Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harbourlight Books A Christmas Homecoming: Short Story - eBook

Harbourlight Books A Christmas Homecoming: Short Story - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.462 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 out of 13100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Christmas Homecoming: Short Story - eBook
Review 1 for A Christmas Homecoming: Short Story - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A wonderful story on forgiveness, anger, hurt and

Date:January 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
debrajane3
Location:Bismarck, ND
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jody is the 18-year-old daughter of Rick and Sonia Pettit. She decides to leave home without telling anyone why or where she was going. Her family has police and friends out looking for her, to no avail. This wears on the family.
It's been seven years. Her father develops a heart condition and dies. Her brother has become rebellious, and her mother keeps praying, hoping for Jody's return.
Meanwhile, the story reveals Jody living in Sydney, Australia. She is divorced, has twins and just lost her job and has no choice but to go back home. She wonders how her family will receive her.
I thank Book Fun through The Book Club Network and Pelican Book Group for providing me with a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I received no monetary compensation for this review.l
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Christmas Homecoming: Short Story - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great christian read

Date:December 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Donna
Location:Georgia
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A powerful short story packed full of love, hope, heartbreak and a strong message on forgiveness.
At age 18 Jody Pettit leaves home without saying goodbye to her family, why she is leaving or where she is going. After several years with no contact at all with her family Jody finds herself divorced, no job and twins to raise. She wants to return home but wonders how her family will receive her. Jody has no idea what her leaving home all those years ago has done to her family.
I recommend you read this Christmas story and see what happens in the lives of the Pettit family.
I read it through in a very short time and really enjoyed it.
I revceived this book from bookfun.org for my honest opinion and review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Christmas Homecoming: Short Story - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Christmas Miracle

Date:November 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
memakf
Location:Ephrata,PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This short story is a wonderful way to start the Christmas season. It is a story full of human emotion and the struggles this life can challenge us with. The lesson throughout the story is that all things are possible through God's grace. This is a "feel good" story that lifts the spirits and keeps you encouraging the main character to persevere and not give up. It is a great book for a short respite from our busy lives.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Christmas Homecoming: Short Story - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Story of Hope

Date:November 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nancee
Location:Grand Rapids, Michigan
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Christmas has arrived once again, and Sonia Pettit prays she will find her daughter back home with her family. Seven years earlier Jody left home with no explanation aside from a brief note stating that she needed her own space. She left behind her mother, father and 15-year-old brother who were devastated, having no idea where she might be or if she would return. Grief totally consumed her father, eventually leading to his death attributed to a broken heart. Her mother has prayed daily for Jody's return, and every Christmas her highest hope is to see her daughter walk up the sidewalk to the front door. Her brother, however, retreated into his own world of video games, eventually going to college where his last year has been spent partying and drinking. His feelings toward his missing sister are bitter and unforgiving. Experiencing the effects Jody's leaving had on the family over the years he is angry that his mother would even hope for her return. When Jody's life crumbles around her she wonders if her family would welcome her home after all this time. This story is based on hope, forgiveness and grace surrounding the selfish acts of a self-indulgent daughter.
Mary Ann Diorio has written a short story of a family consumed with anguish over the absence of their only daughter. The characters in this story are a bit under developed due to the brevity of the story, but it's a heartwarming story of hope that is based on a mother's capacity to forgive. This is a great little Christmas story that can be read in an evening relaxing beside a fire with a hot cup of cocoa. Hope, forgiveness and grace shine through in difficult family circumstances.
Disclaimer: I received a complimentary electronic copy of this book from Book Fun through The Book Club Network and Pelican Book Group in exchange for my honest review. All opinions expressed are my own, and no monetary compensation was received for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Christmas Homecoming: Short Story - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Homecoming forgiveness

