Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson A Matter of Trust - eBook

Thomas Nelson A Matter of Trust - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
22 out of 2492%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Matter of Trust - eBook
Review 1 for A Matter of Trust - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

3.5 stars

Date:November 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jessica Allen
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Plot: This book had a couple of different cases being solved. You have the main story of the prosecutor who was shot, and then you have a couple smaller cases to follow. It wasn't too much though. It was the right amount to keep you engaged in everything that was going on.
Characters: The character development in this book was great. You have Mia, the main character who you learn about in the beginning of the book, but then you also have several supporting characters who's lives are revealed as you read.
Themes: I can't say that I could effectively identify a theme in this book. There is nothing that could be learned from reading it. It's just a crime novel and a good read, but not one that teaches and has you come away thinking.
Emotion: There was not a lot of emotional pull in this book. The characters in the book had definitely had emotion, but not enough that the reader could feel it. There was however a lot of depth to the notion of emotion that the characters were feeling.
Overall: I really enjoyed this book. There was a good amount of mystery and suspense. There was also a good amount of personal struggle on the part of Mia. The plot twist at the end is a great surprise.
---I received this book for free from the publisher for this review.---
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Matter of Trust - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Can't wait for Book 2!

Date:September 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Josh Phelps
Location:Winchester, Ky
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been a huge fan of Lis Wiehl since I read her first book Hand of Fate back in 2010. She has captured me with her twists and turns throughout every novel I have read. Now comes a new series, A Mia Quinn Mystery, and I cannot wait.
Book #1 in the series, A Matter of Trust grabbed me from the beginning. Mia, on the phone in her basement with her friend, a gunshot rings out and Mia must listen to her friend bleed to death. Having to deal with her husband’s recent death and now returning to work she knows she must be the one to solve the murder of her friend.
Mia, a newly single mom and widow must now go about solving this murder while attending to her own children and the piles of debt that she knew nothing about before her husband passed away. She teams with Charlie, whom she has had issues with before on a case. They start looking into the death and many things come in the way of the investigation.
This book is amazing, as have all the Lis Wiehl novels that I have read. I would highly recommend this book to anyone who likes murder mysteries. This book will keep you guessing from beginning to end.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com® <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Matter of Trust - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Crime mystery novel with twists and turns

Date:May 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Janet Albertson
Location:Johnstown, CO
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had read another book by Lis Wiehl, so I knew she writes a strong crime mystery novel with surprising twists and turns. Mia Quinn is a prosecutor for a county District Attorney’s office, recently returning to that job after the death of her husband in a car crash. She is on the phone with her best friend, another prosecuting attorney in the office, when she hears her friend get shot and killed. The book is spent with her and a police officer investigating this murder and a similar one of another prosecuting attorney that happened four years ago. At the same time, they are investigating a suicidal death of a young boy, the age of Mia’s own son, who was bullied and harassed at school and on Facebook leading to his death.
Mia’s father has recently found Christ as his Savior and shows Mia how Christ can transform an absent, abandoning father, into a loving, kind, and helpful dad. Mia needs all the support she can get because of the loss of her husband and her friend, but also because she finds out their financial chaos her husband had hid from her. Going back to work leaves her teen son alone too much of the time, and exposed to the peer pressure of students who will bully him if he doesn’t go along with their plans. The changes and losses in her four-year-old daughter’s life cause her to have night terrors. How can Mia be fully engaged at work, investigate the murders, be a good mom to her kids, and keep anyone else from being killed?
I enjoyed this book because I love mysteries that are complicated and hard to figure out. This book deals with current issues, like bullying at school, dangers of social media, keeping our kids safe, and pressures of finances in our day. It is an intense book that I would not recommend for young readers, but is definitely appropriate for adults who enjoy mysteries.
I received my complimentary e-copy from Book Sneeze in exchange for my honest review of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Matter of Trust - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Exciting Book

