Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell Hair-Raising Joys of Raising Boys, The - eBook

Revell Hair-Raising Joys of Raising Boys, The - eBook

Raising boys is a monumental, multiyear battle, says frazzled dad Dave Meurer. But there's also an industrial-sized dose of laughter just waiting to escape. Meurer explores many meaningful reflections that only dads can truly understand. In this entertaining book, youl'll discover the secrets of infant male weaponry, outsmarting your boys, cherished family traditions and other dangers. Through the hilarious happenings of his own parenting experiences, Meurer will help you learn to value each moment with a little style, grace and humor.
Average Customer Rating:
4.353 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 1385%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hair-Raising Joys of Raising Boys, The - eBook
Review 1 for Hair-Raising Joys of Raising Boys, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good fun book

Date:January 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
DKAllison
Location:Almonte, ON, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you are looking for a book that will give you a deep theological understanding of how to raise boys this is not the book for you. On the other hand if you are just looking for a nice lighthearted book that is funny and an enjoyable read this book is great. I got this book for a great price for some fun light reading and it fully met that expectation. I was laughing and just loved the stories.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hair-Raising Joys of Raising Boys, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Marge
Location:Chicago, IL
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
These were gifts so I only thumbed through the book and it was very interesting.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hair-Raising Joys of Raising Boys, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Bubblegum in the Armpit

Date:January 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
poogymom
Location:Clearlake, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bananas under the sofa cushion, and handing out diaper treats at Women's Prayer Circle...the famous Screwdriver permanently welded to the fan...I'm sending a copy of this book to some dear friends that just had a born hungry, bouncing baby boy. Maybe it will help, or maybe not.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hair-Raising Joys of Raising Boys, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Fran
Location:Kearney, NE
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this as a gift for my son. He said it was interesting.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hair-Raising Joys of Raising Boys, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

este libro te hace reir con sus verdades

Date:August 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rebeca
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I too have boys and I do agree with the author: I am doomed! Jaja.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hair-Raising Joys of Raising Boys, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Musichic
Location:Upstate NY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A lot of truth mixed with a great amount of humor!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hair-Raising Joys of Raising Boys, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
ss40
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fun book to read - I specifically recommend it for the fathers of our hair raising boys!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hair-Raising Joys of Raising Boys, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Entertaning, but not what I expected

Date:March 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
happyathome
Location:San Jose, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book is a father's reflections on raising boys. I was looking for a more practical/how-to raise boys book. The author is very funny! He has a great writing style. If you are interested in a light-hearted entertaining read, this book is for you. It is probably geared towards dads, not moms. Though there were bits of truth in every chapter, it is presented with enormous amounts of extra stories and jokes. I did find that it was a waste of time for me to read because I didn't want to be entertained, I wanted to be instructed. Good book, just not the book for me. I should have read the description more carefully.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Hair-Raising Joys of Raising Boys, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Really funny and easy to read

Date:February 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Monica Mcgeachy
Location:Jamaica, West Indies
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My daughter who has two boys took this to read before I did. She has said it is really good, funny and easy to read. She has even loaned it to a friend and he is also enjoying it. Lots to laugh at, but solid and helpful information.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Hair-Raising Joys of Raising Boys, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

good quick read

Date:January 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
markangie
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is geared more toward new fathers. It is funny and a great quick read. Not a lot of ideas, but a lot of things to laugh along with.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Hair-Raising Joys of Raising Boys, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

entertaining but not as instructional as I hoped

Date:January 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
basketball mom
Location:PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I do appreciate the author's work put into this book and his stories are sure to make you crack a grin, but it wasn't what I expected. That's the only reason I'm writing the review - so others are aware that it is more entertaining than instructional.
If you are looking for guidance and facts and have not yet read James Dobson's Bringing up Boys you may want to check it out. It's very insightful and combines our current culture with medical research (I didn't know our brains were different!) and it also has funny applicable stories.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Hair-Raising Joys of Raising Boys, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Hair-Raising Joys of Raising Boys

Date:November 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
fuzzybunny
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was great. So true yet with seriousness. I laughed out loud during many chapters. I have a better understanding of boys and my husband as well now.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Hair-Raising Joys of Raising Boys, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A very funny, entertaining read

Date:October 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Grandma G
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed this so much that I got a copy for a friend expecting his first baby (a son) and a copy for our pastor, the father of a 1-year old son. As a mother and a grandmother of five grandsons, I can enjoy the humor based on personal experience. The recipients of the gifts I bought will think it is amusing....then they will find out it is true!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Hair-Raising Joys of Raising Boys, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jeffrey Bump
Wonderful Book - Highly Recommend Reading! A Must Read For Any Parent Raising Boys - Great Insight As To What To Expect!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Hair-Raising Joys of Raising Boys, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Annette Ogunnowo
Very funny! Not necessarily as instructional as I had hoped, but a delight to read.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Hair-Raising Joys of Raising Boys, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kathy Harper
This is a very good book on raising boys - it is entertaining and yet points out the needed lessons to be learned. I am giving a copy to my son for Fathers Day.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Hair-Raising Joys of Raising Boys, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Momofbusyboys
As a mom of two busy boys, I found this book SOOOO enjoyable. It was entertaining from beginning to end. If you love to laugh, you will love this book.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.