Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Sons of Encouragement: Five Stories of Faithful Men Who Changed Eternity

Tyndale House Sons of Encouragement: Five Stories of Faithful Men Who Changed Eternity

Discover five biblical men who quietly changed eternity without recognition or fame---knowing their reward wouldn't come until the next life. In this all-in-one collection, Rivers illuminates the lives of Aaron, Caleb, Jonathan, Amos, and Silas---and shows how they acted in the shadow of God's chosen leaders. Each story includes an in-depth study guide.
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 1090%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sons of Encouragement: Five Stories of Faithful Men Who Changed Eternity
Review 1 for Sons of Encouragement: Five Stories of Faithful Men Who Changed Eternity
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
kimmer
Location:Newmarket,ON
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love these stories about the biblical characters from the Bible!
Highly recommend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sons of Encouragement: Five Stories of Faithful Men Who Changed Eternity
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fabulous

Date:May 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Phoenix
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These stories of real men in real-life scenarios bring to life Bible characters we've always known, with insight and encouragement. I purchased this one and A Lineage of Grace, by the same author, after reading them at the Library.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sons of Encouragement: Five Stories of Faithful Men Who Changed Eternity
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Five men of the Bible that inspire and encourage

Date:April 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Marilyn
Location:San Diego, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book highlights five men that are remarkable men of God but are not as well known by most of us. I love the fact that after each part there was a short study that took me back to the scriptures in the Bible where this event takes place. Before reading this book I did not know much about Amos. Now I don't think I would ever forget about how he suffered for following God.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sons of Encouragement: Five Stories of Faithful Men Who Changed Eternity
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

fun and convicting

Date:March 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lydia
Location:Arlington, MA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed the fictional accounts, mixed with Biblical naratives of these men. What a great way to make the Word of God come alive!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sons of Encouragement: Five Stories of Faithful Men Who Changed Eternity
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

excellant book

Date:September 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Diane Ruch
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the way the book was written. The study guide is very helpful. It was helpful to understand Gods plan for these men, how they changed many lives but not getting the recognition from anyone but God. It is satisfying knowing that God is there with us, sees what we do in His name, and that He loves us for who we are.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sons of Encouragement: Five Stories of Faithful Men Who Changed Eternity
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Line
Location:Denmark
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved reading the books. When I met them in the Bibel afterwards, it was like meeting old friends.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sons of Encouragement: Five Stories of Faithful Men Who Changed Eternity
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful book!

Date:July 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
MJinnette
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have not read the books bound together but I have read the individual ones except for Jonathan. They are awesome! So far, the ones on Aaron and Caleb are my favorites. Mrs. Rivers makes it feel like you are right there with the characters, experiencing what they experience. This is an awesome group of books!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sons of Encouragement: Five Stories of Faithful Men Who Changed Eternity
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jean Schuett
Location:Edgerton, WI
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These five men of the Bible come to life under Francine Rivers' writing. She does an amazing job of making them seem real in today's world. Truly fascinating and very additive reading.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sons of Encouragement: Five Stories of Faithful Men Who Changed Eternity
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very good

Date:June 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
JoyAnne
Location:Jackson, TN
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
You'll want to read the whole series if you haven't already. Francine writes about the men that sought the Lord and gave all they had for Him without recognition. Aaron, Caleb, Amos, Silas, and Jonathan, courageous, obedient men. They come to life in the books, they give you hope and encourage your faith.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sons of Encouragement: Five Stories of Faithful Men Who Changed Eternity
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not what I expected

Date:May 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bubba
Location:Hobbs, NM
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
After reading the first story, it really didn't meet my expectations to add something to that event. Now into the second, I read repection in some ways and others are a bit confusing, however, due to my rre brain damage from Encephalits 10 years ago, this review need not be taken to seriously, yet I pray it might help others in my medical situation
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sons of Encouragement: Five Stories of Faithful Men Who Changed Eternity
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Patricia Aiken
I have personally read all five books through three different times. I glean more with each reading and find I catch more details about each man when I am reading through my Bible. Our ladies book club will be finishing the last of the men's books at our next meeting. I love their excitement as we gather to discuss what we have learned and our enjoyment of just reading these books. We have already finished the "The Lineage of Grace" series and now pondering where to go next.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sons of Encouragement: Five Stories of Faithful Men Who Changed Eternity
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Chris Perrine
I have only read 3 of these books so far & The Prince was outstanding so true to scripture, it makes you fall in love with the scriptures & God as its author. You will fall in love w/Jonathan & David & understand why Saul kingdom fell apart. The Prophet was also very well done. Francine Rivers research & putting it into word makes the book of Amos come alive in language you can understand. It is such a good picture of what the prophets of old must have gone through in being faithful to dispense what God had told them. The Warrior on the other hand was a little depressing. Not because of her writing but because of the subject matter & the continuous rebellion of the Israelites (hmm, I wonder if that is what we may look like to God today?) Though Joshua was a secondary character I do not agree w/her portrayal of Joshua. I do not see in scripture how she could come up w/him being wimpy. Still worth the read. I am looking forward to reading the last two. I love Rivers writing & keep looking for her to come out with more her books. I think I had read nearly all of her books within 1 1/2 yrs, I couldn't get enough.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.