Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House My First Hands-On Bible

Tyndale House My First Hands-On Bible

My First Hands-On Bible is the preschooler version of the popular Hands-On Bible. Jesus taught with hands-on lessons and illustrations: My First Hands-On Bible uses the same experience-based learning to communicate God's Word in an active, understandable way. Each lesson focuses on a specific Bible point through a variety of activities in order to reinforce and help young children remember the stories and lessons. Using common household items, you can help your children have a "hands-on" learning experience while engaging them in 85 key stories from the Bible.

My First Hands-On Bible doesn't just retell the Bible stories; it also includes actual Scripture from the easy-to-understand and easy-to-read Holy Bible, New Living Translation. In addition to the stories and activities, there are fun illustrations, prayers, and a special Jesus Connection feature.
Average Customer Rating:
4.828 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
29 out of 29100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for My First Hands-On Bible
Review 1 for My First Hands-On Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Park Kids
Location:Columbus, OH
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am giving this Bible as a gift each time a baby is born. It is so wonderfully done. It is actual scripture - not a story book - using the NLT. Love it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for My First Hands-On Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Impressed by concept

Date:June 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Learning Every Day
Location:Northeast Ohio
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been using this Bible for devotions with my 3 and 5 year old boys, and my 13 year old autistic son. They really enjoy the pictures and reading the notes in the margins to me. The activities at the end are simple and fun and provide great interactive time together.
This Bible isn't just 'stories'-- it is actual New Living Translation Bible verses.
I love it, and I'm excited about continuing reading this Bible with my children.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for My First Hands-On Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful bible for kids

Date:May 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
SweetSong78
Location:Adelanto, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a GREAT bible for kids, full of pictures and "hands on" ways to explain the stories and concepts of God's Word to kids! I bought the this one for my 18mo old so he could have his own bible, just like Big Brother (who has the regular "Hands-On Bible"). He loves to look at the pictures, point to and say the different objects he sees. While he may not understand it yet, we feel it's never to early to get our kids involved in reading God's word.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for My First Hands-On Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for toddlers and preschoolers!

Date:April 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
smile smile
Age:25-34
Gender:male
We have been using this Bible for several months now and I will say that it is one THE best. While reading, it is beneficial if we use creative connections to the passage that is being read. It definitely helps children see the passage from different perspectives. But there are days when I am tired and my creativity runs dry after a long day. I feel guilty of just reading the book to my son for the sake of it.
But when we use this Bible, I do not have to wear a thinking hat on what to say to connect the scripture to reality. It is because there are little suggestions on every page on what we can do. For eg. when we read Jonah's story, the suggestion says " act like you are on a rocking ship". So I just sit and act like I am on a ship on stormy seas. And my son looks in awe of the dramatic enactment that mommy just did! It definitely adds life and animation to our reading time. This is the best thing I like about the Bible, as a parent.
My little boy loves Cuddles the sheep who can be found at the end of each read. Pockets the kangaroo says a little, simple prayer that is related to the chapter that was read.
This Bible helps preschoolers learn about Bible stories in a lively and interactive way. There is not a dull moment, when you pull out this Bible for reading time!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for My First Hands-On Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect for Kids and Preschoolers

Date:October 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
CheekyMommaof2
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My First Hands-On Bible is perfect for preschoolers up to the age of 8 years old. In fact, my 10 year old enjoyed reading it to his little sister as well. This bible for kids is easy to read and understand and focuses on many valuable and important life lessons. Lessons that every child and even some adults need to learn in order to be respectful and kind.
The first thing I noticed about My First Hands-On Bible was how colorful, cheerful and kid-friendly it was. The cover instantly grabs your attention with the bright colors and adorable animals. Each lesson is engaging and short enough to keep your child's attention.
My 7 year old daughter was so engulfed into the My First Hands-On Bible that she sat there on her bed and read for nearly an hour. As she read along, she would point out the pictures to me, ask question and want to do the hands-on activities suggested.
I love that fact that my daughter loved what she was reading and could understand it easily. I also loved the fact that she was interested in reading and learning more.
My 7 1/2 year old daughter keeps this next to her bed and reads some of it each night before she goes to bed.
The My First Hands-On Bible is durable and perfect for little hands. The pictures and illustrations are simply adorable and really pull you into the stories. This is the perfect addition to any children's book collection.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for My First Hands-On Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for preschoolers and kindergarteners

