Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for New Hope Publishers People of the Book - eBook

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

New Hope Publishers People of the Book - eBook

Farah lives in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia, with her family and wants nothing more than to develop a deeper devotion to her Muslim faith. She sees the month of Ramadan as her chance to draw nearer to Allah, and pursues that goal. All goes well until the prophet Isa-Jesus-appears to her in a dream and calls her to Himself. Her brother, Kareem, who has never liked Farah, seeks an opportunity to expose her for the sham he believes she is.

Farah's cousin frequents an online chat where former Muslims gather to discuss their new faith, based on their belief that Isa is much more than a Muslim prophet-He is actually the Son of God. While there, her cousin becomes acquainted with an American girl of Muslim ancestry-now a devout Christian named Sara-and a friendship quickly develops. However, Sara has problems of her own due to her 15-year-old brother Emir's involvement with a gang.

Each finds her faith put to the test. Will they remain true to their beliefs? Will God protect them in the midst of persecution and treachery? Or will they be required to pay the ultimate price for their faith?

Average Customer Rating:
4.786 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 out of 1493%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for People of the Book - eBook
Review 1 for People of the Book - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

People of the Book by Kathi Macias

Date:September 30, 2013
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User submitted photo
People of the Book reminds us of our awesome responsibility to share Christ's love with others. This extraordinary book with its strong and moving plot, action-packed story and real-world characters, reveals the touch of a loving Savior to a lost and hurting world.
All people have choices to make, and all choices have far-reaching consequences, some more life-affecting and life-altering than others.
In Book 4 of the "Extreme Devotion" series, with rare grace and sensitivity, Kathi Macias makes a compelling story come alive in the hearts of people, proving that God's Word has incredible power to transform lives in unimaginable ways.
With the extraordinary power of her pen, Kathi skillfully crafts a captivating, thought-provoking, and missions-oriented novel in which we see God touching the human heart.
"People of the Book" searches for and finally finds Jesus Christ in an extraordinary tale of love, courage and sacrifice. Within the inevitable clash of faith, family honor and deadly, heart-wrenching realism, the people of "People of the Book" are held tightly in the everlasting arms of a loving, heavenly Father, who desires our heartfelt devotion above all else. To God be all the glory!
© Miriam Jacob
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for People of the Book - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sufficient in Jesus
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
People of the book was not an enjoyable read, it wasn't supposed to be.
I didn't read it for personal pleasure. It was a shocking, frightening read about two young women's commitment to Christ that led them to die for Him.
They professed their faith even though they knew they would likely die for it. They prayed for those who persecuted them. Imagine such commitment and Christian fruit in persecution!
It was a beautiful story in a sad way, but perhaps the ending was the best ending for a Christian, if to live was Christ for them then to die was gain.
It really will cause you to think of the Christians in foreign countries and to remember those Christians in our prayers,
It certainly should not be read for enjoyment but for awareness and perhaps only for mature readers who will not be side tracked by the story and forget the truth, don't let your learning stop with this though.
As Naomi Zacharias said, "Once you have been made aware, you have a responsibility to care."
The author wrote this book well, though it is harsh, it is not graphic.
I received this book free from the publisher it exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for People of the Book - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

You'll Love People of the Book!

Date:September 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Carrie
Location:Cherokee, IA
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you liked Red Ink, then I believe that you’ll love People of the Book. It draws the reader into the lives of two Arab women as they dare to face the “dangerous” possibility that their faith in Allah is false and that “Isa” is far more than a prophet. The heightened depth of emotion and appreciation for “Isa” is stirring. Once again, Kathi Macias brings closely touches the heart and reminds us of our need for a relationship with our wonderful Savior. I also think that it’s a good reminder to pray for our persecuted brothers and sisters in Christ. And, it encourages me to pray for their persecutors and that they will come to Jesus, too. I’ll end by saying, don’t miss reading People of the Book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for People of the Book - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Saudi girls find faith

Date:August 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
MaryAnn
Location:OR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Farah and Nura, two Muslim girls in Saudi Arabia, are drawn to Isa (Jesus), whom the Quran claims is just a prophet. Could He actually be God, as the people of the Book claim? Farah meets Isa in a lovely garden in her dreams. He says He’s come to draw her to His heart. Nura gets to know Sara, an American teen, in a Christian chat room online. Sara’s story is interwoven with the Muslim teens’ as she struggles with faith and her wayward brother.
If Farah and Nura choose to follow Isa they know they could face intense persecution and even death. Farah makes every effort to be a devout Muslim woman, but she doesn’t experience the closeness to God she longs for. Her brother, Kareem, despises her and seeks opportunity to crush her. She fears what might happen if he finds out what she and Nura have discussed. Will Farah and Nura choose true faith over family and tradition?
This heart-rending tale brings forth the reality of Middle Eastern life and religion. It challenges as it touches the spirit, all the while reminding the reader of how God works in individual lives. I have known people who have worked in Riyadh and have a friend who interacts with Saudis in the US, so this book was especially interesting. I applaud Kathi Macias for her Extreme Devotion series with stories of Christians around the world. People of the Book is the fourth of these, and each novel stands alone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for People of the Book - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Holding on to faith despite dangers.

