Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Though Mountains Fall, Daughters of Caleb Bender Series #3 -eBook

Bethany House Though Mountains Fall, Daughters of Caleb Bender Series #3 -eBook

Amish pacifism is sorely tested in the Paradise Valley settlement in the 1920s. When an army of bandits descends on them, the Amish are saved by the last-minute arrival of government troops. But they soon learn that soldiers can be as cruel as the bandits themselves. Then a bishop travels to Mexico, and Caleb's daughters are finally able to marry, though the ban still looms for Miriam even as her beloved Domingo decides he must go off to fight in the coming war. As Caleb's frail hope of peace and freedom in Mexico slips away, he is left to ponder the question: In times of trouble, on whom should we rely?
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
20 out of 20100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Though Mountains Fall, Daughters of Caleb Bender Series #3 -eBook
Review 1 for Though Mountains Fall, Daughters of Caleb Bender Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful book!

Date:December 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bern
Location:California
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was extremely excited to read this novel from Dale Cramer. Though Mountains Fall is the third book in the "Daughters of Caleb Bender Trilogy" and is inspired by actual events.
In Though Mountains Fall, we continue to learn of Amish settlement in Mexico led primarily by Caleb Bender and his family. Among Caleb's family, he's brought with him his sons and daughters. Caleb had sought a new life for himself, his family in Mexico - in hopes of honoring God and his Amish faith without government interference. But the autonomy has come at a very high cost.
When this third installment begins, we find the Bender family at a crossroads. Caleb's son, Aaron, has been murdered by bandits; his daughter Rachel kidnapped by these same bandits; while another daughter, Miriam has risked her entire way of life to save a Mexican farmworker, Domingo, that has captured her heart. Despite the fertile land, the government's hands-off policy, has given bandits the opportunity to ravage and take advantage of many of the Amish families, Caleb's included.
I must begin by honestly sharing my love for Amish fiction and this book was no exception. I was a bit concerned initially, since the author was male, but I could not help but thoroughly enjoy this novel. He has skillfully drawn the reader into the inner thought life of each of the characters. As he developed each one, we witness first hand their struggles to reconcile what they know to be true about their faith and their God. This is a struggle that Caleb and his daughters face as they deal with the life they must live while in Mexico.
When Miriam goes through with her marriage to Domingo; her family must decide how they are going to respond. I loved Miriam's sister, Emma's, response recognizing the importance and significance of the Ordung in their lives, but that it's not greater than God, His love, and forgiveness. This was what I enjoyed most of all about the series. Each character makes choices and must reconcile those choices with their family and most of all before God.
The Bender family and the other Amish families come face to face with very real and difficult situations. Without providing unnecessary details, the author, is able to paint a realistic picture of life for the Amish settlement in Mexico and even, what brought them back to the United States in the end. I felt like I knew each character and could hear their voices throughout the book.
I thoroughly enjoyed this book and would recommend it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Though Mountains Fall, Daughters of Caleb Bender Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Deeply Moving Historical!

Date:July 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
dianaFlow
Location:W Columbia, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In Though Mountains Fall, Dale Cramer has crafted a heartrending, intriguing story that takes the reader to the beautiful Amish valley of northeast Mexico -- lush and verdant, a veritable paradise -- but under the guise of peace and safety lie fear of bandits, evil soldiers, and dangerous hurricanes.
Caleb Bender is proud of Paradise Valley, as he and his family had been the first to move to Mexico and create an Amish colony there. Life has not been without its trials, though, as Caleb has lost two of his sons to death. When his daughter, Miriam, falls in love with a handsome, Mexican native and is put under the ban, Caleb feels as though he has lost yet another child. When evil soldiers come in to help defend the villagers and the Amish against bandits, his family and friends' lives are put in extreme danger. Caleb begins to question whether it was God's will for him to move to Mexico at all and begins to feel like a failure. Can he forgive himself, his daughter, Miriam, and find his faith in God again? Will the Benders be able stay in Paradise Valley in spite of the violence and bloodshed?
Dale Cramer combines history and the Amish in this three part trilogy (The Daughters of Caleb Bender), and does a spectacular job! I would highly recommend the whole series, but this one can easily be read as a stand alone. With plenty of adventure and romance, this deeply moving, exciting series conclusion is one not to be missed! I'm impressed with the realistic characters, storyline, and the author's impeccable research! I had a very difficult time putting this down and I highly recommend it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Though Mountains Fall, Daughters of Caleb Bender Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A very intense story holding your interest .