Date:November 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
inspiremichelle
Location:Loureauville, LA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Christmas Homecoming by Maryann Diorio
This is a great book that touches the tough subject of forgiveness. The author Maryann Diorio had me crying before I was half way through, this book will definitely touch your heart and spirit. Seven long years ago Jody left without a word to anyone; it was like she dropped off the face of the earth. Her disappearance has caused her parents and brother endless pain and grief. Sonia Pettit her mother goes from being full of anger to wanting her back home no matter what. Her father passed away from a broken heart. And her brother Ben is angry turning to alcohol for comfort. Jody’s world has been turned upside down. Her husband has divorced her, she has twins to raise alone and she was just been fired from her job. She regrets leaving and not having any contact with her family and wonders if they would welcome her and the twins back into their lives. Jody must travel half way across the world to find answers. Will her family welcome her back with open arms or will anger and resentment get in the way? You will need to read this 5 star to see for yourself. The author did a wonderful job describing the pain and emotions that come from the pain of hurt and un-forgiveness. I would like to thank the author, Maryann Diorio and publisher Pelican Book Group for bringing good clean Christian books like this one to readers like me. I would also like to thank The Book Club Network Inc. for providing me with this book in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Christmas Homecoming: Short Story - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What will this family do?

Date:October 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cathy Thelen
Location:Melbourne, fl
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jody left her family seven years ago with a small note. Her family had no idea that she was not happy. Her absence from their lives leaves her father heartbroken. He dies of heartache. Her mother deals with the loss of both of them the best she can. Her brother, Ben is angry and bitter. Ben makes some mistakes in his life but finally comes full circle to the family.
Jody returns home with her two children. She hopes that her family will forgive her and allow her to be apart of the family again.
This book was short but so full of promise. I was given this book for free for my honest review by bookfun.org
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Christmas Homecoming: Short Story - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A perfect short story for Christmas!!!

Date:December 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I truly believe that books don't have to be too long to get their message across to the reader. Especially at this time of the year where we often have very little time to do anything but last minute shopping, work so we can pay the bills, and spend the evenings with family. That's why I love it when you find an exceptional book you can squeeze in and still get something magical out of it. The Christmas season is more that just gift giving and the hustle and bustle of life, it's about coming to realize what's really important. It the season of hope and believing that the world in general will be a much better place if only for this time.
In A Christmas Homecoming by MaryAnne Diorio, we get that sense once we reach the end of the book. It begins with heartache, loneliness and death for a family facing what most would considered unimaginable odds. Sonia Pettit is still going through dealing with the recent death of her husband and all the things that often went unsaid. As with most circumstances dealing with death, it drives a family apart as each of them tries to find their own way to cope and move into a new sense of normal. Her son, Ben is becoming increasingly distant and bitter, her daughter Jody has left her family unexpectedly and without any logical reason and now resides more than a half a world away. Now with Christmas coming is there any way for this family after seven long years to find a way to reunite and find the love that held them together at one point or has too much time simply passed and allowed them all to become different people?
I received A Christmas Homecoming compliments of Litfuse Publicity for my honest review. At this time, this book is only available in ebook format and I am hopeful that this will soon become a print book after all the wonderful reviews. This is truly the story of unconditional love, forgiveness and hope that can become yours no matter how difficult any situation is that you are currently facing. This is the true message behind the Christmas season and I believe that MaryAnn Diorio did an exceptional job at bringing this to the conclusion to this short story. It would be the equivalent of about 53 print pages and just perfect for settling down with a warm cup of cocoa by the fire for some inspirational reading this Christmas. I would rate this one a 4 out of 5 stars and look to more by this wonderful author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Christmas Homecoming: Short Story - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Heartwarming Novella

Date:December 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Christmas Homecoming is a timely remind of what Christmas is all about! Why did Jesus come as a baby? To Forgive us our sins...that is what this story is about.
I can just picture how torn apart this family was when their daughter just up and disappeared. Then a member of the family dies...who would you blame? The stress, the heartache?
What will finally be the breaking point for Jody? Will Ben destroy his own life with drinking?
This is one precious story, and a really heartwarming read for this time of Christ's Birth.
I received this book through Litfuse Publicity Tours, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Christmas Homecoming: Short Story - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great story of God's grace!

