Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for White Rose Publishing Meet Me Under the Mistletoe: Novelette - eBook

White Rose Publishing Meet Me Under the Mistletoe: Novelette - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 out of 13100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Meet Me Under the Mistletoe: Novelette - eBook
Review 1 for Meet Me Under the Mistletoe: Novelette - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

sweet romance

Date:January 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
Rhonda Nash-hall
Location:Madison Heights VA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Who would not want to kiss an adorable firefighter who also repairs toys to give them to needy children? and if there's mistletoe, who can resist? Julia and Jake have a rocky road as she is already engaged and he won't kiss a girl until he is sure she's the "one" for him. This book just made me feel good. It is a sweet romance and definitely make me recall my own moments of falling in love. Starlight sounds like a delightful town to live in and the town just has a "family feel" to it. Read this sweet book to find out if Jake and Julia find love and get a kiss underneath the mistletoe.
5 Stars
I won a copy of this book from the author in a holiday giveaway. It is my pleasure to review it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Meet Me Under the Mistletoe: Novelette - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

God-honoring work of fiction

Date:December 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Beverly
Location:Ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found this novella to be one of the most God honoring works of fiction I have read. Growing up, we often intend for our lives to honor God, but when life plays out, living it can be so much more difficult than we ever imagined.
Jake made a promise to God as a teenager, but will he be able to keep that vow? Julia’s presence makes his promise even harder to keep. The encounters between the characters are filled with sensitive passion that draws you into an emotional turmoil that is so real—real to our emotions, real to our minds, and real to our hearts. But what if that heart is truly surrendered to a vow made to God? How will that heart react? I found this story to be such an exemplary display of the Holy Spirit inside us, directing each and every step.
JoAnn Durgin does an awesome job of writing an emotional romance while keeping the story clean and enjoyable. The characters are well developed, facing real-to-life struggles, making them likeable and real. This was a book that I could not lay down until the final page had been turned.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Meet Me Under the Mistletoe: Novelette - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing!! Complements to the Author!

Date:December 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Larik
Location:San Antonio, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meet me under the mistletoe.
Such a sweet story. I normally read JoAnn's books as a reward to myself for keeping all the deadlines. This was no different but...besides that, everything that was going on and some books that I was reading ..i just felt really stressed and heavy hearted and I needed something positive and entertaining to cheer me up. Well this story totally did the trick and got me into the mood of countdown till Christmas.
Of course you would think that it is a traditional -they bumped into each other under a mistletoe, kissed and couldn't live without each other anymore.. But no it's completely unconventional. Here you got a mountain of a hero that just cant put two words together without choking on his boot and make you love him for it. And a very smart and gold-hearted ...absolutelly engaged nurse.. And boom!!! I bet you haven't read a story this sweet and hilarious and touching and and and..i dont know a word for a story that just makes you jealous that you aren't there living with all the characters and enjoying all perks. I'm so starting on the sequel and so going to pretend I'm there..
Its a perfect book to get you into the mood for holidays and to remind you that straight and narrow doesnt mean boredom and sorrow.
Thank you JoAnn first for writing this amazing book and again for the gift of it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Meet Me Under the Mistletoe: Novelette - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Delightful Christmas Novella

Date:May 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Angel
Location:Trenton KY
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meet Me Under The Mistletoe is a heart warming Christmas Christian Romance with some Humor mixed in.
I read it in one sitting and enjoyed every page of it. Looking forward to reading more of JoAnn Durgin books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Meet Me Under the Mistletoe: Novelette - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Put on your Christmas "Wish List"

Date:March 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tooni
Location:Des Moines
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life is throwing difficulties Jake Marsten’s way. Not only was the hero-firefighter recently injured on the job, but his former girlfriend shows up in town with a change of heart about their future together. Jake’s emotions are completely thrown for a loop when his best friend’s sister shows up. She is everything he wants in a woman—but he’s been told she belongs to another. This Christmas is becoming far too complicated for the popular public servant. Just who will capture Jake’s heart (and kiss) under the mistletoe?
I absolutely loved this endearing romance story! Author JoAnn Durgin always provides snappy dialogue, fun characters, and a story that moves you from one page to the next so you can find out what happens. A FUN Christmas novella that should be on everyone’s Christmas wish list!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Meet Me Under the Mistletoe: Novelette - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a wonderful Christmas book.

