Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House NLT iShine Bible for Boys

Tyndale House NLT iShine Bible for Boys

This compact Bible for tween boys brings together the popular Christian tween brand "iShine" with the clearly understandable New Living Translation (NLT) of the Bible and Bible features to build tweens' faith. Full-color pages inside focus on one of the central themes of iShine: VIP—Value, Identity, and Purpose. Tweens will see how they are valued by God, how their identity is found in Jesus, and the purpose that they have because of this. The iShine Bible answers questions relating to many of the issues that tween boys face with a tween-friendly index and features articles on having a relationship with Jesus and growing in faith.

QR codes and URLs in the Bible link to videos on these topics and other online faith-building content.  This compact Bible for tweens brings together the popular Christian tween brand iShine with the clearly understandable New Living Translation. The iShine Bible answers questions relating to many of the issues that tweens face with a tween-friendly index.

Features:
  • Topical index of issues and questions tweens face
  • Articles on the Bible
  • How to find identity in Jesus and grow in faith
  • Full-color presentation page
  • 12-page section focusing on a tween's Value, Identity, and Purpose
  • Great Chapters, Stories, and Verses to Memorize
Average Customer Rating:
4.583 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 1292%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for NLT iShine Bible for Boys
Review 1 for NLT iShine Bible for Boys
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Too Techy for my Tween

Date:April 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
lsfd213
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this for my 9y/o Step-Son whom didn't like his NIV bible. The cover is really stylish, soft & supple. I am hoping the ease of reading NLT will encourage him to get in the word as my husband & I enjoy this translation best. I read the reviews prior to purchasing, but I wish I would've gone with a different choice after receiving it. Maybe it's just my step-son, but he is not techy at all at his age. He's not on the computer except at school, he doesn't have a smartphone so he doesn't use the scan codes & online links as there are several in this bible so I'm not sure he'll connect with it during this tween time. If you have a really techy child in this age range, then this will be a great fit for you, but it is a wonderful translation for daily read, and they do offer great articles geared at tweens. We'll see if he grows into the techy side of it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NLT iShine Bible for Boys
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Teetie
Location:Iowa
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Grandson really was excited about his new Bible,
I know he will enjoy it bacause it is easy to understand.
Once again a Great Value.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NLT iShine Bible for Boys
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome!

Date:June 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lesley P
Location:Shady Spring, WV
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received both the girls and the boys versions to review. The girls comes in a pink with a few flowers and the boys is blue and orange with a skateboarding figure. The covers are perfect for tweens - it's got a certain coolness about it. My daughter is almost 8 and she loved it! She was excited to get a new Bible and it being pink was even better. I put the boy one away and will give it to Matthew when he is older. It's a very unique product as it has so much technology involved with it....with that I mean it has the QR codes (which I've never used but those folks with smartphones will know what I'm talking about) and all the links to go online and learn even more. It really was a wonderful idea - combine tweens love of all things techy and the Bible. I'm thinking this could be a wonderful thing!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NLT iShine Bible for Boys
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great for Tweens Seeking Truth

Date:June 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dorie
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
With its stylish, leather-like bound cover, this slim, backpack size Bible contains a few digital extras. Tweens can scan smart phone codes or visit web site links printed within each article. Three colorful articles discussing value, identity, and purpose are dispersed throughout the Bible. These articles are simple in design and communicate truths clearly and concisely. Biblical verses or passages are referenced in each article. The page number of the exact verse or passage is included with the reference. I particularly like this attention to detail as some readers may not be overly familiar with the layout of the Bible.
Although the internet features of this Bible are modern, the Bible remains an unaltered NLT version. There is an introduction featuring information on the Bible in general, Jesus, and faith. Another section includes individual statements or questions that apply to life. There are many relevant topics included in this section. A few are attitudes, cheating, choices, friendship, purity, smoking, and swearing. The responses include a Bible verse written in full and a short explanation of what the Bible says about each topic. These are well written, easily understandable, and applicable to tween life. At the very end, a separate index for topics and verses helps tweens find passages more easily.
Overall, written and marketed for tweens, this Bible can do exactly what it intends to do: reach tweens of today's culture with God's Word.
Thank you to Tyndale House Publishers, Inc. for providing me with a complimentary copy of each iShine Bible.
All opinions expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NLT iShine Bible for Boys
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Wonderful Bible for The Young Person...