Date:May 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Callie
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I requested A Matter Of Trust by Lis Weihl on the recommendation of a friend, hoping for something fast-paced and exciting. And I have to say, it did not disappoint!
After the recent death of her husband, Mia returns to work as a prosecutor. While talking on the phone with a friend and coworker, Mia hears a gunshot and realizes she has just been witness to a murder. She is assigned to the case and teams up with a detective, Charlie, to find out who killed her friend.
I've been watching so many mystery/crime shows on TV lately, and this book reminded me of one of those shows, only written down. It was easy to read and made me want to keep reading. I may or may not have skipped working out during the kids' naps because the book sucked me in and I didn't want to put it down.
While not overtly Christian, except for little tidbits here and there, this was a clean, exciting suspense novel, and I definitely want to check out more of Lis Weihl's books!
Note: I received this e-book for free from Booksneeze in exchange for this review. This is my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Matter of Trust - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Suspense Women Can Relate To

Date:June 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
gjo50
Location:Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Today’s women can relate to Mia as a working mom, a wronged wife, and a struggling woman. The suspense of the story keeps the reader’s interest, while the realistic attempts of Mia as a mother dealing with a teen and the actions of her deceased husband creates a real person. All mothers who work or deal with teens, struggle to raise their children well. You can feel Mia’s struggle as she tries to solve the mysteries. This book is highly enjoyable to all readers of suspense with a female detective, but it fits that small unused gap of books for mature women, too. If you are into mystery/suspense get this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Matter of Trust - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The way suspense was meant to be written

Date:June 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"A Matter of Trust" is a non-stop action ride that will have your pulse accelerating from the first chapter! It's every bit as good as the previous books written by Wiehl and Henry, and features my favorite character created by Wiehl thus far. Mia Quinn is bright, competent, and gutsy, and yet she also is fully human and makes mistakes, wishes she were a better parent, and sometimes struggles to know how she'll handle everything life throws at her. As such, she's a character that readers will instantly be able to connect with, and she's so likeable that they will be cheering her on as she works to unravel the truth and find justice. I loved the two parallel plot lines that are woven together in this book, the first involving finding out who murdered Mia's friend and co-worker Colleen, and the second involving holding a group of high-school bullies accountable for contributing to another student's act of suicide. The combination makes for a compelling read with plenty of suspense, some deeply emotional scenes, and several twists and turns that will keep you turning the pages. The possibilities of future romance for Mia that are developed in this novel were also a nice touch, and it will be interesting to see what develops.
Readers who love a well-written suspense novel are absolutely going to love "A Matter of Trust". I found it impossible to put down, and I am eagerly anticipating the next installment in the series. 4.5 out of 5 stars.
Book has been provided courtesy of publicist Laura Wallar with HarperCollinsCanada, Ltd. Available from your favorite book retailer from Thomas Nelson, a division of HarperCollins.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Matter of Trust - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jennifer M
Location:Phoenix
The description of A Matter of Trust painted it as a page-turner, and that's exactly what it was. I brought it with me on a four-day camping trip, thinking it would last until we headed home. I ended up devouring it so quickly it barely made it till day two.
Mia Quinn is a prosecutor who, at very beginning of the story, is on the phone with a friend and colleague when she suddenly hears her friend getting shot and ultimately killed. The story that follows is her journey to solve the murder, while simultaneously trying to keep her own family afloat. She's recently widowed, and the mother to both a teen and a four year old, who are dealing with problems of their own.
This was a tough book to put down. The characters are real and likeable, the plot twists are well-timed, and the whole thing just unfolds like an edge-of-your seat thriller. My only complaint, if I was forced to come up with one, was that it ended rather abruptly. I wasn't ready to stop reading. But I guess that's also a positive, as it's always the best books that leave you wanting more, more, more.
I really enjoyed this book, and look forward to reading other titles by this author.
*I received this book for free from the Booksneeze program, in exchange for an honest review.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Matter of Trust - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Read it Now: Never Regret

