Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Howard Books Fifteen Minutes - eBook

Howard Books Fifteen Minutes - eBook

Zack Dylan has a dream to sing on the biggest stages, for the biggest crowds, and he vows to do..almost..whatever it takes to make it come true. But Zack also made a promise to his college sweetheart when he left Kentucky to compete on the popular TV show Fifteen Minutes: If he made it, nothing would change him or his faith in God.

Overnight, Zack becomes the nation's most popular contestant. As his star rises, Zack is often asked to compromise and quiet his beliefs. Just as he's on the verge of winning it all, his choices lead him to the brink of personal disaster. Meanwhile, a former Fifteen Minutes winner is searching for meaning amidst her own private losses. Can she warn Zack about the real price of fame? Or will Zack lose everything he loves for his fifteen minutes of glory?

Average Customer Rating:
4.133 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
0
12 out of 1580%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Fifteen Minutes - eBook
Review 1 for Fifteen Minutes - eBook
This review is fromFifteen Minutes.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Same Old, Same Old

Date:March 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
AshleyNoelle
Location:California
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I am a big fan of Karen Kingsbury. With books like Halfway To Forever, Unlocked and the Baxter Series it's hard not to be.
But her last 8 or 9 books have just steadily gone downhill. They have all centered around the same thing: fame.
A few books about that are okay, but this many? With the Above the Line series, the Bailey series, the Firstborn series, The Chance ( and on and on) about the same subject is just getting old.
Fifteen Minutes is just okay. It's better than the last couple of books put out, but there doesn't seem to be a real moral to the story other than beware of fame. I know it shows how fame pressured Zachary to compromise his beliefs, but somehow it just didn't come across as a strong Christian book.
If you're looking for a good Karen read, I would recommend to put this one down and go find some of her earlier books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Fifteen Minutes - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
From #1 New York Times bestselling author Karen Kingsbury comes a dramatic story about fame, true love, and the cost of having it all.
Zack Dylan made a promise to God and his college sweetheart as he left his family’s horse farm in Kentucky to compete on the popular reality television show Fifteen Minutes: If he makes it, the fame won’t change him.
Overnight, Zack is the nation’s most popular contestant, a country singer with the looks and voice of a young Elvis. As his star rises, Zack is asked to compromise and quiet his beliefs, and also something more. Something Zack could never have imagined. Just as America is falling in love with Zack, just as he’s on the verge of winning it all, his choices lead him to the brink of personal disaster.
At the same time, Reese Weatherly, a therapeutic horse instructor, is no longer sure about her relationship with Zack, or the wedding they had dreamed about. While Zack advances from one round of the competition to the next, an offer comes to Reese—one that will take her to a home halfway around the world.
Then Chandra Olson—reigning diva pop star and one of the Fifteen Minutes judges—intervenes. Chandra has suffered so much public pain and private agony since her days as a Fifteen Minutes contestant. Now she wants just one thing: meaning.
Can Chandra’s private losses help Zack find his way, or will his fifteen minutes of fame cause him to lose the life he once loved? Fifteen Minutes is a story of character, compromise, and the cost of having it all. A story that raises the question: Who are the real winners?
My Review:
I would rather be a nobody loved by somebody, than a somebody that nobody loves. Fame comes at a price, and the price of admission may be higher than you're willing to pay. Zack discovers that having it all doesn't mean happiness, and that the dreams in life mean nothing when you no longer have anyone to share it with. Zack is driven to win, but when the pressure mounts, can he stay strong against all the temptations the world has to offer?
Something that struck me about this novel, is that Kingsbury manages to write a story about a hometown boy turned famous that pulled at my heartstrings. She made me see Zack's side of the tale; his struggles, his triumphs, his sorrows and his victories. Every chapter brought me closer an closer to the climax, and I stayed up all night anticipating the final throes of the death of either the old Zack or the new. A must read that demands to be noticed, Kingsbury gives us the picture of the price of fame, and the cost of standing up and for what is right.
This book was provided by the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Fifteen Minutes - eBook
This review is fromFifteen Minutes.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:January 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
Skeeter
Location:PA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This book will appeal to young people. Not the Kingsbury quality. It certainly is timely because of all the reality shows today. But a disappointing read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Fifteen Minutes - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Topsy
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love Karen Kingsbury books. This one also.
Very good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Fifteen Minutes - eBook
This review is fromFifteen Minutes.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Entertaining Read!