Date:October 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Barb J
Location:South Carolina
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 8-year-old son, Adam, loved the stories and pictures, but the hands on activities were a little too young for him. They made him feel like a baby. Still, I could see how a preschooler would absolutely love them.
When Adam and I first sat down to read this, he immediately requested that we read the story of Noah and the Ark. "It's my favorite bible story," he explained happily.
I was happy to find that I could turn to the table of contents and there it was, "Noah and the Flood" on page 26. We were able to go right to it. The story was written in the New Living Translation. I appreciated the fact that it came straight from the bible while still being in a translation Adam could understand.
At certain points in the story it would indicate that you should stop and do an activity. For the story of Noah, the activities included rubbing and clapping your hands to sound like rain, asking the child what animals were pictured on the page and what sounds they make, walking like an animal, and rocking back and forth like you were in a boat. A little too babyish for a seven or eight year-old, but perfect for preschool or kindergarten.
I really liked that the stories came with what they called "The Jesus Connection." This is a way parents can help the kids connect the story to Jesus. In the Noah story, the Jesus Connection said, "Noah saved the animals by putting them on the ark and God sent someone to save us - Jesus!" Being able to bring Jesus into the old testament is helpful for kids and adults alike, I believe.
At the end of each story, there are suggestions for other things you can do, like playing safari and looking for animals who might have been on the ark, or playing with a boat during bath time and pretending it's an ark.
Each story also includes a "Let's Talk" section,which was helpful even for older kids. In the Noah story, it indicated we should talk about something that is hard for the child to do (like building an ark while everyone made fun of him was hard for Noah to do).
I think "My First Hands-On Bible" is perfect for preschoolers and kindergartners and would make a great bible curriculum for homeschool or even a Sunday School class. Adam and I will continue to use this to read bible stories and make our "Jesus Connections."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for My First Hands-On Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love the Variety of Activities

Date:October 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jane Maritz
Location:Oregon
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bible text. I love that the text is straight from the Bible (New Living Translation). It is simple enough that a preschooler can understand, but not dumbed down – we’ve had some interesting vocabulary discussions.
Illustrations. Yes, these are cartoon-like (and no, this isn’t a leather-bound Bible). However, I LIKE how this makes the Bible appealing and approachable for little ones.
Variety of activities. While reading the story of creation, we took a quick break to draw the sun and moon, and to sing Twinkle Twinkle Little Star. Some activities get you moving, like a ride around the room on the back of a “camel.” Others are just a simple question like “what is your favorite color?” The extension activities can take a bit longer, e.g. an ethnic meal for the Tower of Babel story, or an assignment to look for babies throughout the week as a reminder of Sarah’s miracle.
Nicely organized chapters. This would fit well as the Bible component of a structured curriculum, planning for a chapter or two per week. It could be used as the basis for themed studies – with as much “study” as is appropriate for your little one. Or it could simply be used for daily devotions with your child.
Discussion questions. Some of the proposed questions can lead to very interesting discussions, such as “What makes you mad?” or “If you could change one thing that God made, what would it be?”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for My First Hands-On Bible
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very nice first Bible

Date:October 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Koreamom
Location:Pittsgrove, NJ
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The My First Hands-On Bible is a nice Bible for younger children. While this is not my favorite translation (New Living Translation) the stories are easy for a younger child to understand. My son (age 6) enjoyed hearing the stories.
After each story there is an interactive section. For example after the story of Queen Esther there is an activity for the child to dress up like a king or queen using items from around the house a blanket for a robe, a paper towel tube made into a scepter and a homemade crown. The child learns the importance of kings and queens. There is also a game to play ‘Hold the Scepter’ the person holding the scepter gets to be king or queen and gets to tell the others what to do. Only the person holding the scepter can talk.
There is also a section after each story called Let’s Talk. You can talk with your child about the story. I like that there is a time to pray activity after each story. It teaches our children that prayer is an important part of our relationship with God.
Each story also has The Jesus Connection, which simplifies the meaning of the story into one sentence.
All in all this is a very nice first Bible for younger children.
This ia a Mamma Buzz review. I received this book from Tyndale Publishers in exchange for my honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for My First Hands-On Bible
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

