Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Broken Wings - eBook

Thomas Nelson Broken Wings - eBook

Brielle has begun to see the world as it really is, a place her angels intermingle with humans. But just when she thinks she's got things under control, the life she's pieced together begins to crumble. The Prince of Darkness has targeted her and Brielle must use the gifts that she has been given to fight the ultimate battle of good versus evil.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 out of 1493%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Broken Wings - eBook
Review 1 for Broken Wings - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved Broken Wings as much as Angel Eyes

Date:March 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
raisingbookworms
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved the first book Angel Eyes and this book did not disappoint! Sometimes book 2 in a trilogy as a little slow and drag some. It is very rare when book 2 in a trilogy is just as good as book 1 and Broken Wings is one of the exceptions! This book was wonderful, really kept you reading. Left you sad when you did have to put it down and do something else beside read :) . I can’t wait for book 3 Dark Halo to come out August 20th. This series is a must read for anyone that likes those angel, paranormal young adult books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Broken Wings - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great second book to the series!!!

Date:April 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
tweezle
Location:PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you haven't read the first book in the series, "Angel Eyes", do so before you consider reading "Broken Wings". This second book picks up where "Angel Eyes" left off. Brille and Jake aren't sure about their future, and with the ring missing and a dagger in its place, does it mean they will go their separate ways? What is the meaning behind the dagger?
As Brille discovers many answers, many more questions rise to the surface. Was her whole life a lie? Why? And what is it with her Dad these days? So much danger and so many questions... This book will keep you on your toes and wanting answers as much as Brille does. Wait until you find out about the secrets that have been kept from Brille and what makes her question those around her!
"Broken Wings" is a fantastic second book to the series. It will keep you turning pages while you seek the answers to all the mysteries surrounding Brille, Jake, and all the angels and demons. Wow!
This series is written for young adults, but it will please the adult audience as well. If you enjoy books where good -vs- evil is the main theme, where the romance isn't overpowering plus a Christian theme runs through the story, and love fantasy genre, you will enjoy this series.
I received this book through the Booksneeze program. I was not required to write a positive review, but instead, one that gives my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Broken Wings - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

continuing drama of spiritual warfare

Date:April 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is the second in this series. Dittemore has not provided any back story in this book, so if you have not read the first one, you will be lost in this one. I read the first one about a year ago and had forgotten so much of that book, this one was often confusing.
The story of Brielle, who can see the spirit realm, and Jake, who has healing hands, continues. Taking part in the action are Shields, angels who take on human form and watch over the humans to whom they are assigned. We are introduced to Sabres, angels with metallic wings, blades instead of feathers. They were the twelve who originally reported to Lucifer himself, when he was Chief Worshiper. They are responsible for leading all of heaven in worship of the Creator. Their presence, through their worship, thins the veil between the Celestial and the Terrestrial.
There is a new influence in Stratus, a woman who has eyes on Brielle's father. And he has started drinking again. Then Brielle finds a serious irregularity with her mother's grave. As the action in the story progresses, the good and evil spiritual beings come into conflict. Birelle is right in the middle of it.
I was not as satisfied with this novel as I was the first in the series. The action in this one just does not seem to move the story along very much. There are too many loose ends at the conclusion of this book. Olivia, the woman who is after Brielle's father seems originally to be a serious aspect of the novel. But in the latter part of the book, she is no longer involved in the story. And then the part about Brielle's mother, her activities before she is “taken,” well, I just did not like that. That was not believable to me.
I received a complimentary egalley of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Broken Wings - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Spiritual Battle Heats Up