Date:June 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tippi
Location:Broomfield, Colorado
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User submitted photo
The Love they have for their home and land is stronger than their fear. But the Love Miriam has for Domingo is a love story that rivals any Biblical story about love that I have read. She gave her life to him and would have died for him. The story was a spiritual lesson in listening to God and allowing Him to lead rather than our hearts. They went through many hard trials before finally making up their minds to do what the Lord would have them to do. Very hard to put the book down!
I would love more stories about this group of people! It all ended too soon!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Though Mountains Fall, Daughters of Caleb Bender Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Good Story!!

Date:March 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Beth
Location:N.C
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Caleb Bender is determined that God has led their small Amish community to Paradise Valley Mexico but it seems that everywhere they turn they are faced with more loss and heartache.
When bandits begin to threaten their community they plead with the haciendado to send for soldiers to protect their families. However they soon learn that a uniform does not change the hearts of evil men.
Facing persecution, the death of two sons, and the shunning of his daughter Miriam, Caleb believes that he has failed not only his family but God as well.
This book honestly surprised me. I wasn't expecting such an emotional ending after a rather slow start.
I learned so much from Caleb's daughter Emma! Lessons of forgiveness, doing whats right even when most people think your wrong, and love that reaches beyond the laws and traditions of men.
I received this book free from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Though Mountains Fall, Daughters of Caleb Bender Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must read, please read 1 & 2 in the series first

Date:March 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
wfnren
Location:St Cloud, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There is much turmoil as time progresses for the Bender family and other Amish families that are living in Mexico. The bandits have chosen a time to attack the Amish and just as the last of them are entering the safety of Hacienda El Prado the federales finally show up to protect them also. Once the bandits are captured and/or killed everyone returns home. A Bishop finally arrives so people can be baptized and married, things are looking up.
After some time they find that the federales are just as bad, if not worse, than having bandits in the area. Now there is nothing they can do but give up their horses, food, hay, etc for little or no money or it will be taken from them anyway. Men get drunk, women are raped and men are beat up, all of this is after the fedearales arrive, things aren't going as well as they should be with the Bishop among them and officers of the law to protect them.
What will they do? They have lost family members in this land and if they return to America they'll never be able to visit their graves again. No one is buying land in Mexico, so the will all return broke if they decide to go. If you had to choose to leave loved ones behind and a beautiful land that has produced well for you or stay and feel like you were getting robbed by the government what would you do?
I felt that this book held my attention even more than the first two in the series and since I read before going to sleep, I found myself dreaming about things that were happening in this chapter of the Bender family's life. I definitely recommend this series, it's not your run of the mill Amish storyline.
Thank you to Bethany House for providing this book for review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Though Mountains Fall, Daughters of Caleb Bender Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Though Mountains Fall

Date:March 25, 2013
This is not a typical Amish story. The Amish men weren’t out in the fields whistling as they worked while the women were inside having a quilting bee. Life was hard and dangerous in Mexico. The Amish in Paradise Valley lived in fear of bandits that would destroy anyone and anything to get what they wanted. Mexican soldiers called federales came to Paradise Valley and rid the area of the bandits. Sadly, the only difference between the bandits and the federales was that they didn’t kill to get what they want.
This story is full of love, hate, heartache, pain, death, action, romance, and so much more. Caleb’s daughters Miriam, Rachel, and Emma’s lives took turns in directions that were not fully expected. The Amish settlers in Paradise Valley quickly discovered that there were God’s laws and there were man’s laws. Though Mountains Fall is about a community of believers, as a group and individuals, discovering where God was leading them while they were holding steadfast to His ways.
This wonderfully told story starts with the first book in The Daughters Of Caleb Bender series, Paradise Valley, and continues in The Captive Heart. In the first book, Caleb Bender and his family go to Paradise Valley, Mexico so they can school their children as they choose. I haven’t read Paradise Valley yet, but I plan on reading it soon. Having not read the first book had no effect on my understanding all that occurred in this action-filled story. I would highly recommend reading it. I couldn’t wait to read Though Mountains Fall to learn more of what happened to Caleb, his family, and the Amish settlement. I was not disappointed. I would recommend reading all the books in this series, not just Though Mountains Fall.
I received a free copy of this book from The Christian Manifesto and Bethany House for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Though Mountains Fall, Daughters of Caleb Bender Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Series I Won't Soon Forget!

