Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Multnomah Books Gone South - eBook

Multnomah Books Gone South - eBook

Northerner Tish McComb knows the sting of rejection. When she moves into the Alabama family homestead, her neighbors shun her because her third great-grandparents were carpetbaggers. That's why she offers a fellow outsider---and the prodigal daughter of an influential citizen---a room. But the wayward girl refuses to reform. Should Tish challenge her houseguest---and her father?
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
12
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 star
0
32 out of 3397%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Gone South - eBook
Review 1 for Gone South - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thirty-five year old Letitia McComb is the exact opposite of a southern girl, with no place to truly call her home. Her father was a great adventurer while still alive, constantly moving the family from place to place, and always thinking the next move would get him his American Dream. Tish is a lot more simple than that. She is like her mother and is practical, responsible and has lived in the same apartment for years. But when an opportunity to buy a house from her ancestors in Alabama comes up, like her father, she pulls up roots in Michigan and settles in the charming little town of Noble.
But things are never what they seem. Before Tish has even been there a week, she discovers that the townspeople are not fond of the McCombs. Determined to find out what her true roots are, Tish begins to ask questions about the woman she was named after, as well as her husband Nathan. She finds a friend in the local antique store owner, George Zorbas, who provides her with some information on the McCombs. She also meets Melanie Hamilton, a homeless girl who has tried to go home and is rejected by her family. With only a handful of people to call her friends, will Tish ever figure out how to earn the town's trust? Or will harboring Mel bring about more consequences than she is willing to pay?
I loved this book if only for the reason that it is a modern re-telling of the biblical story of the prodigal son. But it is so much more than that. It is a beautiful story of a woman who has survived the punches life has thrown her way without becoming bitter. Tish has every reason to be angry and resentful of the past and it's hurts, and yet she reaches out to a needy girl without judgement. The people in this story will become familiar to you, and you will be sorry to see the story end. A winner from the first page, Moseley has created a masterpiece of literary value.
This book was provided by Waterbrook Multnomah for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Gone South - eBook
This review is fromGone South.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Mercy triumphs over judgement

Date:December 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
An Old Fashioned Girl
Location:Minnesota
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In her novel Gone South, Meg Moseley explores what happens when a Northern girl moves into the old ancestral home in the Deep South. Letitia McComb has been fascinated by her family history, and when she discovers an opportunity to buy the house in which her ancestors lived during the aftermath of the Civil War, she gives in to the impulse to uproot her Michigan life and make the purchase. However, years of bitterness over wrongs by her ancestors both legitimate and perceived lead to a frosty welcome. With no job or connections in Alabama, all Tish has to lean on are a troubled youth to whom she offers shelter, a handsome antiques dealer with a depressed dog that thinks it lives at Tish's house, and God.
I have somewhat mixed feelings over Mel (Tish's alleged thief of a houseguest). I do believe that people are way too hard on her and that she is not as bad as everyone assumes; being neglected and put down all the time could bring out the worst in anybody. However, I'm still not sure that she is truly repentant or can discern between what is right and wrong. While she is seeking God, I do not think she quite gets it, since she treats Him more as a genie that grants wishes. I would have liked to see a little more change or closure on her spiritual life, even if it was only one sentence to indicate that she had fully handed her life over to God.
While a good portion of the plot deals with the grudges and myths left over from the War Between States, I appreciate that Moseley doesn't let Tish's desire to clear her family's name overshadow what is really important - the here and now; living a Godly life and ministering to the neglected and unloved local girl staying in her spare bedroom. Eventually people will see that Tish is not her namesake; the love and mercy she showers on Mel is proof of her heart and ought to dispel the old prejudices, for truly, "mercy triumphs over judgement" (James 2:13b). There is a lot of judgement going on in that town, but mercy will overcome.
It was a pleasant book, with some good lessons to ponder. Tish is an excellent main character; she is likeable but not perfect - occasionally she can be just as quick to judge as everyone else, but she at least works on it. I am glad for the gradual change in George and Cal as the girls prove their prejudices are unfounded, and I especially like that George takes a leap of faith with Mel, giving her a chance to prove herself rather than waiting for her to prove herself AND THEN giving her a chance. 4 out of 5 stars
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Gone South - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

GONE SOUTH Gives Perspective to Right Choices

Date:July 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
mcaldwell
Location:Erie, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gone South is a contemporary book with a prodigal returns storyline. An additional storyline is about fitting in or rising about it, if you don’t fit in. I enjoyed Tish as the main character and Mel and George as the top supporting characters. The two women get into their share of mischief. Tish’s spontaneity is both foolhardy and laudable. Check out this book for a lesson on doing the right thing, no matter how painful it becomes. Waterbrook Press provided me with a copy for review and I loved it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Gone South - eBook
This review is fromGone South.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Second-chance story!