Date:April 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shannon Dittemore in her new book "Broken Wings" Book Two in the Angel Eyes Trilogy published by Thomas Nelson takes us into the life of Brielle and her fight against spiritual forces.
From the back cover: Giant angels with metal wings and visible song. A blind demon restored from the pit of darkness. And a girl who has never felt more broken.
Brielle sees the world as it really is: a place where the Celestial exists side by side with human reality. But in the aftermath of a supernatural showdown, her life begins to crumble.
Her boyfriend, Jake, is keeping something from her--something important. Her overprotective father has started drinking again. And he's dating a much younger woman who makes Brielle's skin crawl. Haunting nightmares invade Brielle's sleep, and flashes of Celestial vision keep her off kilter.
What she doesn't know is that she's been targeted. The Prince of Darkness himself has heard of the boy with healing in his hands and of the girl who sees through the Terrestrial Veil.
Brielle has no choice. She knows evil forces are converging and will soon rain their terror down on the town of Stratus. She must master the weapons she's been given. She must fight.
But can she fly with broken wings?
"Broken Wings" picks up where "Angel Eyes", book one in this series, left off. Brielle and Jake are now the targets of demons to stop them from using the gifts God gave them. The battle between angels and demons intensifies with humanity in the middle of it all. In the book of Judges Samson said his strength came from his long hair. Brielle and Jake say their power lies in their gifts. All are incorrect-Samson's strength and Brielle's power all come from the same source: God. Once you line up with that thinking then you can use your gifts for the purpose God intended and others will get to see Him also. "Broken Wings" is a wonderful, interesting story with power and depth that will keep you flipping pages. I am most definitely looking forward to the next book in the series.
Disclosure of Material Connection: In conjunction with the CSFF Blog Tour, I received a free copy of this book from the publisher for this review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Broken Wings - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A true look into the thin veil of the celestial!!

Date:April 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sabres.
"I look more carefully at the angels before us. They're larger than any I've seen before, and brighter. I count them on approach - a dozen - and then I watch them, trying to understand their movements. Light curls around them, tendrils of incense rising into the sky.
"What are they doing?" Jake asks.
"They're worshiping," I say awestruck.
Is there a rhyme or reason to where they've positioned themselves? Some of them kneel, some of them stand staggered across the rock, but the one thing they all seem to have in common is their wings. They're metallic. Not just in color, but in their very construction, it seems. I have an inexplicable need to reach out and touch them, to run my fingers over a single feather.
"They're huge," Jake says. "How tall are they, Canaan?"
"Eight, nine feet." There's no mistaking the amusement in his voice.
We're close now, so close that I can see that touching a Sabre's wing may be the fastest way to lose an arm. I set to examining the nearest one. He's gigantic, like Jake said. And his eyes are pure white, trademark white. Like Canaan's. Like Helene's. He has the celestial gaze of one who'd lay down his life for another. His skin, too, is white, so white it looks almost silver. His muscled arms and chest make Canaan look trim. But as much as I can find things to admire about his physique, it's his wings that so separate him from any other angel I've seen.
Their beauty is staggering, their design inexplicable. Where I expect to see rows and rows of snowy white feathers, one blade lies on top of another - thousands of them - sharp and glistening silver. I can't help but compare each and every one of them to the dagger that pierced my chest this past December. To the instrument of death that bled me dry on a rooftop.
Yet these blades are pristine, polished, organic even. The Sabre adjusts them and they ripple, a trilling tune making its way to my ears. His kinsmen do the same, and the skies fill with music. Loud, warlike, with a tremor of delicate strings woven through it. It's unlike anything I've ever heard. My throat tightens with emotion, and I gasp again and again."
In the second book in the Angel Eyes Trilogy, author Shannon Dittemore pulls back the celestial veil once more to reveal the spiritual realm in her novel Broken Wings. Brielle has been given a unique gift and it's just that gift that has her the target of the darkness in spiritual realm. Now the Palatine, a demonic army is on the move and is now looking to find Brielle and Jake, two humans who have been gifted with divine powers. They now have to do whatever they can to stay one step ahead of the enemy and one they can't risk telling anyone about. After all, how many people do you know that have the ability to see angels and demons when they remain invisible to everyone else?
The author picks up just where we left off in the debut novel Angel Eyes, and Brielle is just coming to terms with the fact she is now the wanted by the demonic army. She has been given a unique gift of being one of God's redeemed and thus her supernatural gift that before she was only able to use when holding an angelic halo. Now her vision is being honed in a remarkable way and she soon learns that prayers and scripture memorization have more power than she ever imagined. Will she be able to save those she loves while she learns something about her past that my break more than her spirit?
I received Broken Wings by Shannon Dittemore compliments of Thomas Nelson Publishers and Christian Science Fiction and Fantasy Book Tours for my honest review. I have not received any monetary compensation for a favorable review. I simply live for books like these since reading my first "Darkness" book from Frank Peretti! Shannon takes that a step further endowing her characters with a sense of frailty even though that have spiritual gifts that most of us would die to have. They fail to realize that the real power doesn't come from their gifts but from the God who created them and until they apply those same spiritual principles that are available to all of us, they remain weak despite their talents. I rate this one another 5 out of 5 stars and can't wait to pick up Dark Halo that comes on in late 2013. I would highly recommend that you read, Angel Eyes before picking this one up or you will be completely lost at the concepts discussed that make this book so incredible to inhale.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Broken Wings - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great book of good vs evil