great for all ages

Date:October 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
melanie
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
when you have kids who range in age from 9 to 19 months, it can be a little hard to find appropriate material for a family devotional time.
we spent the last few months memorizing various bits of scripture, but we also want to make sure that everyone gets a broad understanding of the bible as a whole. i don't want my kids to grow up without knowing the various stories that are a significant part of the bible.
when i learned about my first hands-on bible, by tyndale, i was curious how a bible designed for preschool age children would work with my older kids. as you can see from the video, so far it has been a really big hit.
each story contains passages taken right from the new living translation of the bible. throughout the story, there are "hand-on" moments where kids can act out part of the story, count items in a picture or engage in some other activity to help them stay focused on the story. zoe (age 9) can tell when i skip over some of the more disruptive activities (i don't really want all the kids to get up from the table because i fear i will never get them back), and she asks if we can do all the activities every night!
at the end of the story, there are additional suggestions for crafts and activities. we haven't done too much with this because we have enough going on right now with homework, but i could see the kids being interested in these activities during the summer when we have less to worry about.
each story comes with a "Jesus connection" that helps relate the story to what Jesus came to do for us. i have been just a little disappointed with some of the connections that have been made here. i recognize this bible is geared for kids in preschool but the connections are really simplistic and, occasionally, almost seem un-biblical to me.
in spite of this weakness, our whole family is enjoying this bible. it has provided good structure for our time together as a family. hopefully someone is learning something!
i received a free copy of this bible from tyndale through mamabuzz media for the purpose of this review. regardless, the thoughts and opinions expressed here are purely my own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for My First Hands-On Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for Little Ones

Date:October 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Southern Blessings
Location:SC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
My four year old was excited when he first saw My First Hands-On Bible! I think he liked the colorful cover. He had to look through it for quite awhile before he would let me read him a story.
Some of the things I really like about My First Hands-On Bible are the fun activities listed and the fact that it includes real Scripture to go along with each lesson. There is also a prayer at the end of each story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for My First Hands-On Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book for a 3 year old!

Date:October 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Granola Mom 4 God
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was given the opportunity to review this book . . . and even if I had to pay for it I would purchase the book! The text is easy to read (the NLT translation), the pictures engaging, and the activities are simple for me to do . . . and I am a busy mom of 4. Even my eldest can read this bible to my 3 year old and accomplish the activity. Love this Bible!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for My First Hands-On Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

THIS is the bible to have for kids!

Date:October 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
nicole BTHM
Location:Washington Parish, LA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I knew from the moment I first opened the book, that this was a winner! As a Sunday School teacher you are always on the lookout for new and different ways to teach kids the bible lesson that they will be learning about in church, so that they can go home and have a sharing experience with their parents (hopefully), and be able to put the lessons into their lives. THIS is the bible to have- it's like having all your lessons plans laid out for you for the entire church year!
The lessons are typically 4-5 pages long, so they are short enough to keep a kids short attention span. PLUS having the hand print activities, helps break up the monotony of being read to and involves kids in the lesson (see example photo below) There are typically 4-6 hand prints per lesson. The idea is that when you get to one in the reading, you go to the corresponding colored hand print on the side margins, and the handprint will have a fun little activity (like counting to ten on your fingers or naming 2 things God wants us to do on Sundays). These REALLY help kids relate to what is being read to them, in a way THEY can understand.
After each story, Cuddles, the lamb, will have an activity to do at home, that encourages discussion on the lesson at hand, such as playing Noah's Ark in the tub or being a leader and playing Simon says. There are additional activities to do, generally craft related as well. Pockets, the kangaroo, also has a small prayer for the child to say as well. The last thing for each lesson is a small thought called “The Jesus Connection”, that sums up the lesson.
My daughter loves this bible! She is rather taken with the 10 Commandments song! The illustrations are simple and she LOVES the hand print activities, even 'reading' ahead and pointing them out to me and anxiously awaiting each one. Yup, when a preschooler is EXCITED by a bible lesson, you know you have a winner!
This would be a wonderful gift for your child/children/grandchildren for Christmas, their birthday or baptism! It is perfect for parents, grandparents AND teachers, and I highly recommend it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for My First Hands-On Bible
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Kids Bible

Date:October 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
HeidiPA
Location:Central PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My five-year-old son and I have been enjoying reading through this Bible together. The illustrations are fun to look at and the text is easy for him to understand. Rather than being a “Bible story book” this Bible actually uses Scripture (from the NLT, which isn’t my favorite, but it IS simple); and the verses are identified with numbers. Through the text are multi-colored handprints, which refer you to other things – little extra notes, questions, activities, and information that kids will enjoy.
After each chapters main text, you’ll find extras like The Jesus Connection (which is essentially a one-line summary of the text), Sing-Along Time, Dos and Don’ts, Let’s talk (with some great conversation starters), activity ideas, and a prayer.
This Bible would definitely make a great gift for the preschooler in your life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for My First Hands-On Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Biblical Text accessible to Preschoolers!

