Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson God Makes Lemonade: True Stories That Amaze and Encourage - eBook

Thomas Nelson God Makes Lemonade: True Stories That Amaze and Encourage - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.769 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 out of 13100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for God Makes Lemonade: True Stories That Amaze and Encourage - eBook
Review 1 for God Makes Lemonade: True Stories That Amaze and Encourage - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lemonade For Sale {In Disguise As Hope}

Date:July 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bess
Location:USA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You know the old adage {I’m certain you do}, ‘When life gives you lemons make lemonade’? Have you ever wondered if the lemons, the sour moments of your life, can be used by God’s hand to make something wonderful, refreshing, & restorative? In the sunny yellow covered book When God Makes Lemonade: True Stories That Amaze & Encourage created by Don Jacobson, you will find a plethora of real situations where God makes a redemptive lemonade, of sorts, out of the moments that are much less than sweet.
The first “lemonade” story is by Don Jacobson, himself, & tells about a desperate time in the woods of Oregon when a malfunctioning in his new hunting gun almost takes his life. The stories that follow {there are over 60 in all, each written by a different author} are equally compelling truths from each writers’ life. Each story is an easy read, typically about 3-4 pages. God takes illnesses, grief, heartaches, accidents… & squeezes until unexpected good comes out. It isn’t easy to see the good in the sour disappointments & hurts of life, but this book has made me more aware to look about me for God’s guiding hand, to hope, & to trust that He is present & working even in the midst of the lemons.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for God Makes Lemonade: True Stories That Amaze and Encourage - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A book of silver lining reminders

Date:June 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Blue Raindrop
Location:Wichita, Ks
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When God Makes Lemonade created by Don Jacobson is the latest book I've received from Thomas Nelson for reviewing.
This is a really sweet book. It's a collection of true short stories, most of which are just a few pages, from a wide variety of writers.
The one thing that all of the stories have in common is that in each one, God turned something bad into something that worked into good in the big picture.
The stories really vary as to the circumstances… but a lot of them are really major life events like injuries and accidents. But in each one, there is a silver lining that puts the traumatic event into perspective.
It's an encouraging book, and I'm glad to see mention at the end that they are working to make this the first of a series.
The only negative I can say about this book is that after a bit, knowing the theme… you start to get a sense of doom in the start of each story. Because you know, something is going to happen. But every time, a rainbow follows.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for God Makes Lemonade: True Stories That Amaze and Encourage - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Must Read!

Date:June 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
JohnDeereGirl
Location:Plainfield, Indiana
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Title: When God Makes Lemonade: True Stories That Amaze and Encourage
Author: Don Jacobson
Date I Finished Reading: June 12,2013
My Rating: 5/5
I know from my own life that sometimes the hardest, hopeless, most painful circumstances in life often become God's greatest blessings. And that is what this book is all about. A compilation of 68 individual stories and testimonies, it truly is an excellent read.
Each story you read in When God Makes Lemonade shows God's grace and wisdom as well as his love in the lives of those involved. Some of the stories made me laugh, some amazed me, some brought tears to my eyes, yet all of them gave praise to God.
I would most definitely recommend this book, especially to those presently experiencing a trial or struggle. It is sure so inspire you as well as to strengthen your faith.
Note: I received this book free from the publisher in exchange for my honest review. However, my opinions are my own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for God Makes Lemonade: True Stories That Amaze and Encourage - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great stories for encouragement

Date:May 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
MuseReviews
Location:Southern USA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Life can be tough. Really tough.
One thing I've learned, though, is that if you look hard enough, something great comes out of pretty much everything....even the unfortunate stuff.
This inspirational book of short stories, When God Makes Lemonade, takes you through life experiences of normal, everyday folks who have experienced God's super-ceding over life's "bad dealings." Don Jacobsen brings together 68 common stories with a supernatural theme: God's turning life's "lemons" into sparkling, satisfying lemonade in one way or another.
A few of the themes and topics were a bit heavy, and even though they ended with a bright ray of hope and restoration, I still could not get past the sad beginnings.For the most part, however, the book's sharings served to encourage and uplift me in many ways.
For the weary, for the disenchanted, for the downhearted, When God Makes Lemonade is a great reminder of the fact that God is ultimately in control, and that this world and all within it is temporal and fleeting.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for God Makes Lemonade: True Stories That Amaze and Encourage - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An inspirational MUST READ book to give you hope!

