Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The Christian Mama's Guide to Parenting a Toddler: Everything You Need to Know to Survive (and Love) Your Child's Terrible Twos - eBook

Thomas Nelson The Christian Mama's Guide to Parenting a Toddler: Everything You Need to Know to Survive (and Love) Your Child's Terrible Twos - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Christian Mama's Guide to Parenting a Toddler: Everything You Need to Know to Survive (and Love) Your Child's Terrible Twos - eBook
Review 1 for The Christian Mama's Guide to Parenting a Toddler: Everything You Need to Know to Survive (and Love) Your Child's Terrible Twos - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
ceemee
Location:Metro Manila, Philippines
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For moms like me who have toddler children, this book is a compilation of another Christian mama's experiences and learnings. The wisdom and practical tips imparted here encompass toddler discipline, handling tantrums, potty training, early healthy living to teach toddlers, their feeding and their sleeping. The author also talked about how moms could have time for themselves and how parents could reinvent their date nights. There's even a chapter called the Christian Daddy's Guide to Parenting a Toddler!
I tend to shy away from parenting books because I get worried if there's something I'm doing wrong or not doing at all. I like that this book was written from a Christian mama's perspective and how it's as if I'm having a casual conversation with her, one mom to another. I also love the Time-Out for Mom section where the author shares verses from the Bible and a prayer that are applicable to each chapter. The book was injected with lots of humor that makes it a light read, but there are some jokes that do not resonate with me. Overall, it's a book that I think I would go back to again and again, because mothering is a never ending learning process. I might have to learn a lesson many times over. I highly recommend The Christian Mama's Guide to Parenting a Toddler by Erin MacPherson to other Christian moms like me whose purpose is to lead their little ones to Jesus.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Christian Mama's Guide to Parenting a Toddler: Everything You Need to Know to Survive (and Love) Your Child's Terrible Twos - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Encouragement for even Experienced Moms!

Date:July 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
April E
Location:KS
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been a mom for 18 years ... well, in a month my oldest child will turn 18. I've raised 7 kids beyond toddlerhood, have one currently 2, as well as a baby yet to hit the toddler years. I may not have learned anything new about toddlers in The Christian Mama's Guide to Parenting a Toddler, but I enjoyed the humorous approach that Erin MacPherson takes in writing about parenting toddlers. The subtitle of the book is "everything you need to know to survive (and love) your child's terrible twos", and Erin does keep a positive (but honest) perspective on the toddler years.
My current 2 year old is a bundle of energy, creativity, emotions, curiosity, and independent stubbornness. She's particular, smart, and determined to be heard in this large family. She makes us laugh, melts our hearts, and makes us pull out our hair. She knows exactly how she wants her day to go, and her food to be prepared - until she changes her mind at the last second, and then sometimes changes it again.
Having such a terrific toddler is the reason I REALLY appreciate Erin's humorous and spiritual approach to writing about parenting. Not only does she help me laugh about the rough moments, she reminds me I am not alone, helps me to rejoice in this gift from God, and points me to God for wisdom and strength. I needed to smile and laugh about toddlers, as I'm raising a challenging 2 year old along with 8 other kids. I also needed some reminders about parenting tips and tricks I've known but have forgotten to try lately, and I needed reassurance that I'm doing an okay job of parenting through this difficult stage. Even as an experienced Mom, I have enjoyed every single one of Erin's Christian Mama's Guide books for those reasons. Being a mom is hard, but so worthwhile, and Erin's books don't gloss over either one of those truths.
I love that Erin includes a chapter for the Dads, a chapter for working moms, and a chapter for stay-at-home moms in The Christian Mama's Guide to Parenting Toddlers. She also has dedicated an entire (very funny) chapter to date nights, which reminded me of two things - why I need to plan date nights, and why it feels so overwhelming to plan a date night.
Her potty training chapter reassured me that I am not the only one whose kids train more on the late side than the early side, and I'm not the only one surrounded by early trainers. It also assured me that waiting until my daughter is cooperative and I am emotionally strong and patient enough is the RIGHT decision. (Having been previously shell-shocked by trying to train before my child was ready is probably the reason I'm always reluctant to start potty training. I KNOW the battle ahead of me and I need to be sure I'm ready for it before I begin.)
Finally, Erin's epilogue reminded me to treasure each moment and each age, not to wish these toddler days away. I've already graduated one daughter, and I know that it doesn't feel like 18 years just passed by. It will go just as fast for this spitfire-of-a-toddler, too.
I can not recommend Erin MacPherson's Christian Mama's Guide books enough. These are not uber-detailed medical books, they aren't full of statistics and research reports. But they are heart-felt, faith-filled, written from experience, humorous, and encouraging. Erin does a good job of presenting all the information available out there in a fairly balanced way. Co-sleeping, non-vaccinating parents may not feel they are well-represented in this book, but I promise you will feel enough encouragement in other areas to excuse the slight. It would probably be best to have Erin's book and one of the more medical statistic-filled books (of your particular parenting style), too. Then you'll have a plethora of information in one hand, and an encouraging Christian parenting synopsis in the other.
This book was published by Thomas Nelson and provided to me free, for review purposes, by Booksneeze. No other compensation was given, and these thoughts are my own, honest opinion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Christian Mama's Guide to Parenting a Toddler: Everything You Need to Know to Survive (and Love) Your Child's Terrible Twos - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Christian Mama's Guide to Parenting a Toddler