Date:January 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Another great book by famous author Karen Kingsbury! This story moves along quickly and definitely held my attention throughout. I liked that it was modern and the characters had depth. I have not always liked her books. In fact I have found some of them too dramatic and not very real to life. This book, however, was very good. I thought she showed the positive and negative of being famous and how it changes you and everyone around you. I gave this book 5/5 stars. I would recommend the story to anyone looking for a quick and entertaining read!
I would like to thank the publisher for the copy of this book I enjoyed reading. I gave an honest review based on my opinion of what I read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Fifteen Minutes - eBook
This review is fromFifteen Minutes.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Interesting story!

Date:December 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mossy
Location:Louisville, KY
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fifteen Minutes was an enjoyable book. It shows the dangers of a Christian compromising with the world. This was a very good moral for this book because it seems that many Christians are always compromising and doing things the world's way! I liked the main characters, mostly, and the plot was entertaining. This was a well-written book. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys Christian fiction.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Fifteen Minutes - eBook
This review is fromFifteen Minutes.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Too Hollywood

Date:December 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Inyokern, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Technically the plot was well-penned. Far too much glitz with no take away value. Felt like I was reading an "Entertainment Tonight" ticker-tape.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Fifteen Minutes - eBook
This review is fromFifteen Minutes.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Reality Check!!!

Date:November 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Preuninger
Location:Gilmer, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book brings home the realities of the "reality TV" world!! I believe it also shows how difficult it is to be a true Christian in the "reality TV" world, and I applaud Karen Kingsbury for showing the REALness of the "reality TV" lifestyle.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Fifteen Minutes - eBook
This review is fromFifteen Minutes.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 29, 2013
Die-hard Karen Kingsbury fans are going to be thrilled with this newest offering. Karen is such a prolific and talented writer. It is hard to imagine how one could write so many stories without becoming formula driven. So far Karen has managed to escape that trap.
In Fifteen Minutes the search for fame and fortune is what Zack Dylan is after. Zack is a young man devoted to God, his family and his fiancé. He is convinced that he can help them all by trying out and winning Fifteen Minutes, the reality TV singing competition. Before he really knows what is happening he finds himself compromising time and time again.
The true costs to obtaining and maintaining fame are addressed in this well-written book. The stories of Kelly and Chandra give us a glimpse of the price of fame. It takes a toll on every aspect of their lives. The voice of God has become silent, their families are destroyed, and the contentment they thought they would find with having it all is elusive.
Fifteen Minutes gives a great fictionalized account of reality TV and those unsuspecting individuals who clamor to become a part of it. It will make you think differently as you watch your favorite show each week. I think you will begin to picture the contestants as real people with real lives. For that we can all benefit from the reading of this book.
I received a copy of this book to facilitate my review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Fifteen Minutes - eBook
This review is fromFifteen Minutes.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
From #1 New York Times bestselling author Karen Kingsbury comes a dramatic story about fame, true love, and the cost of having it all.
Zack Dylan made a promise to God and his college sweetheart as he left his family’s horse farm in Kentucky to compete on the popular reality television show Fifteen Minutes: If he makes it, the fame won’t change him.
Overnight, Zack is the nation’s most popular contestant, a country singer with the looks and voice of a young Elvis. As his star rises, Zack is asked to compromise and quiet his beliefs, and also something more. Something Zack could never have imagined. Just as America is falling in love with Zack, just as he’s on the verge of winning it all, his choices lead him to the brink of personal disaster.
At the same time, Reese Weatherly, a therapeutic horse instructor, is no longer sure about her relationship with Zack, or the wedding they had dreamed about. While Zack advances from one round of the competition to the next, an offer comes to Reese—one that will take her to a home halfway around the world.
Then Chandra Olson—reigning diva pop star and one of the Fifteen Minutes judges—intervenes. Chandra has suffered so much public pain and private agony since her days as a Fifteen Minutes contestant. Now she wants just one thing: meaning.
Can Chandra’s private losses help Zack find his way, or will his fifteen minutes of fame cause him to lose the life he once loved? Fifteen Minutes is a story of character, compromise, and the cost of having it all. A story that raises the question: Who are the real winners?
My Review:
I would rather be a nobody loved by somebody, than a somebody that nobody loves. Fame comes at a price, and the price of admission may be higher than you're willing to pay. Zack discovers that having it all doesn't mean happiness, and that the dreams in life mean nothing when you no longer have anyone to share it with. Zack is driven to win, but when the pressure mounts, can he stay strong against all the temptations the world has to offer?
Something that struck me about this novel, is that Kingsbury manages to write a story about a hometown boy turned famous that pulled at my heartstrings. She made me see Zack's side of the tale; his struggles, his triumphs, his sorrows and his victories. Every chapter brought me closer an closer to the climax, and I stayed up all night anticipating the final throes of the death of either the old Zack or the new. A must read that demands to be noticed, Kingsbury gives us the picture of the price of fame, and the cost of standing up and for what is right.
This book was provided by the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Fifteen Minutes - eBook
This review is fromFifteen Minutes.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This lesson truly can change your life!

