Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Every Waking Moment

Tyndale House Every Waking Moment

Treha Langsam is a mysterious young woman who has fallen through the cracks, much like many of the elderly people she works with at Desert Gardens Retirement Home. But Miriam Howard, director of the facility, sees her extraordinary gift and untapped potential. Treha is a whisperer of sorts, calling those who have slipped into dementia back to a life of vibrant, if only temporary, clarity.

When Treha's and Miriam's stories intertwine with a documentary team looking for stories of the elderly, Treha's gift is uncovered, and the search begins for answers to the mysteries of her past. As their paths converge, each person is forced to face the same difficult question: What if this is as good as my life gets?

Average Customer Rating:
4.735 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
33 out of 3497%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Every Waking Moment
Review 1 for Every Waking Moment
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

every waking moment review

Date:March 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
beckie
Age:35-44
Gender:female
"Every Waking Moment" by Chris Fabry is a novel that takes place in a nursing home and centers around Treha, a mentally impaired housekeeping worker, and Devin, a documentary film maker, who meet and work together to tell the stories of the people who live at the nursing home. The story opens with Miriam, the administrator, retiring and being replaced by Ms. Millstone, a cranky, control freak who sucks the life out of the nursing home. Treha has physical impairments as well as social, however, she seems to have the key to unlock the minds of those patients that are trapped in their minds.
This is an incredibly well written book. Fabry brings the characters to life on an intimate level. The plot flows smoothly from one level to the next as the documentary takes shape. The chapters flow from the nursing home, to the documentary, to Devin's struggles with making the film. I give it an A. I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review from Tyndale Publishing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Every Waking Moment
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

An interesting look at life for the elderly.

Date:December 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Debbie Wilder
Location:Salinas, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
I received a free copy of this book through a Goodreads, First Reads giveaway in exchange for my honest opinion.
Treha Langsam is a mysterious young woman who has fallen through the cracks, much like many of the elderly people she works with at Desert Gardens. But Miriam Howard, director of the assisted-living facility, sees her extraordinary gift and untapped potential. Treha is a whisperer of sorts, calling those who have slipped into dementia back to a life of vibrant, if only temporary, clarity.
When a documentary team stumbles onto Treha’s story, her gift is discovered and the search for answers about her past begins. As the truth slowly unravels, Treha and those around her must each tackle a difficult question: if this is as good as life gets, is that enough?
The elderly characters are very believable and well-written. I had a little trouble understanding the character of Treha. I believe that it is just because she is an unusual character and I’ve never known anyone like her, not a problem with the writing. The development of the story seems to be a little slow at the beginning. By the time I finished I realized that it is just because the author took time to do an in-depth development.
I did struggle with the inserted sections that were script-like for the documentary crew. This felt very uneven and it seemed to distract me from the story. This is the problem that kept me from giving this book the full 5 stars.
I do recommend reading this book. It takes a good look at what life has become for many elderly people, as well as others who are different from most people.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Every Waking Moment
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Diamond in the Rough, Shattered, Reveals Beauty

Date:December 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Janice Garey
Location:Decatur, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Do you know the feeling of receiving a gift for birthday or Christmas, opening it, and realizing it wasn't what you expected yet it exceeded what you wanted and hoped for? That is, in essence, how this book affected me.
The main character and the setting, upon reading the blurb, did not initially hold a lot of interest for me. But I know and appreciate the writing of Chris Fabry. As the story unfolded, along with its unique structuring, I was struck with the, "WOW, what a story," feeling.
It was so worth the reading.
My husband read this aloud to me while we daily commuted to work. I wasn't sure initially if the story and its main character would hold his attention. It did. And as much as we have loved previous books by Chris Fabry, my husband said this is his best so far.
Every Waking Moment highlights the value of every life and the potential of all life to be a force for good in this world. Enough said. Read this book and receive eternal blessings. You will gain a new perspective on life from its beginning to its natural end. That makes it sound like it could be some kind of overt prolife book. It's not. But subtly it gently reminds the reader of what great purposes God may have for those who the average Joe and Jill might write off as being of lesser value than other people.
I received this valuable book from bookfun.org in exchange for my honest review after reading it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Every Waking Moment
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Every Waking Moment

