Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The Heiress of Winterwood - eBook

Thomas Nelson The Heiress of Winterwood - eBook

Amelia Barrett gave her word. Keeping it could cost her everything.

Darbury, England, 1814: Amelia Barrett, heiress to an estate nestled in the English moors, defies family expectations and promises to raise her dying friend's baby. She'll risk everything to keep her word-even to the point of proposing to the child's father-a sea captain she's never met.

Average Customer Rating:
4.571 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
16
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
42 out of 42100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Heiress of Winterwood - eBook
Review 1 for The Heiress of Winterwood - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The pages kept turning...

Date:January 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jen Pen
Location:Midwest
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SUMMARY:
Amelia Barrett made a promise upon her friend’s deathbed to take care of her baby, Lucy, as her very own. As heiress to the Winterwood estate upon marriage, Amelia finds herself betrothed to Edward Littleton, a man whose character is different than originally portrayed and who refuses to allow Lucy to stay. Upon Captain Graham Sterling’s return from sea, Amelia must explain his wife’s passing, introduce him to his daughter and make quick plans to ensure her bond with Lucy remains. Through many twists and turns, friends and foes, lies and loves, Amelia and Graham must learn to work together for a chance at their happily-ever-after.
A PENNY FOR MY THOUGHTS:
This book was outstanding, even more so as it was Sarah Ladd’s debut novel. The characters, faith, time frame (Darbury, England: 1814), writing style, word choice and story line all kept me fully engaged until the end. I thoroughly enjoyed this story from start to finish…I was only disappointed when I read the last page! Fortunately, I have the sequel, The Headmistress of Rosemere, on my shelf to read next. Bravo!!
RATING:
5 (out of 5) pennies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Heiress of Winterwood - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The More I Read It, The More I liked It

Date:December 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
ruthhill74
Location:Yelm, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely love a book that only gets better as I continue to read it. I was certain I would give this a four-star rating and that I knew exactly how this would end. The more I read, the more I liked it. And in the last few pages, the author threw a wrench into the narrative that completely threw me for a loop. It was then that I called out and said that the author had earned her five-star rating!
This is a typical Christian historical romance in many ways. It's like a Christian Regency romance in many ways. However, there is no profanity nor bedrooms scenes. The Christian message comes through in a way that does not come across as preachy. Captain Sterling and Amelia do make for an intriguing character, and Edward is that villain who becomes more vile as the story goes on. If you like romance with a little bit of intrigue, this book is for you.
I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I was not financially compensated, and all opinions are 100 percent mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Heiress of Winterwood - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:February 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Graham Sterling has spent what seems like a lifetime at sea. He is in Her Majesty’s Navy and has been forced to put to port his battle-damaged ship for repairs. While on leave he returns home to find his older brother pretty much a drunkard and the family estate in major debt. His wife has died 10 months previous and he meets his 9-month-old baby daughter, Lucy, for the first time. She has been in the care of his wife’s best friend, Amelia Barrett. Initially, all Graham wants to do is find someone to care for his daughter, get his ship repaired and return to the sea. Everything begins to change when he meets his daughter and Amelia.
Amelia Barrett is engaged to marry Edward Littleton. If she doesn’t marry by her 24th birthday, her estate will pass to the next living male relative. She is two months away from turning 24. Her fiancé has demanded that Amelia stop caring for little Lucy once they are married. Amelia has grown to love Lucy as if she were her own daughter and refuses to give her up. This creates much tension between her and Edward. Amelia is determined to care for Lucy no matter the cost just as she promised Katherine before she died. Amelia overhears a discussion between Edward and her uncle and she begins to discover things about Edward she doesn’t like. Is he truly the man for her? Can he force her to give up Lucy? Will yet another person she loves be taken from her?
Both main characters struggle with believing God has their best interests in mind when difficult circumstances in life come to the fore. They don’t doubt the existence of God, but whether He cares for their day-to-day struggles as they both believe God has let them down in the past. There isn’t a lot of action in this story and the plot moves along slowly. I would have liked more background information on these main characters to see what made them tick. I think this would have added depth to the characters and that would have helped me connect with them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Heiress of Winterwood - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A pleasant read