Date:December 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Carrie Shindorf
Location:Cosby, Missouri
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was excited to finally read a novella from Harbourlight Books. I had been told about this publisher and I was not disappointed.
This little e-book was a short story but it was such fun to read. I enjoyed sitting down in one sitting and finishing it.
The book begins with a broken relationship of a mother and daughter which began when Jody the daughter decides to leave home and move to Australia. She was hoping to find freedom and excitement but was left with a broken heart and two children to raise on her own. She had no place to turn but to return home. Would she be accepted or rejected?
What I enjoyed about this book was the clear gospel message and the powerful story of forgiveness. No matter how difficult our journey may be~ forgiveness is always the way home and the way of recovery.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Christmas Homecoming: Short Story - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Tale of Forgiveness

Date:December 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Digging4Pearls
Location:Shippensburg, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A Christmas Homecoming weaves a tale of regrets, forgiveness, reconciliation and hope wrapped up in this book by MaryAnn Diorio. It's a great reminder of the reason why we celebrate this Christmas season - Jesus.
Sonia Pettit finds it difficult to prepare for the holidays. Without her husband living anymore, and her daughter missing for the past seven years, it just doesn't seem like Christmas with just her and her son Ben.
Jody Pettit O'Dair has many regrets, the biggest is never letting her family know what happened to her. But now she lives half the world away and there is no hope of ever seeing them again. Besides, why would they want to?
I found this book to be a delightful read, and enjoyed the reminder of the reconciliation we can have with our Lord and Savior.
This book was provided free for review by Pelican Ventures Book Group-Harbourlight Books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Christmas Homecoming: Short Story - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Christmas Read by MaryAnn Diorio

Date:December 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
rose mccauley
Location:KY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I started this book one evening and finished it the next morning by lunch because I couldn't wait to find out how it would end! Although the beginning of the story is filled with quite a bit of drama and angst, I was pleased to find a happy ending since that is the kind of books I love to read and write. This heart-warming story overflows with forgiveness--both giving and receiving it.
Think of it as a Hallmark movie with so much conflict you are not sure how the author can pull it all together that then culminates with an ending so happy your eyes are filled with tears of joy. And all wrapped up in a nice holiday package on Christmas Day.
If that sounds like the kind of book you'd love to read this Christmas season I hope you will order a copy for yourself and for some friends.
This copy was sent to me by the author who is a friend, but I honestly love this books and its message!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A Christmas Homecoming: Short Story - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

a heartwarming novella for Christmas

Date:December 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The plot is as old as the Bible. But the setting is today.
Sonia Pettit feels the ache in her heart as she prepares to celebrate the seventh Christmas without her daughter Jody. Thinking she knew best how to live her life, the teenager had run away, leaving only a terse note. The pain had been too much for Sonia's husband. And her son has turned bitter and rebellious.
Sonia struggles with her own bitterness. She so wants to forgive her daughter and be able to welcome her back. But will she ever have the chance?
Jody has created a life for herself in Australia, as far away from her family as she could get. But her world is falling apart. Her marriage has crumbled and she has just lost her job. How can she possibly support her twins?
Is it possible, dare she hope that her family would take her back?
During the holidays you might be pressed for time to read. This little book is a quick read and would be a great choice for a novella you can read in an evening.
It is a heartwarming story of the return of a prodigal. Just the right message for the Christmas season.
I received a complimentary digital file of this book from a publicist for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for A Christmas Homecoming: Short Story - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Say YES to Forgiveness

Date:December 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
RobinV
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This short story is a great reminder of the Gift we all received on Christmas Day, Jesus, and the purpose for which He came; forgiveness. How many times have we had someone offend us, walk on us, or make us feel flat out rotten? How many times have we been quick to forgive them? Sometimes we fight between what we know is right and how we feel, leaving us on emotional roller-coaster. Unforgiveness can be deadly to our spirits, among other things.
Jody Pettit O'Dair's family has been fighting this battle for seven long years. Although this fight has most certainly taken its toll on each person in her family, they are reminded of God's grace and forgiveness, and how He can use the worst situations to bring the best outcome for all involved.
If you need a little reminder that God is quick to forgive us for all the wrong or hurtful things we have done to others, or if you're in need of a little push to forgive those who have wronged you, I recommend this short story. It is the gentle reminder we all need at one point in our lives or another: To forgive even when we feel it is impossible.
****Thank you Nester | Litfuse Publicity Group for the free eBook in exchange for my honest review.****
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.