Date:February 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Love2Read
Location:Hilliard, Florida
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Under the Mistletoe is a wonderfully written, delightfully predictable love story that is just plain fun to see how the romance plays out. Joann always does such a good job of keeping your attention and making you fall in love with the characters from the start and get to know them more and more as you read. She makes sure the characters Christianity is utmost in the story and how the Lord works in every day lives. I couldn't put it down! And can't wait to read more about Jake and Julie!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Meet Me Under the Mistletoe: Novelette - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

firefighter vs nurse

Date:January 23, 2013
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Oh, goodness, another hunky firefighter. Do we ever get enough of them? Well...NO! Especially when said firefighter is a man that puts God first, and lives out the faith he professes by remaining true to a vow he made as a teenager. I just wanted to swoon.
Meet Me Under the Mistletoe didn't take me long to read because I just couldn't put it down, and I don't think you'll be able to either.
Yeah, I know it's after Christmas and I should be done with the Christmas books, but I love them all year round. Maybe it's because most people, even in books, tend to love each other more, give of themselves more, and do random acts of kindness. And all of that is included in this story.
***Complimentary copy provided for review. The above is my honest opinion.***
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Meet Me Under the Mistletoe: Novelette - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Delightful Blend of Romance & Humor!

Date:December 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nancee
Location:Grand Rapids, Michigan
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Captain Jake Marston was injured in the line of duty in his role as a fiirefighter for his beloved hometown of Starlight, Iowa. As a teenager Jake had made a secret promise to God, a promise that he intends to keep. It's been a year since his former girlfriend left town, and Jake's friends think it's time he moves forward. Fellow firefighter and friend, Dylan Sinclair pays Jake a visit with his gorgeous younger sister, Julia, in tow. Julia works as a pediatric nurse in Cedar Rapids and has a secret of her own. Dylan persuades Jake to attend the town's annual Christmas party, giving tours of one of the firetrucks, and passing out gifts to the local underprivileged children, an activity Jake loves. During the party Jake can't take his eyes off Julia, and begins to think that he has found the woman of his dreams. As Jake and Julia are thrown into numerous situations together the attraction between them escalates. Both Jake and Julia are strong in their faith, and look to God for direction in their most unusual predicaments.
JoAnn Durgin writes with a strong Christian conviction and beautifully descriptive elements as well as charming characters. This lovely Christmas novella is filled with romance and humor! The characters are strong and are protrayed with all the human characteristics of lovable, delightful and godly personalities. Numerous emotions surface as the story unfolds. I found myself smiling, laughing, and cheering for these sweet characters throughout this unpredictable and fun-filled story. Jake's bumbling habits are charming, and Julia's sweet personality is captivating. I thoroughly enjoyed this entertaining Christmas novella, and will most likely read it every year when Christmas approaches!
Disclosure: I received a copy of this book from the author for a fair and honest review. All expressed opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Meet Me Under the Mistletoe: Novelette - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Christmas Novella

Date:December 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
jude
Location:Indiana
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this Christmas novella and all the fun activities in the book put one in the mood for a Merry Christmas, but more than that, the book shares in a very warm and heartfelt way, the real reason for Christmas. It also shares a sweet love story, which involves past promises, humor and confusion, but oh, so sweet the dance between a God-loving hero and heroine.
JoAnn Durgin knows how to write romance, romance with always an honorably-done edge. Her heroes are among my favorites. You get more than your money’s worth and certainly no disappointment with this well written novella.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Meet Me Under the Mistletoe: Novelette - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This novel is a heart-warming Christmas romance.