Date:October 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sufficient in Jesus
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This story of Fifteen Minutes begins on a stately yet struggling Southern farm where Zach Dylan was raised. This was a place where fine Arabian horses ran in lush pastures, where God was praised every day even when money was tight, and where the loving family knew its share of trouble and heartache yet still knew how to enjoy a sunrise on the front porch.
This is the world Zach wants to leave and wants to keep all at the same time. In an attempt to rescue this place and help his family by becoming a famous singer, he will risk losing it all to the powerful vortex of fame and its influences.
As Glen Campbell sang in the '60s, a country boy has his feet in L.A. and his mind on Tennessee.
Zach is that country boy, with a heart full of love for God and lips that speak the name of Jesus as his Savior. He has full intentions of changing the world, not letting it change him.
Unfaithfulness to his convictions or to his girlfriend never even entered his mind as a possibility.
Yet being a celebrity changes things, at the speed of fame.
How do you tone down your faith on demand and pretend love on stage for the cameras without it messing up your head and busting you up inside?
Like my review buddy said, Fifteen Minutes is a story of Relentless Grace and second chances.
I can warn you that you will probably be on pins and needles as you read... concerned for Zach just like his Grandpa Dan was, wondering if Zach can undo what he's done when he isn't even sure how all this madness happened. It is thoughtful, suspenseful reading.
Rest assured, Karen Kingsbury has crafted a very fine ending to this tale. I can't say more than that.
Thank you Howard Books for my review copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Fifteen Minutes - eBook
This review is fromFifteen Minutes.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Finding out the true cost of fame!