Date:September 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Janet P
Location:El Cajon, CA
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Heiress of Winterwood, written by Sarah E. Ladd, is Book One in the Whispers On The Moors series. An excerpt from the back cover: Amelia Barrett, heiress to an estate nestled in the English moors, defies family expectations and promises to raise her dying friend's baby. She'll risk everything to keep her word - even to the point of proposing to the child's father - a sea captain she's never met.
The storyline was interesting; the time is 1814 in England and young Amelia promises to raise baby Lucy after the baby's mother dies. The father, Captain Graham Sterling, has been out to sea and returns when Lucy is nine months old. Amelia is so attached to Lucy by this time that she proposes to Graham when they first meet so she can keep mothering Lucy. The book was fairly fast paced and had some twists that kept the storyline moving. However I thought the ending had a predictable outcome. I still enjoyed reading this book very much and would recommend it to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Heiress of Winterwood - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Leahhhh12
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amelia is an heiress to a grand estate. Her parents having died, she is under the care of her uncle and his wife. Amelia must marry someone by the time she turns 24 or the estate will go to someone else. Her uncle has found what he believes to be a suitable match: Edward Littleton. Not only will Edward marry Amelia, but he will also become her uncle’s business partner. However, when a friend of Amelia’s dies and leaves her daughter with her, Amelia wants nothing else but to raise the child as her own. When the child’s father, Graham, returns, Amelia must find a way to work with him in order to find the best way for the child to be raised.
I do not want to give a lot of the plot away, though I know several different book summaries I have read give a lot away anyway. But I will say that this book was very enjoyable and it kept me guessing as to how things would be resolved. There are a few twists and turns that may come as a surprise and there are a few other things that happened that weren’t such a surprise. Overall I greatly enjoyed this book and look forward to reading more from this author.
I received a free ecopy of this book from the publisher through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. All opinions stated are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Heiress of Winterwood - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Engaging, Adventurous Read

Date:June 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Monica H
Location:Atlanta
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Heiress of Winterwood is a novel that takes place in 1814 and centers around a young heiress’ struggle to keep a promise made to a dying friend – that she would raise her baby as her own. While this doesn’t seem quite so shocking to a contemporary mind, in the time period of the book it was unheard of and Amelia’s determination to raise baby Lucy causes all sorts of problems.
Amelia’s fiancée wants nothing to do with the baby and insists that the baby be out of the house before their impending marriage takes place. Undeterred, Amelia comes up with a bold and daring plan to keep Lucy – she proposes marriage to the baby’s sea captain father. Once again, this creates all sorts of problems.
Compounding everything, Amelia is set to inherit her family’s estate and a vast fortune…but only if she is married by a certain age. Conveniently, this age happens to be only a short time after the book’s events take place.
The main character was more progressive and outspoken than I think most women of her time would have been, but overall the story seemed to fit in the time period it was placed. I found it interesting to read about all the social mores and constraints women faced at the time that made it very difficult for Amelia to aid in the search for Lucy when the baby is kidnapped.
This is the first book I have read by Sarah Ladd and I thoroughly enjoyed it. Historical fiction is one of my favorite genres and this particular book came complete with adventure, mystery and intrigue.
Note: I received a complimentary copy of this book from BookSneeze in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Heiress of Winterwood - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice plot development and attention to detail