Date:May 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
The Upside Down Reader
Location:Ringgold, Georgia
Age:Under 18
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ok for those of you who don’t know, I am a member on booksneeze. Which means, I get free books and all I have to do is review them. Best system ever!!!!! Anyways, the most recent one I picked was A Matter of Trust by Lis Wiehl.Overall it was a good book. It’s all about a prosecutor, Mia, who is talking to her fellow prosecutor over the phone when in an instant her friend is shot leaving Mia to hear her bleed to death. So she has to team up with a homicide detective, Charlie, to find her killer. The book is dramatically layered. Mia as just gone back to work after her husband has died. She is paying a wheelbarrowfull of bills that her husband never told her about, has to deal with her rebellious son, her daughter who has screaming fits at night, and she also is taking on another case of a bullied suicide victim. While I couldn’t put it down, I was also fascinated as Wiehl held your hand as she walked you through the process of the life of a prosecutor. When I neared the end, it hit me. The title hasn’t come into play yet. Therefore it must be someone she trusts. Even after this thought I was disappointed in myself when I couldn’t figure out the killer. I knew when it was too late. I saw the signs and was to engrossed in the book to pay attention to them! That says it was a good book!!
~/~The Upside-Down Reader
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Matter of Trust - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Couldn't put it down

Date:March 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Debbie M
Location:Wisconsin
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"A Matter of Trust" by Lis Wiehl and April Henry is the first book in the Mia Quinn series. I read this as an e book. I have read all of Lis Wiehl's books, and this one did not disappoint.
Mia Quinn is a recently widowed mom to a teenager and a 4 year old. Trying to juggle being a new single mom, with a job, can be very trying. She had left the work force, and then after her husband's death, she needed to pay the bills, so she goes back to work as a prosecutor. While she is on the phone with the County's DA, who is also a friend of hers, she hears gun shots, and gasping for breath. She tells her son to listen on the phone, to see if her friend tells who shot her, while she goes to the house.
This is an edge of your seat, can't put the book down, mystery thriller, that will leave you guessing who done it, until the very end!!!! It was very well written, and the characters were all very well developed. You could understand the trials Mia was going through, with her daughter waking up screaming in the night, trying to pay bills, finding out that her husband had another mailing address, that was piled up with more bills. I can't wait until the next book comes out!!!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this e-book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Matter of Trust - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A great read!

Date:April 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Debbie
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mia Quinn is a recently widowed mom who has returned to her job as a prosecutor. She works long hours already, but when tragedy strikes her workplace and problems spring up at home she must figure out how to stay committed to her family while working even longer hours to solve a murder before another victim turns up. She grapples to deal with what is going around her as well as figuring out who she can trust.
I must say I absolutely loved this book! I started off trying to predict the ending, but the author keeps you guessing and throws in a few curve balls. There were hints of romance and a recurring theme of family growth and reconciliation. A Matter of Trust is the first book in a new series, and I can see where the author has laid the groundwork in developing her characters’ back stories as well as future stories. The plot for this story was resolved, but interactions between Mia and those around her leave room for development in future books.
If you like realistic mystery novels, I would definitely recommend this book and possibly future novels in the series. I loved the fact that the author is writing about something she has personal experience with (Lis Wiehl is a former federal prosecutor herself).
I received this book for free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®(dot)com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions and thoughts I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Matter of Trust - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Danger, Mystery, Action, Adventure and Thrills

