Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Crossway Books & Bibles The ESV Bible, Outreach Edition

Crossway Books & Bibles The ESV Bible, Outreach Edition

No book in the history of the world has had a greater impact on more lives than this one. In its pages are the secrets to truest happiness and deepest joy. Explore the wonders of God's Holy Word and have your life changed forever as you discover God's plan to save all those who will put their trust in Him.

  • 8 point text
  • Double-column format
  • Introductions to the Old and New Testaments
  • Book Introductions
  • Sectional Headings
  • Translation and textual notes
  • What the Bible Is All About
  • How to Read the Bible
  • Where to Find Help When You Are . . .
  • What the Bible Says About . . .
  • Getting Started: A Forty-Day Bible Reading Plan
  • God's Plan to Save You
  • One-Year Bible Reading Plan
  • 5 1/2" x 8 1/4" x 1"
  • Softcover
Average Customer Rating:
4.533 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The ESV Bible, Outreach Edition
Review 1 for The ESV Bible, Outreach Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Megan
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These are perfect for handing out at church - thank you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The ESV Bible, Outreach Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Laurel Marble
We own our own business and are in constant contact with the public. We were looking for an inexpensive outreach Bible that we could give away. The first thing I did was call my brother who has been in prison ministry for many years and asked him which version he uses to give to the prisoners. He said the ESV. We found this Outreach Edition and love the particular features especially "God's Plan to Save You", "What the Bible is All About" and the two Bible reading plans it has. The print is rather small and that's why I didn't give it a full 5 star rating but that is probably necessary to keep the book small. Definitely worth getting to keep or give away!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The ESV Bible, Outreach Edition
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Becky
A great price for a Bible to be used in group outreach efforts, evangelistic Bible studies, classes or things of that sort. The font is pretty small, but when you need to have the whole of Scripture at a great price you can't get to picky! The quality of the paper and cover is good, easy to thumb through (the pages don't stick together), and the English is easy to read for those who are not Bible-savvy (as in our evangelistic Bible study). The only drawback is that the 8-point font really is pretty small.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The ESV Bible, Outreach Edition
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Heartland Evangelical Free Church
Fast shipping. This is a great, affordable price for our church to keep several on hand to give away.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The ESV Bible, Outreach Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Erik Modahl
I purchased 5 bibles to give away. I bought one for myself a couple of years ago to see if I liked the version, now it has been a great evangelistic tool. I now am memorizing, meditating and studying in ESV.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The ESV Bible, Outreach Edition
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jennifer Murphy
Good Bible purchase, just be aware that the cover is flimsy, but thus the lower price. Nothing clear packing tape can make more durable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The ESV Bible, Outreach Edition
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
John Brown
I use this English Version for my Introductory Biblical Greek classes since it is based on the best scholarship (Westcot & Hort critical Greek text) and best archeology of our times. Even though it is easy to read for modern English speakers, it is still a literal translation making it very useful for Biblical Greek students.The language is both familiar for users of the KJV but still modern enough to be easy to read and remember. I am seeing ESV verses on cards, articles and quotes. To make it even more useful, there is a companion Concordance and Reverse Interlinear. ESV is a truly modern study Bible for all Biblical students who want both an easy to read version and do more in depth study.Cons: Type is very small for middle aged bifocal folks but worth the effort.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The ESV Bible, Outreach Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Brian davis
This Bible is wonderful to give to people you witness to, especially if they do not have a Bible. These are also great to have in your Sunday School room for those people who forget their Bibles or don't have one.The price is $3.49 on Desiringgod.com. $2 cheaper.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The ESV Bible, Outreach Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Michael Cline
The ESV Bible Outreach edition was perfect for our church event and as our new pew Bibles. This edition has an EXCELLENT inotroduction for each book of the Bible and it has EXCELLENT articles in the front and back. We particularly appreciated the Gospel Presentation it contains.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The ESV Bible, Outreach Edition
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Gwen Hicox
Ordered these for my youth Sunday School class. The kids and I love the translation but the font is small. But I knew what I was getting thanks to the online info. For the price you can't beat it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The ESV Bible, Outreach Edition
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:January 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kyle Mcdaniel
I really didn't expect much for the price, but I hoped the "outreach" would be better in the outreach edition. The supplemental pages are few in number although in the description of the book it looks like it's loaded with them. But, for the price, I guess it's not too bad. To get something better you are going to pay more than twice the amount. I do like the fact that it is the whole Bible. So many editions only offer NT new believer's bibles.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The ESV Bible, Outreach Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Vaughn Thurman
Good Value, Nice articles/intros to the bible, good typeset, etc. Excellent affordable way to spread the gospel to new or would be believers. The cover is a little light, but hey it IS a softcover.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The ESV Bible, Outreach Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 25, 2008
Customer Avatar
William Tummons
I am the youth director for a midsized church in Orlando and I am changing to the ESV. This is the best modern language bible I have seen. The fact that it is a word for word translation means that the youth can follow all of the text in the main service with the 1611 version without skipping over large amounts of text that they have no working knowledge of what the words mean. This allows them to put to practical use, the message in their lives as well as communicate this to their friends at school.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The ESV Bible, Outreach Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jason Woelm
I am a student ministry pastor in Chicago, and I have just recently switched our supply Bible from the NLT and NIV to the ESV. What a difference it has made! Our students are being introduced to classic, biblical, theological terms, and they are asking important questions about them, which gives our youth staff a better opportunity to explain God's truths to them instead of having a dynamic translation tell them what to think. Word for word accuracy without sacrificing readability--this Bible should be in the hands of all youth! The Outreach version specifically helps our students gain a better understanding of each book and its historical, theological context.Youth and student ministry pastors, do your youth a great service and order them an ESV Bible today!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The ESV Bible, Outreach Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
Harvey Plett
I have just received the Outreach Copy of the ESV. The flexible binding is excellent. The helps are succint but clear and of course helpful. One drawback might be the size of the print. Though to not make it to bulky the print had to be kept small.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.