Date:August 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
An Old Fashioned Girl
Location:Minnesota
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In "The Heiress of Winterwood," the first installment of her new series, "Whispers on the Moors," Sarah Ladd introduces an heiress who has fallen in love with her deceased friend's baby. Since her fiancé refuses to keep the child after they are wed, Amelia poses a proposition to the baby's father when he returns from overseas: marry her, and her substantial fortune will go entirely to the baby Lucy. Graham, a sea captain, needs to find a secure home for Lucy, and Amelia is the ideal caretaker, but he is still grieving his wife and has no intention of marrying again. Add the complications that Amelia's fortune is contingent upon getting married in the next few months before she turns 24, her fiancé starts showing a cruel side, and the baby and her nurse are kidnapped . . .
Considering how few days pass over the course of this book - maybe a month? - I was quite impressed by the author's ability to be so thorough while still keeping the plot moving. We get a clear picture of the depth of Amelia's family's displeasure over her choices, from early-on misgivings to the full-blown anger of when things come to a head. At the same time, Ladd does not neglect the politics - a woman who suddenly throws over one fiancé for another would have been the object of much gossip and censure, so working with the pastor to turn opinion in favor of the match was a strategic and impressive ploy.
I do get frustrated when characters go and do precisely what they were warned not to; since it's in a book, it is guaranteed to end poorly. There is no hope of a consequence-free act of defiance. I realize people do this all the time - I probably do as well - but sometimes it's so obviously a terrible decision that anyone with a lick of sense would never even consider it. Sadly, there is an instance of this in the novel.
I liked how Amelia and Graham's struggles with God were pretty universal - who doesn't struggle with doubts when bad things keep happening and people one loves die? And isn't it so easy to try to rely on one's own strength to solve problems? I've found I'm constantly having to reboot my mindset, since it wants to follow rules of this world, but God is outside all the rules and can change them when He wants. I don't have to rely on my own pathetic power, because God is there to be it for me. Bad stuff still happens - God doesn't exist just to make me happy, that's for sure - but when I let Him, He carries me through.
There was little surprise to the story, and it really went nowhere other than the expected route, from the villain, to the love story, to the supporting characters. It was, however, a pleasant read, and I do look forward to the next installment of the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Heiress of Winterwood - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Unique twist on Regency!

Date:July 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Crystal
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm in utter shock and disbelief to learn that this is Sarah Ladd's debut novel! For she writes with such depth and skill, far advancing your expectations! Aye, she will bring fierce competition to the Regency world, that's for sure! ;)
From the stunning cover, to the opening Prologue, the story grabs hold of your heart and never lets go, nary until the last page has turned. The Heiress, Amelia Barrett is best friends with pregnant neighbor Katherine the two form a loving bond of friendship. But shortly after going into labor, she is in critical condition. Katherine's last wish is for Amelia to raise the child, Lucy. She promises she'll protect her always. Captain Graham Sterling, who's been away battling at sea, finally returns to Winterwood to learn of his wife's tragic passing and the joy of seeing Lucy. But Amelia has other ideas, and they don't include her Edward Littleton, a man who won't accept Lucy as his own -
Quote between Amelia and Graham upon his first arrival, she explains her bewildering plan:
"Captain, I have raised Lucy these nine months. I could not love her more if she were my own. She is more important to me than a hundred Mr. Littletons and a thousand Winterwoods. Believe me when I say I will do whatever necessary to see her well cared for. In order to continue raising Lucy when you return to your duties, and in order to inherit Winterwood and have the resources to provide Lucy with what she needs, I would need to marry someone besides Mr. Littleon in the next few weeks." His eyes narrowed. "What exactly are you suggesting?" "You, Captain Sterling. You and I should marry, Immediately." Graham knew the only person he trusted with his daughter was Amelia, headstrong, determined, intriguing Amelia with a passion to a promise. Within a short few weeks, Graham and Amelia learn about how they underestimate one another, that both are equally loyal, resourceful, beautiful and handsome. "That no relationship is by accident". When their faith is tested by a close enemy who plots to destroy their one true love. Can they survive the dangerous secrets and find God's peace for a happily ever after? I won't spoil it for you* ;)
Again, I'd like to sing Sarah Ladd's praises for being truly kind and gracious by sending me a copy to honestly review* LOVE YOU Miss Sarah, your sincerely the best! I hope one day I can have a relationship like Amelia and Graham's! <3
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Heiress of Winterwood - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fell in love....

Date:July 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Deanna
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I fell in love with this book just by reading the excerpt! Ekk! I can't wait to buy it and read it. It has whet my appetite!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Heiress of Winterwood - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

