Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan The Power of a Whisper: Hearing God, Having the Guts to Respond - eBook

Zondervan The Power of a Whisper: Hearing God, Having the Guts to Respond - eBook

Using real-life experiences, Hybels reveals the attitudes and actions that helped him hear directly from God when facing challenges. You'll learn how to listen for whispers that determine choices, nudges that rescue us from despair, promptings that spur growth, urgings that come from others, and inspiration that reveals the terrible plight of people around the globe.
Average Customer Rating:
4.455 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
7 out of 978%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Power of a Whisper: Hearing God, Having the Guts to Respond - eBook
Review 1 for The Power of a Whisper: Hearing God, Having the Guts to Respond - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
GEEBEE
Location:Kansas
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Every man should read this because it lays down a principle that men have difficulty with: God is is control. He will guide, protect and provide if we will allow Him but we must release ourselves to that control.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Power of a Whisper: Hearing God, Having the Guts to Respond - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
A Praying Widow
Location:PA Dutch Country
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are using this book in small group studies and our pastor is preaching on this subject for 8 weeks. It is very helpful.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Power of a Whisper: Hearing God, Having the Guts to Respond - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great message. Thought provoking.

Date:February 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Drumac
Location:West Chicago, IL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book resonates with much of my experience. It's so good to have someone like Bill Hybels put it into words. He does it really well. Thank you!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Power of a Whisper: Hearing God, Having the Guts to Respond - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Loved this product!

Date:February 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Retired
Location:Watertown, SD
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our study group thoroughly enjoyed this study. Video was inspiring. Study book made for great discussion questions. Good challenges for personal growth in hearing God's whisper. Several members ordered the hard cover, for personal reading, but not necessary with this study, as it is the same as most of the video.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Power of a Whisper: Hearing God, Having the Guts to Respond - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Hybels has done it again

Date:November 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
PDave
Location:New York
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I appreciate the straight forward approach that Bill Hybels has taken with a subject that might be misunderstood. I appreciate the "checks and balances" he shares with the reader. I am currently taking a men's group through the book--all are growing in their ability to listen for God's whisper. A must-read for all Christians.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Power of a Whisper: Hearing God, Having the Guts to Respond - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Fluff

Date:November 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Chris Land
Location:Wichita Falls, Tx
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
While Bill Hybels is very good at telling stories. I felt the book was nothing but fluff.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Power of a Whisper: Hearing God, Having the Guts to Respond - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a fabulous small group program.

Date:October 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Bri2010
Location:Stillwater, Oklahoma
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was purchased for a small group text. We also used the participant guides and video. This book alone can change lives. The members are on the edge of thier seats each week excited to learn how to hear God more clearly. I would highly recommend this book. I plan to buy copies for each of my married children who need to know this principle. Very useful to all ages. Our class includes college age through 85 year olds.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Power of a Whisper: Hearing God, Having the Guts to Respond - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Leah
Location:Dallas, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very balanced view of a mystery of God. How does He speak today and Hybels deals with how to know if its Him or just your own desires talking or our own craziness. In other words, how can we have some sort of accountability to these "whispers". I appreciated that and Hybel's vulnerability and honesty in this book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Power of a Whisper: Hearing God, Having the Guts to Respond - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

GREAT RECOMMENDATION!!!

Date:October 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Alex R.
Location:Los Angeles (San Pedro), CA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was recommended this book by viewing an online sermon by Pastor Robert Morris of Gateway Church in Texas, covering a series titled "FREQUENCY" (all about hearing the still and small, living and active word of God). WOW! I'm on chapter 2, and so far, it has been so insightful. The introduction is interesting, well written, and organized. Best of all, the use of personal accounts and situations are entertaining and easy to relate to or compare with. Furthermore, the information and knowledge provided is very practical, and easy to apply to such a vague and mysterious way of communicating with the Source of Power...God! I cannot wait to finish the book!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Power of a Whisper: Hearing God, Having the Guts to Respond - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Starline Pitlock
Love this book. Very timely for me. Easy to read and understand. God is wonderful!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Power of a Whisper: Hearing God, Having the Guts to Respond - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jon Greig
Excellent and practical book on being sensitive to God's whispers and the impact of a life led by God. My life has been profoundly led by whispers from God. Sometimes I think I'm crazy and I question whether what I'm hearing is really from God. A book like this confirms to me that I am not crazy and I am hearing from God.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.