Date:May 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Breanne
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Christian Mama's Guide to Parenting a Toddler by Erin MacPherson is a great resource for mother's who need a little encouragment. She aims to help moms who are struggling with the terrible's twos and need some extra support. Her guide covers topics such as: potty training, tantrums and discipline strategies, advice about healthy eating and sleeping for your toddler, advice for dad's, marriage advice, and ideas about how to introduce your children to Jesus to name a few.
Erin is great role model for Christian mothers eveywhere. She shares her experiences in a delightful and humerous way. This book is an easy read and I found that it was hard to put it down. It is obvious that she loves being a mom and is really able to interact with her readers in a personal way. This book was a real source of inspiration for me and I particularly enjoyed the parts where she writes about fostering your child's spiritual development. She provides a lot of spiritual wisdom and also a great deal of expert advice in general. This was a very enjoyable read and I would encourage all of those frazzled moms out there to pick up a copy of this book!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com<http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Christian Mama's Guide to Parenting a Toddler: Everything You Need to Know to Survive (and Love) Your Child's Terrible Twos - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A great read for Christian parents

Date:May 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Amanda Coers
Location:Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Having a two-year-old can really test the limits of your walk with The Lord. All the Fruits of the Spirit are needed: love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control. Erin MacPherson’s book “The Christian Mama’s Guide to Parenting a Toddler” helps Christian moms (and dads) get through the tough times with our tiny tyrants with grace and more.
Erin’s book covers a full course of Toddler 101 topics including tantrums, discipline tips, handling a picky eater, potty training – and even how to make your marriage a priority and introducing your child to a life lived loving Christ.
This book really is a complete guide to raising your toddler in a Christian manner.
You would think a mom of six would have the gold star in toddler parenting, but Erin’s book was full of tips and tricks I had never considered. I was delighted to learn new skills for dealing with our current two-year-old, Abby. Reading “The Christian Mama’s Guide to Parenting a Toddler” was like talking to a friend and getting valuable advice with a dash of humor. Erin’s easy, funny writing style made this book a joy to read. I don’t have a lot of time on my hands, so I appreciated the few moments I was able to steal away with this book. I felt renewed after reading – as if I had a little “Girl Time” all for myself.
Not only does Erin offer practical tips for parenting little ones, she also uplifts and encourages throughout the book with scriptures and prayers. These short selections were like water for this thirsty mama’s soul. Parenting a toddler can be a trying experience. Reading such Godly encouragement was wonderful.
I highly recommend this book for any parent currently (or soon-to-be) in the trenches of Toddlerhood.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Christian Mama's Guide to Parenting a Toddler: Everything You Need to Know to Survive (and Love) Your Child's Terrible Twos - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Mixed Feelings...

Date:May 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
From the Prairies
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The Christian Mama's Guide to Parenting a Toddler is a book about entering the world of parenting a toddler. The author is a mom of 3 herself and pulls from a number of different people, resources and experiences to discuss a number of topics applicable to any mom of a toddler. Topics such as discipline, tantrums, sleep habits, healthy eating, potty training and preschool are covered, as well as topics specific to moms such as keeping date nights alive, the joys and challenges of stay-at-home moms and working moms, and preparing for baby #2.
I had mixed feelings about this book. On one hand, I enjoyed the topics and could definitely identify with many of the circumstances and challenges of parenting a toddler as I enter into the toddler phase with my little guy. I liked a lot of the lists of suggestions and recommendations that Erin provided and I think I will look back through the book to try some of them out!
On the other hand, I really had a hard time reading the book because of the tone of the author. I felt that humor and sarcasm was used far too much. I myself am more of a serious person and really dislike sarcasm in general. It made me feel like what is holy and sacred about motherhood wasn't valued or communicated in the way that I would have liked to hear. It was hard for me to get past the tone and enjoy the content.
I may recommend this book to mommy friends of mine but I would definitely disclaimer the tone and see if it would be a good fit for their personalities and communication style first.
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Christian Mama's Guide to Parenting a Toddler: Everything You Need to Know to Survive (and Love) Your Child's Terrible Twos - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fun and Real

