Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Seven Men: And the Secret of Their Greatness - eBook

Thomas Nelson Seven Men: And the Secret of Their Greatness - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.722 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
18 out of 18100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Seven Men: And the Secret of Their Greatness - eBook
Review 1 for Seven Men: And the Secret of Their Greatness - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Inspiring and challenging!

Date:January 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Clint
Location:PA
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These brief examinations of lives lived to their fullest are examples that men (and women) in this age should look to in order to stand against a culture of selfishness and comfort-seeking. Eric Metaxas has a very enjoyable writing style and brings out the power of God in these men's lives. All men Christian or not will be influenced by this work.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Seven Men: And the Secret of Their Greatness - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Read

Date:January 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
Kathy
Location:Macungie PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great book. Gave it to my son for Christmas and he read through it quickly and gave it great reviews!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Seven Men: And the Secret of Their Greatness - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

a good read.

Date:January 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
renee
Location:canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I found his take on the reason for their greatness quite interesting. Enjoyed the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Seven Men: And the Secret of Their Greatness - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Such amazing men!

Date:November 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
IChooseJoy
Location:Illinois
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a wonderful book to review today: 7 Men and the Secret of Their Greatness by Eric Metaxas. My first experience with Eric Metaxas was a children’s book he wrote about Squanto, the Indian who helped the Pilgrims survive in the new year. He revealed what most historians leave out today about this amazing man. The next time I heard about him was on the Veggie Tale’s DVD about Esther. It’s obvious that Metaxas has an incredible ability to bring to life the great people of history. And he has absolutely done that with his new book 7 Men and the Secret of Their Greatness.
Metaxas spends one chapter with each of these men: George Washington, William Wilberforce, Eric Liddell, Dietrich Bonhoeffer, Jackie Robinson, John Paul II, and Charles Colson. I was riveted reading about these men and aspects of their lives I had never heard before. I loved learning about how their great faith in God got them through extraordinarily difficult circumstances–leading the American army in war, fighting against powerful men to end the slave trade, living in a Japanese concentration camp in China, hoping to survive a German concentration camp after plotting to assassinate the evil Hitler, holding his tongue against blatant racism so he could pave the way for future African Americans to integrate into American society, hiding his studying to be a priest while under German occupation during the war, and surviving prison while serving a sentence for breaking the law and then finding numerous ways to help prisoners for the rest of his life.
Each chapter had enough that I really felt like I was beginning to know the person, but not a full biography. Metaxas has written full books about both William Wilberforce and Dietrich Bonhoeffer.
I was so inspired by these seven great Christian men. They weren’t perfect–far from it in fact–but they all had strong courage and perseverance which came through their relationship with Jesus Christ. I am now excited to meet them all in heaven one day!
(I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher through Booksneeze in order to write this honest review.)
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Seven Men: And the Secret of Their Greatness - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great read, very inspirational bios

Date:November 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
displacedcowboy
Location:Los Angeles
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a friend recommend this book, so I ordered it. I found it enjoyable to read and inspirational. At a time when courage is so rare, the biographies about the courage of these seven men challenged me to be more courageous and stand for truth.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Seven Men: And the Secret of Their Greatness - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Inspirational!

Date:November 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lane
Location:Evans, GA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A very good reading experience! Contains great behind the scene looks into the lives of some of the greatest men who ever lived!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Seven Men: And the Secret of Their Greatness - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The secret that everybody knows

