So hurry and get a copy of this book and find out what secrets MK is able to uncover!
The author has outdone herself on this book. My family kept trying to distract me from my reading but I just kept shooing them away. In this book you have intrigue, intrigue and more intrigue. Along with humor, romance, heartaches and reconciliation, secrets hidden and I emphasize secrets, and secrets revealed. It has an abundance love and support of family. But most importantly their Faith in God.
Disclosure
I received a free copy of this book from Litfuse Group/Revell/Baker Publishing for review. I was in no way compensated for this review. It is my own opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Lesson, Stoney Ridge Seasons Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Meet delightful M.K. all grown up

Date:January 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Vera
Location:North Carolina
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My thoughts: When you crack the spine of an "Amish" book, you expect sedate, non-nonsense characters who live lives above reproach and who have wise sayings abounding to fit each and every occasion or situation.
Well, meet M.K (Mary Kate Lapp) - or perhaps you remember her from previous Stony Ridge stories. In The Lesson she is 19, unmarried, untethered, inquisitive, adventurous, and simply full-speed-ahead in life. You will find yourself laughing many times at the antics and situations in which M.K. positions herself.
She accidentally rams into her former school teacher as she scoots along on her push scooter. Now M.K. is suddenly thrust unwillingly into the classroom of the one-room-schoolhouse of the Amish in the community as Teacher M.K. The Bishop and her parents have decreed that this is what she will do because a teacher is needed and they say she is the one to do the job.
But about this same time a newcomer to the community catches her eye and she his but they are at odds with one another. But his younger sister is a student in the classroom. Investigative M.K. and quick to make conclusions M.K. seems to be in hot water and the past of the community catches them all in a tangled web.
In The Lesson there are various lessons being learned. Just as M.K. as Teacher M.K. learns to teach her classroom lessons to her charges she, herself, is confronted and learns many life lessons herself.
With a surprise at every turn a gentle romance, and a shocking answer to an old family mystery, The Lesson is the dramatic conclusion to the Stony Ridge Seasons series (book back cover)
DISCLOSURE: I was provided a complimentary review copy of The Lesson by Litfuse Publicity Group on behalf of the author and Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group to facilitate an honest review. Opinions expressed are solely my own. There was no obligation for a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Lesson, Stoney Ridge Seasons Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A bit wilder than most Amish fiction

Date:January 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Julieanne Miller
Location:Oregon
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Oh, another Amish book. I said I would read it, but really, the characters are always so good and proper, always doing the "right" thing.
But what a surprise! This book is different! Characters that have life and are not what we have come to expect from an Amish book. Suzanne Woods Fisher in book one of her Stoney Ridge Seasons series, The Lesson, has a lesson for all of us who think that to be Amish is to be prim and proper, and just a little boring. We all need to meet Mary Kate Lapp, better know as M.K. This delightful young lady can hear a murder being committed, and run into her school teacher with her scooter and knock her into a ditch all in one afternoon! Boring is not a descriptor of this character! Then, for her punishment, she is told to take the school teacher's place. And, she hated school! It was boring! And now she has to be the teacher? NEVER!
How M.K. becomes what she was never going to be, a school teacher, and learns to love it, provides a chuckle if not an outright laugh. She also meets a very understanding and desirable man who is the father of one of the students. Could he be the one? Maybe, maybe not.
For a fun read, enjoyable story and a completely different take on the life of an Amish girl, make The Lesson a must-read book. Since it is book one of the Stoney Ridge series, I believe that Mrs. Fisher has more stories for us to enjoy. Read on!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>