Date:November 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jessica
Location:indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It’s nice to open up a familiar author’s book and feel right at home with their work and get pulled into the plot of the story, not wanting to put it down, especially when you get to the last 50 pages. Christ Fabry hasn’t failed me yet. I have enjoyed Junebug, Dogwood, and Almost Heaven, but this time it was Every Waking Moment that captivated me and left me longing for another book by this author to pick right back up.
This story surrounds the story of Treha Langsam, a mysterious young women, strange and unique in her own way, with a past that will soon come to light. She has an extraordinary gift, which is noticed by Miriam Howard, the director of the Desert Gardens assisted-living facility. Treha is a whisperer of sorts that can call back those who have slipped into dementia back to a life of vibrant, if only temporary, clarity.
When a documentary team stumbles onto Treha’s story and discovers much about her past, she has to tackle the question: if this is as good as life gets, is that enough?
Tyndale House Publishers has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Every Waking Moment
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A heart-touching book

Date:November 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Peaches
Location:Colorado
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Treha Langsam is a mysterious young woman working with the elderly at Desert Gardens. She is quiet, does not smile, and shows no emotion, yet she can touch someones life and bring them out of their dementia back to a life of vibrant, if only temporary, clarity. The people that see Treha bring an elderly person back to clarity believe she has beautiful gift. Treha does not remember much from her past
and has no idea as to how she learned to use this precious gift. A documentary team gathering stories from the elderly stumbles onto Treha's story and the search for her past begins. Treha and those who love her begin tackling difficult questions as they search for her past. What is the story behind this mysterious yet remarkable young lady and are the answers worth finding out?
When I first began reading Every Waking Moment I had an extremely difficult time getting into the story and thought maybe I would not make it to the last chapter. But the further I progressed in the book the more my attention was grabbed by Treha's story until I was in love with this dear young lady. Here you have a woman who struggles with certain issues in life yet she continues to push through the difficulties to find the answers. Treha is a real woman with real problems just like you and me and she learns to cope and deal with each difficult step.
Chris Fabry writes a wonderful book about blessed hope and sweet redemption. The first thing that stood out to me was the fact that Chris wrote about salvation through Jesus Christ within the first 2 chapters. That shows to me what is important to this author and I greatly appreciated this. When I was almost to the middle of the book I was encouraged by what he wrote in the 18th chapter:
"How did you learn so much about the Bible?" "Only one way to learn and that's to open and read it. Ask questions. Listen to others who know it better than you do. And stay away from people who think they have God figured out or who say they know the code. You come to the Bible humbly and admit you don't know everything - that's the key."
The book may have been slow for me in the beginning, but it sure did have an incredible ending and I would definitely recommend this book. There are many lessons and good values to learn from Every Waking Moment.
** I was given a free copy of this book from Tyndale Publishers for an honest review.
All thoughts are my own. No other compensation was received. **
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Every Waking Moment
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Slow start, good ending

Date:November 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Danni
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I almost gave this book four stars because by the end of the book it did redeem it self a bit. Every Waking Moment started out slow. If you can get through the first hundred pages then you will be fine.
This is my first time reading a Chris Fabry book. Based on this book I look forward to reading more. Treha's story was fascinating. I have never read a story like hers before, which was refreshing.
One thing that I did love about the book was the ending. No I won't reveal it but I did like how things were left at the end. There was still room to grow and the journey wasn't over. Kind of like real life. I would definitely say read this book. It's story and style is not something seen too often in Christian Fiction. Looking forward to reading more.
I received this book from Tyndale Publishing in exchange for my honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Every Waking Moment
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

"Wow"!