Date:May 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When hard times strike, and they always do, it helps to share them with friends and family. Sometimes it provides wisdom when the answers we seek fail to come; sometimes it's a shoulder to cry on when grief and loss are too much for one pair of shoulders to bare the burden alone; other times it's to provide hope when the situation in front of us is simply too much for us to deal with. In the latest inspirational book that is slated to be part of an ongoing series, author Don Jacobson, is compiling those stories that show what happens When God Makes Lemonade from the lemons life deals us. These short stories written by real people teach us all and encourage us that even though we can't always see the good in our storms, God brings about life changing experiences so we might encourage and help others out along the way.
Don Jacobson begins the book with his own personal story of just how God walked with him when his life literally hung in the balance. Picking up his shotgun and taking a spare moment to venture off into the woods to try it out, Don was more than amazed when his gun malfunctioned and he ended up shooting himself. Failing to leave word behind to his wife of his intentions, his only companion was his dog, Big Boy. Not knowing how bad things really were, he heard the voice of God guiding him along the way. What happens next is something you'll have to pick up the book and read for yourself.
"The stories in When God Makes Lemonade are from everyday people who are surprised by unexpected sweetness in the midst of sour life circumstances. Why true stories? Because they give us hope, and in these difficult times, most of us don't need to be told to work harder - we're already working as hard as we can! What we need most is to be reminded that God is here working all things together for good.
So if you're struggling beneath the weight of unemployment, depression, broken relationships, an unexpected death, or any of life's other difficulties, don't give up!
Though the settings, names and outcomes are unique in each lemonade story, they all say the same thing - you're not alone!
Yes, stuff happens in life, but so does lemonade, and when it does, it's as refreshing as a cold drink on a hot August day. May you find that kind of refreshment in the stories you read in this heartwarming book, and may God bless you with the courage you need to hold on." (Pg 18.)
I received When God Makes Lemonade by Don Jacobson compliments of B and B Media Group and Thomas Nelson Publishers for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review. The best part about this book is that each story is unique and each one provides the reader an opportunity to walk in the shoes of each author and see what the long term result was. Too often we think that no one understands just what we're going through, but this book provides friendship in knowing we are not alone in our personal struggles. Sometimes it gives us perspective that others have it worse than what we are dealing with. The best part is the opportunity to share your own story on When God Makes Lemonade's website. Who knows maybe you're story will be published in the next book and the struggles you deal with now, will be used to help someone else who reads them find the light at the end of their own dark tunnel again. I rate this one a 5 out of 5 stars!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for God Makes Lemonade: True Stories That Amaze and Encourage - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Full of hope and is very encouraging to read

Date:May 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pursue and Recover
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When God Makes Lemonade is a book of short stories written by Don Jacobson. There are sixty-Eight true short stories that are easy and quick to read that holds your attention, it starts with the author telling his story followed by stories of others.
This book was written to amaze and to encourage those who read it. It shows the miraculous hand of God in the midst of difficulty, chaos and despair. Throughout each story (very lemony) situations and circumstances occur and God turns them into around to a better situation. There are stories of financial difficulties, near death experiences, and very sad and even traumatic events. While these events start out in disarray miracles occur (A family is spared physical harm because of their infant daughter's presence in the house.
There are stories where you will see God's healing hand, grace, protection, wisdom, deliverance and love. Through trauma, victory emerges. This book of short stories will touch your heart and could even possibly change your life! This is a book full of hope in the lives of ordinary people.
This book was provided to me at no cost through BookSneeze as an ebook for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for God Makes Lemonade: True Stories That Amaze and Encourage - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

When God Makes Lemonade by Don Jacobson

Date:April 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
cathy
Location:Kansas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When God Makes Lemonade by Don Jacobson.
When God Makes Lemonade is a collection of real stories of people’s lives of God’s intervention when He was needed. Some of these are miracles. Some of these are times when God used another human to do His work. All are times when the teller was at the end of their rope and ready to give up and God sent help. Some are funny and others will have the reader crying. Some are Mr. Jacobson’s own stories but most are stories of other people’s life. All show the hope of living daily with Christ. All of these people are not “good” people who prayed and good happened. Some of them had bad things happen to bad people and God brought peace and hope in order to bring them to Him.
I liked this book but I warn you don’t read it without tissues handy. I was in tears more than once and had to get to the bathroom to get one so plan ahead. These stories are not all miracles that happened whenever anyone prayed.
I received this book from Booksneeze for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for God Makes Lemonade: True Stories That Amaze and Encourage - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