Date:March 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Judy K Burgi
Location:Kendallville, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This conclusion to the series, The Daughters Of Caleb Bender, will stay with me for awhile. I feel like I need to just sit and let it all sink in. This book is a real page turner and was so full of emotion right down to the last page.
If you are looking for a feel good book where everything is predictable and blah...this isn't the book for you. If you are looking for a book that will take you through every emotion of your being...this is for you. I laughed, I cried, I felt anger rising in me as I read about some horrible injustice taking place. I admire the author as he did not hold back anything as he described several horrifying scenes in this book.
The family of Caleb Bender will go through many hardships and heartbreak while living in Mexico. You, as the reader, will go through their many hardships and heartbreak with them. Will love conquer all? Will this family be able to forgive others as well as each other? Will their trust and faith in God leave them?
If you haven't read Paradise Valley and The Captive Heart, the first two books in this series, I urge you to do so. This last book, Though Mountains Fall, will have more meaning to you.
Thank you Dale Cramer for a series I will not soon forget. I hope that someday you will write a follow-up book that will tell us what happened to the Bender family after this book. I for one would like to know!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Though Mountains Fall, Daughters of Caleb Bender Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Heartwarming Story

Date:March 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
missy
Location:Naples,ME
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This story is so heartwarming and seeing it though an Amish perspective is great and gives you new look on life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Though Mountains Fall, Daughters of Caleb Bender Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another Great Book!!

Date:March 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rose
Location:Portage, Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just finished 'Though Mountains Fall' and I have to say this is another great book by Dale Cramer!
This is not your ordinary, boring love story type Amish book. This is more than that. It has a bit of drama to it and it is not centered around just one particular character but each one has a unique story behind them.
I like how this book takes you outside of an Amish community and takes you into a new land for the Amish, into Mexico of all places.
I have read many Amish books and they are all basically the same, boy meets girl, girl meets boy and that is the whole story line throughout the book, but this is different, it tells of a man who risks all to try to start a new Amish settlement in the wild Mexico full of bandits and evil men. It tells of the loss of a child. It tells of not knowing if you made the right choice or not and it tells of those moments when you question, "Where is God in all of this?" This is a must read, you will be glad you chose this book. Please keep them coming Dale Cramer!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Though Mountains Fall, Daughters of Caleb Bender Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This 3rd book was well worth the wait!

Date:January 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Josi
Location:Baker City, OR
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have impatiently awaited this third book of The Daughters of Caleb Bender series, Though Mountains Fall, and I was not disappointed. True to form, author Dale Cramer continues an engaging and entertaining story-line while at the same time challenging the reader to consider issues like separating ones’ self from the world, or what it means to live according to the letter of the law but not the spirit of it. Grace, unconditional love, and understanding God’s will are the all-important themes of this book, and though most readers are probably not Amish, many of us very likely struggle with knowing how to have a relationship with someone we love who chooses a path that we can’t approve of or understand. This is why I like Dale Cramer’s Amish fiction so much- he makes it relevant and thought-provoking. I will concede that on one level I was disappointed with this book; the emotional intensity of the characters in the previous two books was lacking in this one. Though Mountains Fall was definitely more subdued and the relationships between the characters somehow felt a little flat. But, since I found myself in tears by the conclusion, it seems wrong for me to say that the book lacked poignancy…it was just a different tone. If you have read the previous two books in this series you will love this one too, even if it’s not quite what you might be expecting (i.e., its not exactly happily ever after). If you haven’t read Paradise Valley and The Captive Heart, do read those first. This series is definitely well worth it!
I received a complimentary copy of this book for review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Though Mountains Fall, Daughters of Caleb Bender Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Epic Amish Journey

Date:March 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pam Burke
Location:Potosi, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Almost two years ago I read Paradise Valley, the first book in Dale Cramer's The Daughters of Caleb Bender series. In the past couple of weeks I've had the pleasure of completing that journey with books 2 and 3, The Captive Heart and Though Mountains Fall.
These books form a fictional series, based on actual events, of a handful of Amish families who in the 1920s fled from Ohio to the mountains of Mexico after being punished for refusing to send their children to public schools. The first book set the stage for the move and told about the Bender family's first year of living in a strange land. Books 2 and 3 continue their story over the next few years. Dale Cramer is the great-grandson of one of the leaders of a group of Amish who made a similar trek from Ohio to Mexico.
These stories are not your typical Amish fiction. They are not light, easy reads, as some Amish novels are. They do not show all the loose ends tied up with everyone living "happily ever after."
Cramer tells of a group of American Amish people, strong in their faith, who make very difficult choices in extremely trying situations. Their beliefs, livelihoods, and lives are tested in a strange, new world, where many of the rules they have known before simply do not apply. With no church leaders present for most of those years, they find themselves faced with making decisions on their own and are sometimes forced to make choices between traditional beliefs and survival. Love, loss, forgiveness, and family are put to the test over and over in the hearts of individual characters, as well as the whole community. There are many joys and high points along the way in the midst of the gritty struggles these families endure.
I would highly recommend this entire series to fellow Amish fiction fans, as well as to anyone interested in reading about different cultures in various historical settings. (This is definitely a series to be read in order.) Five stars to Dale Cramer's The Daughters of Caleb Bender.
Thanks to Bethany House for providing me with a copy of Though Mountains Fall in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Though Mountains Fall, Daughters of Caleb Bender Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful

Date:February 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
B. A. Palmer
Location:Tennessee
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dale Cramer’s third book in the series Daughters of Caleb Bender, Though Mountains Fall, is another one of my favorites. Amish fiction mixed with historical fiction… can it get any better??? After reading the first two in the series, I could not wait for the third book. Mr. Cramer is one of my new favorite authors. Having read mostly women authors in the past, I did not know if he could touch me… He does.
This book has some surprises and some sad parts also. It is interesting to see how Caleb’s struggles with the land, bandits, the “Mexican army” and his family while maintaining his faith. I also like the way members of his family handle everything that come at them. A bishop travels to Mexico to look at living there… does he stay? Couples can get married, but does Caleb’s daughter Miriam get married? Does Caleb find the freedom and peace he was looking for in Mexico? Does living in Mexico allow him to separate himself and his family from the world he was trying to escape from?? Will he give up on his dream? Has he failed in his endeavors or has God just lead him the whole way?? You will have to read this book and find out for yourself…
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Though Mountains Fall, Daughters of Caleb Bender Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

If you've given up on Amish fiction.............

Date:February 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cafe Lily Book Reviews
Location:USA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As I said in my very first post about this series, if you've given up on Amish Fiction, these books just might change your mind. This book was intense and had themes and situations you normally do not see in Amish fiction.
In this book, we meet up again with the Bender family and their neighbors who are still making a valiant effort to establish an Amish settlement in Mexico.
Amish folks? In Mexico?
You'll have to read the first book to find out how it all begins, but the story is based on actual events in history that I wasn't aware of until reading book one, Paradise Valley.
In Though Mountains Fall, things have escalated and the settlement is forced to try and find help from the Mexican government, in order to protect themselves. The "help" they receive isn't exactly what they had in mind, and they have to rely on their families and faith to see them through difficult times. I really enjoyed the way the author developed the characters and the unique situations they faced. The end of the book left me wondering if there will be another in this series, and if so, I'd be anxious to read that one as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Though Mountains Fall, Daughters of Caleb Bender Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Book!

Date:February 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
MoriahN
Location:Maine
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a very well-written book. While many Amish books tend to be cliché and unrealistic, this one was very interesting. The plot was intriguing and captured my interest from the first page; I thoroughly enjoyed reading it, and I couldn’t put it down! I haven’t read the first two books in the series, but after reading this one, I definitely plan to. This was the best Amish book I have read in a very long time! I definitely recommend it.
Thank you to Bethany House Publishers for sending me a free copy of Though Mountains Fall in exchange for my honest review of it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Though Mountains Fall, Daughters of Caleb Bender Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
GodBlessAmerica
Location:Hills of Kentucky
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was very surprised to see that Though Mountains Fall by Dale Cramer, Book 3 in the Daughters of Calab Bender series was set in Mexico. I have not read the two previous books in the series, but after reading this one will be reading those as well. This title can easily stand on its own though. The other two book in the series are, Paradise Valley – The Daughters of Caleb Bender – Book 1 and The Captive Heart – The Daughters of Caleb Bender – Book 2. The characters in Though Mountains Fall were well developed and even though I at times wished the Amish community would fight to protect themselves, I understood that is not the Amish way. I enjoyed learning more about the Amish culture in the 1925 time period. This book is based on an actual Amish settlement in Mexico during that time.
This book is full of adventure and would be a great read for male readers out there also. This was the
first book by Dale I have read and I did not realize at first that it was a male author. I usually don't
read fiction books by men, but Dale has changed my mind on that score. I recommend reading the full series. Hats off to you Dale, this one is a winner.
I give this book a 4 out of 5 stars.
I received this book from Net Galley and Bethany House Publishers for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Though Mountains Fall, Daughters of Caleb Bender Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is part of a series