Date:April 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lis Wiehl with April Henry in their new book, "A Matter Of Trust" Book One in the Mia Quinn Mystery series published by Thomas Nelson introduces us to Mia Quinn.
From the inside jacket flap: When life is murder, who can you trust?
One minute Mia Quinn is in her basement, chatting on the phone with a colleague at the prosecutor's office. The next minute there's a gunshot over the line, and Mia listens in horror as her colleague and friend Colleen bleeds to death.
Mia's a natural for heading up the murder investigation, but these days she has all she can do to hold her life together. As a new widow with a pile of debts, a troubled teenaged son, and a four-year-old who wakes up screaming at night, she needs more time with her family, not less--and working Colleen's case will be especially demanding. But Colleen was her friend, and she needs to keep her job. So she reluctantly teams up with detective Charlie Carlson to investigate Colleen's death. But the deeper they dig, the more complications unfold--even the unsettling possibility that someone may be coming after her.
Lis Wiehl's signature plot twists and relatable characters shine in this absorbing series debut . . . with an intriguing cameo from her best-selling Triple Threat series.
Yay, a brand new series from the writing team of Lis Wiehl with April Henry. Welcome Mia Quinn. Mia is a highly relatable character, she is a widow, has lots of debts, is trying to raise her son and is forced back into the work force. A murder is committed right before her ears, she is on the phone at that time, and she is given that assignment as well as a few others. I needed Mia to figure out who the murderer was because I sure couldn't. "A Matter Of Trust" is an excellent murder mystery filled with marvelous characters, great plot twists, suspense and thrills. This is an exciting book, extremely well paced and suspenseful. I am enjoying this series and look forward to the next book.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book for free from Thomas Nelson through the BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A Matter of Trust - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Unlikeable Main Character

Date:April 19, 2013
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I typically finish books I start. However, after stopping and starting several times and reading nearly 100 pages, I decided to set this one aside. I enjoyed Lis Wiehl's previous fiction series (although later books shared a lot of similarities to James Patterson's Women's Murder Club series), so I was looking forward to this one.
Unfortunately, I didn't like Mia, the main character. AT. ALL. The premise of the book is that Mia is on the phone with a friend when her friend is shot. She hands the phone to her teenage son to listen to her dying breaths and leaves her two children (the youngest of which is preschool age) alone while she drives across town to "help" her friend. Seriously? Who does that?! It just seemed super selfish and pretty much set the stage for how Mia acts throughout the rest of the book (or at least as far as I read).
So, in this instance an unlikeable character was too much for me to get past. It's also worth mentioning that not much happened in the first third of the book. Pretty slow-moving plot. I don't plan to read the rest of this series. [DNF]
I received a free copy of this book from Thomas Nelson's Booksneeze program in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for A Matter of Trust - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Matter of Trust

Date:March 3, 2013
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After the loss of her husband Mia is charged with the task of raising their two children alone. Mia is having trouble adjusting to the loss. Her husband left things in a financial mess for her. Gabe and Brooke are having issues of their own. Gabe is in high school and needs to bulk up for football. The guys on the football team keep things interesting. Brooke is having terrible nightmares. Is something terribly wrong with her or is she just struggling with her dads death?
Mia’s coworker Colleen is murdered while on the phone with Mia. Mia is assigned to work the case with Officer Charlie. Mia is not sure about having to work with this particular Homicide Officer.
Both Colleen and Stan were murdered with the same style of gun. The prosecutor’s office looks into the fact it might be the same killer. Pressure is on to solve both cases even though Stan’s murder was five years ago.
Darin Dane is a suicide victim of high school cyber stalking and bullying. The reasons are wide and varied…no real rhyme or reason. Will teens just be teens or is it something more? Will the family get justice or will the teens get away with it?
Can Mia and Charlie solve Colleen and Stan’s murders? Is it just one person? Is the murderer stalking Mia? Why did Darin commit suicide? How much of a role did the internet play in his death? Could his parents have kept it from happening?
I am pleased to give this book a five star rating.
I received this book free from the publisher through BookSneeze.com. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for A Matter of Trust - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

