Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Your Beautiful Purpose: Discovering and Enjoying What God Can Do Through You - eBook

Bethany House Your Beautiful Purpose: Discovering and Enjoying What God Can Do Through You - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.808 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
25 out of 2696%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Your Beautiful Purpose: Discovering and Enjoying What God Can Do Through You - eBook
Review 1 for Your Beautiful Purpose: Discovering and Enjoying What God Can Do Through You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Refreshing...

Date:November 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Daws1996
Location:Virginia
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Imagine a warm, sunny day. The grass is soft and bug-free, the temperature just perfect for relaxing. The water gently trickles over rocks and other obstacles. Perhaps this isn't your ideal place for relaxation, but can picture myself stretching out on a blanket, soaking in the sun as my muscles let go of their tension. This kind of gentle release and refreshment is exactly what Susie Larson's book Your Beautiful Purpose was for me.
God knows full well whom He's getting when He calls us. page 19
What I Liked
Mrs. Larson's writing is simple and conversational, much like a letter written specifically to me rather than a book to a large audience. She conveys a lot of truth within the 230 pages of this book, always with great love, patience, and humility.
I found many things to highlight, circle, and make notes of throughout the book. Several things made me stop to think and I walked away at the end of the book with new insights into myself and fresh encouragement to stay the course God's plotted for me.
The Bottom Line - 5 stars
If you'd like a renewed vision of how God sees you and what He wants for you, then this is a great book to read. The six-session DVD makes it a great book for a small group study, and the end of chapter questions help each individual evaluate what could be learned or refreshed in each participant's heart.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Your Beautiful Purpose: Discovering and Enjoying What God Can Do Through You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Filled with practical advice

Date:July 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent book that is practical and encouraging. It is easy to read and flows from one chapter to the next with plenty of helpful advice on finding your purpose. I gave this book 5/5 stars. I read the book in one sitting and then went back and answered the questions that were found at the end of each chapter. This book would be great to use in a Bible Study Group, Sunday School Class or just for your own personal devotions. I would recommend all women read this book. You will be encouraged and definitely grow in your relationship with the Lord and your family.
I would like to thank the publisher for the copy of this book I enjoyed reading. I gave an honest review based on my opinion of what I read.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Your Beautiful Purpose: Discovering and Enjoying What God Can Do Through You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is amazing!!

Date:July 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Amy B
Location:Spring Grove, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am still working my way through the book and doing the soul-searching exercises but it is a wonderful book. The writing is easy-to-read, yet extremely thought-provoking. Ms. Larson is open and honest and shares real insight into helping someone, "me", to ascertain what God has in store. I love this book and have already recommended it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Your Beautiful Purpose: Discovering and Enjoying What God Can Do Through You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

wonderful

Date:May 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
SayJoe
Location:Quincy, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book opened my eyes to what God can and will do for anyone who allows Him into their lives. I will be reading others books by Ms. Larson. Thank you
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Your Beautiful Purpose: Discovering and Enjoying What God Can Do Through You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book

Date:April 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
missy
Location:Naples,ME
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book helped me learn more on finding my purpose in this world and gods plan for me as we all have one. I liked how she used the scriptures to learn simple things. Learn to renew your faith in god again and continue to trust him.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Your Beautiful Purpose: Discovering and Enjoying What God Can Do Through You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Meets Expectations and More!

Date:March 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Patti Creek
Location:Comanche, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Your Beautiful Purpose" by Susie Larson is one of the best books for spiritual growth I have ever read. It helps to develop our walks with God, as well as using scripture in a practical way for our everyday life to overcome the usual obstacles that get in our way of devoting time to God like we should. This book also helps to keep us walking a straight path toward God.
She is so down to earth in her way of writing that a person cannot help but get a clear picture of what they need to do to accomplish their goal of discerning their purpose in living for God and doing His will.
I would recommend this book to anyone and everyone, as we ALL need to understand why God put us here, and following the guidance of Susie's book, it sure helps us to understand how to get there.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Your Beautiful Purpose: Discovering and Enjoying What God Can Do Through You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
LETHER
Location:Chesapeake, VA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Selecting a book from Bethany House for review can be a challenge because the list includes several books of interest. My preference is books that will grow me spiritually and speak to my heart and this book served the purpose. I am very excited about writing a review for this book. If you don’t know your purpose or you are not sure about your purpose or the season you are in this book will benefit you. The introduction sums up quite well who will benefit from this book (the woman who has a desire in her heart to be filled, the woman who has no passion and the woman who is earnest in her walk with Jesus). The author gives incredible insight on life’s purpose. Through her writing, she provided some of the answers that I was seeking and also provided great advice on how to enjoy the seasons we are currently in. One of the first things that she mentioned was God knows full well whom He is getting when He calls us. He qualifies those He calls and we are created for His purpose. This is very valuable. Especially for people who feel they can’t be used by God. All we have to do is listen for His voice. He knows how to communicate with each of us. He’ll transform us to accomplish what he has planned for our lives if we trust Him. The author is more detailed on this subject and as you began to read what she has written, I truly believe you will have a different outlook on life and want what God has planned for you and you will begin to understand the seasons of life we experience. The least favorite for most of us is the season to rest. The season we think God has forgotten about us but he is always working on our behalf and preparing us for the next level. There is so much more I could mention in this review, but reading the book would serve you better. This book would definitely be a blessing to you. Thank you Bethany House for allowing me to share my opinion. Also for giving me the opportunity to select a great book and providing a copy free of charge.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Your Beautiful Purpose: Discovering and Enjoying What God Can Do Through You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