uneven collection of encouraging stories

Date:April 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Life is tough. We could all use a little encouragement.
That is exactly what Don offers in this collection of personal stories. He knows that life happens. Jobs are lost, relationships are broken, disaster strikes. In the midst of all the bad that happens in life, all the lemons, lemonade happens too.
Don starts this collection with his own story of being shot accidentally years ago. He found telling his story was an encouragement to others. It also encouraged others to tell their stories. He collects those stories and compiles them into collections like this one.
As is often the case with collections like this one, the stories vary in impact. Some of them are deep and life changing while others are as shallow as an RV breaking down and being repaired by a nice guy. Some of the stories indicate that God intervened. Other stories seem to be just the natural course of events. Some of the stories give God glory while others hardly mention God at all.
These are the kinds of stories that would help a reader who questions what good could possibly come from the situation they are in. Even though the future looks dark, these accounts will encourage the reader to hope for light in the future. They will inspire one to keep trying, to not give up, to realize that character is born from hardship.
Don says his dream for the God Makes Lemonade project “is to be able to publish true stories that will encourage those going through sour experiences [to know] that God is at work making sweet lemonade.”
This is the kind of book that would be wonderful to have in the waiting room of a doctor's office. The stories are short and one could read through a couple in a few minutes. It is also the kind of book to have on your bedside table so you could read one or two each evening. Don't try to read the book from cover to cover, as I did. The nearly 70 stories need to be spread out to be appreciated.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from a publicity group for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for God Makes Lemonade: True Stories That Amaze and Encourage - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kara
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When God Makes Lemonade, by Don Jacobson, is a book of true stories intended to “Amaze and Encourage” the reader. Each chapter involves a real person’s story, and each one reveals the manner in which God has worked in the situation.
The book begins with Don’s personal story of accidentally shooting himself and his journey through the recovery. Also included is Dave Burchett’s story. His daughter was born with severe physical limitations and not expected to live more than a few days, but defied the odds and lived fourteen months instead. Her presence saved them from serious assault during a robbery in their home. Each story tells of God’s great work in personal situations.
I enjoyed this book. It is uplifting and reminds me that God is not only with us, but actively involved in our lives if we allow Him that privilege. I recommend this book to anyone who needs encouragement!
Kara
I received this book free from the publisher and was not required to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for God Makes Lemonade: True Stories That Amaze and Encourage - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Simply Inspiring

Date:April 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jenny Lee Sulpizio
Location:Idaho
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love THIS book. I love the premise behind this book...and most importantly, one can't help but love all of the inspiration to be gleaned just by delving in to this great read. Don Jacobson does an amazing job of compiling real-life stories of struggle, fear, and even tragedy in order to encourage each of his readers with a message of hope, and the reassurance that not only is God in control, but He's most certainly always with us. I'll admit it, friends-receiving/enduring the lemons of life is never easy, but basking in the glow of that lemonade? It's a gift only He can bestow.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for God Makes Lemonade: True Stories That Amaze and Encourage - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome read!

Date:April 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kyle
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This books has many true stories about good and bad moments that will touch your heart! This book in fact has 68 short stories! Each one is unique and tells a different story. There are stories of loss, love, happiness, etc. These are stories that "Amaze and Encourage" just like it says on the front cover! I really enjoyed reading this book and I look forward to reading other "When God Makes Lemonade" in the future! I recommend this book!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for God Makes Lemonade: True Stories That Amaze and Encourage - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

absolute encouragement!

Date:April 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
lorealle
Location:pa
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
in When God Makes Lemonade, author Don Jacobson has collected stories from the lives of everyday folk. it's a collection of stories about people just like you who have discovered unexpected sweetness in the midst of sour circumstances. these real-life stories all have one thing in common: hope.
we've all experienced those "lemons" in our life; out-of-your-control issues with your health, employment, relationships and circumstances that are truly sour. we wouldn't wish these on anyone. but when the lemons become lemonade, oh how refreshing!
i absolutely loved this book. as soon as i read the first story, i knew it was going to be a great one. each chapter has a very touching personal story, an encouraging outcome and all the glory given to God. some of the stories made me laugh and some had tears running down my face. each and every story was truly an encouragement. it is such an inspiration to read of other peoples struggles and how God worked through their lives to change them.
this book would be an absolutely wonderful addition to your bookshelf. it would be great to leaf through from time to time for some extra encouragement and bring those tough times in your life into perspective.
this book was provided to me free of charge by booksneeze.com in return for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for God Makes Lemonade: True Stories That Amaze and Encourage - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It hits the spot

Date:March 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Worldwide
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yes! This book was exactly what I thought it was going to be!
An anthology of real life vignettes, some just a few years old and others decades in the making, that detail an individual's challenges and how they see the subsequent positive outcomes. Good out of bad, lemonade out of lemons.
Don Jacobson, the 'creator' or more accurately the original publisher, shares his traumatic life event, and what led him to the book industry; and as you go you realise you are reading other stories of those Don knows well. This authenticates the people and the events and ties the whole book together.
Each of the 68 tales is professionally written by the individual or someone close to them. Refreshingly the reader is directed to other writings by that person at the end of their chapter, on the internet or in other publications, wherever they exist - credit given where credit is due.
There is nothing that I would change about this book, except to ask that I could sign up to receive a weekly email of one of the longer stories, so that I could continue to be reminded of God's grace as I traipse through a lemon season in my own life.
Thankfully for us, there are plans to turn 'When God Makes Lemonade' into a series, and even an invitation we share our stories on godmakeslemonade.com.
Who knows, perhaps when I am on the other side, I, too, will be able to share a glass with you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.