Date:November 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ragdogs
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
“I received this book from Tyndale publishers for the purpose of this review. All comments and opinions are my own.”
The Synopsis:
“Treha Langsam is a mysterious young women who has fallen through the cracks, much like many of the elderly people she works with at Desert Gardens. But Miriam Howard, director of the assisted-living facility, sees her extraordinary gift and untapped potential. Treha is a whisperer of sorts, calling those who have slipped into dementia back to a life of vibrant, if only temporary, clarity.
When a documentary team stumbles onto Treha’s story, her gift is discovered and the search for answers about her past begins. As the truth slowly unravels, Treha and those around her must each tackle a difficult question: if this is as good as life gets, is that enough?
With authentic characterizations and riveting prose, bestselling author Chris Fabry delivers an uplifting, human tale of an ordinary woman with an extraordinary gift.”
My Review:
All I can say is “Wow”! I have to admit, I was kind of hesitant on requesting this book, simply because I thought it would be boring and that I would lose interest, but something about the story intrigued me and I went ahead and requested it. But from the moment I read the first page, I knew that “boring” was the completely wrong word for Every Waking Moment!
There was lots of mystery throughout the chapters, as well as humor, that had me constantly wondering what happened next and kept me turning the pages. The characters were all so real, and the setting described so well, I felt like I was there in every single room in every single scene.
The subplots of the story were very good and, even though some were left unanswered, they were so necessary to the storyline that they weren’t really subplots. I highly, highly, highly recommend this novel to anyone who likes a good wholesome, Christian, tear-jerker of a book! It is a fantastic read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Every Waking Moment
This review is fromEvery Waking Moment - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Treha Langsam is a young woman with a past she cannot remember, and a future looming with uncertainty. Borrowing the stories of others because she cannot remember her childhood, she has no one to fill in the empty spaces of her life. Living alone and barely making ends meet, she struggles on a daily basis to be a part of a world she cannot understand.
The only thing that makes her somewhat a part of normal society is the fact that she can bring the elderly from the world of their minds to return to some clarity and clear thinking. But there are some people who do not understand Treha's gift and will do everything in their power to make her just go away. When one of the residents of Desert Gardens Retirement Home in Arizona provides a vital clue to the past, will one of Treha's few friends, Miriam, be able to help her find her family? Or will the truth die along with the same man who is the answer with what is physically wrong with Treha?
And finally a heroine that isn't stick skinny perfect, with the most beautiful eyes you've ever seen, or some other such flawless or stunning characteristic. Treha is real in the pages of this book, for Fabry has made a fictional someone we can believe in, cheer on, and can almost believe that she is as alive as we are. This is the kind of book that reminds you of the best movie you've ever seen, except so much better. It doesn't matter who you are or where you are in life; Treha's story will change how you see the elderly, the "not quite right" from society, and those who we tend to think are beneath us based on appearance. This novel will open your eyes to things you have never seen before, and make you see in a whole new light.
This book was provided by Tyndale House Publishers for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Every Waking Moment
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An unforgettable novel with a lasting message!

