Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House The Cause Within You: Finding the One Great Thing You Were Created to Do in This World

Tyndale House The Cause Within You: Finding the One Great Thing You Were Created to Do in This World

Are you struggling to find your niche? Maybe you need to relinquish plans others have for you and follow God's dream! Barnett shares how he surrendered his goal of building a megachurch like his dad's to answer God's call to serve the poor. His hard-won insights will guide you as you search for your God-given purpose. 224 pages, hardcover from Tyndale.
Average Customer Rating:
4.636 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 11100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Cause Within You: Finding the One Great Thing You Were Created to Do in This World
Review 1 for The Cause Within You: Finding the One Great Thing You Were Created to Do in This World
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Book about Life, Grace and Encouragement

Date:July 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
kattrox
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The author, who is a pastor of a megachurch founded a ministry known as the Dream Center which helped to fix broken lives. Learning from experiences from being on the street, the author discovers the reality, the horror, the humiliation and the heartbreak of what life is like on the other side of the tracks. How to treat others with love and respect no matter where they lay their hat. He had found his cause. God has a plan and a cause for each of us. Alot of information about the Dream Center ministry, what they do, how they help people in the immediate sense and later down the road. Included are stories of the struggles of others in finding their way and purpose under the loving direction of God.
I really enjoyed reading about the author's experiences from life on the streets and the people he met on his journey along the way. This is a book about encouragement, life, grace and reality. I was entertained by this well flowing book and challenged in my faith. I would recommend this book to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Cause Within You: Finding the One Great Thing You Were Created to Do in This World
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not the Best Place to Start Looking For a Cause

Date:July 2, 2012
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This book begins by telling the personal journey of Matthew Barnett, how he found his cause and has benefitted others through following his cause. The book then continues by offering guidance on some steps one can take to find their personal cause, and finishes by offering some practical advice on how to make your cause a reality.
I believe God created everyone with a specific purpose, or cause, in mind for them. I believe the only way to truly understand that purpose is through a true relationship with God as Creator, Father, and Savior. Even with these things in mind, I did not find this book very helpful.
For starters, this book is not very helpful in actually determining one's personal cause is. How can it be, when that is something between you and God? The only mass printed book which will really offer concrete guidance is the Bible. It makes sense, then, that if someone is going to read a book on finding their purpose, they would read the Bible first, not a book written by someone as humanly fallible as the rest of us. In a way, Barnett admits this by emphasizing prayer, scripture reading, and keeping your eyes open as his tips to finding a cause. Without practicing these, the rest of the book is worthless.
If you already have a grip on what you think God might want you to do with your life, then you might gain some insight by finishing the book. Major plot points include: Don't be discouraged when things don't work out, act on faith and God won't let you down, ask for help, be patient, and so on. Again, all of these things can be found in the New Testament.
For me, the book most succeeded by offering stories of the positive impact one person can have on another. If you are someone who already has a ministry, then you may feel encouraged reading about others who survived the hard times and managed to share God's love with others. It can also act as a good way to refocus on what God has asked you to do. It's very inspirational reading.
The book fails the most when compared to its title. This is not a guide to "Finding the one great thing you were created to do in this world." There is no guide to that other than the Bible.
Also, the causes emphasized in this book are slanted by the author's own limited experience as a Pastor and leader of the Dream Center. There are many causes which do not involve selling everything one owns and moving to L.A. to help recovering prostitutes or beginning a similar ministry in your hometown. The calling to be a Christian teacher, doctor, grocery store clerk, car mechanic, or parent is an equally valid and important cause as heading a huge non-for-profit. In the author's enthusiasm for his own mission, I am afraid he undermines the less glamorous missions most of us have been given.
Finally, the author fails to recognize the fact that very few of us only have *one* cause. A perfect example of this is Eric Liddell who was called to be an olympic runner as well as being a missionary for Christ. Both of these causes are equally *great*. A more mundane example might be someone who is called to be a godly Father and a godly business executive. The ways and means of showing and sharing God's love is close to infinite, and I don't think it is wise to limit people to only one.
Recommended for someone who is either hopelessly lost as to where to find their purpose or already has theirs nailed down. If you're in between, this book may not be as helpful as you wished.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Cause Within You: Finding the One Great Thing You Were Created to Do in This World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Life Changing!

Date:May 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
john317
Location:Simi Valley, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life Changing book! Hard to put down. Author gives practical ways on how you can find the one great thing God created you for. So glade I purchased! Awesome.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Cause Within You: Finding the One Great Thing You Were Created to Do in This World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
tamika10
Location:Rhode Island
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was just what I needed exactly when I needed it! It gave me the spark I longed for. Anyone who has ever asked the question "what is my purpose in life, what am I here for" I believe this book will help you find the answer. It was so real, so raw, and full of emotion. I felt like I was on the streets of LA with him!!! This book literally changed my life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Cause Within You: Finding the One Great Thing You Were Created to Do in This World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

