Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Stress Test - eBook

Thomas Nelson Stress Test - eBook

Dr. Matt Newman is enjoying his last shift in the ER---until he's kidnapped! He escapes, but waking up in the ICU, he discovers he's accused of murder. With his freedom in the hands of a red-headed lawyer who doesn't like doctors, and the kidnappers looking to finish the job, can Matt survive this stress test?

Richard Mabry

Average Customer Rating:
4.81 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
21 out of 21100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Stress Test - eBook
Review 1 for Stress Test - eBook
This review is fromStress Test.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Page Turning Medical Suspense

Date:February 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
Karen Collier
Location:KarenCollier.com
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Stress Test captured my attention from the start and wouldn’t let go. It’s the first title I’ve read by Richard Mabry and I’m looking forward to reading more by this talented author in the future. Highly recommended for fans of medical romance and medical suspense who haven’t already had the pleasure of reading it. And yes, I’m a little late to the review party, as this title was released a year ago, and there’s already a more recent title available from this author (Heart Failure), with yet another due out in April (Critical Condition). Still, I couldn’t resist adding my voice to the existing critical acclaim for this one.
About Stress Test:
As the story opens, Dr. Matt Newman’s life is on the brink of significant change, but the changes in store for him aren’t the ones he had planned. He’s working his last night as a private practice surgeon, about to embark on a new career in academic medicine, and contemplating proposing to his girlfriend. Instead, he’s attacked and kidnapped by people intent on killing him. He escapes with a head injury and wakes in the hospital ICU to find the police believe he’s not a victim, but a murderer. To top it off, his girlfriend breaks off their relationship, wanting nothing to do with the suspicions surrounding him. And his new job, likewise gets put on hold.
My Reaction:
I have to admit, I have a soft spot for a novel featuring a handsome hero in distress, so Dr. Matt Newman was instantly appealing. I’ll also admit that the cover drew me in before I ever read a word. Just look at that cover. Doesn’t Matt look like he could really use a hug? I was curious to read his story, and within the first chapter, I was fully hooked. I cared about Matt and was rooting for him the whole way through.
The plot is full of suspense, danger, and unexpected twists and turns that kept me wondering. How could things possibly turn out well in the end? And who is behind the attacks against Matt and why? There’s also a thread of romance throughout the story, which I enjoyed. It was well written and proceeded at a believable pace.
Throughout the story we see Matt’s Christian faith grow from nominal to an important part of his life. As he faces the adversity into which he’s thrown he begins to learn to lean on God, and his interactions with Joe, Rick, and Sandra reinforce that and encourage him to continue to grow in his faith. I thought the faith element was handled well, coming across as genuine and not preachy.
I haven’t read many medical themed novels before, but I found the medical details fascinating. Richard Mabry did a great job orienting the reader by explaining unfamiliar terms and concepts without letting those details intrude on the story or slow the pace.
Overall, a thoroughly enjoyable read, and I look forward to reading more books by Richard Mabry in the future. Highly recommended to fans of medical romantic suspense, as well as to fans of romantic suspense in general.
An electronic copy of this book was provided to me free of charge by the publisher, Thomas Nelson, via NetGalley, for review purposes. Opinions expressed in this review are my own. To read more of my reviews, articles, and writing updates, please consider subscribing to my blog at karencollier.com.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Stress Test - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great medical mystery thriller!

Date:May 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Debbie M
Location:Wisconsin
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Stress Test" by Richard Mabry is a medical mystery thriller book. It starts out very fast paced, and is the author's best book, yet! I have read all of his books, and I hope he writes more!! This is a stand alone book, so you won't need to read the other books to understand this one.
Dr. Matt Newman is a doctor, who is leaving private practice to pursue a less stressful job teaching academic medicine, but what he ends up with is a huge stress test. Can he pass this stress test?
He is just finishing up his late night in the ER, when he is kidnapped, and thrown in the trunk of his car, and driven to a warehouse district. He is able to escape, but receives a head injury and lands in the ICU, with a murder charge to boot! The police now believe he is a villain instead of a victim, and he has to prove his innocence.
He hires a red-headed lady lawyer to get him out of this mess. But, who can he trust? The police seem out to get him, there is a dead woman found in the trunk of his car on top of his wallet, his girlfriend dumps him when she hears he is a person of interest in a murder investigation, there is someone following him, and more attempts on his life. You have to read this book to get the answers to the question of - who wants him dead and why?
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this e-book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Stress Test - eBook
This review is fromStress Test.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great product!