Date:October 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Treha Langsam has a unique ability and one that works well where she is employed. She can connect with those who seem lost within themselves, victims of such illnesses like dementia and Alheimer's who rob not only the family members from being able to communicate with their loved ones but often times the loved ones who remained trapped within prisons of their own body. Treha can relate because she too is different. Judged by outside appearances of eye movements she can not control, often time society has a label of "different" that they place on her instead of simply getting to know the real person behind what the skin hides.
Perhaps this is the very reason she can connect with those elderly loved ones she helps in the Desert Garden Home. Unlike most retirement and hospice centers, the director Miriam Howard sees more that just providing a place for the elderly to live out whatever remains of their life. She believes in treating them like family and the center more like a real home. One in which they find love and acceptance and not abandonment and loneliness and Treha provides that connection to draw them out where they remained locked inside their body.
Now if only someone can find the key in which to unlock the past that remains hidden even to Treha, one that will provide to her the answers which she seeks, who she is, does she have a family out there somewhere and can someone help her physically to get better. It seems that the answers lie within one elderly patient Dr. Crenshaw who finds that sharing riddles, puzzles and word clues with Treha's unparalleled ability to solve them in record time holds the key that will unlock the door to her hidden life.
I received Every Waking Moment by Chris Fabry compliments of Tyndale House Publishers for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions expressed are strictly my own. I LOVE Chris Fabry's novels because hidden within the pages of each one is a treasure waiting to be found. I don't even have to read the book premise any longer when I know he has written another new novel because I know I will enjoy it like eating my favorite meal. It is meant to be savored because you don't get them that often so you LOVE to enjoy every single moment. This one was no exception. I love how Chris chose to incorporate a retirement home and the telling of the stories the elderly hold is exceptional and often taken for granted the stories that each one holds inside. We get a glimpse of some of those and it gives us wisdom if we are willing to listen and take the time to hear them. I rate this novel a 5 out of 5 stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Every Waking Moment
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
StoryGirl
Age:18-24
Gender:female
I’ve been trying to read and review some more contemporary fiction. I’ve read so many pieces of historical fiction that they’re all starting to seem the same to me, so I’ve been shaking up my reading “diet” with some other genres. I figure that that way, not only do I expose myself to other types of stories, but I’ll get more enjoyment out of the historical novels that I do read. I chose this book because I had read something not that long ago by Chris Fabry (June Bug) and liked it. Every Waking Moment, for that reason, easily suggested itself as my next contemporary pick.
I freely admit that I’m more of an adventure/romance/mystery type of girl, and Every Waking Moment (aside from a little bit of mystery) doesn’t have too much of that. But that doesn’t mean that I disliked it. It did take me a few chapters to become interested in the story; and while I think I enjoyed it overall, it did have a few flaws. Because it was about several characters at once, I didn’t really get to dive into each character’s backstory (well, except Treha’s) I didn’t really feel like I ever got to know each character’s personality very well; it was hard for many of the characters to really stand out in my mind- although I did like many of the residents of the Senior Center! I also really liked Du’Relle, and I especially loved that Treha called him Gavroche ;)
However, I was again impressed with Chris Fabry’s writing, because he took a plotline that I wouldn’t have otherwise have been interested in and kept my attention captured throughout the whole thing. This isn’t one of my all-time favorite books, but that’s simply due to my personal taste rather than the quality of the book, and it’s why Every Waking Moment is getting an eight out of ten.
I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Every Waking Moment
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A read that will melt your heart

Date:October 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rebecca
Every Waking Moment is the story of Treha-a young woman with an amazing gift to reach those that seem unreachable due to aging or some sort of disease such as Dementia. Treha uses her unique gift, to love the inhabitants of the Desert Gardens Retirement home. Due to circumstances beyond her control, Treha's job becomes threatened and with the help of her friends she embarks on a journey to discover the mysteries of her past.
My heart hurt for Treha as she struggled in her journey to overcome some extremely tough circumstances and reconcile some even tougher truths.
I have been a Chris Farby fan for sometime, and Every Waking Moment lives up to my expectations for his novels with well developed characters and a unique storyline. I believe that this book will reach into the heart of every reader as they follow Treha's story.
I was given a copy of this book from The Book Club Network in exchange for my hones opinion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Every Waking Moment
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Every Waking Moment

Date:October 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
jacquiR
Location:Illinois
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Every Waking Moment is a poignant story about society's most vulnerable members--the elderly residents in a retirement home and one lone, mysterious, young woman with a unique gift to communicate with those with dementia. Hired in a janitorial position, Treha is allowed to connect with the elderly when the director of the facility recognizes her ability to call these elderly back to clarity, if only temporarily.
A documentary team and the director of the home search for answers about Treha's past and her condition. The story endearingly weaves together the lives of the residents, the director, and the team with that of the lone orphan girl whose past is almost nonexistent.
This excellent novel evokes from the reader a reflection upon the treatment of the elderly and the "different" in society. Treha's story is a heart-rending and compelling tale, and yet an uplifting journey. The reader will find it hard to forget.
I received this book through TBCN in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Every Waking Moment
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A "Page Turner"