Date:February 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Andrea4LSU
Location:DeLand, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Folks who have read work by Frank Pereetti will find Shannon Dittemore‘s story framework familiar. I really enjoy the interplay of good versus evil in the unseen world. Shannon’s book did not disappoint.
I knew as soon as I read a brief synopsis that Broken Wings is the second book in a trilogy. I decided to read Broken Wings without reading the first book.
In Broken Wings, there are two main characters: Brielle and Jake. They are a high school-aged couple who have been given special gifts or powers. Brielle can see angels and demons, while Jake has the gift of a healing touch. They can use their powers to fight demons and other forms of evil. While neither is omnipotent, their gifts complement each other to help them fight together. Most of the people in their world do not know about their gifts, however, so they encounter many challenges with their family and friends. Brielle has faced a great deal of loss in her short life and she struggles to deal with relationships because of that. The story ends well, with obvious threads left hanging for the last novel in the series.
Shannon Dittemore writes the story well. Broken Wings is definitely written for an audience who has read Angel Eyes. While some novelists will ‘fill in’ the new reader, Dittemore does very little of this – at least not in an overt way. I was fully two thirds of the way through the book before I understood much of what happened in the first book to bring the characters to this point. I appreciate this writing style for those who have read the first book. For readers like me, however, it was difficult to follow along when not knowing the backstory to what was taking place. I am now even more motivated to find Angel Eyes and read it, though. And I’ll definitely read Dark Halo when it comes out in August. Dittemore created characters who come alive and I thought she captured the teenage element well.
If you enjoy books about good versus evil, I encourage you to give Broken Wings a try.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Broken Wings - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Better than Angel Eyes and I loved Angel Eyes

Date:February 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
SarahsReading
Location:Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Giant angels with metal wings and visible song. A blind demon restored from the pit of darkness. And a girl who has never felt more broken.
Brielle sees the world as it really is: a place where the Celestial exists side by side with human reality. But in the aftermath of a supernatural showdown, her life begins to crumble. Her boyfriend, Jake, is keeping something from her—something important. Her overprotective father has started drinking again. He’s dating a much younger woman who makes Brielle’s skin crawl, and he’s downright hostile toward Jake. Haunting nightmares keep Brielle from sleeping, and flashes of Celestial vision keep her off kilter.
What she doesn’t know is that she’s been targeted. The Prince of Darkness himself has heard of the boy with healing in his hands and of the girl who sees through the Terrestrial Veil. When he plucks the blind demon, Damien, from the fiery chasm and sends him back to Earth with new eyes, the stage is set for a cataclysmic battle of good versus evil.
Then Brielle unearths the truth about her mother’s death and she must question everything she ever thought was true.
Brielle has no choice. She knows evil forces are converging and will soon rain their terror down upon the town of Stratus. She must master the weapons she’s been given. She must fight.
But can she fly with broken wings?
I’ve just finished Broken Wings (book 2 in the Angel Eyes series) and the first word that left my mouth was WOW!
Broken Wings is another extraordinary thrill-ride into the celestial.
Shannon brings us further into the realm of demons and angels with celestial armies, warriors and spies. I could see and feel all that Shannon wrote. Every triumph, every agony and every battle.
Shannon is a master of imagery, similar to Frank Peretti or Ted Dekker. As she describes the majestic ’Sabres’ I found myself nearly breathless with longing to see with my own eyes the awe inspiring sight she portrayed! I found myself sucked into the small town which is the focus of this celestial battle. Shannon sets the scene early and leaves your heart pounding in anticipation.
The description of worship in Broken Wings has stayed with me since I’ve finished the book. I’ve always enjoyed worship and have found it even more rich with Shannon’s imagery.
I was so enthralled with Broken Wings that it did not take me long to reach the last page and it nearly broke my heart.
This is a wonderful series that I have so enjoyed! I cannot wait for Dark Halo, due out in August. Seriously, I cannot wait! Hurry up August! Shannon is so skilled at telling a story that keeps you on the edge of your seat and leaves you desperate for the next book!
Shannon, you’ve done it again! I was immediately as captivated by Broken Wings as I was with Angel Eyes.
Check out my full review here: http://sudryandspecific.wordpress.com/2013/02/23/broken-wings-by-shannon-dittemore-a-review-a-giveaway/
*I received a complimentary e-book copy of this novel from NetGalley, courtesy of Thomas Nelson. I didn’t get paid and I didn’t have to give a positive review! My opinions are my own and this book rocks! :)*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Broken Wings - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good clean book