Date:December 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dawn Kinzer
Jake Marston is taking time off from fire fighting after falling through a burning flight of stairs. But while he's healing from aches and pains, he spends his time fixing abandoned and broken toys so they can be donated and given to children at Christmas. One day, a fire-fighting friend shows up at the door, determined to get Jake out of the house to help with a community event. But Sgt. Dylan Sinclair isn't alone--he's brought his sister, Julia, to help.
It's been a year since Jake's girlfriend, Nicole, left him and the town for bigger and better things--and it's taken awhile for Jake to get over her. But when Julia walks in the door, he's drawn to the pediatric nurse--only to find out that she's engaged to be married.
Julia is immediately attracted to the handsome fireman who lives in the house his grandfather built. Her heartstrings are strummed even more as they spend time together volunteering in the community during the days leading up to Christmas. She knows that if she's going to have any chance with him, she must share a secret she's been keeping from her family. Only, things get more complicated when Nicole shows up and wants Jake back.
I've read and enjoyed several other books by this author, but this one is my favorite. Jake is the perfect hero. He's handsome, heroic, giving, great with children, loved and respected in the community, a fix-it kind of guy, and he honors commitments. Jake and Julia have similar hearts for people; they make a great team.
Their story had me hooked from the first page, and I finished the book in one afternoon. These are some of the yummy lines written: "Honey, if I was you, I'd snap this man up in a heartbeat, for no reason other than he can fix anything. That and the fact he could melt the chocolate in your s'mores." I love that!
Around the holidays, I tend to overdose on Hallmark Christmas movies, so I've watched my fair share over the years. As I read this story, it played out like a Hallmark movie for me. Not the over-the-top sappy films that make you nauseous. But those that have heart and make you feel good and hopeful--just like how you want to feel during the holiday season.
If you enjoy reading Christmas novellas, I highly recommend picking up "Meet Me Under the Mistletoe."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Meet Me Under the Mistletoe: Novelette - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

QUEEN OF ROMANCE CAUSES HEAT OVER COLD SNOWY IOWA

Date:December 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
barbjan10
Location:Arlington, TX
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What could possibly happen when a handsome, enticing, brave, young, kind firefighter and a darling, sweet, engaging, gorgeous, compassionate, bright young nurse are introduced by the nurse’s brother?
Well, when JoAnn Durgin begins to whip up a new recipe for romance she spills the wordy ingredients into writing and comes up with a wonderful Christmas Novella. JoAnn writes about love and romance as though she invented it herself.
Let’s drop into the town of Starlight and meet JoAnn’s atypical candidates for romance, I mean – the characters Jake and Julia appear perfect in personality and physique, not to mention high moral fiber. However Barbie and Ken-like Jake and Julia might appear, they are alive and vibrant. Their human qualities are compatible and more importantly, they are equally yoked as believers and children of God.
We come into JoAnn’s charming story during a cold and snowy pre-Christmas scene and first meet Jake who is recovering physically from an injury incurred during a firefight saving a beloved family dog. He has his mind and hands busy repairing toys for Starlight’s Christmas Drive. He says a prayer for each child who will receive this toy. A loud persistent knock at the door interrupted Jake’s solace and we meet Sergeant Dylan Sinclair, Jake’s best friend and fellow firefighter. Now, we come to my query at the beginning of my review. Dylan is of the opinion that Jake has spent enough time in emotional pain over his broken relationship with Nicole one year ago. He begins to introduce his sister Julia and turns to see her adjusting the Christmas lights on Jake’s front porch. He tells her to come meet Captain Jake Marston, Starlight’s resident hero. As Julia Sinclair comes through the front door, Dylan quietly lowers his voice to tell Jake not to mention the touchy subject of Julia’s fiancé. Jake’s first response was to thank Julia for taking care of his bulbs, seeing Dylan’s smirk of amusement, he felt like a fool. Particularly when…ZOWIE….he wasn’t expecting to see a beautiful grown young woman with sparkling eyes – he was expecting a gawky teenager with braces. Julie shyly replied that she was happy to help him. I was wondering if she could see the size twelve foot in his mouth – but she showed herself to be a quietly discerning lady as she began to comment and admire the house Jake lived in. He informed her that the house had belonged to his grandparents – but from here, you’ll need to read for yourself why the house is so special. Does Jake recover from his injuries and get rid of that foot in his mouth?
JoAnn Durgin started a heat wave of love all over the state of Iowa, mainly the town of Starlight. This story is full of God’s love in every corner of this town. In fact, Dylan and his wife Hannah are “great with child” and the sweet entrance of this child is quite exciting and timely. I laughed at the Keystone Cop antics throughout between Dylan’s family, Jake and Julia, not to forget grouchy Caroline and her famous cup of coffee. Jake’s unprepared filling in for the absent angel at the start of the Christmas pageant was great comedy; but I loved most of all watching him embrace the children around him. They saw him as a hero, of which he was deserving. Jake’s head never swelled, he was a man of humility and humbleness. Julia is loving and full of compassion, always there to listen and help. What fun we all had with Jake’s new puppy and how Julia taught him the rules of puppy raising. I particularly enjoyed the other romance ongoing behind the scenes between Ben Picasso and Caroline from Barney's Diner. She didn’t forget the generic generation.
When I found out Julia was carrying a load of deception in which she had involved herself, I was shocked. It’s up to you to read how she worked that angle out. Oh, and yes, Jake had temptation thrown his way from several different directions, which added interest to his romantic feelings toward Julia. When Jake was made the object of fun and ridicule, we did see a normal excusable flaw – anger, but he was full of hurt. Julia was the only ointment that could soothe that pain. Just when you begin to feel that everything will be alright, the feathers all explode from the pillow of comfort and the ending of that situation becomes unpredictable.
JoAnn’s Christmas story is full of the spirit of the majesty of Christ’s birth and why he was born to give us the gift of salvation. Meet Me Under The Mistletoe is a sensitive, touching, fun, wonderful read. JoAnn Durgin is a terrific matchmaker and I can feel the fun she has making up these beautiful stories. For a number of years, I’ve found it hard to feel Christmas in its true essence…didn’t feel like going through another stressful time. This season, I’m feeling excited and the Christmas Spirit is felt deep in my heart. Thank you, JoAnn, for the gift of reminding me about the true meaning of this wonderful season. I’d advise anyone with the blues at this Christmas time to read JoAnn’s Novella and meet Jesus once again under the mistletoe. What love you will feel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Meet Me Under the Mistletoe: Novelette - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Heart Warming Story!