Date:August 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Beth
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tish Mccomb is enthralled with the quaint Civil War era home that was once owned by her relatives in Alabama. Deciding to take a chance she moves from her comfortable apartment in Michigan and moves to a small town in Jackson Alabama with hopes that old family ties will make fitting in easier. Unbeknownst to her, is a family secret that has ruined any chances of a happy welcome home!
It seems the only people willing to give her a chance is the local antique dealer and a homeless girl Melanie that Tish takes into her new home despite her shady and somewhat checkered past.
Sometimes she is determined to stay and other times loneliness sets in and she wonders why she ever left her home in Michigan to become an object of scorn for the whole town!
I found myself rooting for Melanie through the whole book. Something about a second-chance story that draws me in every time!!
This book is fresh, not a different twist on a popular genre or a retelling of a New York Times Bestseller.. totally unique and innocent. I appreciate that in a book!
I received this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. The opinions stated here are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Gone South - eBook
This review is fromGone South.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Gone South by Meg Moseley

Date:August 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Wanda
Location:NC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Gone South by Meg Moseley
Favorite Scene:
Afraid she was about to lose it, George reached for her hand, then lost his nerve and petted Daisy’s head. “So Marian claims to have proof from the historical society. That’s the key word. Historical. Whether or not the stories are true, they’re in the past.”
“I know. I should focus on the present.” Tish Turned toward him, her face framed softly by long locks of red-brown hair. “No matter what happened here in 1870, this is my home now. Nobody’s going to scare me away.”
“You know the difference between a Yankee and a… well, a Yankee who’s bound for eternity in the lake of fire?”
“The ones who visit versus the ones who stay? Yeah, I’ve heard that old joke, but I’m staying. I don’t care what people call me. I don’t care what they think of me either.”
“No?”
“Okay, sometimes I do. Sometimes I care too much. I want very badly to be accepted, but sometimes I forget to mind my manners and I speak my mind instead. Someday, I’m afraid I’ll say things I shouldn’t say. Do things I shouldn‘t do.”
She could be direct, all right, and maybe she didn’t always think before she acted, but at least she did something. “If your heart’s right, your actions can’t be too far off. Case in point, the way you reached out to Mel.”
“You did too,” Tish said. “It’s very generous to hire her, and I don’t mean just about the wages you’ll pay. It’s… moral generosity.”
George squelched a grin. If he’d know hiring Mel would cast him in such a noble light, he might have hired her sooner.
“I see moral generosity on your side too,” he said. Even though you’re a Yankee.”
She laughed. “Careful there Mr. Zorbas. You’re skating on thin ice.”
“I know, but I grew up listening to my grandfather always preaching against the world, the flesh, and the devil. Sometimes he mentioned Yankees in the next breath, so I started to think Yankees and devils were one and the same.”
“Gee, thanks.”
He leaned closer, enjoying her cynical little smile. “But I’d be first to admit that some of ya’ll aren’t too bad. And some of ya’ll are mighty pretty.”
“And some of you southern gentlemen are mighty forward.” She moved Daisy to his knee and got to her feet.
“Forward? I only--”
“My feet are freezing. Good night, George.”
He rose too. “Tish, I--”
She’d already escaped inside, shutting the door firmly behind her. He carried the dog home, brooding over his extraordinary talent for ruining good conversations.
Main Characters:
Letitia "Tish" McComb: Tish works in the insurance field but is obssessed with antiques, such as, old clothes and costume jewelry among other things. She is very forth-right but honest and generous to a fault.
George Zorbas: George owns the town antique shop. He is a very serious person that believes in honesty and trust and he is always willing to give people a chance.
Melanie "Mel" Hamilton: Mel is a very intense 20 year-old with alot of issues. She feels things very strongly, whether good or bad. Her emotions are like a rollercoaster but she is a very loveable girl most of the time.
My Thoughts:
Tish McComb is a person that finds herself drawn to the past. She buys antique clothes and costume jewelry and feels a special connection to her great, great, great grandmother whom she was named after. When her mother decides to move to Florida, Tish agrees to drive to Florida to help her unpack. Just before leaving Michigan, she discovers the house her ancestors used to own is up for sale so she decides to stop by on her way back from Florida to see it and get a few pictures. Buying it was the last thing she intended but, once she saw it, she felt drawn to it. Tish finds herself in the middle of becoming a homeowner for the first time and, she has to admit, she's excited. She has heard such good things about Letitia and Norman McComb but once the locals in Noble, Alabama find out who she is and turn a cold shoulder, Tish begins to wonder exactly what is fact and what is fiction. Studying the original letters of Letitia McComb, Tish hopes to prove the townspeople wrong. Suddenly her excitement of living in her ancestor's home starts to dim in light of the treatment of the people of Noble. George Zorbas and his Uncle Calv are the only ones that give her a chance. While fighting to save the good name of the McCombs, Tish find herself falling for George but, after losing her fiancee' 5 years ago in a tragic accident, Trish wants nothing more than to run scared. Can George break the barriers errected around her heart? Can the locals leave the past in the past? When Tish finds Mel in the park, cold and hungry, with nothing but her sleeping bag she knows what she has to do. She brings well home with her and gives her food, clothes and a place to stay. Mel has issues of her own she is trying to work through and with the help of Trish and George she is finally getting on the right track.
George Zorbas, the local antique dealer, is drawn the the new girl in town. While others are snubbing her, George gives her a chance and that means the world to Tish. When George buys a classic 1970 Chevelle to restore, he needs a garage big enough to work on it. It just so happens Tish McComb has a nice, big garage that she doesn't use. Not only does the garage work perfectly but it also allows him to see Trish more frequently. George's is also Mel's older brother's friend so when Mel needs a job and no one trusts her enough to hire her, George gives her a job ih his shop. George soon discovers that Mel has a learning disibility and it accounts for the previous accusations of stealing from her employers. While he works with Mel to get her life in order, he's also working to get Trish to open up her heart and let him in.
Gone South took me on a journey from the first page to the last. It drew me into the character's lives and made me feel like I was a part of the story. Each character had their own traits that made them special. When I first started reading and found out about the old letters and Trish's special connection to her great, great, great grandmother Letitia I thought the story would eventually take me back in time. It didn't but that's not a bad thing. The story flowed well and Ms. Moseley managed to bring it to life scene by scene. Mel's character was a little baffling to me at first. I kept wondering how old she was and when I found out she was almost twenty-one I couldn't mentally connect her age to her child-like demeanor. After finding out she possibly had a learning disability it all clicked into place. I think Tish, George and Mel all complimented each other well for a perfect balance throughout the story. All-in-all, Gone South was a very sweet story with very charming characters. Kudos to Meg Moseley on a job well done!
**I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for my honest opinion**
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Gone South - eBook
This review is fromGone South.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thirty-five year old Letitia McComb is the exact opposite of a southern girl, with no place to truly call her home. Her father was a great adventurer while still alive, constantly moving the family from place to place, and always thinking the next move would get him his American Dream. Tish is a lot more simple than that. She is like her mother and is practical, responsible and has lived in the same apartment for years. But when an opportunity to buy a house from her ancestors in Alabama comes up, like her father, she pulls up roots in Michigan and settles in the charming little town of Noble.
But things are never what they seem. Before Tish has even been there a week, she discovers that the townspeople are not fond of the McCombs. Determined to find out what her true roots are, Tish begins to ask questions about the woman she was named after, as well as her husband Nathan. She finds a friend in the local antique store owner, George Zorbas, who provides her with some information on the McCombs. She also meets Melanie Hamilton, a homeless girl who has tried to go home and is rejected by her family. With only a handful of people to call her friends, will Tish ever figure out how to earn the town's trust? Or will harboring Mel bring about more consequences than she is willing to pay?
I loved this book if only for the reason that it is a modern re-telling of the biblical story of the prodigal son. But it is so much more than that. It is a beautiful story of a woman who has survived the punches life has thrown her way without becoming bitter. Tish has every reason to be angry and resentful of the past and it's hurts, and yet she reaches out to a needy girl without judgement. The people in this story will become familiar to you, and you will be sorry to see the story end. A winner from the first page, Moseley has created a masterpiece of literary value.
This book was provided by Waterbrook Multnomah for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Gone South - eBook
This review is fromGone South.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A thoroughly enjoyable read!