“Can you see what God is doing—or, perhaps, what H

Date:July 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Organic Shoes
Location:Oklahoma City, OK
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Matthew Barnett’s The Cause Within You will reshape your life and what you are doing. So many people are not happy with what they are doing, or have thrown in the towel on life. This book will have you re-evaluating the things that you are doing and remind you that we are all called to serve other peoples needs. Once we see that we are making the first step to finding our cause.
While reading this book I had the opportunity to hear Matthew Barnett speak and was blown away by the passion he has for the Dream Center and for serving the people of LA, somehow Barnett has captured that passion and turned it into a book. Barnett fills his book with sound advice on how to find your cause, and the easiest way to do that is to start serving. Find the thing that excites you and find a way to share that with others.
I highly recommend this book for everyone, even if you have found your cause, this book will give you ideas on how to get through the difficult times, when you feel that your cause is getting the best of you, to refocus on God’s plan and the cause He has placed with in you and the people you are serving along the way.
I also recommend reading this book alongside Max Lucado’s Cure for the Common Life
I received this book complimentary from Tyndale House Publishers in exchange for an honest review. The views expressed in this review are all my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Cause Within You: Finding the One Great Thing You Were Created to Do in This World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great book

Date:April 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm not even done reading this and I've filled out 2 applications so far to volunteer at places. This book is great and it's simple and basic. God has placed a cause in each of us, to find out what it is: just start helping people! It's that simple.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Cause Within You: Finding the One Great Thing You Were Created to Do in This World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Incredibly Inspirational!

Date:February 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sara Rassler
Location:Brainerd, MN
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Matthew Barnett, co-founder of the Dream Center in Los Angeles, definitely got it right with this book. The Cause Within You is the most inspirational spiritual growth book I've ever read. At nineteen, he preached his church from 39 people to literally zero. Feeling defeated, God led him to what used to be a park and is now the home to the lowest of the low. After seeing the devastation there in Echo Park, he knew God was calling him to make this his ministry. God said to him "If you reach the people nobody wants, I'll send you the people that everybody wants."
Fifteen years later, Pastor Matthew is walking around the streets of L.A. toting a sheet of cardboard and a well-worn Bible, celebrating the fifteenth anniversary of the Dream Center. His passion is re-awakened as he slumbers the streets with homeless people and is humbled by panhandling the next morning.
Whether you're young or old, this book is for you. Everyone was created for an amazing cause and discovering that cause will change the world. Through his story and the stories of those around him, Pastor Matthew shows us as readers how to trust God and to listen for His dream for us. "God's dreams for you are always bigger-and better--than your dreams for you."
What God has done through Pastor Matthew is an amazing thing--just think if we all lived out the causes within us.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Cause Within You: Finding the One Great Thing You Were Created to Do in This World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book

Date:February 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
scott morrison
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am usually not a fan of these kind of books. But I enjoyed this book. The illustrations are great. He explains what God has gave them to do. We never says do what we do at you will have success. He does point people to God and His Word. The author wants people to be transformed by the power of the cross. Then take the transformational power and spread the gospel. I was encouraged by his transparency and realization of his purpose to glorify God. I was challenged to go...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Cause Within You: Finding the One Great Thing You Were Created to Do in This World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dr JSK
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read literally thousands of books throughout my life, but I can honestly say, with the only exception being the Bible, none of them has moved me as The Cause Within You, written by Matthew Barnett.
The Cause Within You, brings powerful insights into the lives of all, no matter where their relationship with God lies, who are blessed to turn its pages. The words seemingly have the power to flow from the page you are reading directly into your heart, causing an examination of your purpose, your reasoning, your service, and your relationship with God.
The powerful purpose of Matthew's writing is seen throughout the entire book, but one such passage that has inspired me is found on page 49: "Your cause is an exciting mission that God is sending you on. It transcends the mundane challenges of earning a living or surviving the usual daily crisis. Your cause is the engine that will make your world turn. It's more stimulating than anything else you face. It's not about being religious. It's all about being a servant."
After reading this book, my eyes have been opened to a greater understanding of my purpose, the cause within me. This book is a must read by all, unless you're afraid of finding the truth behind your current state of service to God.
Dr. Jeff Krupinski
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Cause Within You: Finding the One Great Thing You Were Created to Do in This World
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent for walking in God's will

Date:January 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lady Khaye
Location:Republic of the Philippines, RP
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WOW! Those were the first words that came into my mind while browsing the pages of this book. "The Cause Within You" is written by a pastor's son, Matthew Barnett. I can relate with some of his experiences, being a pastor's daughter as well. In this book, Barnett shared his experiences while walking on God's plan in his life.
I cried over the part where he shares the night that he get out of his bed, in the middle of the night, and took a walk into the Echo Park. I'm totally left speechless. It's really amazing how God uses you in ways you can't imagine. To people, who are still doubtful of their calling, I recommend this book to you. And see for yourself how you'll be blessed the way I was.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Cause Within You: Finding the One Great Thing You Were Created to Do in This World
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What a great idea!!

Date:January 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jamie Tomkins
Location:Lakeside, AZ
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So many people today are worried about what they should be doing and how they can be used. I've had many friends who try their hand at anything and just don't go with what they feel led to do by God. All you need to do is step back, pray and wait for Him to guide you in your path. This book will really help in that and let you know what others have gone through.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.