•°o•:*:•. A Pleasant Divergence .•:*:• o°•

Date:July 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Heather Guerrero, Homeschool Mom to 2Blessings
Location:CORONA, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User submitted photo
I enjoyed reading this book and found myself not wanting to put it down. Amelia Barrett makes a bold decision right from the get-go, so things start off in full force. Graham Sterling is a strong, easy-to-like character. Both have faith and a love of Christ, but with room for growth. Mr. Littleton, who is courting Amelia, however, is QUITE easy to dislike.
Amelia seems to be at odds with her cousin, Helena, but she can’t figure out why. We are not clued in until near the end of the story, and the reasoning is very quick and lacking in much background detail. I did feel like the book ended abruptly. I was left with questions about Amelia’s aunt and uncle and what their response to the events that unfolded were, as well as wanting details about Amelia and Graham’s return trip home, wedding details, how Helena will deal with her circumstances, etc. I truly hope those questions will be answered in book #2, The Headmistress of Rosemere, which according to her FB page should be available in December 2013. Interestingly, I noticed the author added her middle initial on the second cover :)
I LOVE how the covers do not reveal the character’s face, allowing our minds to imagine it on our own.
Overall, I would recommend this book to a friend.
4 out of 5 stars
Included: Reading group questions
I purchased this book and am offering my honest opinion.
July 13, 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Heiress of Winterwood - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

If you like Julie Klassen you will like Sarah Ladd

Date:July 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kristine Morgan
Location:Littlefork MN
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's Darbury England 1814 and Amelia Barrett has a problem. Her best friend Kathleen has died in childbirth, leaving behind a beautiful baby girl named Lucy. Kathleen's husband is a Captain in the navy and it is unknown when or if he shall return.Amelia promises Kathleen that she will always be there for Lucy.
Amelia is set to inherit Winterwood and become a very wealthy young woman provided she marries by her 24th birthday. Her uncle has betrothed her to Edward Littleton and promises to make him a partner in the family shipping business.Everything is wonderful until Edward lays down the law, he will marry Amelia and become master of Winterwood, but Lucy must go.
Captain Graham Sterling arrives to find his daughter Lucy. Amelia, desperate to keep 9 month old Lucy does the unthinkable, she proposes marriage to Graham.
I loved this book.I could not wait to find out how everything would come together and I look forward to the next novel in the series. Sarah Ladd has written an intriguing tale in the same style as Julie Klassen.
I was given this book to review and state that this is my true and honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Heiress of Winterwood - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Dynamic Read

Date:May 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Robin Wallace
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Heiress of Winterwood (Whispers On The Moors)
Sarah Ladd
Book Summary: Amelia Barrett gave her word. Keeping it could cost her everything.
Darbury, England, 1814
Amelia Barrett, heiress to an estate nestled in the English moors, defies family expectations and promises to raise her dying friend’s baby. She'll risk everything to keep her word—even to the point of proposing to the child’s father—a sea captain she’s never met. When the child vanishes with little more than an ominous ransom note hinting to her whereabouts, Amelia and Graham are driven to test the boundaries of their love for this little one. Amelia’s detailed plans would normally see her through any trial, but now, desperate and shaken, she’s forced to examine her soul and face her one weakness: pride. Graham’s strength and self-control have served him well and earned him much respect, but chasing perfection has kept him a prisoner of his own discipline. And away from the family he has sworn to love and protect. Both must learn to accept God’s sovereignty and relinquish control so they can grasp the future He has for planned for them.
Review: I really enjoyed this book. This is my first book written by Sarah Ladd but it will not be my last. The entire story was captivating. I loved Amelia and Graham they were great and very realistic. Many of the events were realistic but also not difficult to predict. The dialog and secondary characters were unknown which easily made everyone suspect. All of which merged perfectly with events as they unfolded for the characters. It was not difficult to figure out who was the kidnapper but the extent that this person went to acquire money was startling. I liked the resolution to events that were very realistic and yet the very end left so many more questions than answers. I felt let down because there were some loose ends that I wanted to see resolved. I am hoping that some of these things get resolved in the next book in this series………. Over all this was a thrilling read with dynamic characters.
I would like to thank Book Sneeze and Thomas Nelson for allowing me to read and review this book in return for a free copy and I was never asked to write a favorable review by anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Heiress of Winterwood - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of the best reads this year