Date:October 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For anyone with a music talent, all they are longing for is just their 15 minutes of fame. A chance to prove to the world and themselves that they truly possess a talent that could possibly launch them into being the next big thing. That is just what Zack Dylan, a talented country music singer with the looks of Elvis, hopes to prove by auditioning for Fifteen Minutes, a music show much like The Voice or American Idol that could offer Zack the brass ring to fame. Believing that he does have what it takes to rise to the top of the music charts, Zack believes that God is leading him to this path, a way to provide for his family financially if he makes it to the final round and wins the competition. But his grandfather and his girlfriend, Reese Weatherly believe that this isn't the way God wants him to go. Nonetheless they will both keep him in prayer and if God wants Zack to continue, then they will support whatever doors God opens for him.
Struggling to keep his family's horse farm afloat as well as provide for the ongoing medical care his sister A.J. requires, Zack believes God wouldn't let him move forward in the music competition unless that is what He is calling him to do. And at first, Zack remains committed to keeping his faith intact and praying for God to use him as a tool in this industry. But soon the scenes behind the television series show that the things people see on the show aren't really what's going on and what sells ratings and increased viewers are where they will go despite the reservations of the competitors, one of which is to prohibit Zack from openly sharing his faith in God and instead show a seedier side of romance blossoming between him and fellow competitor Zoey.
Reese Weatherly has been given an opportunity to teach her equine therapeutic skills to a facility in London for the next year, and while despite having some reservations about the limited conversations she is having with Zack while he is going through the auditions, she believes he still loves her.
"She prayed for him. Not that he'd be the best singer or that this would be his brightest stage moment ever. She prayed for something else, something that mattered more. For God's will, whatever it was. That above all else."
When the season opener of Fifteen Minutes airing an episode that shows Zack and Zoey in a dark hallway and kissing, Reese doesn't know what God's plans are for her and Zack. Taking all the clues together paints a far different picture than the one Zack is leading her to believe. Will she be willing to wait for Zack or will she accept the fact that God has different plans for them than becoming man and wife despite their heartfelt prayers?
I received Fifteen Minutes by Karen Kingsbury compliments of Howard Books, a division of Simon and Schuster Publishers for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions expressed are my own. This takes readers behind the scenes at what might possibly go on in the music competition shows that are becoming the latest rage and once again showing that what we see on television isn't necessarily what is really happening. It teaches us through the story that there is a price for everything in life and the one for fame and fortune might just cost us everything we hold dear including our faith. "She, more than anyone, understood the depth of the dream, the impossibility of it. The cost."
What I took away from this novel is that our perceptions of what television shows us is a tainted one. One that puts ratings about anything else. That there is a cost associated with anything we do and sometimes that line can be blurred between what we think God has placed in front of us or in fact our own desires superseding His. It made me look at what the real cost of fame and being a celebrity really is and how truly sad their lives are despite all their wealth and notoriety. They search for happiness in all the wrong places and in the end have little more than shattered lives left in the end. I rate this novel a 5 out of 5 stars and once again Karen Kingsbury has hit a home run!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Fifteen Minutes - eBook
This review is fromFifteen Minutes.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sufficient in Jesus
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When Zack decides to audition for the show *15 Minutes*
all he wants to do is have have broader stage on which to glorify God with his singing and earn the money to save his family's horse farm. He presses on toward this goal despite the warning his grandfather has for him and the misgivings of his girlfriend Reese. Zach has the talent as a singer and the looks to easily capture the viewers and the judges' hearts, but he is unprepared for the temptations and compromises he will be faced with in stardom.
Chandra, one of the judges for the show, knows all about the way these seemingly harmless compromises can wear one down. She knows the cost of fame: this life of devastating loss is one she faces everyday, all she wishes for is a chance to return to the life she had before 15 Minutes launched her into fame.
Stardom caused her to lose the life that was everything to her, her family and her fiancee. Her young life was a lot like Zach's, and he does not yet realize what he is leaving behind for the perceived glamour of becoming an idol.
His choices become more weighty when his good intentions in reaching out to a fellow contestant are poisoned. The network wants too add a romance to their relationship and pressure him to exploit his Christian beliefs for their ratings.
How much will he give up, how far will he go, how much will he give in to the demands of a world that wants to market him like a product?
*Fifteen Minutes* is a story of relentless Grace and second chances, and comes to an ultimately satisfying and hopeful conclusion.
Thank you Howard Books for my review copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Fifteen Minutes - eBook
This review is fromFifteen Minutes.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Fifteen Minutes

Date:September 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
jenilee220
Location:Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
As much as I've loved Karen Kingsbury's work, I was disappointed with this book. I feel like she has hit the reality TV, movie star, famous person theme a little too hard in all of her books. This book felt like the same story she has written about already and it was much of the same ideas that have been prevalent in her latest books. I would love something new from Karen Kingsbury!
All that aside, Karen writes a beautiful story with great characters and true themes of faith, love, forgiveness, growth and real life.
She blends these themes with real characters and circumstances that readers will enjoy.
Karen is a wonderful writer and I can't wait to see her write about some new topics!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Fifteen Minutes - eBook
This review is fromFifteen Minutes.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fifteen Minutes ~ Karen Kingsbury

Date:August 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
debs
Location:Maine
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LOVE THIS STORY!! Karen does it again!!! This is the story of Zach Dylan who becomes a contestant of a reality singing show (think American Idol). Zach wants to have GOD shine and save his families farm, that is his purpose for winning the show. He leaves behind the love of his life Reese, and goes to the audition. Reese is concerned that he will change and their lives will never be the same again. As the story goes, Zach becomes the top contestant and has many trials and tribulations of the TV world vs. his faith. The story has many characters and lots of twist and turns. It is a page turner right to the very end and just as Karen always does, it ends the way you don't expect it to.
I LOVED this book and would recommend it to everyone. It is a great wholesome story of faith and does make you think of how you look at your own world. If you like reality shows, especially American Idol or The Voice you will really love this book. I encourage everyone to read this.
Karen ~ if you read this~ continue this story! I want more of these characters, all of them.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through net galley. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.