Date:October 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lis P
Location:New England
Age:35-44
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I recently received a copy of Tyndale's My First Hands-On Bible from Mama Buzz. I was very pleased when I opened the package to discover a very nice hard-cover Bible Story book just right for my Littlest to claim as his very own. This Bible for kids is intended for preschoolers, aged 3-6, which is just perfect for him!
One feature that sets this young Bible apart from other Preschool-Bibles is that the the stories are actual Biblical Text (Abridged from the New Living Translation to provide the most age-appropriate Scripture for Preschoolers). While the NLT is not my preferred translation for regular reading and memorization for older children/adults, I totally appreciate that this makes Scripture more accessible to the youngest listener.
There are some other great features included in this Bible that I have to mention~ I"ll use our latest Sunday School Story to illustrate~ :)
Handprint activities throughout each story add little "hands-on" activities that littles enjoy. They also help them to remember the stories more.
I really like the soft color pencil/watercolor illustrations in this book. They suit the age-group very well without being too "cutesy."
The last page spread in each story includes some of my favorite features~
A "prayer" that personalizes the passage. In this case it says "Dear God, teach us to listen to Your voice. Please help us to obey and go wherever You say to go. In Jesus' name, Amen."
A "Let's Talk" section includes questions that continue to help apply the story to your child's life. In Moses and the Burning Bush, you are led to ask "What are some things God wants you to do? When is it hard for you to obey? Why does God want you to obey Him?" Clearly some questions are hard for a real little one to answer, but you can also model some of the answers yourself~
Two optional activities allow you to review the story later that day, or week~ sometimes they are "Active" and other times "Crafty". There was one of each in this story~ make a "Burning Bush" of your own, and play Simon Says... which illustrates obedience. Fun AND useful! :)
The final feature is "The Jesus Connection" which helps to show that Jesus is "Connected" to ALL Scripture, whether He is mentioned or not.
All in all, I am very pleased with this Bible Story book, and I'm sure that it will be an important part of the next couple of years for my Littlest.
Oh, I would be very remiss if I didn't mention Littlest's opinion. He has really enjoyed having his OWN Bible, and I have found him looking through it on his own, beyond our Bible time. He has said that he wants to "Keep this Bible FOREVER!" :)
Disclaimer~ This is a MamaBuzz Media review. The product was provided by Tyndale Publishing for this review. All opinions (Positive and otherwise) are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for My First Hands-On Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved it

Date:October 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
JenR
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this book. I have been trying to find a bible for my 5 year old that reads like scripture and not just stories. This is a great option for preschoolers to use and have on hand to teach your child the bible lessons and morals you want them to have.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for My First Hands-On Bible
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This is a good tool for homeschooling preschoolers

Date:October 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
a2jc4life
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When I heard about this activity Bible, written for preschoolers, I thought it sounded like a great addition to our homeschool. Each Bible story is accompanied by two activity suggestions that complement and reinforce the story. I was initially disappointed to find that it uses the New Living Translation (we prefer formal equivalency translations) but, upon closer inspection, I discovered that the NLT text is the text of the stories. Since all story Bibles are paraphrases, this Bible for kids is potentially better, and certainly not any worse!
Throughout the margins of each story are little “mini-activity” suggestions. For instance, “turn a light off and on as you say, ‘Let there be light!’” Following each story are the two activity suggestions and a couple of discussion questions. There is also a prayer. Finally, each story is accompanied by a “Jesus connection,” which brings the focus back around to Jesus – as our Creator, as our Savior, as always with us, etc.
This could easily be used as the framework for a preschool curriculum. Use it the same way as Five in a Row, but with this as the text, rather than other storybooks. There are 80+ stories in the book, so that would last you two school years.
When your kids have outgrown this one, there is also a Hands-On Bible for older children.
Note: This is a MamaBuzz Media review which first appeared at Titus2Homemaker.com. The book was provided by Tyndale for this review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for My First Hands-On Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Hands-on Bible Fun