God Has a Purpose for Your Life

Date:March 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
AMKreations
Location:NY
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Your Beautiful Purpose is a book written to address many of the pitfalls we find ourselves facing in this life - comparing ourselves to others, feeling fear, discouragement, and more - and then pointing the reader to victory in the areas where we often suffer defeat. It is a book written to encourage women that God has created them as unique individuals, set apart for a purpose, His purpose. I appreciated the reminders not to compare ourselves with others, but to allow God to work in our lives and situations. Ultimately, as we surrender to Him, He is able to use us for His purposes.
The messages in this book are practical. I found myself relating to the author at nearly every turn. I appreciated her openness about her own struggles and sharing how God worked in those situations for her good. The book is written in such a way that it could be used in women's ministry - Bible studies, etc. At the end of each chapter, there are questions that you can use for personal enrichment or even some group discussion. It is definitely a book that causes you to reflect and do some soul searching. I believe that in reading it with an open heart and mind, you will find yourself meditating on how you can become a better woman of God.
I received a complimentary copy of this book to review from Bethany House Publishers, Chosen Books.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Your Beautiful Purpose: Discovering and Enjoying What God Can Do Through You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic Book!!

Date:March 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Barbi O
Location:Minnesota
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you have ever heard Susie speak or read any of her books, you are in for RICH dialog. Susie's message... if one is willing, produce transformed lives. This book doesn't pass on "a five step process" it displays the power of God, that changes it. Thank you Susie for being so raw, transparent, and passionate in the way you communicate and the way you live. You write, just like you speak. I can hear your voice and passion through these words on a page. Truth from a living and active God produces freedom. Thanks for displaying what that looks like, and pushing me to walk in it. I am so grateful for your heart for Jesus. It’s absolutely contagious! This book speaks out loud of hope, defining ones call, and to live out the life that our amazing God intended for you.
I worked through this study with many girlfriends and our conversation over each chapter and the questions NEVER lacked...we always needed more than two hours together.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Your Beautiful Purpose: Discovering and Enjoying What God Can Do Through You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Review: YOUR BEAUTIFUL PURPOSE by Susie Larson