Date:October 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cliffymania
Location:Michigan
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Seven Men and the Secret of their Greatness is not just another book on leadership, or success, or fame and fortune. This book has real heart and its intent isn’t to make you more successful, but to simply shine a light on the path to being a better man.
Eric Metaxas has already written extended biographies on Lutheran pastor Dietrich Bonhoeffer and abolitionist William Wilberforce. Seven Men is a collection of seven short biographies on seven men that have influenced Eric’s life and revealed to him what manhood, real God-given manhood, is all about.
Why does the book exist?
From the outset Eric seeks to answer two questions: What is a man? What makes a man great?
To answer these questions he says, “you can talk about right and wrong all day long, but ultimately people need to see it. Seeing and studying the actual lives of people is simply the best way to communicate ideas about how to behave and how not to behave. We need heroes and role models.”
The seven role models that Eric chose are George Washington (the first U.S. President), William Wilberforce (British abolitionist), Eric Liddell (Athlete and Missionary), Dietrich Bonhoeffer (Pastor and freedom fighter), Jackie Robinson (Athlete), Pope John Paul II (Pope), and Charles “Chuck” Colson (Lawyer and Evangelist). He admits that Jesus is his greatest role model and this book is about how these men responded to the call of Christ on their lives.
The Stories
There is a lot to be gained in this book. The stories are told in compelling fashion and do not shy away from the failures of these men. In fact, the failures help illuminate brightly where the men went right.
George Washington’s horrendous mistakes in the French and Indian War coupled with his faith in Christ led him to be the man called the Father of the United States and give away the chance for supreme power.
Dietrich Bonhoeffer, because of his desire to see people follow Christ and not Hitler, saw the danger of Hitler seemingly before anyone else. He did not sit idly by hiding behind pastor’s robes, but instead became part of the movement to stop Hitler. Bonhoeffer was executed as a conspirator.
Chuck Colson, one of the architects of the Nixon era Watergate scandal, went to jail for his crimes. His new found faith in Christ after the scandal and before going to jail were seen as a ruse, but Colson accepted his time in prison and used it to reach out to the men their with the message of forgiveness that only Christ can offer.
Eric Liddel wasn’t just an athlete, but a missionary who gave up the American dream to take Christ to the world. Jackie Robinson didn’t just break the color barrier in baseball he was a living example of not returning hatred with hatred because of his faith in Christ.
And the stories continue…
The Wrap Up
While I’m not equipped to verify all the history of the book it does include 21 pages of footnotes and an extensive index. Eric is not trying to hide anything here, or gloss over anything that would go against these men.
He is trying to highlight the secret to real manhood and the answer is simple: faith in Jesus Christ, lived out.
This is not just a book for men, but also a chance for women to see examples of the way a good man should act.
In Eric’s words
God’s idea of making men strong was so that they would use that strength to protect women and children and anyone else. There’s something heroic in that. Male strength is a gift from God, it’s always and everywhere meant to be used to bless others.
I couldn’t agree more.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Seven Men: And the Secret of Their Greatness - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Powerful and Inspiring

Date:October 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pastor Al
Location:Carleton Place, ON
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Summary
Eric Metaxas brings his skill as a writer and researcher to this excellent series of biographies. Each man’s story is told with care, accuracy and depth, giving us important insights and reflections on their life and spiritual journeys. Each chapter stands on its own as a great piece of writing and together they make a life-changing book.
Review
I haven’t read a lot of biographies. I prefer theological and practical discipleship books. That being said, one of the greatest gifts that came from receiving “7 Men” to review was the inspiration to read more biographies — because I loved it! What an inspiring book.
I’ve really been missing out and Metaxas’ introduction gives some great reasons why it is important to put aside other things to read biographies of great men (and women): We need heroes!
Certainly Jesus is the hero for all generations, but God seems to have designed humanity with the need to follow in the footsteps of less-divine men as well. All of us need to find people we can look up to and emulate (and learn from when they catastrophically blow it). We need mentors who are right in front of us, in our homes, churches and neighbourhoods, and those who have passed from this life. Without giving these people influence over our lives we live life myopic at best, or blind at worst. “7 Men” gives us a great sampling of heroes to help open our eyes.
Metaxas is an incredible writer and intelligent scholar, but what surprised me about this book was that he wrote more as a fan than a researcher. His accurate language and love for details were all there, and the writing was impeccable, but the heart behind the words was what really came to the forefront. He wants every reader — particularly the men — to be as inspired, excited and amazed by these men as he is. And not just the men, but by the God who created these men, the Christ who saved them, and the Holy Spirit who lived in their hearts and motivated their lives.
This is no dry series of biographies full of events and dates. This book is meant to challenge and motivate us to a greater awareness of life. Each biography gives us lessons to learn, habits to adopt, mistakes to avoid and points us to God as our ultimate source of wisdom and strength.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Seven Men: And the Secret of Their Greatness - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Really good overview of these men

Date:September 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Glen
Location:San Diego
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent source for men's ministry. It would be even better if there were some questions in the back to use for either personal or groups.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Seven Men: And the Secret of Their Greatness - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Well done mix of history and Christianity

Date:July 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Maddog
Location:Hayes, VA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great read with valuable life lessons from important Christian figures in history. I hope he does more books on this theme!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Seven Men: And the Secret of Their Greatness - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Eric Metaxas' work is outstanding!