A Matter of Trust

Date:April 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Courtney
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I rarely bash a book I’ve read, knowing that others may see beauty where I find none. However, with Lis Wiehl’s new book, A Matter of Trust, I find almost nothing good to say. From the outset, the author uses as many stereotypes and clichés as possible to convey to her reader as many hackneyed plot points and emotional truisms as she can. While I don’t doubt that she knows her stuff on an objective level, it’s hard to believe anyone would be willing to suspend their disbelief in order to make it to the end of the book.
We must follow the character of Mia Quinn who hears her best friend shot while on the phone. How did she hear the shot from all the way down the street when her friend was in the basement, you might ask? Well, let’s just say that’s an unanswered question. It is almost always the mark of an amateur writer to tell us things in dialogue that are already entirely obvious from the context. The pages of this book are full of repetitions, which is sad, considering the percentage derived from pop psychology and other media entertainment for its source material. Furthermore, for a prosecutor who, we are told, is on top of her game, she has to ask a lot of ridiculous questions that even an uninitiated audience should know are rhetorical at best. The only way to make it through is to dispose of any logical sense you might have, hold your nose, and simply refuse to do anything but scream on the roller coaster ride that is this book.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for A Matter of Trust - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A whodunnit that's clean

Date:April 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Vera
Location:North Carolina
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My thoughts: A Matter of Trust is the first in a series - "A Mia Quinn Mystery." It opens with the main character, Mia, engaged in a phone conversation with her friend. While talking, Mia hears a gunshot and then silence. She flees to the scene leaving her teenage son with the responsibility of caring for her young daughter.
Mia is a member of the prosecution's staff and is given the task of solving the case of her friend's murder, who was also a member of the prosecution's staff. This case seems to be tied in with one which also involved the murder of another member of the prosecution's staff.
This book is a mystery. It is also the tale of Mia who is struggling personally with the recent death of her husband who left her with a large debt and their children. But it also involves social issues of school bullying and the ramifications of which that can be life threatening.
The story moves quickly, is engaging, captures your imagination, and has a twist at the end to surprise you. I find it interesting to delve into the mystery genre from time to time, and it is a pleasure to read one written by a Christian author that is a "safe read" avoiding the pitfalls of foul language and scenes about which we do not wish to read.
A big applause to author Lis Wiehl for this book and I certainly look forward to reading the sequels of it.
DISCLOSURE: I received a complimentary copy in exchange for my honest review from BookSneeze on behalf of the publisher, Thomas Nelson, and the author, Lis Wiehl.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for A Matter of Trust - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another winner from Lis Wiehl

Date:April 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Vicky
Location:Lafayette, Indiana
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There are your favorite authors that can't write fast enough. Lis Wiehl is one of my favorites and was thrilled to see she had written a new book. She keeps getting better and better with each book. This is one of the best suspense books I have read.
This is a Mia Quinn mystery. The storyline starts with a intriguing murder that sets this book into many plots, twists and remarkable characters. Mia is talking with a friend from the prosecutors office and hears a gunshot over the phone. She realizes her colleague is dying and heads over there while her son stays on the phone in case she says anything-bad idea. She wants to head up the murder investigation but with so much on her plate she needs help and the storyline unfolds. Mia is a new widow with lots of debts, troubled teenage son, a four year old who wakes up screaming at night and just trying to keep her job. As they dig deeper, more complications unfold and she finds herself a target.
I was so absorbed by this story and the different themes. She touched on being a successful prosecutor, trying to be a mom and holding it all together. Appearances can be deceiving and Mia learns this from the strong characters throughout the book. This is one book I will keep and cannot wait for the sequel. Please Lis-write faster!
Thanks to Thomas Nelson for this free copy for my honest opinion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for A Matter of Trust - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Review of the book A Matter of Trust

Date:March 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
britluver20021
Location:Arnold, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was another murder mystery book. This book is about a woman who hears her friend being shot on the phone and heard her die and they try to figure out how who did this. And there is alot of twists and turns because I thought I had the killer all figured out but I was wrong. I like books like this and I read it in about 2 days, the second day I read for about 3 hours because I couldn't put it down.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for A Matter of Trust - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good start to a new series