Date:October 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anitra
Location:North Carolina
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
Here are some of the things we really like:
~Although it's geared toward preschoolers, my first grader enjoyed it
~Each lesson reinforces Biblical truth with energetic activities
~The activities are varied and utilize items found easily around the house
~Colorful handprints throughout the book invite children to interact with the text as it’s read
~Kids actually have fun while learning key biblical principals
~The Bible includes prompts for conversation, prayer and things to do after the lesson ends
~Each Bible story includes a Jesus connection
We received a review copy of this book from Tyndale.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for My First Hands-On Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My DD loves her new Bible.

Date:October 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Coolestmommy
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My DD LOVED her new Bible from the moment she got it. In fact, she insisted on having her picture taken with her new Bible at church. Each story in this Bible has several hand prints in the story. Each hand print is a simple activity that helps bring the story to life. We also like Pockets (the Kangaroo) and Cuddles (the Lamb). Pockets has a prayer and Cuddles has activities you can do outside of reading the story. Finally, each story has a Jesus connection that helps your child see that Jesus is at the center of all Scripture--even if he isn't mentioned in that passage.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for My First Hands-On Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Must For Every Family

Date:October 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rita
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted my children to understand the Bible as well. To understand why I pray and what they can and should pray about. There are a million children's bibles out on the market and I haven't really found one that I like. I have searching for one that uses actual bible text while explaining things in a way they will understand. I have know found one such book.
The book is My First Hands-On Bible ($16.99) from Tyndale Publications. The book uses the New Living Translation of the bible and uses actual text. This, in my opinion, is a great bible for kids. Aside from just the actual bible test there are a few other features such as Hands-on Activities, Time to Pray, and the Jesus Connection.
As you and your children begin reading this bible you will notice that there are small hand prints throughout. These are the Hand-on Activities that you can either do right away or come back and do at a later pace. This is perfect for preschoolers who sometimes need to actual do, touch, and feel to understand things. At the end of each passage there is a prayer (Time to Pray) as well as some other activities like Let's Talk. They are all designed to help your child understand the passage they read. The book does jump a little but that is to be expected with a children's bible. For example you go from Genesis 3:1-7 to Genesis 7:11-20. It cuts out all the "begots" that children won't understand anyway.
My children loved this bible. Victoria enjoyed the activities. She said she felt like she really understood the bible more now than she ever did before. Daniel who is older said that even though it is a kids bible he still thought he got more from it than his regular bible and that the pictures were really great. I like it so much that I will be using it in our lesson plans and will be sharing more of the activities with all of you over the course of the next year. This is the first bible that my children have ever wanted to sit down and read, without my having to force it on them. My only issue is that it is only available in English. I would have loved for it to be in Spanish as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for My First Hands-On Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great bible for your kids!

Date:October 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Stefany from ToBeThode
Location:Saint Charles, MO
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My kids love learning about Jesus. They also love children’s bibles but I have found that they can lose interest if I don’t make it interesting for them. That all changed when the My First Hands-On Bible arrived at our house. This is a great tool to use for children aged 3-6 to read bible stories with your child and help to build a strong faith foundation.
The bible stories in the My First Hands-On Bible include actual scripture from the Holy Bible, New Living Translation as well as retelling the stories to make them easy to understand for little ones. What makes the My First Hands-On Bible different from other children’s bibles is the way it is presented to allow your children to interact with each story.
While you are reading, you will find little “hands” that give directions for your children to do. You may be reading how there is a blind man and the “hands” description is to have your children cover their eyes to see how the blind man felt. This is just one example and there are several “hands” in each of the 85 biblical stories.
There are also other ways to share and engage with your children while reading the My First Hands-On Bible including fun illustrations, prayers, and a special Jesus Connection feature. This is a great children’s bible that goes a step further than others… a step that makes a huge difference in the eyes of my kids. They love that they may be able to yell how much they love Jesus or clap their hands (for example) and still be reading their bible.
I love anything that makes learning fun. But, something that makes the bible fun for kids is a fabulous idea in my opinion. I think this is a wonderful book and one that will be used in our house for years to come. It would make a wonderful gift for any child that loves Jesus and bible stories.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>