Date:August 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Paul Nolting
Location:Mankato, MN
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Eric Metaxas has provided an excellent study of what it means to be a godly man. His seven brief biographies reveal men making principled decisions often at great personal expense in service to God, country, and our fellowmen. It is an inspiring read and should be on the short list of all men and their sons!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Seven Men: And the Secret of Their Greatness - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Do You Want To Be Great...Follow These Examples

Date:June 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pastor
Location:Wisconsin
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"7 Men And The Secret Of Their Greatness" was written by Eric Metaxas. The author is a best selling author who has written several biographies incliding "Bonhoeffer". The author has chosen 7 men to serve as role models for men and those becoming men. We all need role models to inspire us and young people today certainly need men of great character and purpose to look up to. Many of the roles models today; athletes and movie stars don't cut it. Many of them don't even want to be role models.
I learned much about the seven men who were chosen as the role models for this book. For instance I didn't know that Eric Little became a missionary. It was very a very interesting read.
The 7 men written about are:
1.George Washington
2.William Wilberforce
3. Eric Liddell
4. Dietrich Bonhoeffer
5. Jackie Robinson
6. Pope John Paul II
7. Charles W. Colson
While the choosing of the 7 men are the author's prerogative, not all of them would have been mine. I would not have chosen Pope John Paul II, but I am an evangelical Christian. I also would not have chosen Chuck Colson, although he was a great man. I can think of others I would place ahead of him. But again, this is personal opinion. The reader would have his own ideas and I think this debate makes it even more interesting.
I recommend this book to any man and think it would be very helpful for those approaching manhood to read. Character is the need of the hour and the secret to greatness.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Seven Men: And the Secret of Their Greatness - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great book for every American family

Date:July 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Richard Hoover
Location:NE Ohio
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Eric Metaxas has done a wonderful job of highlighting the courage displayed and the many accomplishments of the men covered in 7 Men and the Secret of Their Greatness. With all the pressure Christians face to conform to the standards of a world opposed to God, every parent should make sure their children understand the importance of the sacrifices made by the men in this book.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Seven Men: And the Secret of Their Greatness - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent biographies.

Date:July 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cheer Leader
Location:Prairie Grove, Arkansas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent selection of biographies. I was very pleased to see George Washington included. I have already ordered another copy to give as a gift.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Seven Men: And the Secret of Their Greatness - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good read

Date:July 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tony Brackemyre
Location:Wilmington OH
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
7 Men gives a brief look into the lives of seven men who influenced the people of their time period and whose impact still endures today. Most readers will recognize the names of the men in this book, but probably don’t know a lot about each man’s story. The men featured in the book are George Washington, William Wilberforce, Eric Liddell, Dietrich Bonhoeffer, Jackie Robinson, Pope John Paull II and Chuck Colson.
Obviously each man is recognizable for something they accomplished – George Washington for being the first President of the US, Eric Liddell for refusing to run in his strongest Olympic event because it was held on Sunday, Jackie Robinson for breaking the color barrier in baseball. What 7 Men focuses on are the circumstances leading up to or following those well-known events. The author highlights the decisions and choices that were made that lead up to those notable accomplishments and what occurred afterward. For example, most of the chapter on Eric Liddell discusses the direction of his life following his Olympic experience. Most people know about his gold medal. Many probably don’t know what he did when the games were over.
7 Men provided an honest look at the lives of these men. The author shared both their successes and their shortcomings. It was a good read that might prompt the reader to investigate more information about these men than what these shorter biographies provide.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Seven Men: And the Secret of Their Greatness - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Word Portraits of 7 Notable Men