Date:May 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Nel Fastenau
Location:Willard, MO
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The I Shine NLT Bible is geared for the young person. The boys’ bible is a dark blue with a guitar-playing boy embossed on the front. The girls’ bible is two shades of pink with a bouquet of stars and sparkles and three girls embossed across the bottom. They are both made of soft leather-like material and are the New Living Translation, which makes it easier for the Tween to understand.
Following is a list of three sections taken from these Bibles. They are:
Section 1: You have Value. What matters to you? You are created by God and he cares – you can’t get more valuable than that.
Section 2: Who are you? Your identity is not just about who you are but whose you are.
Section 3: Why are you here? What’s your purpose?
These bibles also have a wonderful section in the front that deals with finding your identity in Jesus and a section with different things the Bible talks about. There are approximately 78 different headings with anywhere from one to four different scriptures and subheadings explaining and discussing the different subject matter. These bibles seem very kid friendly and will be easy for them to understand.
My grandson is nine years old and I cannot wait to give him the boys’ bible. He is at the age where he is asking questions and curious about things. I believe he will love it.
I received this book free from Tyndale House Publishers as part of their Blogger Review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NLT iShine Bible for Boys
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
cyndidd
Location:Troy, MO
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great bible for tweens (those kids whose ages fall between kids and teenagers). It's cover is leather-like. It is a compact Bible, easily fits into one's hand. In the front it says:
Who you are matters
Why you are matters
What you do matters
You matter to God.
Then it explains why in 3 sections throughout the Bible.
In the back it has Great Chapters of the Bible, Great Stories of the Bible, and Great Verses of the Bible to Memorize. The Bible is in New Living Translation, easy to read and understand.
The only downside I can see is the typeface, it is very small. But I suppose tweens wouldn't mind this so much.
--------------------------------------------
I received this complementary book from Tyndale in return for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NLT iShine Bible for Boys
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Really Cool Bibles for Boys and Girls

Date:April 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
ibjoy1953
Location:Virginia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Publishers Summary
The iShine Biblehelps tweens understand their Value, Identity, and Purpose (VIP). Tweens will see
* how they are valued by God
* how their identity is found in Jesus
* and the purpose that they have because of this.
QR codes and URLs in the Bible link to videos on these topics and other online faith-building content. This compact Bible for tweens brings together the popular Christian tween brand iShine with the clearly understandable New Living Translation. The iShine Bible answers questions relating too many of the issues that tweens face with a tween-friendly index.
MY REVIEW
First of all, as for the looks of these Bibles, they are awesome. The guy one looks just like a guy, with the navy and gold, with white stitching around it, really nice! And the girl one is beautiful! Two shades of pink with white stitching around, 3 girls holding hands on it, with stars, twirlie design, and it even has bling! So very pretty!
The iShine Bible has several sections throughout. Some are: What is the Bible; Finding you identity in Jesus; Growing in Faith; The Bible Talks About and sections on Great Chapters, Stories and Verses in the Bible. It even answers the questions Who are you; What matters to you; and Why are you here? And in these sections it deals with issues concerning young people such as: friends, family, problems with teachers, anger and kindness, death, discouragement, and many other areas our tweens and teens deal with on a daily basis.
Since I love checking out all kinds of different Bibles, I chose this one to review. I like that it is a Bible for tweens. So many kids that age never step foot into a church, and a Bible like this one would appeal to them before a regular one like us adults carry. The inside also focuses on the young. I have the Blue guy one, and love the outside cover, with the guy playing the guitar. And I also have the Girl pink on....and it is beautiful, as I described above! And the compact size is a great size to carry. I love the NLT, which is much easier to understand, especially for tweens and teens that are not familiar with church and the Bible.
For those of us brought up in church, we sometimes forget those who have never been to church, or never looked at a Bible. That is where a Bible like this is great! We need to reach our young people through any means that will work. And if having cool looking Bibles on the outside will help that is great! After all, it’s the same Bible on the inside. And for another cool tool with the iShine Bible, check out the website as well, http://ishinelive.com/the-ishine-bible/ where you will find great resources to further encourage tweens to live for the Lord. It’s a great place on the web to hang out!
I recommend this Bible to any church, youth leader or pastor to encourage their tweens to read and study their Bibles. And encourage them to proudly carry God’s word with them.
Tyndale House Publishers has provided me with a complimentary copy of this Bible for review. I was not obligated to give a positive review. The review is my opinion only, and not that of the publisher.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NLT iShine Bible for Boys
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Bible for tween Boys!!

Date:April 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Hayley
Location:Central Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:female
The iShine Bible NLT is a great combination of the Bible and media resources like QR codes. As one who works with tweens I think this is a great Bible for them, and I highly recommend it. The NLT is an easy to understand translation of the Bible and the QR codes make it interactive for the readers. It’s a great size so it can easily be thrown in a purse, or book bag and taken anywhere. I am very impressed with this Bible and will be recommending it to parents of tweens that I know. Thanks to Tyndale for providing me with complimentary copies.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NLT iShine Bible for Boys
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Ishine Bible for Boys NLT