Date:July 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
kattrox
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Old enemies and old hurts lie in repose to foster a prejudice in the heart.
Tish McComb becomes the new owner of her Great Great Great Grandparents home in the deep south. She longs to escape the hurtful past that seems to plague her, a past that harbors feelings of inadequacy and unwelcome. As in every situation hope for change seeks a quiet ending.
When an unexpected visitor of the furry kind shows up at her front door finding the owner George Zorbas of Antiques on Main was not a challenge.
Mel a girl without a home to claim as her own befriends Tish, who takes her into her Grandparents home and creates within Mel a new persona.
Understanding, Reality, Bitterness, Sacrifice and Love creatively brings the reader a novel that can be savored and enjoyed from the first chapter forward. Well developed connectable characters grace the storyline, well flowing plot that contains no dull or broken parts, authentic scenery and easy to follow dialogue round out this hard to put down book. I loved George's character so down to earth! I thoroughly enjoyed this inspiring and faith challenging read and will recommend this book to others. I received this book for free from Waterbrook Multnomah Publishing for my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Gone South - eBook
This review is fromGone South.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Touching

Date:July 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tish makes an impuse decision to leave her home in Michigan and buy the old McComb house in Noble, Alabama, the house the original Leticia McComb lived in with her husband in the 1870’s. But she hasn’t bargained on being the town pariah the minute she arrives—it seems that her father’s telling of the family history has missed a few things out. And things get more difficult when she takes in the homeless Mel Hamilton, the town bad girl who has been kicked out by her parents. Tish soon meets George Zorbas, owner of the town antique store and a dog who believes she still lives at the McComb house.
There is a romance, but it’s slow and not the main focus of the story, which is the relationship between Tish and Meg, who both felt ostracised and alone in their growing-up years and are both now struggling to be accepted in a town that doesn’t want them (it seems that the idea of the ‘welcoming South’ only goes so far).
While Gone South is published by WaterBrook Multnomah, a Christian publisher, the story isn’t outwardly Christian. Meg and Tish pray occasionally, neither go to church (and the churchgoing townspeople could do with learning a little about the concept of Christian forgiveness). I usually like my Christian fiction to be a little more Christian, but this worked for me.
I liked the fact that the characters were real people with faults and worries (including financial worries). I liked the fact that the romance took a back seat to the other relationships: Tish and Meg, Meg and George, George and Stu. I especially liked the fact that although Gone South wasn’t overtly Christian, the underlying prodigal son theme was definitely Christian. Recommended.
Thanks to the WaterBrook Multnomah and Blogging for Books for providing a free ebook for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Gone South - eBook
This review is fromGone South.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

High quality, character-driven fiction

Date:July 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Carole Jarvis
Location:Jonesboro, Georgia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Meg Moseley's Gone South is a beautifully crafted, stand-alone novel that brings the reader to the small southern town of Noble, Alabama - into a setting where classic cars, antiques, handwritten letters from generations past, and a grandfather's gold watch add much interest. Anyone who has made mistakes and longed for or received a second chance can easily relate to this story.
I loved this story even though I'm not a fan of classic cars or antiques, which goes to show that quality writing and character depth trump all else for me. Tish and George are well drawn, likeable characters, but it was Mel that captured me the most.
Tish buys a house previously owned by her great-great-great grandparents and moves to Noble, only to quickly discover that the older residents still harbor hurt and anger over the way her family treated people during Reconstruction days. Tish once told her Mom: "If there's one thing I learned from all our moves, it's that the grass isn't greener on the other side of the fence. It's just another pasture. With its own cow pies."
George, an antiques dealer, had a love-hate relationship with his dog that was so funny! A sweet romance slowly develops between Tish and George, but it's a secondary focus. And classic car fans will love the '70 Chevelle SS 454 that he bought and worked on.
It is Mel around which this story revolves - a prodigal who tries unsuccessfully to return home - and my heart went out to her from the beginning. Mel refers to a poem by Robert Frost: "There's this line that goes, 'Home is the place where, when you have to go there, they have to take you in,' but for me it's more like 'Home is the place where, if they won't take you in, you know it's not home anymore.'" Met with a wall of rejection instead of open arms from her father - "My dad wants perfection or nothing" - Tish takes Mel in and nurtures her when no one else would. The interaction between Mel, Tish, George, and Mel's brother Stu is one of this novel's strengths.
The spiritual themes of friendship, mercy, second chances, and love are all there, but rather than speaking out about their faith all the time, the characters modeled their faith, and I liked that very much. Gone South exemplifies the "I was a stranger and you invited me in . . ." teaching of Matthew 25.
As part of the uplifting ending, Tish's character makes a beautiful connection between antiques and life. Antiques were "visible reminders of overlapping lives and events. The continuum of generations. No generation would ever stand alone."
Gone South is quality character-driven fiction, and I highly recommend it to all readers.
This book was provided by Meg Moseley and Multnomah Books in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Gone South - eBook
This review is fromGone South.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good summer read