Date:April 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
weatherlover1
Location:U.P Mi
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amelia makes a promise to her dying friend that she will raise her child as her own. A problem arises when Amelia’s fiancé will not allow the child to remain once they are married. Amelia loves the child so much she does the unthinkable for the time period and asked the babies father Graham who has just returned from his ship to marry her. Not long after the baby is kidnapped and Amelia and Graham must work together to find the baby. Will love win in the end? Read this great book to find out!
This was a great book I really enjoyed it. This is a new author and I think she did an amazing job on her first book.
What I liked: This book was well written and the characters likable. Amelia loved the child like it was her own and would do anything to keep the promise she made to her friend. Graham found out he had a daughter and was trying to figure out where he fit into the child’s life and also where her beautiful guardian fit as well. I also enjoyed the suspense of who kidnapped the child and if they where going to be able to get her back. Very well put together. I also absolutely love the cover image!
What I did not like: Over all not much. The ending was a tad bit predictable.
This was a very good book by a wonderful new author and I highly recommend this book. I am very much looking forward to the next book in this series. I would say this is one of the best books I have read yet this year! Grab a copy today.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Heiress of Winterwood - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Tranported me!

Date:April 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Beth
Location:Azusa, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Heiress of Winterwood by Sarah Ladd is a Christian historical fiction romanceImage set in Darbury, England, 1814. Amelia Barrett, heiress of Winterwood, nestled in the English moors, is pledged to be married to Edward Littleton of Dunton; however, Amilia is a woman of her word. After vowing to care for the infant of her dying friend, Katherine, she reassesses with whom she should marry. Within two weeks’ time, she will be 24 years old, and Winterwood will remain her home with her husband as its master. But only if she’s marries.
Amelia is certain that the only way to keep her vow to her dying friend is to propose to the father of the baby, Captain Graham Sterling. She will protect and raise this baby as her own when the captain returns to sea, contrary to the motherless upbringing Amelia had to endure.
Through twists and turns, the child is abducted along with her nurse.
Who could have arranged such a travesty? Her uncle who will lose his business partner if she doesn’t marry Littleton? Her former fiancé who will lose all the power slated for him if he marries Amelia? The drunken, indebted uncle of the kidnapped child who will do anything to pay off his debts? Or is there another within the pages of this story who has much too much to lose if Captain and Amelia marry?
The Heiress of Winterwood was an enjoyable read and the plot developed well keeping me turning the pages. I planned to write my review before I read the resolution, however, I couldn’t put the e-book down to write the review.
Thank you, Sarah Ladd for this fascinating period piece that remained true to its time and transported me to the moors and to the docks of Liverpool!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Heiress of Winterwood - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Unimaginable determination

Date:June 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sherrey
Location:Portland, OR
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A young woman living in the Regency Period has promised her dying friend she will raise her friend’s newborn. Amelia Barrett doesn’t shy away from making this promise and committing her life to it. Her determination leads her on an intriguing and emotional journey. A long-time fan of historical fiction, The Heiress of Winterwood did not disappoint this reviewer.
Sarah Ladd writes with vivid description of both time and place. Her characters are engaging and likeable, and Ladd makes it easy to pick sides in the Winterwood battle.
Ladd’s plot line combines intrigue, kidnapping, some minor scenes of abuse, and emotions revolving around a bittersweet love. Tension keeps the story moving, and I found myself not wanting to put the book down.
Amelia’s commitment to her dying friend to raise her infant is not one many of us are likely familiar with or perhaps would have the courage to make. Amelia is so committed to her promise and the child that she makes it her life’s goal to carry this promise out. In fact, her commitment entangles her plans to marry as she develops a rather convoluted plan to marry instead the child’s father as soon as he returns from the sea. And if that will not work, she considers adoption, a rare thing in this time period.
Underlying Amelia’s wish to raise the child, Ladd weaves an inspiring story of Amelia’s faith as well as that of the child’s father. God’s hand in their plans is clear and ever-present.
For fans of historical Christian fiction, I highly recommend The Heiress of Winterwood. I don’t believe you’ll be disappointed.
I received a copy of this book from BookSneeze.com in exchange for a fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Heiress of Winterwood - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Time Stealer

