Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Crossway Books & Bibles What Jesus Demands from the World

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Crossway Books & Bibles What Jesus Demands from the World

The four Gospels are filled with demands straight from the mouth of Jesus. These demands are His way of showing us who He is and what He expects of us. Rather than the harsh demands of a taskmaster, they're like the demands of a father to his child in a burning window saying, "Jump to me!" All of Jesus' authoritative commands can be summed up as "Trust and treasure me above all!"

In What Jesus Demands from the World, Piper has gathered fifty of Jesus' demands from the four Gospels. Blending historical context, exegetical insights, and application, Piper concisely examines each demand. The result is an accessible introduction for seekers and new believers as well as meditative meat for mature Christians wanting to know Jesus better!

Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for What Jesus Demands from the World
Review 1 for What Jesus Demands from the World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Rev. Daniel Mejias
the best christian book ive ever read. truly an amazing read. dont miss this one. Piper is at his best here.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for What Jesus Demands from the World
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:February 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sandra Clark
We are using this book in our small group Bible study. It is a good book, good ideas and points - however, it isn't my very favorite.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for What Jesus Demands from the World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2007
Customer Avatar
Erik Bakke
John Piper is a great theologian and thinker. Its nice to see that there are people who point out the aspects of Christ that aren't exactly the old paintings in the church lobby. I would say that if you are willing to commit to working around Jusus' schedule (not vise versa) and be an "all-in" follower; buy this book. Piper knows whats up.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for What Jesus Demands from the World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 16, 2007
Customer Avatar
C V Swafford
This is the best "modern" work I have ever read. This book is so rich in its content(real meat) and yet so pure and simple (milk). It is delightful to my soul and has become a main source of meditation. I will turn to it again and again.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for What Jesus Demands from the World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 13, 2007
Customer Avatar
W. Kelly
"Amen" to Mr. Hollandsworth's review. This book is both challenging and fortifying... much like the Gospel itself. I struggled a bit with being afraid of God (Demand 11), but that could be my unsanctified self bucking. Just midway through this book right now, I'd say it's a necessary read, even if you only read Demand 1 and 2.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for What Jesus Demands from the World
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:January 23, 2007
Customer Avatar
David D. Flowers
I first want to say that Piper's passion for the supremacy of Christ is contagious. I have personally benefited from his ability to bring the church's focus to what matters most: The supremacy of Christ and the glory of God among the nations. However, I would like to express my disappointment with this book. I bought the book because I was very interested to hear how Piper would respond to the "hard sayings" of our Lord. I was very dismayed by his exposition and application of one particular demand of Jesus (Matt. 5:38-48/ Demands #28-34, 43,44). I feel that his failure to uphold what is absolutely essential to discipleship cannot be overlooked. I want to challenge Piper, as well as his avid readers and fans, to rethink their understanding of Jesus' "demand" to the church to love enemy/neighbor as he loved them. The reason I specify "the church" is very key indeed. You see... I understand what Piper was intending to say with his title "What Jesus Demands from the World." But I feel that this reflects his misunderstanding... or perhaps confusion with Jesus' demand to his FOLLOWERS to respond with the sacrificial "non-sense" love of God in every situation. It seems that he makes no distinction between the kingdoms of the world vs. the Kingdom of God. Are we not to call people out of the kingdoms of the world to which Satan manipulates and into the Kingdom of God which cannot be thwarted? Piper mixes much and in the end he only makes comfortable the conscience of the "American Christian." He attempts to point out the radical commands of Christ... then he makes his claims "natural" by confusing the call of the Christian and the purpose of the worldly kingdoms. Respectfully I ask, "Mr. Piper, do you think your definition of love is as radical as Christ's?" We should follow the love acts of Christ. Perhaps, then we will see the foolishness and absolute absurdity in suggesting that there are "other love acts." --Your Dissappointed Fan
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for What Jesus Demands from the World
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 22, 2006
This title is a different style for Piper. While I read it from cover to cover with few stops, it would be best used as a devotional or a reference resource. Each of the 50 demands of Jesus listed by Piper can stand alone, so there is no need to read them one after another. His words are not quite as passionate as in other books he has written, but his theology is sound and the application is timely. While not vintage Piper, this title is still well worth the money and time spent.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for What Jesus Demands from the World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 1, 2006
Customer Avatar
John Hollandsworth
What Jesus Demands From the World is not the right title for this book.Instead, Crossway should re-title it:The Demand-Driven Life: Finding a Life of Incredible Joy by Following the Demands of JesusWhy? Because living a life of incredible joy is the result of reading this book and following it.What does it really mean to be a follower of Christ? You would think it would simply mean looking at what Jesus commanded us to do and then doing it. And this is what Piper does in 400 pages: taking what Jesus actually said in the gospels, and then simply but profoundly expounding on why and how Jesus demands that we live it out. Starting with Jesus' demand to Nicodemus "You must be born again" and then continuing through loving and abiding in Him, taking up our cross, praying, humility, service, marriage, witness, and others, in fifty short chapters Piper covers all of Christ's demands upon our lives.I've read hundreds of fine books that gave me valuable insights into the Christian life, but this magnum opus brings it all into one volume. Truly, if you could give a person only one book in his entire life besides the Scriptures, only one book that would tell him all he would need to know to understand what Christianity is and then how to walk with Jesus, this would be the book. Seriously. This book, like no other, lays everything out, in impeccable theology but brought down to a rubber-meets-the-road level. Chapter after chapter will have you saying stuff like, "Well, that's the best short explanation of what prayer should be in a Christian's life that I've ever read."It really is not hype or my typical John Piper fervor to say to you that this book needs to be read by every Christian. Read this book.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.