Date:July 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
jnjdet
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a sweet summer read that will keep you engaged. The main character is a northerner who decides to move south to purchase her ancestor's home but all does not go as planned. I enjoyed the stereotypical interaction between small town people and the Northern personality. The interaction between Tish and Mel was well done as you end up with two "outsiders" who find commonality in their struggles to be accepted by the community. There is of course a love story intertwined as well. All in all a great summer read.
I received this book free from Waterbrook Multnomah in exchange for my review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Gone South - eBook
This review is fromGone South.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Southern Charm???

Date:July 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pam Burke
Location:Potosi, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gone South was a fun read that captivated me from the first page -- or maybe it was the front cover with the mix of modern-day girl in jeans combined with the southern gown. The strength of the story, though, is all about its characters.
Tish McComb is such an interesting character, a modern woman who loves and somewhat romanticizes the past, not afraid to strike out on her own and take risks. And much of the time, she is pretty confident in who and what she is . . . or at least she tries to convince herself of that confidence with a well-used private declaration: "I am Tish McComb. You can't change who I am."
Circumstances throw Tish into some complicated relationships with a cast of other interesting characters; George, Mel, and Calv all bring their own unique perspective into this delightful story. There is an engaging mix of trials and triumphs as Tish and company develop and learn more about themselves and each other and watch God's mercy and love shine through in their lives.
Thanks to WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for providing me a free copy of this ebook through their Blogging for Books program in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Gone South - eBook
This review is fromGone South.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Allegorical

Date:June 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Casey
Location:Oregon
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I think I would almost title this book as an allegory…it is one of those few books that comes pretty close to falling into that category.
After finishing “Gone South” last night, I closed that last page and thought how much like Christ Tish represented in the life of Mel. Selflessly giving where the opposite was definitely the more socially acceptable response, she showed Christ in the most perfect of ways. She’s truly a character to set an example by. But she certainly didn’t come without her own share of struggles.
Mel was definitely the most interesting character to me. A young woman with so many hurts deep down inside and a stereotype that has been branded on her like a scarlet letter. She’s one of those troubled characters that you can’t help but ache for.
The novel is emotionally complex which drives the main plot and has one of my favorite kinds of romance: the non-traditional love story. The romance doesn’t drive the plot. The characters really almost don’t drive the plot. The theme of grace definitely does. “Gone South” isn’t a romance or even an overtly Christian novel, but a love story about Christ’s love for us, forgiveness and above all else, grace.
This review is my honest opinion. Thanks to the publishers for my copy to review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Gone South - eBook
This review is fromGone South.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Take A Little Trip

Date:June 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Victoria
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gone South is a chance to do just that this summer...Go south for a little adventure with Tish as she discovers what it's like to be a new comer in small town. Be ready to hold your breath while you wait for some "mysteries" to be revealed, some pretty serious obstacles to be over come, and some doubts to be taken care of.
I'll admit, I didn't even know who Moseley was before I read this book, but I can't wait to get my hands on another one.
As far as contemporary Christian fiction goes, I'd say this book is worth reading! Nothing too sappy, too sad, or too slow. Just a great book perfect for these beautiful summer days!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Gone South - eBook
This review is fromGone South.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Contemporary Tale with Historic Roots.