Date:June 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dynomom53
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had not read any of Richard Malbry's books. This was a story full of suspense, left me wanting to turn the pages! Some romance but not too much, which I prefer, tastefully done.
What I really appreciate, is when the author writes a story wrapped within his/her real life expertise. They are even more interesting and factual along with great intrigue.
I have since ordered another book by this author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Stress Test - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Richard Mabry Gets Better And Better

Date:April 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pastor
Location:Wisconsin
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Richard Mabry just keeps getting better and better. This is a fast moving book that grabbed my attention right off and never let go. I wish that I could have read the whole book right through but alas I had to put it down to eat and sleep. I have read all of Richard Mabry's fictional medical mystery books.
Stress Test is the story of Dr. Matt Newman. Dr. Newman just about has his life on track with a quieter professional position and a love interest that is headed in the direction of marriage. That is until he is kidnapped in a parking garage in the middle of the night. Suddenly he finds himself in ICU and is being charged for murder. He is later accused of another murder and is kitnapped again.
Can his beautiful red-headed attorney prove his innocence? Will they figure out who is trying to frame Matt? Will he ever get his life back?
This book contains all the elements I have come to enjoy: medical, legal, and mystery. I am not an expert on medicine or law, but did not have to be to enjoy this book without getting bogged down in medicine or law that was over my head.
The only negative in the book as far as I was concerned was that I thought the author was against law abiding citizens owning guns. This is a hot topic right now and I stand very strongly on our Second Amendment right to bear arms. In the way the story in the book played out it was good to get rid of the handgun he acquired, but I don't think that is always a good thing to do.
Anyway, Dr. Matt Newman survived his stress test, can you survive the stress of reading this thriller? You will have to read it to see.
I received this book free from Booksneeze but I was not rquired to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Stress Test - eBook
This review is fromStress Test.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

medical/legal thriller perfect for summer reading

Date:May 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
raisingbookworms
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stress Test was a great medical thriller. It really grabs you and takes you a wild ride with Dr. Matt Newman. Talk about wrongly identified and being in the wrong place and the wrong time. Dr. Newman and his lawyer are strong characters who are fighters for what is right and are willing to stand their ground. Having Sandra Murray as his lawyer and by his side helps Matt during a rough time helps realize he has fallen away a little from his faith. He reaches out and starts reading the bible and re believing. Can he stay alive long enough to clear his name? Can he and Sandra find love and faith in each other? Can the truth come out? Read Stress Test and find out all the answers. This is a great book and perfect for summer reading!!! I will be seeing if our library has more by Richard Mabry. This was the first book I've read by him but I would love to read more. If they are as good as Stress Test then I will want to read all of his books!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Stress Test - eBook
This review is fromStress Test.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Suspense At It's Best

Date:April 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I knew this book was by Dr Mabry, I knew I was going to like it, and he didn't disappoint. Stress Test might be what the main character is experiencing, but you are going to feel the stress while you page turn to get to the answers.
What poor Dr Matt Newman experiences in this book, should not happen to anyone. Just when you think things are about to be cleared up and start to get better...boom...they don't! If he were a cat, he would be down to life Number 8.
The main question is "why", why are all these things happening to him? He is charged with murder, and someone or some people want him dead. Where can he turn? Seems like all the people he counted on are not there for him, except he does have God on his side. God also seems to be putting people in his path, during these trials, that are trying to bring bring him back Home to Him.
Enter Sandra Murray, a beautiful redheaded, spitfire of a Lawyer. She belongs to God, and is not interested in any relationships where she is unequally yoked. Will she be able to help Matt?
From one page to the next you will be on pins and needles, but it is a great read. Don't miss this one!!
I received this book through Litfuse Publicity Group, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Stress Test - eBook
This review is fromStress Test.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Thrilling Medical Suspense from Richard Mabry!