Date:February 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
The Maniacal Bookworm
Movie Rating: G-all ages admitted
Book Rating: @@@@
Swearing: None
Inappropriate Scenes: None
# of Pages: 304
Genre: YA Paranormal
Publisher: Thomas Nelson
Lesson Learned from this book: God is always there and He always has a plan.
Back Blurb:
Giant angels with metal wings and visible song.
A blind demon restored from the pit of darkness.
And a girl who has never felt more broken.
Brielle sees the world as it really is: a place where the Celestial exists side by side with human reality. But in the aftermath of a supernatural showdown, her life begins to crumble.
Her boyfriend, Jake, is keeping something from her—something important. Her overprotective father has started drinking again. And he’s dating a much younger woman who makes Brielle’s skin crawl. Haunting nightmares invade Brielle’s sleep, and flashes of Celestial vision keep her off kilter.
What she doesn’t know is that she’s been targeted. The Prince of Darkness himself has heard of the boy with healing in his hands and of the girl who sees through the Terrestrial Veil.
Brielle has no choice. She knows evil forces are converging and will soon rain their terror down on the town of Stratus. She must master the weapons she’s been given. She must fight.
But can she fly with Broken Wings?
My Review:
The Book:
So maybe it’s because I didn’t read Book 1 in the series, Angel Eyes, or maybe it’s because I had a lot to do, but for some reason Broken Wings didn’t make sense to me. I didn’t understand it. It was a good book, though, and had many excellent points. There’s a lot of things in this books the saved and unsaved alike need to read.
The Plot:
The plot seemed a little slow at times and very explanatory.
The Writing:
The writing was good and easy to understand. I’m very thankful Ms. Dittemore doesn’t use big words that nobody knows the meaning of! I could have done with a Little. Less. Of. This.
The Characters:
The characters were well-written. Kaylee was my favorite, mostly because she reminded me of myself. Jake seemed kind of girly though. Brielle was a lovable character. Brielle’s dad, Keith, is another story entirely. He really really really bugged me. He was by far my least favorite character.
Note to the Author:
Ms. Dittemore, you have no idea what a pleasure it was to read a book with no sex scenes and no swearing. It was very refreshing! Thank you so much!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Broken Wings - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great book!!