Date:February 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
FSA Home School
Location:michigan
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The most treasured possession of everyone in our home is their "special" Bible hand picked just for them, Taylor has been looking to get a new Bible one that fits his personality a little more, he has been using a children's Bible up until now, but felt he was too old for it now that he is 11 years old.
When I was offered the opportunity to review the Ishine Bible for Tweens I knew this was just the thing we had been looking for. I did not tell Taylor ahead of time, when it arrived I called him into me and presented him with his new Bible he was so excited and the icing on the cake was the teen playing the electric guitar embossed on the leather cover. This had Taylor written all over it.
We both love the fact that it is NLT it is so much easier for the kids to follow and understand and it is a smaller more compact Bible making it easy for him to hold onto and carry with him to church and Royal Rangers.
Here is what the publisher has to say about this wonderful Bible written just for Tweens
This compact for tweens brings together the popular Christian tween brand iShine with the clearly understandable New Living Translation of the Bible and Bible features to build tweens’ faith. Full-color pages inside focus on one of the central themes of iShine: V.I.P. –Value, Identity, and Purpose. Tweens will see how they are valued by God, how their identity is found in Jesus, and the purpose that they have because of this. The iShine Bible answers questions relating to many of the issues that tweens face with a tween-friendly index. It also features articles on having a relationship with Jesus and growing in faith.
iShine is a tween brand that combines music (CD, and the iShine Live touring event), TV (iShine Connect Available on DVD through Provident/Sony), a web community (http://www.ishinelive.com/), and other media, including DVDs of the iShine Live concerts and “Sermonettes” by one of the hosts of the TV and concert tour, Paige Armstrong.
If you have a special someone in your life that deserves a Bible to call their own but is too old for a children's Bible but not old enough for a teen or adult Bible then this is a must have for you to purchase. I am sure they will feel delighted and special to be the proud owner of their very own Word of God that is written just for their age group.
As a member of the Tyndale Publishers Blog Network, Tyndale House Publishers has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book or ARC.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NLT iShine Bible for Boys
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Thumbs up from a tween boy

Date:January 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
TulsaMJ
Location:Tulsa, OK
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 10 1/2-year-old LOVES this Bible. He was totally enthusiastic about it from almost the first second he saw it... he even kept the cardboard cover! He especially loves the question and answer section at the beginning; he read straight through it in one sitting. The whole thing is designed to be appealing to pre-teens; especially if they like the iShine TV show, they'll recognize the pictures of the artists and speakers from the show in the special color sections. The supplemental materials are written at just the right level for pre-teens; it doesn't talk down to them, and it also doesn't go over their heads. I see this as a near-perfect vehicle for getting kids interested in what the Bible has to say. I highly recommend it.
(Yes, Tyndale sent me a review copy, but they did not ask me for a positive review, and the opinions I've expressed above are my honest opinions.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for NLT iShine Bible for Boys
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:January 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Angel
Age:25-34
Gender:female
I really liked the binding of this Bible. It was a nice, compact Bible with quality leather-like binding, and I really loved the stitching around the edges. It feels really nice in your hand, and is easy to handle. The print was small but readable and the format of the text was just like an adult Bible.
The questions tween face section was very well done, and I also liked the list of verses to memorize listed at the end.
The barcodes to bescanned by your tween with their smart phone surprised me. My tween will not be receiving a cell phone, let alone a smart phone any time soon, but I do realize that many other parents allow them at young ages.
I also am not a fan of the NLT. I think children are fully capable of understanding a NKJV Bible even at a young age.
My biggest problem with this Bible was that on the color themed pages there were often pictures of teenage girls, some with messy/windblown hair that I feel were completely inappropriate for ANY book for "tween" boys, especially a Bible. Boys this age are already bombarded with images meant to promote lust, their Bible should ALWAYS be a safe place, not a place of temptation. The pictures of girls were completely unnecessary.
I received this book free to review from Tyndale House. The opinions expressed in this review are my true thoughts and feeling regarding this book. I am disclosing this information in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for NLT iShine Bible for Boys
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Bible for tween boys!!

Date:January 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Robin Prater
Location:Missouri
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Looking for that perfect bible for your young tween? I have found one for you. Tyndale has just released the iShine Bible for young tween boys. This is an awesome bible. It is a navy color/orange leather like feel. It is compact and easy to carry. This is one they will enjoy picking up daily. It contains three sections. Value. Identity. Purpose. V.I.P!! Get it? You are a V.I.P to God and He wants you to be inspired by His word. In the value section it asks the question, "What matters to you?" Tweens talk about so many topics. Music, video games and much more. How you act toward others matters to God. In section identity it asks, "Who are you?" Who we are in Christ matters. It's not just about who you are, but WHOSE you are. In section purpose it asks, "Why are you here?" Have you ever felt like you don't know what to do because your overwhelmed? Here are answers just for you. It is written in New Living Translation so it is easy to understand and when a young man picks up this Bible he will be excited to read through the pages and isn't that really what Christ wants us to do? To know Him more? Let your tween grow in faith by digging in to a cool bible that will grab their attention!! There is also an iShine Bible for tween girls too.
This was a gift from Tyndale for it's review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.