Date:June 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Andrea Cox
Location:Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tish McComb wants to be accepted. When she purchases the home of her great-great-great-grandparents, she thinks “moving to Noble would let her reconnect with her roots, and she could forge new bonds too.”* She couldn’t be more wrong. The people of Noble, Alabama snub her like the Yankee outcast she is. Deciding to give refuge and a second chance to the small southern town’s own prodigal daughter doesn’t help her make any friends, either. The only two things that save Tish from being completely isolated are her spacious garage that antique store owner George Zorbas rents from her and his late mother’s little white Maltese dog who thinks she still lives in the infamous McComb house. Will Tish finally overcome her past and find a place to fit in? Will her houseguest lay down her deceitful habits and earn her family’s respect once again? Will George risk his heart for a Yankee?
The cover of GONE SOUTH is what first snagged my interest. The auburn-haired woman facing away from the camera wears a beautiful vintage black ball gown . . . with modern-day blue jeans underneath. I was immediately intrigued by this unusual combination of clothing. Sometimes covers lead a reader on, but this one did not disappoint.
Meg Moseley crafted a tale of second chances that I could hardly put down. The historical elements perfectly enhanced the contemporary story, and the characters had deep storylines that I enjoyed figuring out along the way. Meg provided enough surprises to keep me guessing at what would happen next. This lady has made her mark on the Christian fiction market. I expect she’ll be around for a long time.
Thank you, WaterBrook Multnomah, for my copy of Gone South to review.
*Quote from page 26.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Gone South - eBook
This review is fromGone South.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I am going South!

Date:June 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sufficient in Jesus
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book pretty much had me from the first glance. How could I not read Gone South when the cover has a woman in a graceful Southern gown running up a red dirt path...and under the gown hem you can see blue jean cuffs? And the little peek of the house she is running toward... an old Southern house... doesn't that intrigue you?
Well, it intrigued me!
I am so glad that I had the chance to request this book to review from Waterbrook's Blogging for Book's program.
And I am so glad that that gown and jeans combo came from a scene in this book. I am not tellin' which scene, but suffice it to say it involved Tish, a Michiganer who has Gone South; George, an antiques dealer, and Mel, a young girl who needs a friend or two.
Meg Moseley writes with a really neat style, one that let me read her character's thoughts. I enjoyed that, as each characters viewpoint adds much depth to the story. Her descriptions are fresh and make you look again at the "ordinary" and see it in a new light. Isn't that a hallmark of good writing?
I mean, I fell in love with Tish's house the first time it was described: "She stopped in the doorway, taking it in. Straight ahead, a hardwood floor and an elegant staircase, its dark bannister wrapped with Christmas greens. To the left, the corner of a graceful sideboard and dining room table. To the right, a room with hight ceilings and and tall narrow windows. A rich red Oriental carpet lay before a fireplace with a mahogany mantel and a marble hearth. Why, it was the parlor where her great-great-great-grandparents might have hung their wedding portrait. If the walls of the room could speak, their stories would weave connections between two Letitias, born generations apart."
Oh yes... Tish and I would be friends... we are both drawn to that beautiful house! :-)
Tish is a character we could all be friends with: she is brave and kind, resilient and hopeful.
I loved getting to meet her, and run up the path to that old house with her.
I am glad I was able to be Gone South.
And now I must say: I tend to get attached to secondary characters in a book, especially when they are well drawn. Any chance we can have a sequel to tell Darren and Mel's story?
Please? Please? :-)
Ok. Then I'll be eager to read your next novel, A Stillness of Chimes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Gone South - eBook
This review is fromGone South.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

more suitable as a short story

Date:June 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Tish, a Michigan woman, decides to buy a house in Alabama, the one her great-great-great-grandparents owned. She is ready for a change. Her fiancée had been tragically killed just a few weeks before what was to be their wedding day. Her life has been going nowhere since.
But when she gets moved into her new house, she is shocked to find out that the people in the town, once they know her name, give her a cold shoulder. It seems her great-great-great-grandfather was a “carpet bagger,” taking advantage of the southern people after the Civil War. And no one in the town has forgotten it.
Add Mel to the story. She is a twenty year old runaway who has come back to her hometown, penniless and pretty much disowned by her family and Tish takes her in. And then there's George. He owns an antique store and has eyes for Tish.
And there you have it. The book is longer than the plot deserves. It might have made a good short story. As a full length novel, the story drags. The issues with Mel, being good, then bad, then good, then bad, well, it is just repetitive. And the “romance” between Tish and George is stilted and drags on. Then the end is very quick. Suddenly, every one lives happily ever after.
Some of the characters are Christians, like Meg, who keeps meaning to find a church, as soon as she gets settled. Mel desperately prays to God to help her (even when she is doing something not exactly legal). That's pretty much it.
I received a complimentary egalley of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Gone South - eBook
This review is fromGone South.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Family history in the deep south...