Date:June 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
richard r blake
Location:Bridgman, MI
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Heroic Word Portraits of Seven Notable Men – Men of Courage, Sacrifice, and True Greatness
“7 Men and the Secret of their Greatness” features short biographical sketches which highlight the lives of seven men who have demonstrated strength in their commitment to a cause, personal conviction, courage in crisis, and bravery in the face of battle. Metaxas has created inspiring positive role models represented by men in government, sports, and church leadership. These men have made significant contributions to social reform, breaking down racial barriers, and religious bias. Eric Metaxas writes with a passion which inspires his reader to pursue excellence, motivate patriotism, and in making right choices.
This may not be the book for real history buffs, however it is suited perfectly for reading together as a part of your family night, included in home school reading assignments, and as a part of every church and Christian school library.
“7 Men and the Secret of their Greatness” is widely endorsed by recognized leaders, is highly readable, and deeply moving. I am recommending it to my family and friends.
Disclosure of Material Connection: A complimentary copy of this book was provided for review purposes. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Seven Men: And the Secret of Their Greatness - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A deeply inspiring read

Date:April 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
jnjdet
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This books takes us through the lives of seven different men who for different reasons are remembered for their greatness. What makes this such a valuable book is that they are great because of their humility and their faith. They dared to go against what their human nature would dictate and as the intro says "surrendering themselves to a higher purpose, of giving something away that they might have kept.". This takes courage and is worth imitating in our own lives. I happened to be doing a study on Hebrews while reading this book and it struck me that these men have what Hebrews 13:7 says "Remember those who led you, who spoke the word of God to you; and considering the result of their conduct, imitate their faith."(NASB) Mr. Metaxas does a fantastic job with this book as each chapter is a mini-biography of the seven men's lives. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and highly recommend it. I believe I will refer to it often. It is a valuable resource to have.
I received this ebook free from booksneeze.com in exchange for my review.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Seven Men: And the Secret of Their Greatness - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A brief intro to the lives of 7 extraordinary men

Date:May 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Heather King
Location:Gloucester, VA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Eric Metaxas's biographies of William Wilberforce and Dietrich Bonhoeffer were some of my favorite works in any genre. I found them inspiring, full of information while still being readable, and actually theologically educational. I learned so much about these men and their faith. Even my eight-year-old daughter has become a fan of Metaxas because she loved his biography of Squanto for kids. So, I was thrilled to have the opportunity to read and review his new book, Seven Men: And the Secret of Their Greatness.
The introduction is compelling. As a woman and a mom with three daughters at that, I haven't really given much thought to the crisis facing boys in our modern times, when ideals of chivalry, strength of convictions, and moral confidence are scoffed at, mocked, denied, and often ripped to pieces by the media and other cultural influences. Metaxas's goal, then, in writing this book was to address the question of 'What is a man?' by looking at seven men he believes represent a model of manhood.
As always for Metaxas, the writing style is readable and easy to follow. The stories he tells are engaging and interesting, and the biographies become more inspirational than just the cold, hard facts with Metaxas's commentary and presentation. He chose to write about: George Washington, William Wilberforce, Eric Liddell, Dietrich Bonhoeffer, Jackie Robinson, Pope John Paul II, and Charles Colson. Some of these biographies were more familiar to me than others. In particular, I learned the most and was surprised the most by the biography on Pope John Paul II.
After reading the longer Metaxas biographies, I have to confess I was a bit disappointed by these extremely small, fast-paced, and superficial looks at the lives of seven incredibly complex and historic men. I shouldn't have been surprised. It makes sense that he'd only be able to give a cursory overview of their lives in the amount of space available.
So, while I wouldn't consider this book an adequate study on any of these individual men, as a brief introduction to these biographies, this book works. As an exploration of the concept of manhood and an attempt to inspire us to value chivalry, self-sacrifice, and standing up for what is right, this book succeeds. Perhaps more importantly, I'm now intrigued by the lives of the men I didn't know much about and I can't wait to read longer, in-depth biographies of their lives.
I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.