Date:April 19, 2013
Stress Test is another stellar suspense novel by Dr. Richard Mabry! The beginning was so suspenseful and immediately drew me in. With every page, it seemed that clues were discovered and then another twist was thrown in to muddy the waters a bit more. It wasn't until the very end that things really came together for a neat conclusion.
Matt was an interesting character. I liked that this book focused on a male character—unlike many of the novels I read. Matt had a lot going wrong in his life and his attorney, a doctor friend, and brother are three characters who really step in to serve as friends and confidantes throughout the story. These additional characters make for a more well-rounded story. I loved how the faith elements wove through this story—and among all the characters—so naturally.
The one aspect that disappointed me a little was the end. There were a couple of things that didn't completely make sense to me. BUT the rest of the book was so good that this didn't really detract from all the positive aspects of the books. Once again, I really enjoyed this novel by Mabry and look forward to reading others by him in the future! [4 stars]
I received a free copy of this book from Thomas Nelson & Litfuse Publicity in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Stress Test - eBook
This review is fromStress Test.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

An engaging story

Date:April 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Stress Test is a fast-paced read that I devoured in a single sitting. The novel contains all the elements I most enjoy in a book - scenes of suspense, medical emergencies, and characters ensnared in the criminal justice system. As such, I was thoroughly entertained with this engaging story! The characters are well-developed in a manner appropriate for a supsense book, and the author fleshes them out just enough to allow readers to care about the characters without slowing down the pace of the story. Richard Mabry has also woven in elements of faith that naturally fit into Dr. Newman's story arc, and I enjoyed the spiritual theme of the story urging us to trust that God is in control no matter what comes our way.
I did find a few lines in the book that detracted from the story for me, as I am simply not a reader who enjoys the high number of metaphors the author uses especially in the first few chapters of the story. But overall I found the book to be well-written, and it definitely takes skill to craft a book that sizzles by at lightning speed. There are enough of twists and turns to keep you glued to the pages from beginning to end!
If you are looking for a good suspense book that will have you reading into the wee hours of the morning, then definitely pick up a copy of this book. I strongly recommend it and award it 4 out of 5 stars.
Book has been provided courtesy of the publisher, Thomas Nelson, and Litfuse Publicity Group, for the purposes of this unbiased review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Stress Test - eBook
This review is fromStress Test.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Draws you in!

Date:April 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mudpies and Tiaras
Location:Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"They may not have enough evidence to convict him, but they have enough to ruin his life."
If that sentence captured your attention then you may want grab a copy of Stress Test by Richard L. Mabry M.D. Doctor Matt seems almost doomed. Charged with multiple crimes he did not commit, getting injured, and a crazy amount of stress. Luckily help comes to him in the form of Sandra Murray. Matt's career is non-existent and he is facing jail time. Matt is determined to find the truth and maintain his Faith at the same time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Stress Test - eBook
This review is fromStress Test.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Seat-of-the-pants Thriller

Date:April 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dr Matt Newman has just finished his final shift before starting his new job when he is kidnapped and left for dead in a back alley in Dallas. He wakes in hospital to find that he is now the lead suspect in a murder: the victim was found in his car trunk, his wallet was underneath her body, and the police think his kidnapping story is just a story.
Then life gets worse. His girlfriend abandons him, his new employer reconsiders the job offer, he has no car and no money, and his kidnappers, having failed in killing him the first time, are keen to rectify their error. Enter Sandra Murray, a sole-practice lawyer and Christian, to help Matt get his life back on track, and prove his innocence.
Stress Test is an exciting combination of a medical thriller and a romantic suspense, and it certainly meets the test for being thrilling and having loads of suspense. It’s the kind of book you don’t want to put down because you want to know what’s going to happen next. There were a couple of suspension of disbelief moments, but these were able to be quickly ignored as Matt searches for the real criminals and their motives, and comes to rediscover his faith in God in the process. Well worth reading for those who like their thrillers or suspense with a medical flavour.
Thanks to Litfuse Publicity Group for providing a free ebook for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Stress Test - eBook
This review is fromStress Test.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Medicine, Law, Murder Mystery Thriller