Date:February 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
MoriahN
Location:Maine
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This was not a good book. I guess the point of the book was to encourage women to embrace what God has in store for them but honestly, I felt like there wasn't much real substance to the book. The author seemed to spend more time just rambling on than getting to the real point of what she wanted to say. Also, when she added examples from her own story, it didn't flow with the rest of the chapter, making the book seem discombobulated. And I felt like it almost seemed that she thought she'd figured out how to almost be perfect, so you should do what she said or did to be like her. I realize this wasn't how she meant to sound, but it came across to me that way. And there was too much of "this is what needs to happen" and not much of "here is what practical life application would look like".
Honestly, I don't think I would recommend this book. I found it hard to read, boring, and lacking substance.
I received this book free from Bethany House in exchange for my honest review.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Your Beautiful Purpose: Discovering and Enjoying What God Can Do Through You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sufficient in Jesus
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Your Beautiful Purpose is a book both tender and touching. Ephesians Two teaches us that we are God's workmanship, created in Christ for good works, and He has prepared these works in advance for us to walk in them. This is our beautiful purpose: To Glorify God and Enjoy Him forever. This is a purpose beyond our wildest dreams and greatest desires. The outworking of this purpose comes when we find where God would have us go and what He would have us do. For many of us those good works may be right here where we are at the moment... for some these may be on the other side of the world where we never imagined we would be called to go. It may be what we always thought we were made for. It may steal upon us like a slow spring twilight and we realize "God is in this. This is where He wants me."
So often we women have a hard time believing that we are God's own artwork and that we have God's work to do and His blessing upon that work. We have a hard time believing that God will or can use in a way that Glorifies Him magnificently. We will have a hard time until we see that He delights in making beauty out of brokenness. No Saint has lived a life of beauty because of their own inner goodness and usefulness. No. They have been beautiful because God is God of creating beauty from brokenness, beauty that he defines and designs, beauty that comes from living out his purposes.
The most touching parts of this book were Susie Larson's own story, revealed in a way that lets us see into her spirit. She has walked through the seasons in this book...seasons of seeing the top of the tapestry God is weaving when all the threads make lovely sense, and seasons of not seeing much of the design at all. Seasons of wondering how being "Here" is serving God, and seasons of knowing in her soul that her gifts are glorifying Him. Thank you Mrs. Larson for sharing your story.
God is calling us, let us answer Him. Let us whisper the prayer "O God, call us even more insistently, knocking at the door of our hearts and bidding us follow Christ as humbly dependent, boldly confident women." This can be our prayer.
God has a purpose for every saved soul- if you are His and have breath in your lungs you have a beautiful purpose.
I received this book from Bethany House.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Your Beautiful Purpose: Discovering and Enjoying What God Can Do Through You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

'Your Beautiful Purpose' is a MUST have resource!

Date:February 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Karina268
Location:Baton Rouge, La.
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Every now and then The Lord will bring something into your life that totally rocks your world. For me, Susie Larson's book 'Your Beautiful Purpose' did just that. I knew from the moment that I read the Table of Contents and wept, that the Holy Spirit wanted to do a deep work in me. That He did! Without fail, every chapter touched on a deep need, desire or struggle in my heart. Through Susie's practical stories, in depth scripture and probing questions God revealed His truth, His promises, His love and His grace to me in a fresh way. He has used this book to bring some much needed clarity and perspective into some areas of my life.
I have had the honor of meeting and becoming friends with Susie. She is 100% authentic, passionate, wise, kind, generous, humble, bold, faithful and loving. This book is a living testimony of the work that The Lord has done in and through her. She only leads the reader where she has been. I couldn't have asked for a better friend and mentor!
'Your Beautiful Purpose Book' and DVD are perfect for both individual and group study! It is a challenge and a call to rise up, become the woman God has called you to be and to walk out the purpose that He designed for you.
'Your Beautiful Purpose' is a MUST have resource for every woman trying to discover and fulfill the beautiful purpose that God has for them.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Your Beautiful Purpose: Discovering and Enjoying What God Can Do Through You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Powerful read

Date:February 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
almsdeb
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first Susie Larson book and I am loving every chapter more and more. I've done many Bible studies, but this one has captured my attention, and I feel that these pages are speaking right to me...
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Your Beautiful Purpose: Discovering and Enjoying What God Can Do Through You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

good for personal and group study

Date:January 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
rjjorgen
Location:St Paul MN
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The nice thing about this book is its versatility. It works fine as an individual study, with questions and prompts at the end of each chapter to help personalize the Biblical message for the individual reader. These questions could also be used as part of a Bible study group, and there is a companion DVD that would be even more appropriate for group use as well. I really like the addition of prayers at the end of each section. It's hard for me to really think of nice prayers, especially about the abstract, so the prayers in the sections helped me really focus my thoughts and reflections. I am planning on bringing this forward as a suggestion for our next book for my church's Moms' Bible Study.
Disclosure: I received a complimentary e-copy to facilitate this review.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Your Beautiful Purpose: Discovering and Enjoying What God Can Do Through You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Encouragement for your soul....