Date:March 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the first in what I hope will be a new series based on the experiences of Wiehl. The novel takes place in Seattle, where Wiehl lived and worked. The plot is loosely based on the real life murder of a federal prosecutor that remains unsolved today. The main character is Mia Quinn, a full-time legal professional and single mom, just like Lisa.
The novel begins as Mia is talking on the phone to her friend and colleague when she hears a shot. Her friend has been murdered. The DA asks her to head up the investigation.
Mia is hesitant. She just lost her husband in a one car accident a few months ago. She has a teenage son who seems to be heading for trouble and a four year old daughter who has issues as well. Mia is torn, wanting to spend more time with her children but knowing she cannot risk her job. She has a pile of debt and needs the income.
Mia agrees to take on the investigation with the condition that she is allowed to continue her work on another case – the suicide of a teen suspected of being the victim of cyber-bullying. She will be working beside Seattle homicide detective Charlie Carlson. The two get off to a rocky start in the investigation and will have to learn to trust each other.
I really liked this mystery. The characters are developed well and the plot has enough twists and turns that it kept my interest to the very end. I found out about the legal aspects of cyber-bullying and learned about night terrors.
Two aspects of the novel were less than perfect, however. The ending was unsatisfactory in that the perfectly timed rescue was unrealistic. It was like reading one of those old westerns where the good guy is surrounded and the cavalry comes over the hill just in the nick of time.
The other disappointment was that this novel could have taken place in almost any city. Living in the Pacific Northwest, I love to read novels set in the area. I wish Wiehl and Henry had added more characteristics of the unique aspects of Seattle in their scene descriptions.
Nonetheless, a good mystery and I hope there are several more.
I received a complimentary egalley of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for A Matter of Trust - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wiehl's Best Yet

Date:March 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Columbus, GA
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"A Matter of Trust" is Lis Wiehl’s best book yet. The first of her "Mia Quinn Mysteries," written with April Henry, "A Matter of Trust" is a complex crime story, full of surprises and suspense. Mia Quinn is a newly widowed mother of two who has just resumed her position as a prosecutor. As she struggles to balance work and family alone, she faces unique challenges with both of her children and financially, as she discovers some secrets her husband had been keeping from her. When her best friend and fellow prosecutor is murdered, Mia is assigned to the case, but only accepts it on the condition that she can keep working another case, one she believes must be pursued, though her boss and others do not agree. As readers try to figure out who done it, they’ll also be wondering how Mia will manage all she must.
One theme subtly woven through the book is that people and circumstances aren’t always what they seem to be. Mia and the other characters in the book make all kinds of assumptions about the people they encounter throughout the book only to learn that they are wrong, for good or bad. What matters is doing the right thing as far as you are concerned and placing trust carefully where it has been earned. Forgiveness, compassion, and giving others the opportunity to make things right when possible are also stressed.
I enjoyed reading this book and will look forward to the next "Mia Quinn Mystery." I thank Thomas Nelson Publishers for sending this one in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for A Matter of Trust - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Could not put it down!

Date:March 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Laura
Location:Louisiana
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
“A Matter of Trust” by Lis Wiehl opens with Mia Quinn overhearing her colleague and friend, Colleen, being murdered. Mia and Colleen worked together as prosecutors in the King County District Attorney’s office and now Mia is in charge of finding who murdered Colleen. It seems there may be link to another prosecutor that was murdered and everyone is wondering if they may be next. The murder is not the only case she is working on. She is also trying to find justice for a young boy who committed suicide after being bullied. Mia is also a recently widowed mother of two. She must juggle motherhood and her career and sometimes has a hard time of keeping the two separate. Her teenage son has become rebellious and does not like new responsibilities he has to face. Will Mia be able to bring the killer to justice before they harm her? Will she be able to save her son from heading down a troubled path?
This is the first book in the Mia Quinn series and it will not let you down. The book is very fast paced and full of suspense. You may think you have figured out who the killer but it will keep you guessing until the end. Lis Wiehl has done another great job with this mystery. If you are a fan of her Triple Threat books then you will definitely want to read this one as well. I received a complimentary copy of this book to review from Thomas Nelson Publishers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>