Date:May 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jen Pen
Location:Midwest
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
SUMMARY:
Letitia McComb has an interest in her family’s history that traces back to the Civil War. Inspired by a past trip with her father, Letitia travels south to purchase the homestead. Eager to begin her new life within her historical home, Letitia is surprised by the new yet different version of her family’s history that is told by her new southern town.
A PENNY FOR MY THOUGHTS:
The warning – “don’t judge a book by its cover” – rings true in the novel “Gone South”. The book’s cover sparks early interest in the book; however, the novel does not sweep the reader into the southern adventure that is proclaimed by the cover. The ending of the novel leaves the reader not far from where the reader started. While the storyline and plot is thin, Meg Moseley maintains a smooth writing style with tasteful transitions and graceful word choice.
RATING: 3 (OUT OF 5) pennies
*I received a complimentary copy of Gone South from Multnomah Books for my honest review*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Gone South - eBook
This review is fromGone South.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Gone South

Date:May 26, 2013
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Gone South by Meg Moseley is an interesting tale about a young woman looking for a life change. Tish McComb was living out her life in Michigan after the tragic death of her fiancé.
When her mother and future stepdad decide to make a move to Florida, Tish takes time off to help them move. Part of her plan for adventure on her trip is to stop in Noble, Alabama on her way home. The former home of her great-great-great grandparents, Nathan and Leticia McComb is for sale and Tish hopes to have a chance to get inside and take a look into their lives.
Once she arrives, she does more than look-she decides to buy it! The sale of the house is not without conflict as she talks the seller into a lower price that she can afford. The old North vs. South feelings are awakened!
Once Tish makes her final move to Noble, she finds that there are no warms feelings for the McComb family. Tish had always heard wonderful stories about Nathan and Leticia growing up. But now Tish has only one friend in town, George Zorbas, the local antique dealer.
You will enjoy this story as Tish and George deal with the town’s prejudice and learn the real story of Nathan and Leticia!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Gone South - eBook
This review is fromGone South.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Southern Story

Date:May 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cheryl
Location:Prospect,KY
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Michigan girl, Tish McCombs, may be ready to begin again after an accident that left her heart and dreams crushed. When she find that her great-great-grandparent's home is on the market in the deep South of Alabama, she ventures down to take a look, memories of visiting there with her father when he was living still fresh in her mind. She only wanted to see the house. Reconnect with her roots. What she didn't expect was to fall in love with it. Usually predictable, Tish decides to buy the house and leave her past in Michigan behind. What catches Tish totally off guards is that McCombs aren't welcome in this little town. Not only are they not welcome but there are grudges and hard feelings toward her ancestors that have lasted since the Civil War!
Mel is hitchhiking, trying to figure out where to land since the rift between she and her family over her taking something she thinks is rightfully hers. When Mel is forced to leave behind all the money she has saved, she has no choice to return home but her family turns her away.
Two outcasts. Mel is homeless and Tish has plenty of space and is virtually friendless but can she trust Mel? George Zorbas (whose mother one lived in the home Tish has just purchased) is the only one who seems willing to give the two a chance and both of them need healing and a new start.
Meg Moseley has done a fabulous job of capturing small town Southern life. Even down to the lack of trust to "outsiders" is accurate and believable. If you enjoy a tale with a bit of mystery, surprise turns, small-town life, and a touch of romance, Gone South is definitely worth your time. If you're like me, the cover is enough to make you pick it up and begin to read. This is my first read by author Meg Moseley, but I hope it won't be the last. Perhaps a sequel to Gone South? There were enough unanswered questions at the end of the book to consider that a possibility.
I did receive this book free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. I was in no way obligated to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Gone South - eBook
This review is fromGone South.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great life lessons

Date:May 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
debbiedeefisher
Location:comstock, NE
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gone South by Meg Moseley (view her blog) is the latest book I've read from Blogging for Books.
Tish McCombs is drawn back to her roots in Noble, Alabama when she finds out that the McComb family home is for sale. When she gets there people start acting strange around her when they hear her last name. It doesn't get any better when they find out that she has taken in runaway Melanie Hamilton, who is from Noble, but kicked out of her home.
An antique dealer and his uncle are the only ones that befriend them. This book teaches why you shouldn't jump to conclusions, judge someone without walking in their shoes and not believe everything you hear and read about someone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>