Date:October 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jean
Location:West Palm Beach, FL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was intrigued and off and running with questions from the start. It continued throughout the entire read. I kept trying to guess what would happen next in each chapter. This story centered on the life of "Treha", who we believed was left in an Ice Cream Parlor by her mom who bought her an ice cream treat before abandoning her. Throughout the book, it remained a mystery as to the type of life Treha had lived that caused her to become the individual she became with her "disabilities". Had she been the subject of medical experiments by the mysterious doctor with whom she became friends? Had she been abused by a stranger? By adoptive or foster parents? The desire to learn these answers was the driving force to continue reading beyond my planned time. I just kept reading and reading from chapter to chapter. I loved this story and my inability to figure anything out made this book a five star book for me.
I received this book from book fun.org in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Every Waking Moment
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Superbly Emotional Novel

Date:October 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Debbie L
Location:Winterville, Georgia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Treha (Tray-uh) Langsam has no recollection of her past. She takes stories from other people, people she works with at a nursing home, Desert Gardens of Tucson, Arizona. Miriam Howard is the director and she’s the one who hired Treha to work there as a janitor. But when she began to see how she interacted with the patients, she pretty much gave her free reign on letting her work with the patients. She could bring them out of a mad rage, or out of a spell of complete silence. Treha had talent. She just had no confidence in herself and she had no past.
Then a couple of men, Devin Hills and Jonah Verwer, come by wanting to do a documentary on the older generation, to hear their stories and to put it all on film. They new the importance of what the older generation had gone through and all the knowledge they had accumulated over the many years they had been on this earth.
When they first saw Treha in action they knew they had stumbled on something special. So special they wanted to get in on video and then they, along with the director, Miriam, start trying to find out information on Treha and where she came from. But before they could get to far, things changed at Desert Gardens and the changes were not good.
This is all you’re getting from me. This book is so special, I can’t tell you anymore, you just have to read it, absorb it, live it, and let it soak in. One very special scene will stick with me for life and I think sharing this quote will not hinder anything or spoil you reading the book. Here goes: “That verse going over and over in my head-the one people use to say God won’t five us more than we can handle. 1 Corinthians 10:13. They think temptation and the hard stuff of life are the same. I don’t believe that for a minute. He does give us more than we can handle. He lets us go through deeper waters so that we ling to him; that’s the whole point of having faith. If we could handle everything, there would be no reason for us to need God.” So, so true.
You have to read this book, it’s pretty different than anything I’ve read before and there are twists and turns all the way to the end.
I received a free digital copy of this book from NetGalley for my honest opinion and did not receive any compensation for a favorable review. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Every Waking Moment
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Very Touching Story

Date:September 24, 2013
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the first Chris Fabry book I have read. When I started this book I assumed it would follow a woman with a special gift who can reach dementia patients. We are introduced to several characters in this book and I really liked how Chris had all of their lives intertwined. We meet patients, Treha, Miriam the director about to retire, and Devin and Jonah the filmmakers. There are more but those are the main ones. Treha is a very special young woman with special needs. Her name is very unusual but means something special in the book. You will have to read it to find out. We are treated to different view points as the story progresses which I really enjoyed. However, this book took me by surprise through many twists and turns I did not see coming. This book was sad, uplifting, and a little bit scary that this could be reality. The ending was very fitting and choked me up a bit. What I really liked and thought would be neat was if people did do documentaries of older peoples lives. What we could learn! I received this book from bookfun.org for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Every Waking Moment
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A fascinating Story