Date:January 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you like Amish Christian Fiction you will enjoy this book! You will actually enjoy the whole series this book is a part of. You do not have to read the others in the series but I would recommend reading them as you will enjoy the story more.
I gave this book 5/5. I loved how this book was written. There was so much to the characters personalities and the storyline was enjoyable. I liked the interaction and conversations. It was a quick read for me. I could not put it down until I read how the story for these great characters was completed. This book is a great Amish fiction book with a meaningful storyline and likeable characters.
I would like to thank NetGalley and the publisher for the copy of this book I enjoyed reading. I gave an honest review based on my opinion of what I read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Though Mountains Fall, Daughters of Caleb Bender Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

EXCELLENT STORY

Date:January 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
joym
Location:OHIO
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CANNOT WAIT FOR THE NEXT BOOK. THE STORY LINE IS A PART OF HISTORY
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Though Mountains Fall, Daughters of Caleb Bender Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
MEHA
Location:Fredericton NB Canada
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dale Cramer is an excellent author and book#3 in this series captured my interest to the very last page!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Though Mountains Fall, Daughters of Caleb Bender Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Luminous conclusion to an extraordinary trilogy

Date:December 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
GRAMMARWITCH
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Finally. After two years, Though Mountains Fall, the long-awaited conclusion to Dale Cramer’s unique Amish trilogy, is here. Having reached its bittersweet final pages, it is hard to imagine that any reader who has been with the series since the first book will be disappointed.
Seasoned Dale Cramer readers will not be surprised to discover a spectrum of colorful, complex, multidimensional characters. Deeply human and impossible not to care about, they struggle to balance their Amish convictions with the harsh demands of life in the turbulent Mexico of the 1920s as well as with the demands of their own hearts and of God.
Leading his characters through one life-and-death encounter after another, Cramer somehow manages to find room for romance, too. It’s a rare man who can write the slow unfolding of intensely romantic relationships in a way that can touch a woman’s heart, engage a man’s spirit, and never stray beyond the bounds of propriety. You have to wonder if, somewhere, Jane Austen is taking notes.
Thoroughly researched history brings rich textures to this fictionalized treatment of Cramer’s Amish ancestors’ emigration from Ohio to Mexico in search of religious freedom. From Paradise Valley through The Captive Heart to the culmination of Though Mountains Fall, the main story arc never falters, while the lesser storylines and minor characters blend seamlessly into the whole, presenting a panoramic view of humanity in the grip of grace. It is impossible to come away untouched, unchallenged, unchanged.
If you are thinking of picking up this book as your first introduction to Dale Cramer’s Amish trilogy, let me caution you to think twice. Though Mountains Fall is the thoughtful conclusion to a sweeping historical saga (and, yes, some truly fine romance) that can only be fully appreciated in its entirety. In truth, these are not three stories—they are one story, divided into three books. Do yourself a favor: Be patient. Start with Book 1, and savor your way through Book 2 to the final page of Book 3. Because, I promise you, you won’t want to miss a single word.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Though Mountains Fall, Daughters of Caleb Bender Series #3 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Though Mountains Fall, by Dale Cramer

Date:October 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jodi
Age:35-44
Gender:female
A dark and foreboding cloud, bringing death, despair and strife, looms over this novel. Only at the end, does the cloud shift to let the sunshine, and forgiveness, through.
This is the first novel I have read, written by Dale Cramer. Though Mountains Fall, is the third book in The Daughters of Caleb Bender Series. This is totally out of character for me, but I did not read the first two books in the series and jumped in at the third book when I was presented with the opportunity to read it. There is a character introduction page explaining the relationships at the beginning of the book and Dale Cramer gives back story to the characters throughout the book, so I didn't feel confused even though I had not read the books previous. However, I did not feel connected to any of the characters in this book, although I wanted to. Perhaps if I had read the others first I would have known them better and felt more compassion for them as they faced conflict after conflict.
This is the first piece of Amish fiction that I have read that was set in Mexico. It was a mixture of the Amish meets the Wild West, complete with bandits, underhanded federales and an all out war! I didn’t love this book, but I didn’t dislike it either. The book was pleasant enough to read, I didn’t need to force myself to finish it. However, for me personally, I would have enjoyed it more if I had felt personally connected to the characters, and I wanted to see more good things happen for the Bender family and the other Amish in Mexico.

Thank you Bethany House for the advance copy to read and review, in exchange for my honest opinion.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.