Date:May 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
The Happy Reader
Location:Columbia, TN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book, in its entirety, was a pleasure to read, and has made it to the coveted will read again spot on my bookshelf. It's not every day you get the chance to meet your new favorite author! It's easy to see why The Heiress of Winterwood was the winner of the 2011 Genesis Award ~ Ms. Ladd did an excellent job.
Selfishness, red herrings and intrigue, engagements, true love and not-so-true love, all these abound in this wonderful novel and make it a time-stealer.
Amelia Barrett is a woman who knows what she wants. And that's to keep baby Lucy, not only because she promised the baby's dying mother to do so, but because she loves her as her own. Enter Edward Littleton, the man whom she's engaged to marry in just a few short weeks and has no wish nor promise to keep the baby. When all seems lost and it's evident the baby must leave, an answer comes in the form of Captain Sterling.
These characters were excellently rounded and full of life.The good, the bad, and the downright ugly was brought out by an artist with a fabulous talent for painting word pictures that come to life in your mind.
Ms. Ladd has made it to my favorite author's list and I will be reading more of her work. I do so love finding a new fabulous author with a penchant for telling fantastic stories.
*My thanks to the publisher, Thomas Nelson, who provided this book in exchange for my honest opinions. They were in no wise required to be favorable. It was just that good!*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Heiress of Winterwood - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Delightful & Austen-esque

Date:May 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
CharityUAusten
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I found this a delightful book, full of a fast-paced adventure with a dash of mystery and a sweet romance added in. It was in the spirit of Julie Klassen’s newest, The Tutor’s Daughter – they were actually set in fairly similar settings. Heiress of Winterwood also reminded me of other Regency novels – fans of Jane Austen will enjoy this one, I think. The story flowed very smoothly, although the second half especially was filled with an exciting mystery and all manner of twists and turns. The first half was much slower and gentler, so to speak. The characters were wonderful – very lovable. There’s nothing objectionable whatsoever in it. If you’re a Jane Austen fan, like I said, give this one a try! It was good.
**Litfuse sent me a free copy of this book as part of its blog tour. I wasn’t paid for this review, and wasn’t required to post positively.**
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Heiress of Winterwood - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My Favorite Kind of Story

Date:May 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Thelma Carlson
Location:Russell, PA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this new series by Sarah E. Ladd--Heiress of
Winterwood and can't wait for book 2. I love stories from
the regency period and Victorian England. The story is
well written. Good job Sarah! When is Book 2 due out?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Heiress of Winterwood - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good story overall

Date:May 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Location:Arizona
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Heiress of Winterwood was interesting enough for me to read in less than two days. It had the typical 1800s intrigue often found in novels about England during that time period. There was a dashing captain, who was very heroic and likable, and then there was Amelia, who had many good qualities as well. She did the usual annoying things like putting herself in danger by not listening when told to stay put. A lot of the elements were predictable, but it was still an enjoyable read.
I loved how you weren't quite sure who the bad guy was in the end and how a few people turned out to have ulterior motives that you didn't see coming. In essence, this was like a historical mystery because of the plot elements. But I did love the romance between the main characters. What started out as a practical plan that the hero resisted ended up being the thing that pulled their hearts toward each other. And he was very tender toward his baby. Gotta love a man who is soft around any child, even if it's his own.
The core spiritual theme had to do with not trying to fix things ourselves or solve problems in our own strength. That's always a good element and core theme for a story. The issue of learning to let go and trust God was demonstrated throughout the conflict. While not an overpowering theme, it was subtle, yet present. I didn't connect as much to the characters as I would have liked, but it was still a good story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Heiress of Winterwood - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I Savored This Book

Date:May 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I savored this book, and it read so fast. You feel like you were with Amelia Barrett and living in Winterwood. England is at War with America and it is the year 1812.
Captain Graham Sterling is home, while his ship is being repaired, and has made his way to Winterwood for the first glimpse of his daughter Lucy. His wife died right after her birth, and Amelia promised to take care of the little one. She will do anything to keep her promise. Going as far as breaking her engagement to Edward, and proposing to Graham.
You get the feeling that God is in control here, and the things that happen are not accidents. Although, it will keep you page turning, and put your heart in your throat. How can there be such a ruthless man?
Who will Amelia end up with? She needs to marry or lose her estate to some distant cousin. I did have some unanswered questions at the end of this book. Her relationship with her Aunt and Uncle, and cousin Helena has been damaged, and I wondered if they can repair it...of course with God's help all is possible.
I received this book through Litfuse Publicity Group, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.