Date:August 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
quinnsaunt
Location:Southeastern Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As cousins Farah and Nura observe Ramadan, a month-long holy time for those of the Islamic faith, each ponders what is expected of them as devout Muslims. One night, Farah dreams that Isa, or Jesus, is calling her to believe that He is the Son of God, a belief that will put her at odds with her Islamic upbringing. Soon she learns that her cousin Nura has been chatting online with Sara, an American Christian of Saudi ancestry. As the two cousins explore their new faith, Sara begins to question hers when her brother dies as a result of gang violence.
“People of the Book” is not a light or subtle read. Written for a Christian audience, it is a blatant and arrant story of what happens in some communities to people, especially women, who consider Christianity. American readers, especially, will be struck by the disparity between the freedoms they enjoy and the restrictions that people in other parts of the world face as they read this story. Its place in the Extreme Devotion series is fitting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for People of the Book - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Challenge to Complacent Faith

Date:July 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cassandra Wessel
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I assume you read the blurb, so I won't repeat what was said there, but let me say this. People of the Book is not a book for those who are searching for a cotton candy read. This is a book about faith, choices, jealousy, belonging, and longing. Each of the main characters must make a choice which will impact their lives and well being, forever. Will they make the right choice? What will the consequences be?
While this book is fiction, once again, Kathi Macias has woven a story based upon real life which grabs our attention and compels us to question our own dedication to our Lord Jesus Christ. I heartily recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for People of the Book - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Powerful, Timely Novel

Date:July 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
ccmalandrinos
Location:Western Massachusetts
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What do you do when what you've most believed in changes?
Farah Mohammed Al Otaibi wants nothing more than to develop a deeper devotion to her Muslim faith. During the month of Ramadan, she hopes she will get her chance to draw nearer to Allah. Then the prophet Isa (Jesus) appears to her in a dream and calls her to Himself. A favorite of her father, he has allowed Farah many liberties, much to the anger of her brother, Kareem. He feels his father is too weak with the women. But Farah is certain even her loving father would not tolerate her accepting Isa as more than a prophet.
Farah's cousin Nura has already begun to consider that Isa may be more than her Muslim faith indicates. Nura explores the possibilities in an online chat room where she corresponds with Sara, a girl of Muslim ancestry who lives in the United States. Sara's family has converted to Christianity, and she shares the message of Jesus's salvation with Nura. When Farah approaches Nura to talk about her dream, the two girls are happily connected by their new discoveries; though they know if their infant faith were discovered, it would be disastrous for both of them.
As Farah's, Nura's, and Sara's worlds collide, a jealous brother seeks to uncover Farah and Nura's secret, while Sara experiences a crisis of faith.
Kathi Macias continues to amaze me. I've read her fiction and her nonfiction, but I have to say that with her Extreme Devotion series, and People of the Book especially, she has outdone herself. Not only did she tackle the timely issue of honor killings, she created a powerfully told story, written by her masterful hand, that captivates the reader from the very first page.
The characters truly make this story all that it is. You have Farah who is called by Isa (Jesus) in a dream, throwing everything she has ever believed about her Muslim faith into an uproar. Nura has secretly been participating in a chat room to learn more about Isa. Both girls, know, however, that if they are discovered, it will mean death. Nura's friend, Sara, is on the other side of the world. When her once easy life is turned upside down, she's no longer sure of the faith she has been sharing with Nura.
Not only these characters, though. You have Kareem, who has always been jealous of Farah. He's willing to do whatever it takes to discredit her to their father. You also have Sara's brother, Emir, who makes some unwise choices that come with a very high price tag.
Macias connects all these lives so well. I couldn't put the book down. I went to bed late many nights reading this one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for People of the Book - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