Date:February 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Deanna Wiseburn
Location:Randleman, NC
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Initially I had a hard time getting into this book. However I restarted it and found it to be a very good book. I would have understood it better I believe if I would have read the first book in the series.
The story is about Brielle, a young girl with special powers. She is trying to understand the sudden changes in her life. She is being sought after by a demon.
Initially I had a hard time keeping up because of the way the story switches between characters, and because I had not read the first book in the series. The story was full of twists and turns which I enjoyed, it was not predictable.
I found that the characters worked well together. For a fiction book I was surprised that it has affected my faith. The descriptions of worship and the way the character sees it has totally crept into my life, and I find that in church I remember this, and think about the scent of adoration.
I would recommend this book to others, but I would say that you might enjoy reading the whole series instead of just this book.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Broken Wings - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A Between the Stories Book

Date:February 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Columbus, GA
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Broken Wings" by Shannon Dittemore is the sequel to "Angel Eyes" and Book Two in its trilogy. I was curious to read it because I enjoyed reading "Angel Eyes." "Broken Wings" didn’t make quite the same impression on me, though.
First, there seemed to be a lack of continuity between the two books. "Angel Eyes" was fairly complete in itself. "Broken Wings," though, is mostly a set up for Book Three, "Dark Halo," due out in August of this year. "Broken Wings" begins about six months after "Angel Eyes" ends, introduces new characters whose place in the story won’t really be clear until the next book, and seems to significantly alter Brielle’s dad’s character, turning him from a loving, but confused single father into a grieving alcoholic so overwhelmed with his own issues that he has only frustration to offer his struggling daughter.
As I read this fictional story, I was uncomfortable with some of the author’s ideas about the spiritual realm. If an author is writing about werewolves or vampires or zombies, that author can take all the liberties she wants and make up just about anything because those monsters are fictional. But the Bible tells us that angels and demons and unseen spiritual warfare exist. We don’t know much about these, but I’m not sure we’re at liberty to just make up our own picture for lack of actual knowledge. Readers who don’t know much about the Bible might assume the Bible really says that cherubs sneak into Hell as spies to learn what Satan is up to in order to tell the Archangel Michael when God doesn’t give Michael the information Himself or that the Bible really describes all the different kinds of angels and demons that Dittemore includes in her story. I wasn't quite comfortable with this.
That said, when Dittemore writes of Brielle learning to worship God with the gifts He’s given her or discovering that human songs of praise and prayers for help are powerful, she helps readers understand what really matters in this life. Those parts of the book are beautiful! So I’m still curious to read what happens in the next book, trusting that questions and confusions brought up in this one will be perfectly resolved in it.
I thank Thomas Nelson Publishers for sending a complimentary eCopy of this book for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Broken Wings - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My favorite new series

Date:February 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jill Williamson
Location:Oregon
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review by Jill Williamson
Brielle and Jake are growing closer, but her father doesn’t like it—doesn’t seem to like Jake at all. Brielle is certain it’s because of Jake’s faith, but there seems to be something more that her father isn’t saying. And then her dad starts dating Olivia. Brielle doesn't approve. It’s just a feelings she has. But feelings aren't enough to convince her dad of anything, so all she can do is stand by and watch… and pick up the pieces if things go bad.
Meanwhile, Jake still doesn't know why the ring has vanished from the wooden chest. He hasn't told Brielle that it’s missing, either, and she can tell that he’s keeping something from her. And unbeknownst to Brielle or Jake, Damien in hunting them both, hoping to take the boy who heals and the girl who sees to his master. The Sabres are coming. And Brielle learns more about the reoccurring nightmare she’s been having, and it’s leading Jake and her closer to something big.
I couldn't put it down! This is a fantastical story of Biblical proportions and yet Dittemore make it feel so real. Brielle learns that faith isn't a quick fix. That tough times still come. And the ending… Gah! You’ll be desperate for book three once you close this one.
This is one of my favorite new series. Dittemore has accomplished a rare feat with Broken Wings: she’s written a sequel that’s as good as/better than book one. Beautiful, romantic, and fascinating. I couldn't stop reading this enthralling page-turner. I’ll be the first one in line for book three.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Broken Wings - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Supernatural and Physical Realms collide!!