Date:April 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kristin
Location:Fort Worth, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was really excited when I had the opportunity to get a free copy of this book to review for Thomas Nelson. This is such a fun book. It isn't deep parenting advice by any means, but more real and humorous advice from a mom who has been there. She compiles ideas on everything having to do with raising a toddler from how to deal with bedtime and tantrums, to how to get your kids to eat healthy. She never came across as if her way was the only way which was so refreshing, and I loved that she subscribes to the theory that you need to do what works for your family. It was light hearted and fun, and if you have a toddler you will definitely enjoy it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Christian Mama's Guide to Parenting a Toddler: Everything You Need to Know to Survive (and Love) Your Child's Terrible Twos - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fun, easy to read helpful book

Date:April 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
alisa
Location:Utah
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a fun book for getting fun ideas in how to deal with toddler-dom. I have a current two-year-old, and though he has an older sibling, this was helpful to me. Macpherson is humorous and “real” in her stories and situations, which I definitely appreciate. I especially liked the different lists that were at a bulletpoint glance to look back through for future reference. She is equally candid about how it is hard to be a parent of a toddler and the situations that suddenly come up because of said toddler’s independence.
I also liked how she recognized she was not an expert by any means, and often called in more so-called experts for different topics such as nutrition and potty-training. My favorite lists of ideas were in the getting kids to eat (always a hard feat at my house) and things you can do at home to engage learning with toddlers. My little guy loves learning and full of curiosity so excited to try some of her ideas.
Overall, this was a fun, easy-to-read book that I will find helpful. Is it the cure all to all ailments with my toddler? No, but it gives some fun new ideas that can help make the passage more pleasurable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Christian Mama's Guide to Parenting a Toddler: Everything You Need to Know to Survive (and Love) Your Child's Terrible Twos - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Informative and Entertaining!

Date:April 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
malittl
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It was a very fast and entertaining read with tons of humor, tips and encouragement on parenting toddlers with a Christian perspective. I feel like it gave me a realistic expectation for the toddler years, but also gave me lots of useful information to fall back on.
This book covers:
discipline
tantrums
eating habits
sleeping
potty training
and so much more!
I would highly recommend this book if you are (or will be) the parent of a toddler. These years can be very trying and this book makes me feel like I'm not alone. I know that no book has the magical formula for parenting, but I throughly enjoyed reading The Christian Mama's Guide to Parenting A Toddler and look forward to reading more of Erin's books in The Christian Mama's Guide Series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Christian Mama's Guide to Parenting a Toddler: Everything You Need to Know to Survive (and Love) Your Child's Terrible Twos - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very helpful for parents with a toddler

Date:March 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mollie
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Christian Mama's Guide to Parenting a Toddler is very helpful and I love all the tips that Erin gives! I have a 4 yr. old boy and 22 month old girl and this book is so relatable to where my kids are in their growth and development. My daughter was such an angel until about 2 months ago when she started stomping her feet and throwing herself on the floor (dramatically) when she didn’t get her way and I thought, “Oh boy, here come the terrible twos. She’s not a baby anymore. She’s a toddler.” It’s hard transitioning from a Mama of a baby to a Mama of a toddler and Erin’s book is a nice guide to help make that transition go smoothly. One of my favorite parts in the book is the “Time-Out” for Mom that’s found in each chapter because every one has a specific bible verse and prayer for Mama. Bringing your request, issue or pain point that you're having with your child to the Lord FIRST is the best place to start! Another great thing is all the lists that apply to different situations: how to discipline and deal with tantrums, what to feed your (picky?!) toddler, how to talk about Jesus with your child, ways to keep them active, how to deal with bedtime and naps, and the list goes on. It’s informative and helps you know that you’re not the only Mama with a toddler that won’t eat broccoli anymore even though she used to LOVE it, or a toddler that now says, “No,” to every question you ask when she used to be so helpful and a great listener. Erin makes all the issues “fun” with her wit and sense of humor. If you are a Christian Mama with a toddler, you should definitely read this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Christian Mama's Guide to Parenting a Toddler: Everything You Need to Know to Survive (and Love) Your Child's Terrible Twos - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Funny, Encouraging

Date:March 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Callie
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Christian Mama's Guide To Parenting A Toddler by Erin MacPherson includes topics from getting your child to eat healthier, to teaching a love of learning, to getting back to date night with your husband. Each chapter covers a specific topic and give tips relating to that topic, along with a Bible verse and prayer.
I have to say, I really enjoyed this book. While I did not agree with everything the author said (ex. didn't like some of her suggestions on dealing with toddler tantrums), she included a ton of tips and ideas that I would like to try. Her writing style is easy to read, and I found myself laughing and relating to her stories all the way through the book.
When you are a toddler mom it's easy to wonder if you are doing anything right, but she tells it like it is in this book in a fun way. I left feeling encouraged and normal, and like I'm not alone. As I said, even though I didn't agree with everything she said, I would recommend this book just because it was so fun to read, and I think I may look into some of the other books in the "Christian Mama's Guide" series.
Note: I received this book for free from Booksneeze in exchange for this review. THis is my honest opinion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.