Date:January 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sarita
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Your Beautiful Purpose" is an exceptional book. It was as if Susie took the questions of my heart and, with the Lord's direction, answered them with wisdom on these pages. Things I had struggled with for years were met with fresh revelation through the words of this book. Susie's vulnerability was refreshing. Thank you, Susie, for using your gifts so that we could be encouraged to find and use ours.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Your Beautiful Purpose: Discovering and Enjoying What God Can Do Through You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Deep, Important Encouragement from Seasoned Runner

Date:January 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lisa Jamieson
Location:Minnesota
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Susie Larson’s “Your Beautiful Purpose” thoughtfully and effectively pairs a Word-centered framework with personal anecdotes to help readers embrace their value and opportunities in God’s Kingdom work. Susie is vulnerable and authentic while capturing the wonder of trusting Jesus. Her book will inspire and empower readers who feel stuck, confused or anxious to experience the adventure of following Jesus — whether it involves waiting, walking, resting or running in His ways!
The companion study provides a welcoming and meaningful atmosphere for Bible exploration and personal discovery. While affirming the reader's own sense of vision, Susie carefully guides us through a pursuit of understanding that doesn't allow our tendency toward seeking personal significance to eclipse God’s call and timing.
Susie’s urge to, “leverage this day to your advantage” will be spurring me to fully embrace my inheritance in Christ for many seasons to come!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Your Beautiful Purpose: Discovering and Enjoying What God Can Do Through You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Just what I needed

Date:January 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
PFischer
In Susie's new book "Your Beautiful Purpose" she speaks directly to your heart and stirs you to seek all that God has for you. I found that Susie's personal stories helped me to relate and understand the training principles along the way. She writes with such humility and boldness.
Each chapter has in-depth teaching within the stories and scripture shared, stirring quotes along with study questions at the end that help you to find what is true for you personally. This book will be one that you will pick up again and again to reread the life changing truths. This book could also be read almost like a devotional where you can take each chapter, pray through scripture within the chapter and apply the principles shared through the study questions.
This book helped me to confront some of the obstacles that I struggled with and showed me how to tackle them and hang onto God's truth. Although each chapter is written so well helping us to face fears and insecurities that have clouded our views, for me chapter 9 spoke to me like none other. It gripped my heart and it felt as though it was written just for me. God spoke profoundly to me here and throughout the book. If you are one who journals you will love the "nuggets" that you find in this book and will be encouraged to write them down.
It will encourage, inspire and challenge you to embrace God's purposes for you. This is one book you will want to share with friends, family or your bible study group!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Your Beautiful Purpose: Discovering and Enjoying What God Can Do Through You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An amazing life addition.

Date:January 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
AmyE15
Location:Elk River, MN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Susie Larson's book 'Your Beautiful Purpose' was very touching and in-depth. Her wisdom and spirit-led teaching is very warm and applicable to daily lives. Rather than reading just another bible study book, this is more like having coffee with a friend sharing Godly experiences and understanding that personally impact your mind, heart and spirit. It is not just reading a book to cross off your list. It is a guide and friend to accompany you on your journey of life. The study questions are also not something you just fill in to move you to the next chapter. They are very thought provoking and cause you to go far deeper in your walk with the Lord.
I would highly recommend 'Your Beautiful Purpose' as a life changing companion.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Your Beautiful Purpose: Discovering and Enjoying What God Can Do Through You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Honest, Encouraging, Helpful

Date:January 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Linda
Location:Fayetteville, AR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is refreshing to read something that comes from the heart. Larson's approach in this book is to write from life including the good and the failures. Because she was honest about her trials and how she overcame them, the reader has hope that he/she can do the same. I've read so many books where the author writes in a "spiritual cerebral" way and tells how things ought to be if the reader does A, B, C. But things don't always work that way. We do the things we ought to do and sometimes life sticks out its leg and causes us to face-plant on the ground.
Larson's naked honesty is evidence of her love for Christ and for people. The last chapter in the book did just as she encourages us to do: Last Long, Finish Strong. The lessons in this book will last long in my life. The book finishes strong in that it reminds me of who I am to the Father and the riches He has already given me. I highly recommend this book for both individual study and group studies.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Your Beautiful Purpose: Discovering and Enjoying What God Can Do Through You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Worth It!

Date:January 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
ChrisC
Location:Sarona, WI
Age:45-54
Gender:female
In this economy, even buying a book can become a well, thought-out process. This is a book worth every penny and more. Susie takes you on a very personal journey to finding your purpose, and much like a "life coach", gives you the tools and questions to ask to get you moving in the right direction.
While this book would work perfect for a group format, I personally think it's a great daily devotional, too. The questions at the end of each chapter are wonderful conversation starters between you and God...the kind of questions that will deepen your own walk with Him, and allow you to see how very personal He is with you. He has a plan for you and can't wait for you to live in it.
In a gut-honest way, Susie brings her own personal stories to the pages, but also gives great biblical references and truths. I think one of her best accomplishments in writing this book is in leaving the ongoing story between the reader and God. Start your new year off right and buy this book!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>