Date:April 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Richard L. Mabry, M.D. in his new book "Stress Test" published by Thomas Nelson takes us into the life of Dr. Matt Newman.
From the back cover: THEY MAY NOT HAVE ENOUGH EVIDENCE TO CONVICT HIM, BUT THEY HAVE ENOUGH TO RUIN HIS LIFE.
Dr. Matt Newman thought he was leaving his life as a surgeon in private practice for a better one in academic medicine. But the kidnappers who attacked him as he left the hospital at 2 a.m. have no such plans--they just want him dead. Bound and in the trunk of his car, Matt's only thought is fleeing with his life. He does escape, but at a price: a head injury that lands him in the ICU . . . where he awakens to discover he's being charged with murder.
Sandra Murray is a fiery, redheaded lawyer who swore she was done with doctors after her last relationship. But when Matt calls, she knows she can't walk away from defending someone who is truly innocent.
Matt's career is going down the drain. His freedom and perhaps his life may be next. But with the police convinced he's a killer and the kidnappers still trying to finish what they started, finding the truth--and the faith to keep going--will be the toughest stress test Matt has ever endured.
May I never have a stress test close to what Dr. Matt Newman has to take. Wow, he is kidnapped, escapes being murdered, winds up in a hospital and is then, himself, accused of murder. How much worse can it get? Well the people who kidnapped and want to kill him still want to and they keep framing him for other murders. Now it is up to Sandra, his lawyer, and him to find out what is going on before he winds up dead. Law, medicine and mystery it doesn't get any better than this. "Stress Test" is a complicated mystery thriller as Matt's life in danger practically from page one. Turn off the TV, unplug the computer, put aside the housework you are not going to want to do anything but read this book until the end and enjoy yourself in the process. Dr. Mabry has written another exciting book that most certainly is a huge winner!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Litfuse Publicity Group. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Stress Test - eBook
This review is fromStress Test.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Review from a Man's Perspective

Date:April 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rick
Location:Middleburg, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dr. Matt Newman thought he was leaving his life as a surgeon in private practice for a better one in academic medicine. But the kidnappers who attacked him as he left the hospital at 2 a.m. have no such plans—they just want him dead. Bound and in the trunk of his car, Matt’s only thought is fleeing with his life. He does escape, but at a price: a head injury that lands him in the ICU . . . where he awakens to discover he’s being charged with murder.
Sandra Murray is a fiery, redheaded lawyer who swore she was done with doctors after her last relationship. But when Matt calls, she knows she can’t walk away from defending someone who is truly innocent.
Matt’s career is going down the drain. His freedom and perhaps his life may be next. But with the police convinced he’s a killer and the kidnappers still trying to finish what they started, finding the truth—and the faith to keep going—will be the toughest stress test Matt has ever endured.
Ever since 2010 when Dr. Mabry released his first novel in the “Prescription for Trouble” series, I have waited patiently for each title to make its way to the bookstore so that I could read the newest novel all in one day. At the end of the series, I was saddened, not sure what I was going to be reading next. And then, “Stress Test” was released. Nothing like a 5 hour car ride to put a dent in any great novel.
Dr. Matt Newman has finally taken the step to close one door in his medical profession and open a new one in the local teaching hospital. His future plans include a more relaxed working routine and more time with his fiancé. That is, until he is kidnapped from the hospital parking garage. Keeping his wits about him, he is able to escape from his kidnappers. Unfortunately, he ends up waking up in the very same hospital he’s set to begin work in. Due to a head injury during the kidnapping, when he is brought into the hospital, no one knows who he is. It doesn’t take long, though, for the police to track him down as his identification was found with a dead woman’s body. Without being able to present good evidence of what happened to him during the kidnapping, Matt is forced to hire Sandra Murray to help him defend his case. After turning to his fiancé, he finds that she is trying to distance herself from Matt and his troubles due to her job in the District Attorney’s office. Matt and Sandra follow down every lead they can find in order to prove his innocence. Who would want to kidnap Matt and for what reason? Will Matt get to keep his job or will he be fired before he even starts due to his role in the murder? Do they find the evidence they need to prove Matt didn’t commit this murder or will the District Attorney put him away for a long time? Get in your car, drive to your local bookstore and BUY THE BOOK!
From the moment that Matt is kidnapped, this book takes you on an adrenaline-laced ride. Dr. Mabry has put together another great story that blends a subtle medical thriller with an intense whodunit. His interactions that he creates between the characters make them come alive. He is not only impressive with all of his medical knowledge and know-how, but he also shows how he can weave a storyline through all of the chaos that is created. His storytelling is so genuine and smooth, to the point that I hate when I finally read the last word of the novel.
Is this a "guy's book"? With the main character being a strong male, this is definitely a story that any man would enjoy reading. Dr. Mabry does has a touch of romance, but not enough to keep this from being read and enjoyed by any man. There’s a kidnapping, an escape, an ambush and more. Who wouldn’t want to read a story like that?
I received this book from the publisher in exchange for my honest opinion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Stress Test - eBook
This review is fromStress Test.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Had me from "Lets get him in the trunk!"

