Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Crossway Books & Bibles ESV Children's Bible (illustrated hardcover)

Crossway Books & Bibles ESV Children's Bible (illustrated hardcover)

The kid-friendly cover will catch your 6- to 12-year-olds' attention---and the age-appropriate study helps will keep them reading!200 full-color illustrations * Tips on how to pray and read God's Word * Eye-catching charts * Words of Christ in red * Dictionary * Book introductions * Salvation plan * Size: 5.5" x 8.5" x 1.5" * 1632 pages, hardcover from Crossway
Average Customer Rating:
4.957 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ESV Children's Bible (illustrated hardcover)
Review 1 for ESV Children's Bible (illustrated hardcover)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Just what I ordered

Date:December 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Eric
Location:Reidsville, NC
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this as a first Bible for my 9 year old son, and its exactly what I was looking for.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for ESV Children's Bible (illustrated hardcover)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is it!

Date:November 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Matt S
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I searched high and low for Bibles for my 7 year-old son. I came across this one and I was sold. I am a huge fan of the ESV and it's great to have this version so my son and I can study together.
The pictures are realistic and not cartoony. The study helps in the back are the best in any kid's study Bible that I've seen. They are not the little bubbles or pop-ups seen in most kids' Bibles. Rather, they have things like a list of "Fighter Verses" - key memory verses for kids; Promises of God, God's Plan of Salvation, a reading plan for kids and others that I can't think of off the top of my head. The helps are done by Children Desiring God Ministries of Desiring God Ministries/John Piper/Bethlehem Baptist Church fame. That may help some make a decision one way or another. The helps are biblical and vivid, seeking the glory of God so it doesn't water down the message like so many kids' Bibles.
If I had to choose one Bible for my kids this is it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for ESV Children's Bible (illustrated hardcover)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Milton Warren
I love this Bible! I had to purchase one for my son for school. This one is easier on the eyes to read and the illustrations are beautiful. I will be purchasing another one for my daughter soon.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for ESV Children's Bible (illustrated hardcover)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rachel Landers
We love this bible and this is our 3rd copy of the Children's ESV in our home. Each of our children begins with this version and then they graduate to a traditional ESV at 3rd grade. What I really appreciate about it is that it is the actual scripture interspersed with beautiful illustrations of well-known stories. My daughters follow along with the scripture reading in church, reading right from their own Bibles. The binding is sturdy and there are great helps in the back of the bible including a reading plan, memory verse suggestions and an outline of the Gospel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for ESV Children's Bible (illustrated hardcover)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jason Kauranen
Purchased this bible for a god-childs first communion. It is wonderful. A great tool for spiritual growth that can explain difficult subjects with the supportive illustrations.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for ESV Children's Bible (illustrated hardcover)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mark Tincher
Full ESV text with lots of great pictures. My daughter is only 6 and she can't read much of her bible yet but she loves it just the same.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for ESV Children's Bible (illustrated hardcover)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
D Helm
Wonderful Bible!!! There are many nicely done illustrations that my kids love, and the print is perfect for new readers! I highly recommend this Bible, it has great references, tables, and study information too located in the back for children.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for ESV Children's Bible (illustrated hardcover)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Shannah
We love this Bible. I wish they had it in a grown-up version. What makes it great is all of the things in the back of the Bible. It has key memory verses, helps you understand big "Christian" words like justification, how to be saved,and on, and on. We bought it for 2 of our daughters for their 5th birthday and plan to do the same for our next one in a few years. We recommend this Bible to all of our friends with kids and they all seem to like theirs as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for ESV Children's Bible (illustrated hardcover)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lake View Church
Thank you for a "full text" children's Bible. Graphics/pictures are excellent as well as commentary and content for children. GREAT WORK!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for ESV Children's Bible (illustrated hardcover)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Michelle
We ordered two ESV children's Bibles and had them monogrammed. The bibles were exactly as described and will be used in our evening bible studies with our boys. Now they both have the same bible version for easier following along as they read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for ESV Children's Bible (illustrated hardcover)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Cindy Hayward
Beautiful book. My daughter is very proud of it and showed it off at Sunday School.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for ESV Children's Bible (illustrated hardcover)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Heather Peat
We are using the ESV Children's Bible with all our children in grades 1 to 4, and the Classic Reference with grades 5 to 6. The kids love the Bibles and all the extras in the children's Bible fit in so wel with our Bible Study Program. Thanks for a Children's Bible that is so suitable for children in that age group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for ESV Children's Bible (illustrated hardcover)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
April Mckinion
Wonderfully illustrated and well laid out! We love all the additional pages in the back with the pictures and charts to help aid the understanding of small children.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for ESV Children's Bible (illustrated hardcover)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Michelle Morford
I'm really excited about this Bible for my daughter. She loves that it's a "real" Bible and I love all the tips and information located in the back. I know it will be a treasured book for her for years to come.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for ESV Children's Bible (illustrated hardcover)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Darrell
I have this Bible for both my sons, ages 6 and 8. The text is a good size, and quite readable for young readers. The cover seems pretty durable so far (bought the first one about 6 months ago). They are excited to have a full Bible and this one fits well for them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for ESV Children's Bible (illustrated hardcover)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Dalton Blevins
This is an outstanding Bible! I am blown away at the text the authors have taken the time to write in. They explain so many Biblical truths in simple detail yet very thoughtfully.I really have a hang-up with lots of picture Bibles in that they give kids a false sense of what actually took place (especially O.T. times). However, not so with this one. It has great pictures that show a real sized ark, and other true to scripture points.I would highly recommend this Bible to anyone with children that wants to share in the word with them. The ESV is my preferred reading translation, and I think it will read just fine for lots of ages.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for ESV Children's Bible (illustrated hardcover)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 26, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kimberly Patino
Very pleased with this Bible. I love the extra study it provides and it makes teaching the Bible easier. It is very kid-friendly but does not "dumb-down" the Gospel and is exactly what I have been looking for!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for ESV Children's Bible (illustrated hardcover)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Paulette Dallman
I like the Bible and everything about it except that It is not easy reading for most 6 or seven year olds. Possibly not even 8 year olds. Also the Bible is too heavy for a 6 year old to carry to church.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for ESV Children's Bible (illustrated hardcover)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
Shannon Hartle
This is an excellent bible for our kids! We can read it together and the illustrations keep the kids interested. Our church is going to order them to keep on hand for kids who need bibles.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for ESV Children's Bible (illustrated hardcover)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 26, 2008
Customer Avatar
Roy Lindberry
This is an amazing Bible! It is great for kids to grow into, because it is the full biblical text, rather than a simplified overview of Bible stories. The study helps are amazing, and would be adequate for many adult Bibles - in fact, if it weren't for the children's cover and generous illustrations throughout, it would be a superb Bible for adults. The study helps are at the front and back of the Bible, not scattered throughout the text as in most study Bibles, which make them easy to find and use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>