Date:September 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mary Host
Location:Lebanon County, PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The main character of this book is Treha Langsam, a young woman who works as a janitor at Desert Gardens assisted living facility. While she is limited in some ways, she is very gifted at reaching those with dementia and helping them back to temporary reality. Miriam Howard, director, sees Treha's gift and often calls on her for help with a difficult resident. Dr. Crenshaw, a resident, likes to test Treha with scrambled letters to see how fast she can solve the word. She does not realize he is connected to her in other ways. Two young men are creating a documentary film, and spend time at the facility interviewing residents. You find out later why they are important to the story.
When Miriam is replaced with a new director, things take a turn for the worse. Treha is fired and Miriam steps in to give her a home and help her find answers to her past. But someone doesn't want her past revealed. Are you curious about Treha's name like I was? You find out how she got this name near the end of the book, when some other mysteries are answered. All people need acceptance and love, no matter what their "limitations" might be. This book challenged me, and I highly recommend it to others.
I received this book from bookfun.org in return for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Every Waking Moment
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Contemporary Fiction

Date:September 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
loriweller
Location:Lancaster,Pa
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Every Waking Moment is an intense book you can't put down. It revolves around the people associated with an assisted living residence. It includes the administrator and her family, residents, staff, and two men who are making " life films". The story begins to develop around the person who was hired as a janitor but becomes more of a friend to the residents and has a way of bringing them out of themselves. There is curiosity as to where Treha came from, how she was raised, and just her past all around. In looking into it, several big discoveries are made that lead to Big Business and the politics around it. I enjoyed this book very much and can't wait to add other Chris Fabry books to my to be read list.
I recieved this book from The Book Club Network for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Every Waking Moment
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mesmerizing! Here is a novel that contains a very unique tale that unfolds like the best of mysteries compiled with human emotions. As I started the novel, I could sense that it would be one I wouldn’t soon forget. The characters are depicted as if lifted from real people, news headlines and stories shared through various mediums. Trehea is the main female character who has a condition that isn’t explained, diagnosed or understood even by those who watch her as she interacts with those living at Desert Gardens. However, Trehea is loved and valued for the way she can draw out people who through dementia and living long lives began to retreat within themselves.
Devin, along with his friend Jonah, begins to come to the assisted living facilities to tape the stories of those people who are cared for by the staff. For him, it started with his grandfather being there and from that moment something grabbed Devin’s heart. As Devin began taping stories various folks shared, a vision began to form and led to the business he is now starting. Even though his income is nil, he knows the value of the work and it exceeds any payment he might gain.
From the beginning of the page until the last word written, the reader will be immersed into a multi-layered mystery that weaves many threads together. When the last stitch is in place, the audience will be touched in their heart as they stare at the final work of art. Chris Fabry shares with us a work of art that will be remembered by each reader for what he or she can glean for themselves. It will tug at the heart of many people from all walks of life because of the various backgrounds we all bring to a book when we open it to start on a journey of discovery.
In the novel, one character decides to risk change in her life by learning to listen to the story of a neighbor who has recently experienced grief. As depicted, Miriam knows she doesn’t hold the answers, but simply being there and not shying away from the situation and emotions touches that family. As I thought of that scene in the novel, I marveled at how accurately portrayed it is between the covers of the book. I was reminded we are all made special because of Who resides within us if we are His followers. Sometimes the best gift we can give to another is simply being there.
There are many themes encapsulated in Every Waking Moment. For me, one of them is the faith that can anchor us until we go to be with the Lord. As I was reading, I could empathize with some of the characters because of my life experiences, some of which have been very recent. Plus, when I enjoyed the privilege of caring for my aging in-laws, treating them with love, respect and dignity was very important to them as well as my whole family.
Read Every Waking Moment, then give a copy to a friend to enjoy too!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Every Waking Moment
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstanding contemporary fiction