Date:April 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sufficient in Jesus
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
From the first paragraph of Stress Test you are placed in the life of Dr. Matt Newman, a surgeon just coming off a long shift. You feel the tiredness, you pull out your car keys in the parking garage, and then attackers grab you from behind and you feel the cracking pain of breaking ribs as they throw you to the concrete floor.
"Lets get him in the trunk," says the voice. And they bind Dr. Newman with duct tape and lock him in his own car's trunk.
This book does not let up, and you won't put it down.
When a body is found in the same trunk that Dr. Newman barely escapes, he is a "person of interest" in a murder. Dr. Newman meets attorney Sandra Murray, and the story just gets better as the mystery becomes more intense.
Sandra is an amazing character. Confident, smart, and Christian, I loved the way she looked out for Dr. Newman. I knew she was going to be my favorite female character when she said to Matthew "You're not on your own. I'm with you. We're a team." I loved watching her look out for him...coming to the hospital to pick him up after he worked late, making sure he went to the hospital after there is an attempt on his life. And there are multiple attempts on his life.
Dr. Newman himself is a man we grow attached to- I love his passion for helping people through practicing medicine and his desire to be proven innocent.
The ease with which his old girlfriend Jennifer dumped him provided comic relief that was also tragic...she was so selfish, yet still tragic.
Matthew's relationship with Sandra was right, and realistic, growing out of their desire to see him acquitted of several crimes. Several. You saw that right. By the middle of this book, they are framing him for more than this one terrible murder.
And you are hoping that he lives through it.
Thank you Dr. Mabry for writing a book with danger, mystery, suspense and a very subtle hint of romance that grows out of caring love, the way it should. I am eagerly {very eagerly!!!} waiting for Heart Failure next!
I received Stress Test from the awesome book tour service, Litfuse for this review. Thank you for the chance to read this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Stress Test - eBook
This review is fromStress Test.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Thrilling!!

Date:April 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Susan
Location:Clover, SC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dr. Matt Newman walks out of the hospital after a busy shift one night and is kidnapped, thrown into the trunk of his car and driven off to be murdered. He manages to escape but wakes up in a hospital with a head injury after emergency surgery. He has no idea what has happened to him. Why in the world was he kidnapped? Who would want him dead? He's lived a very ordinary life, done nothing to deserve this.
Sandra Murray is the best criminal defense attorney in town and she's been called to defend Matt. Her Christian principles have guided her in her career and she's not about to let them slide for any reason.
Will she be able to help Matt? Especially after another attempt is made and more evidence planted to make him look bad?
This book drags you in from the very first and doesn't let go until the last page. Dr. Mabry has a unique ability to build suspense at a pace that makes you nearly breathless and then races to the conclusion.
I'm already planning to preorder his next, Heart Failure.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Stress Test - eBook
This review is fromStress Test.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Definitely an adrenaline rush!!!

