Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Leota's Garden

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Tyndale House Leota's Garden

Her garden was once beautiful---a refuge where Leota asked God to reconcile her with her children. Now it's withered, reflecting her despair. One day a young woman claiming to be her granddaughter visits her. Will love bloom again? Rivers's poignant story will remind you of the One whose resurrection---in a garden---brought forgiveness and healing. 350 pages, softcover from Tyndale.
Average Customer Rating:
4.85 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Leota's Garden
Review 1 for Leota's Garden
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

WONDERFUL, AS ARE ALL FRANCINE RIVERS BOOKS ARE.

Date:May 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
SUNNY
Location:GLENCOE MN
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i HAVE THIS BOOK IN MY PERSONAL LIBRARY AND I LIKED IT SO VERY MUCH THAT I PURCHASED IT FOR THE LIBRARY AT MY CHURCH FOR OTHERS TO ENJOY
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Leota's Garden
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

love Francine Rivers

Date:May 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
lovereading
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I could not put this book down. So many stories woven together to make one. The power of God is evident even in the most heartbreaking situations.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Leota's Garden
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great story

Date:December 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Bert Mcpherson
Location:Gypsum, CO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We all have family issues. Every generation sees life differently. I pray the new generation is like Annie. What an inspiring young life.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Leota's Garden
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jennifer Poole
Our ladies at our church have a book club. We love to read Francine Rivers. The book of Leota's garden was an amazing book. It keeps you interested and I found I couldn't put it down. I brought back so many memories of my grandmother that resently went to heaven. I would recommend this book to anyone. Loved it!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Leota's Garden
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Ruth Kaczkowski
One of the best books I have ever read. You certainly will not be bored---Francine Rivers is a most talented writer, she is so gifted with an obvious anointing from the Spirit of God--a must read. I am sure most people will be able to identify with some of the life events in this book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Leota's Garden
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Aimee French
Loved Leota's Garden. I read it in 24 hours, just couldn't put it down. Gave it to my 16 year old daughter and she loved it too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Leota's Garden
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
Cassie
A Beautiful story--Francine Rivers did it credit. I thought Leota's Garden was well written and very touching, as most of Francine's books are. I don't usually enjoy books that center on family conflict, just because I cannot really relate to this and it tends to be quite repetitive--however in this case it was intruiging. To understand the complex relationship between Leota and her daughter/granddaughter was rewarding even though the end left me frustrated--a gorgeous book, filled with the message of God's healing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Leota's Garden
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
Patricia Ford
I was enthralled. Forgiveness, understanding all clearly defined. The end of Leota's life upset me though.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Leota's Garden
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
Tammy
Several years ago, my mother-in-law loaned this book to me. I only took it to pacify her because I really didn't think it was up my alley. Within the first couple dozen pages, I was hooked.I could really relate to the mother-daughter conflict in this book. It was my first Francine Rivers' book, but it certainly wasn't my last.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Leota's Garden
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 29, 2007
A beautiful novel. A story of God's work. Leota' Garden is like her life, a life of despair. With the appearance of her granddaughter her life becomes one of hope, like the restoration of her garden.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Leota's Garden
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 13, 2007
Customer Avatar
Bethany
This is a beautiful story of how broken families can come back together! I felt the emotion all the way through this book, it makes you want to cry in places and I like that in a book! I think that after reading this book everyone will be put off rest homes for life lol!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Leota's Garden
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 13, 2007
Customer Avatar
Gina
I was puzzled as to the ending. But after I pondered it for a while, I understand why things went the way they did with Leota. To show how wrong it is.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Leota's Garden
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 7, 2005
Customer Avatar
sandy garcia
Leota's Garden was the first book I read from this author and I loved it, I could not put it down-the author describes everything as though you were there. I reccommend this book to everyone, I found myself still wanting more of this book. Great Job Francine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Leota's Garden
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 21, 2005
Customer Avatar
Kara
This book is amazing! The relationships are real and poignant and the overall message is inspiring and life changing. Highly recommended, along with a box of kleenex!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Leota's Garden
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 15, 2005
Customer Avatar
Sharon Puett
A great story. I couldn't put it down. A wonderful story of hope, healing and love. Recommend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Leota's Garden
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 7, 2005
Customer Avatar
anonymous
If there was a number higher thana five I would have given it.This book was really good, it touched my heart the way poor Leota went through some of her pastand the fact her own children wanted nothing to do with her. This book is one of the few books I ever read that caused me to cry. Thebook made me feel so close to Jesus. I feel it taught me something new about our awesome creator.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Leota's Garden
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 16, 2001
Customer Avatar
Sarah Liz
I stayed up until 4 'o'clock in the morning reading this engrossing book. It was SO good that I read it twice through and cried both times. It has a slow beginning, but it only gets better and better.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Leota's Garden
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 5, 2001
Customer Avatar
Karen Smith
This was one of the most engaging books I've read in a long time. Having just lost my dear grandmother, I laughed and cried with Annie every step of the way. I wish I could visit Leota's Garden!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Leota's Garden
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 28, 2000
Customer Avatar
Linda Adams
Wow, Francie has done it again. She pulls you into the lives of her characters until you feel you know each one of them. This story about Leota, her daughter and Granddaughter truly touched my heart. The only reason I didn't rate it a 5 is because my romantic side wanted a romance in here, but as far as women's relationships, this rates a 10+.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Leota's Garden
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 17, 2000
Customer Avatar
Jewell Ronne
I enjoyed this book and the message that it shared.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.