To follow Jesus is to invite death

Date:June 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jeff LeMaster
Location:Glens Falls, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book follows three teens on opposite sides of the world: cousins Farrah and Nura in arid, Muslim Saudi Arabia, and Sarah in rainy, “Christian” Washington State. All of the action occurs during the latter part of the sacred, Islamic month of Ramadan.
The three girls share a connection that older generations never had: the internet. In chat rooms, they converse about life, family and God, though separated by thousands of miles.
The girls grow in their faith and encourage each other in the midst of family tragedies. They may never meet face to face on earth, but they will be together forever in God’s house.
SO WHAT?
This is a strongly missional book. It is a timely reminder that every follower of God is on mission for Him in this world.
The devotional life of an elderly widow plays a growing role in the story until it becomes essential to the climax. This precious, “senior saint” exhibits an inspirational and intimate walk with her Savior that invites imitation.
The author’s portrayal of Saudi Arabia during Ramadan feels authentic. She includes details about rituals, customs, and clothing that bring the story to life, although the sights and sounds are slightly muted and could use more local color.
Theologically, the author strongly believes that Jesus speaks to people today through dreams and visions. Central to the story is a visitation by Isa (Arabic for Jesus) to one of the girls, resulting in her eventual conversion.
Thanks to CSS Tours for a copy of the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for People of the Book - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

People of the Book - A Must Read!!

Date:May 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Judy K Burgi
Location:Kendallville, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This story is about two Muslim teen-agers living in Saudia Arabia and one teen-ager living in the United States. Nura and Farah (from Saudia Arabia) are cousins. Nura and (Sara, from the United States) have been corresponding via a chat room. Sara has been chatting with Nura about Jesus. Nura has been taught to belief that Isa (Jesus) was a mere prophet of Allah, nothing more. So Nura is very intrigued with Sara's Jesus as being the Son of God. Sara is hoping that Nura will come to know Jesus. Farrah on the other hand is a very devout Muslim and is hoping for a touch from Allah during Ramadan. Farah at one point has a vivid dream about Isa (Jesus) and now she is confused and has many questions but no one to talk to about her dream. Nura and Farrah will eventually pay a price for standing up for their convictions. I can not remember when a story has touched me in an almost disturbing way. I had never heard of "honor killings" before, and to be truthful I am appalled that they exist in the world today. I feel this story challenges and inspires us to be the faithful Christians that we ought to be. We need not fear for standing up for what we believe in. This story will shake you to the very core. It needed to be written and I thank Kathi Macias for doing such a great job. I can't wait to read more of Kathi's books!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for People of the Book - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Heart-gripping, exciting story

Date:May 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Susan Osborn
Location:Fullerton, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Matthew 5:10 states: “Blessed are those who are persecuted because of righteousness, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.” This is exemplified in Kathi Macias’s book, People of the Book. Kathi vividly shows the price two young women, Farah and Nura, pay for seeking the truth and ultimately worshiping Isa Masih, Jesus Christ. They live in Saudi Arabia, where Christian faith marks them as traitors to Islam. However, Jesus encourages them through an online chat friend, Sara and quiets their spirits through His still small voice. The constant tension of these young women struggling with their faith and the realization they could be killed if anyone finds out makes this a page-turner. I highly recommend this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for People of the Book - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Story of Hope and Redemption

Date:May 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jeanette Windle
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Young women developing a friendship through an on-line chat room shouldn't be trouble—unless one or more of them is from Saudi Arabia and the topic of discussion is Isa Masih—Jesus Christ. People of the Book is a tale of searching and finding, of love, courage, and sacrifice. And if the inevitable clash of a young girl's faith and Muslim family honor is painted with deadly and heart-wrenching realism, interwoven throughout is the comforting reminder that cradling the smallest falling sparrow are the everlasting arms of a loving heavenly Father. A story that will challenge hearts and minds.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for People of the Book - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Intriguing!!

Date:April 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
melearle
Location:Arlington Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Book four of Kathi Macias's Extreme Devotion Series is another great story of persecution and strife in the lives of Christians. The title, "People of the Book", intrigued me from the onset. As I read the book, I was able to discover what the book title was all about. I have never know very much about the Islamic faith, but in reading, and following the story, I was able through the main characters to to learn of the many differences in that religion and our Christian faith. Kathi has penned a story that involves young people and their faith.
Farah, in Saudia Arabia was deeply engrossed in growing in her Muslim faith, but the Lord Jesus had a call on her life, and her cousin Nura was witnessed to about the Christian faith in a chat room by a former believer of Allah (Sara) in the United States. These events sets the stage for life-changing experiences and even death in their lives. The story makes one question what one would be willing to go through for their faith. Kathi has written another great book that subtlety displays the power of God in this dark world. This is a great book and a must read!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for People of the Book - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Is there a "Best Series Award?" Winner!!!