Date:April 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What would you do if while walking to your car after a long night at work, you suddenly found yourself being beaten and thrown in the trunk of your own car? What if you managed to escape only to find yourself waking up in a hospital accused of a murder, you are quite certain you didn't commit? What if all the evidence seemed to point to you and everything you claim had happened, can't be proven?
Welcome to the life of Dr. Matt Newman! He was about to begin a new job as assistant professor of surgery at Southwestern Medical Center in Dallas and give up his private practice. He was in a thriving relationship with Jennifer who worked for the District Attorney and was making plans to marry her and begin a family. Just when it all seemed like everything was going his way, he found himself being kidnapped and the last words he recalled hearing before being thrown in the trunk of his own car was "Get rid of him."
Matt did what he had to before they were able to follow through with his plans and managed to escape into a dark alley. When his captors finally gave up trying to find him, he managed to fall off a pile of pallets and wound up in the hospital with a head injury that required surgery. It's when he woke up that life changed in an instant. Suddenly the police were there asking him about a body they found in the trunk of his car along with his wallet. Despite Matt's pleas for innocence, the police believed they had an iron clad open and shut case against Matt for the murder of one of his colleagues. They informed him that he might want to obtain a lawyer.
Sandra Murray considered herself one of the best criminal defense lawyers now they she branched out and formed her own practice. When she received Matt's call from the hospital, something told her that despite all the evidence piling up against him, he might just be innocent. Knowing that everyone deserves a chance at being represented, she agrees to take the case and before long, it seems as if Sandra is finding a hard time, believing that Matt didn't commit murder based on the evidence that keeps working against him. No matter what he claims, there is no proof that anything Matt claims really happened to him.
In the novel Stress Test by Dr. Richard L. Marby, M.D., the author once more takes the readers through the world of medicine to an intense thriller when Matt is wanted for murder. All of those around him, suddenly wonder if he is really innocent. His girlfriend fears that being associated with a possible murder suspect will put her own career at the District Attorney's office at risk, his future job is placed on hold until Matt's case is resolved which means he is literally out of a job with no viable way to pay for a defense attorney. What is even worse is that the people who are out to kill him are still out there and soon Matt learns that he is the next victim. They won't be allowed to let him escape again.
I received Stress Test by Dr. Richard L. Marby, M.D. compliments of Thomas Nelson Publishers and Litfuse Publicity for my honest review and received no monetary compensation for a favorable one. This is the second book, I've had the opportunity to review one of his fictional novels and LOVE every single minute. It is heart-stopping and adrenaline rushing excitement from the very first page. While you have a guess at what could be going on, you won't believe the unbelievable ending. For those that LOVE a bit of medical drama along with a touch of romance and suspense, you'll definitely want to pick this one up. It's definitely a 5 out of 5 star winner and I literally stayed up too late to finish it. I just had to know how it ended. I couldn't wait for morning.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Stress Test - eBook
This review is fromStress Test.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Page-turner, can't put down, forget about time boo

Date:April 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jill Jones
Location:Opelika, AL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you have ever read Richard L. Mabry’s books, you know you won’t rest until you read the last word. “Stress Test” is no different. Just when you take a breath, a surprise waits in the next sentence. Dr. Matt Newnan thought he was leaving his stressful life as a surgeon in private practice for a better one in academic medicine. But as he left the hospital on his last night, he was kidnapped. When he tries to flee, he receives a head injury and wakes up in the ICU framed for murder.
When he loses his new job and the woman he thought he’d spend the rest of his life with abandons him, Dr. Newnan is left wondering if he can really trust God. Finding the truth and keeping the faith will be the biggest stress test of his life…and will definitely test your stress level. Thanks to his hard-working attorney and a friend from medical school, Matt may just discover that God has a plan for his life after all.
Mabry doesn’t disappoint with his latest thriller. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did. This is a can’t put down, page turning, forget about time book.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the Litfuse Publicity Group, as part of their blogger review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Stress Test - eBook
This review is fromStress Test.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

fast paced medical thriller

Date:April 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dr. Matt Newman has sold his private practice as a surgeon and will be starting his academic career soon. But as he is leaving the hospital after a late shift, two men attack him, bind him and throw him in the trunk of his car. Matt realizes they are out to kill him. He manages to find a device in the trunk to loosen his bonds, open the trunk and escape into a dark ally. He is able to avoid his captors but in the process falls and hits his head.
He awakes in the hospital only to find that the police are interested in him. His car has been found with a murdered nurse in the trunk. Matt is on the very short list of suspects.
A friend suggests he call Sandra Murray, a fiery redheaded defense lawyer. She is willing to take his case but hits roadblocks as evidence mounts. Will she be able to find out what is going on before Matt is convicted of a crime he did not commit?
I really liked this book. The action is continuous, right from the beginning. And there are twists in the plot that kept my interest to the very end.
Newman is a nice guy and his life gets harder as it becomes evident someone is out to get him. He struggles with his nominal Christianity but comes to realize that he needs to be serious about his faith.
I liked Sandra! She's got issues with doctors, since the one she was dating refused to even consider God as creator and having a relationship with Him. Yet she is willing to help Matt, believing he is truly innocent. She has a strong Christian faith and that is good for Matt.
And the medical aspect is superb. Mabry is an expert when it comes to writing medical thrillers.
I received a complimentary egalley of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Stress Test - eBook
This review is fromStress Test.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Mystery at It's Finest