Date:September 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Carole Jarvis
Location:Jonesboro, Georgia
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Every Waking Moment by Chris Fabry is an uplifting, human tale of an ordinary woman with an extraordinary gift, and this novel goes on my top inspirational fiction list. All the elements that elevate it to that rank are present: lyrical prose, rich characterization, emotionally gripping themes, compelling message, and the power to effect change in how one thinks. Highly recommended.
This is a difficult review to write because it will be hard for me to do justice to this wonderful novel. The engaging writing style held my interest from the beginning and the themes are both vital and compelling. I wish there were more novels like this in the Christian fiction genre.
The story revolves around an unusual character named Treha (Tray-uh), a young girl with a tender heart who struggles to connect with people. Treha's gift is the ability to reach inside older people who are suffering from dementia and Alzheimer’s and pull them back - a gift "to help flowers bloom, to free chained minds. But the girl herself remained closed tight like a desert rose in the winter." The book's cover beautifully depicts Treha's character and struggles.
Other characters play strong parts, such as Miriam Howard, director of Desert Gardens in Tucson, Arizona where Treha works. Miriam has a genuine compassion and ability at working with people to make Desert Gardens remind them of their home. Forced into early retirement, Miriam's replacement is Jillian Millstone, who is "able to catalog every duty for the job except compassion."
One of the book's main themes, "the power of story," can't help but resonate with everyone who reads it. Devin Hillis and his partner, Jonah, are given permission to interview some of the residents at Desert Gardens for a documentary they are producing. In Devin's words, "I'm a big believer in the power of stories. Individual and collective. We were capturing people at Desert Gardens rehearsing their lives, showing how one person's story touches another and how it feeds the rest of us, makes us better. Instead of discounting those on the margins, those our society says aren't important, we need to celebrate their stories. Ask more questions. Learn and grow and honor them."
I appreciate a book that makes me think, and a Desert Gardens resident named Elsie did exactly that. I've always thought of 1 Corinthians 10:13 as giving the assurance that God doesn't place upon us more than we are capable of withstanding. But I love how Elsie takes it a step further when she says, "He does give us more than we can handle. He lets us go through deeper waters so that we cling to him; that's the whole point of having faith. If we could handle everything, there would be no reason for us to need God."
Treha talks about how people crave touch, and she always reached out to touch a hand, arm, shoulder, or gently rub a back. And she also listened. I have often visited nursing homes and am ashamed to realize I haven't been very good in these areas. Treha's actions and attitude are something I will always remember.
The theme of valuing people because of the lives they've lived is so relevant and compelling for today. Discussion questions at the end are very thought provoking.
Every Waking Moment will definitely go on my list of 2013 favorites. There is so much opportunity for further development of characters and storylines that I really hope Chris will write a sequel. It was a pleasure to discover the writing of Chris Fabry and I highly recommend this book to all readers.
A complimentary copy of this book was provided by Tyndale House Publishers in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Every Waking Moment
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Don't judge a person by their outside coverings

Date:September 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
inspiremichelle
Location:Loureauville, LA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Every Waking Moment by Chris Fabry
Treha Langsam works at Desert Gardens an assisted living - nursing home facility. She was originally hired as a janitor until it was discovered she had a very special gift. She somehow can reach the lost souls of dementia patients. Miriam Howard her boss befriends her and does her best to help her. She is taken under the wing of resident Dr. Crenshaw. Soon she is caught up the mystery surrounding an illness caused by Phutura, the community Pharmacial company that Dr Crenshaw used to be employed with. A local documentary team has taken an interest in the residents of Desert Gardens. And are soon caught up in the mystery of Treha’s past. Treha has falling through the cracks herself. Can the documentary team, Miriam and Treha fight big business and come out on top. Read this riveting story from Chris Farby to find out what happens. I want to thank the author Chris Fabry and publisher Tyndale for bringing good clean Christian books like this one to readers like me. I would also like to thank The Book Club Network Inc. for providing me with this book in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>