Date:November 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Judy K Burgi
Location:Kendallville, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meet Me Under The Mistletoe is a delightful story about Jake and Julia. Jake is a firefighter and Julia is a nurse. Julia is Jake’s best friend’s sister. That is how they meet.
This story is not only about human love but God’s love. Through out the book we see God’s hand in so many situations. Jake isn’t only a one of a kind hero to everyone in the town of Starlight; he is also a man of God and a man of his promise to God. What is the promise Jake made to God? You will have to read the book to find out.
I promise that you will not only delight in this book, you will come away feeling good for having read it.
I wish to thank the author, JoAnn Durgin for her commitment to God. It not only shows in this book but in all her previous books. I have read all of Ms. Durgin’s books and I can’t wait for her next book to be published.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Meet Me Under the Mistletoe: Novelette - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
ECowgill
Location:Georgia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
f you are looking for a book that will offer you a few hours escape from the busyness of the holiday season - look no further. "Meet Me Under the Mistletoe," JoAnn Durgin's first novella, will give you that respite. Just under 150 pages long, it is the perfect book to read in front of a fireplace with a cup of tea or hot chocolate on a long, cold afternoon.
As in her previous books, The Lewis Legacy Series, the characters in this book immediately find a place in your heart. Most women will identify with Julia and most will fall a teeny bit in love with Jake. After all, what's not to love about him? Be still my heart!
I won't give away the plot because you should read this book for yourself. I will say that the story is captivating, full of sweet romance and Christian values. For those of us who may be a little jaded from reading so many love stories, "Meet Me Under the Mistletoe" will renew your enjoyment of reading romantic novels. After all, no one can write romance like the "Queen of Romance," JoAnn Durgin.
I received a complimentary copy of this book for the sole purpose of writing a review. My review is my sole opinion, I was not influenced by the author, editor or publisher, nor did I receive any compensation for the review.
The title "Queen of Romance" is one that I alone gave Ms. Durgin. But I think it fits, don't you?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.