Date:April 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
The IE Mommy
Location:Beaumont, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Now I see why this book is called Stress Test because it was stressful to read! Richard Mabry had me in suspense the entire book until the very end. I could not stop reading until the mystery was solved and even then, it completely blew me away.
In retrospect, I can see the foreshadowing of what happened in the end but I had no clue as I was reading why Dr. Matt Newman was being targeted because there appeared to be no motive. Usually I have some indication but in this case I saw no connection; thus a true mystery!
Matt Newman’s life is turned upside down beginning with a kidnapping and then a series of misfortunes that land him in the hospital, in jail and afraid for his life. Even worse, the woman he was considering marrying won’t support him and chooses instead to protect her job at the D.A.’s office. The one person he usually finds comfort in is thousands of miles away. His attorney Sandra Murray shows him an usual amount of attention and he wonders if she does this for all her clients, or just him.
Stress Test is full of twists and turns and every time you think that Matt is on his way to being exonerated, Detective Grimes, who seems to be out to get him, finds more “evidence” to put him away. Matt’s faith is tested and while he has drifted away from God, he has no choice but to call on him in his darkest hour.
Richard Mabry’s medical background is evident with all of the terminology and practices used in the hospital portions of the book. An author who used to be a Doctor is the perfect storyteller for a book with a Doctor as the main character. It gives more life and truth to his words.
Stress Test is a page turned that will keep you guessing, and frustrated, and rooting for Matt until the very end!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Stress Test - eBook
This review is fromStress Test.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I Held My Breath

Date:March 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sally
Location:Tampa, FL
Poor Dr. Newman. He can't "catch a break." He's kidnapped, escapes, only to find himself in the hospital with a serious head injury. He loses his job, his girl friend, the police think he's a murderer, and someone wants him dead! Thankfully, he latches on to a good attorney--a pretty one too. That bit of romance plus the fact that he slowly rediscovers God makes for a good story.
I especially liked reading about how Matt tries and tries again to restart his life. The medical aspects as well as the aspects of the law were well told.
There are some times I held my breath as I read. I usually read quietly, but once, I exclaimed out loud, "Oh!" when I saw what just happened. I did manage to guess the ending; however, I enjoyed this book. The final pages felt a bit rushed, but overall, a really good read.
Thank you to Booksneeze and Thomas Nelson Publisher for my copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Stress Test - eBook
This review is fromStress Test.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fast Moving, Good Characters

Date:March 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Teddy G
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
For the most part, I thought this was a well-written book. I was turning pages as fast as I could read them to make sure that Matt would survive. I liked watching the attorney-client relationship develop, and tentatively stretch a little further. The romance aspect was slow and subtle, and only added to the book. Also realistic and engaging, was Matt's search for a deeper faith to grab hold of during this crazy, tumultuous ride. He didn't reach for God for anyone else's benefit, but he found peace in knowing that God was in control, no matter whether his desperate pleas for help were answered or not.
However, there were several gaps in the plot that detracted from the overall enjoyment of the book for me. I felt that instead of just trying to get Matt cleared of charges, he and his attorney would have been working to find out the reason he'd been targeted in the first place. The answers he was eventually given felt a little thin given the complexity of the plot to kill and/or frame him for murder. There were so many shady characters involved in the crimes and cover-ups that I wanted it to tie together a little more neatly. Also, Matt's character, as a doctor and surgeon with a quick-working mind, should have been more observant of things like missing keys and planted evidence. It didn't ring true that the criminals were able to get to him so easily and so often.
Overall, I give this book 3.5 stars, rounded up to 4. I really did like Matt and Sandra, the attorney; I wanted Matt to get his life back, but make it better along the way. I liked several of the minor characters, and they added key components to the story without feeling contrived.
The author is a retired physician, adding medical details that make the characters authentic, without being over the reader's head.
I received a copy of this book from Thomas Nelson, as part of their BookSneeze program, in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>