Date:April 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Robin Prater
Location:Missouri
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Do we take our faith for granted? Do I share my faith freely? These are some of the questions my heart pondered as I read the pages of, "People of the Book." If we know Jesus as our Savior we are people of the book, but what we tend to forget daily is that people all across this world are persecuted for believing in the Savior we worship freely. They are not only judged. They are outcasts. They are killed. To me, that is the kind of faith I want to hold. A faith without fear that is trusting in a Savior and believing He is ALL that matters. Is my faith that strong? Would I stand for Him knowing such persecution was at every corner? I can only hope I would be as humble and brave in my faith as Farah Mohammed Al Otaibi.
Kathi Macias has written the, "Extreme Devotion Series". Book one, "No Greater Love", book two, "More Than Conquerors", book three, "Red Ink", and now book four, "People of the Book." In reading the first book I thought it was sure my favorite, but then I picked up book two and quickly knew I had yet another favorite. The entire series is like this. Each book different, but each one carries the same theme. Extreme Devotion to our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ. At what cost are we willing to follow? How much are we willing to leave behind to take up the cross and follow Him? It must be everything. We must be extreme in our faith!!
In, "People of the Book", we find Farah in Saudi Arabia in the middle of Ramadan. The Muslim faith is prevalent. Farah wants to grow deeper to Allah. She wants to increase her faith and hear from Allah. Even in the Muslim faith women are not allowed to worship as men do. She is even hiding her Muslim faith as it continues to grow, but she has many questions. She is searching. So is her cousin, Nura. Nura meets Sara through a web site designed for Muslims who have left their Muslim faith and now are following Christ. Sara is strong in her faith and wants to reach out to Nura. As she does, Nura, now reaches out to Farah. It is the beautiful ripple effect that happens when one reaches out to another.
Throughout these pages we see the turmoil in the lives of each of the young women. They each carry their own burdens that this world gives out at every corner. My heart broke as I read these pages. Kathi brought these characters to life. We see their pain. We see their struggles, but we too see the beauty that each of their lives hold. This book is powerful and poignant.
We are all searching for something. Something bigger than ourselves. A reason to wake each morning. A reason to smile. This is one of those series that is not only wonderful to read, but is life changing. This novel is eye opening and will bring you closer in your walk with Christ. May we reach out like, Sara. May we have strength like Nura and Farah to walk with God through all circumstances and be willing to stand alone for the Savior who gave His life for us.
This book was a gift from Kathi Macias for it's review.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for People of the Book - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Book in Extreme Devotion Series

Date:March 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Nora Finding Hope
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kathi Macias shows readers how God uses ordinary people to do extraordinary things all over the world, in her extreme devotion series. This author quickly captures the reader's attention and shows God’s love in action through the hard times her characters face. Since I’d read all the books in this series, I was anxious to receive a review copy of the last installment, The People of the Book, which focuses on teenage girls in Saudi Arabia.
Sara and Nura are teenagers who develop a friendship through an on-line chat room. Sara is a Christian living in America and Nura is a Muslim girl living in Saudi Arabia. Sara prays, witnesses to Nura and tells her where to read the bible on-line.
This is a haunting tale of young people facing tough choices from one corner of the globe to the other. My heart strings ached as I read of the dangers these Saudi women faced just for thinking about reading the bible and talking about God. The challenges these young girls encountered, captivated my thoughts. I contemplated their hardship, danger and courage they faced in order to take a stand for Christ in their country.
This author reminds the reader that many people don’t have the religious freedoms we enjoy here in America. As I read, I was compelled to pray for people like Nura and Farah, who are facing prison sentences and/or death for serving the one true God. Kathi reminds the reader that God’s word is alive, and it can touch the human heart and mind in very unique and real ways. I was reminded that God can do far more than we can even imagine through prayer and reading the bible...it’s powerful!
Kathi has an extraordinary gift of telling a compelling story that comes alive in the heart and mind of the reader. The constant tension between the characters and the dangers they faced, made this a page turner for me. These characters came alive...the call on their lives was authentic and the battle for their hearts and their minds real. I felt compassion for these teens as they struggled with their faith, hope and courage to seek the face of the Savior. They were also overwhelmed by the unconditional love God wanted to give them. Kathi Macias once again has skillfully penned a believable, captivating; mission minded novel...one that will stay in your heart and your mind. I know you’ll find yourself sharing this story with your friends. I can’t stop thinking about this story and the characters. I highly recommend The People of the Book.
Nora St.Laurent
The Book Club Network www.bookfun.org
Finding Hope Through Fiction www.psalm516.blogspot.com
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.