Date:February 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Crystal
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I didn't realize this was a series, nevertheless after reading #Book 2, I can't wait to read the 1st! Shannon Dittemore pens an absolutely exquisite, haunting novel from start to finish! The story centers around Brielle, who believes strongly in the spirit world. She has experience when it comes to fighting inner demons but slowly her world around her starts becoming overwhelming. Her stubborn father won't listen to reason and continues making bad choices, her boyfriend has become estranged, disturbing visions, everything is not as it seems, I won't spoil anything for the readers, but an extremely powerful story, that will leave you WHOLE AND THE POWER OF DARKNESS BROKEN!
*I received this book free from BookSneeze and the Publisher in exchange for an honest, non-profit, unbiased review*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Broken Wings - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Multi-Dimensional and Dramatic Sequel

Date:January 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rambling Reader
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Broken Wings" is the anticipated second novel in Shannon Dittemore's "Angel Eyes" trilogy. Dittemore employs more powerful imagery in "Broken Wings" and digs deeper into the celestial realm of angels and demons. There are scenes that I can only describe as chilling, and sometimes I had to limit my reading to the daylight hours versus bedtime. From the first scene, set in the dark depths of Abaddon, a sense of foreboding begins to thread its way through the pages. The forces of evil are stronger and more prevalent, but the heavenly forces also make their presence more visible. The once quiet town of Stratus is soon a battlefield in the war of good versus evil. Lurking danger and lingering mysteries drive the plot forward until an ending that leaves me anxious for the final novel in the series.
Dittemore's characterization of fear was particularly powerful in "Angel Eyes." Fear remains a tangible and pervasive weapon of evil in "Broken Wings." Through Brielle's eyes, Dittemore shows how quickly fear can overtake and paralyze us and spread to others. We are all engaged in our own personal battles with fears, but the "Angel Eyes" trilogy shows it in a new perspective.
Like with "Angel Eyes," I found myself pulled into the lives of Brielle and Jake and the challenges surrounding them. Dittemore adds new dimensions to Brielle's relationships with her father and Jake. There is more insight into Brielle's background and her deceased mother. While some questions are answered, new mysteries arise, awaiting a resolution in the next book. Brielle's faith is new and definitely tested in "Broken Wings." Although Brielle is gifted with Celestial vision and has witnessed the glory and power of angels and the decay of demons, she still questions God's ultimate plan. Her doubts make her a real and relatable character; and the reader can learn with Brielle that even humans with "broken wings" can fight against the negative forces in the world.
I highly recommend "Angel Eyes" and "Broken Wings" to young adults and adults. They are equally engaging reads with romance, action, and depth.
I received a complimentary e-copy of this novel from NetGalley, courtesy of Thomas Nelson. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed above are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Broken Wings - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Must Get!

Date:December 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Organic Shoes
Location:Oklahoma City, OK
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Broken Wings is the second book in the Angel Eyes Trilogy, picking up a short time after where Angel Eyes left off Dittemore does not disappoint in the second book of the trilogy. After everything Elle has been through in the past she is starting to move on after Ali's death, her and Jake are growing closer and Elle dreams of the day when there will be a ring on her finger. As Elle grows closer to Jake and Canaan; however, Elle's dad seems to be getting more disagreeable and is drinking more than ever before.
Something is going on, something that is keeping Canaan away more than usual. The sabre have gathered and there are whispers of movement on both ends. One of the Sabre makes a move so that Elle may learn the truth and learns something that has been kept from her about her mothers past, between that, her fathers drinking and the fear she sees and Jake that she does not understand things are getting tough. The halo used to keep the nightmares away but now Elle can hardly sleep through the night, Elle is beginning to see the celestial without the halo and she thinks she may have seen Damien in town and now with the halo having gone missing there is no telling what may happen. Jake and Elle have been targeted by evil and a battle is coming, what will happen if darkness is able to get what they are after? Will good be able to conquer evil, or will evil win and take Elle and Jake with it?
Dittemore has once again pulled you into the pages of the story with characters you will love. She has a way of writing where the words come off the pages and will have you laughing, crying and on the edge of your seat through the entire book. Dittemore's descriptions of what the celestial and what worship look like will have you dreaming of heaven . You will not want to put this book down, the only problem is you will have to wait for the next book to be released!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.